Berbice residents took to the streets in protest yesterday after President Donald Ramotar announced that it is unlikely that the deteriorating East Bank Berbice Public Road would be reconstructed before next year. (SNews)
A drain in the middle of the road.
July 17 2009 - Snews.
repairs promised in four weeks... since 4 years ago
Residents of Glasgow and nearby communities on the East Bank Berbice yesterday staged a protest demanding that the road in their area be fixed; standing on the road from 6 am and braving the scorching heat of the sun to demand attention to a problem they say âhas been going on for years now.â
Region Six Chairman Zulfikar Mustapha told the residents yesterday that a case had been made to the Ministry of Public Works for a proper road to be built and this would be addressed in another âtwo to four weeksâ timeâ. In the meantime, he said the region would continue to do remedial work.
According to Maxwell Semple, the president of the East Bank Berbice Hire Car Association, and a resident of Glasgow, âFor years now this is being patched with red, and mud; we never a get a proper road. They never do any proper work here, never.â
He told Stabroek News that the neglect is being reflected in the quality of the road. He does not feel that this neglect has anything to do with race or politics, because âthe PNC fail we, now the PPP failing we, who we must turn to next?â
In the event there is a fire, he said, the fire tender will not be able to get to the destination quickly because of the state of the road. âThe same thing with police,â he said, they will not be able to get there in a hurry. âAny emergency in the area will be hampered by the holes in the road. And is we gon suffer.â
Another resident, Deodatt Persaud, said the road did not need âpatchingâ, and âemergency work. We want a proper rehabilitation of the East Bank road. Enough is enough, we ainât able with them dust and mud and other things.â He pointed out that it is the only access road. The community, he said, had tried all other ways of getting the road fixed, including meeting regional officials and accepting the promises that were made to them. âBut every time is the same thing. Dem just put some sand so, put some stone there and next thing you know dem holes getting big, big.â
According to Roxanne Warde, whenever it rains parents have to hold their children tightly to prevent them from sliding down in the mud. âThen sometimes cars pass and dem splash mud water on you. You can never get a clean and proper shoes; always with mud. We canât take it anymore,â she said.
In the midst of the protest some sand and a little stone were sent to patch the road. This sand with stone, the residents said, will âjust stay deh for a few morning and then back to square one.â
They said the only time that anything reasonable was done was when Arrival Day celebrations were held at Highbury, âbecause to get there you need to use that roadâ.
Rebecca Ellis, an elderly woman of Sistersâ Village, was walking to New Amsterdam yesterday morning, to seek medical attention. She said she understood the protestorsâ plight and agrees that there is need for their action because the road is atrocious.
Meanwhile, residents seemed to accept the assurances offered by the regional chairman yesterday. All morning they had been saying that they will not accept âpatchingâ of the road. However, after the visit by Mustapha, they removed to allow the holes in the road to be filled pending further rehabilitation of the road in a monthâs time. âBut after that is different story,â the residents said.
An engineer who wishes to remain unnamed, told this newspaper he doubted that any major work will be done on the East Bank road âbecause the water is right over there,â pointing to the Berbice river. He explained that when the water is high in the river, it seeps under the road and gets into the residential area. He said that what this means is that the foundation of the road is too weak to take major repairs. âIf you dig six inches down you will find water there. SoâĶ you canât do any major rehabilitation. The river is too close. And they don't have any sea [river] defence.
This is not bad compared to the pollution.. plastic and styrofoam. Some palces looks like cesspools, especially in Chief's old backyard..#79 village.
We never had these problems under British rule and during the Burnham regime era.
Ramjhaaaatan and Moses voted for the Funds to go to Linden, remember?
Guh tell dah to dem pissed off Berbicians...yuh guh get wah yuh look fah wen dem bust a cap rite up yuh kakahole....
Mitwah, is this a plan to tell the East Bank Berbicians that AFC would have done better for them?
Guh tell dah to dem pissed off Berbicians...yuh guh get wah yuh look fah wen dem bust a cap rite up yuh kakahole....
Wad Up KAKAHOLE PUTTYY. Like yuh figure out how to get your heat out yuh Kakahole.
AFC can do better for the whole country
Mitwah, is this a plan to tell the East Bank Berbicians that AFC would have done better for them?
What happened to the 13 million dollars that was allocated to do the repairs? Come election time, Berbice will remember the PPP broken promises. Ramotar knows this and would not call a snap election.
Didn't he said it will done before the year is up?
Heavy duty vehicles are the main cause for all the damages on these roads.
That's what Jaggy said in 2009.
funny fella abidha
There are unfinished business to be taking care of, and I am sure Ramotar wouldn't let the people down.
the government have no money to build the roads but they building hotel airport things the guyanese do not need
There are unfinished business to be taking care of, and I am sure Ramotar wouldn't let the people down.
I know his succes factors during his time with Guy Sicko speaks volumes of his ability.
funny fella abidha
He is good person. He just following bad company
Heavy duty vehicles are the main cause for all the damages on these roads.
How much money is in the budget to repair this stretch of road? Why are the roads not constructed for heavy vehicles, when this is a known factor?
We never had these problems under British rule and during the Burnham regime era.
The British exploited the resources of the country and took the benefits to England. Burnham exploited Guyana and kept all the money for himself and his family. Nothing was left for the people.
This type of political pressure that the joint opposition is using is reminiscent of sixties. Dr.Jagan was swarmed by protesters anywhere he went and any project his gov't undertook was opposed in this same fashion. Nothing is new on the Guyana political landscape. The AFC promise of change is "BS".