Household budget pales PPP's claim of

"very sufficient" public servants wages

• Tuesday, 07 January 2014 19:08

PPP General Secretary, Clement Rohee and PPP legislator, Manzoor Nadir

Lawmakers of the governing Peoples Progressive Party (PPP) on Monday dodged questions about the quantitative purchasing power of the minimum salary being paid to public servants.

Party General Secretary, Clement Rohee and Manzoor Nadir lauded government for increases in salaries and general improvement in the quality of life by Guyanese since 1992. “Today as a result of sustained increases in wages and salaries and benefits coupled with the enabling financial environment created, workers are in possession of much more disposal income to utilize for their families’ development and the free acquisition of assets,” said Nadir.

The PPP castigated trade unions and a small segment of workers for agitating for a higher than five percent increase in salaries for 2013. “The action is clearly to facilitate political allegiances and to foster related agendas for political gratification as demonstrated in their public utterances which are replete with vilification of development projects and projects designed to further enhance the life of workers and their families,” added Nadir.

Rohee downplayed calls by sections of the public for higher salaries, saying their voices were small and politically-driven. “There are some members of the public who are politically motivated who are crying out for political reasons that salaries and wages that some sections are receiving is not enough but to say that this is a national cry across the country, I would question that,” said the General Secretary.

The Guyana Public Service Union (GPSU) says the majority of public servants earn between the minimum salary of GUY$39,540 and GUY$72,823 before income tax and National Insurance deductions. Earnings after the first GUY$50,000 are taxable.

Nadir, who holds a Masters in Economics, said the average public servant earns way in excess of the minimum wage but he deflected questions on how much was that compared to basic expenses. “The average public servant what they make would be very sufficient to put the basics on the table and, as our statement said, enable them to acquire some of the material goods every family want- ordinary people,” he said.

Following is an estimated monthly budget of basic necessities for a single mother of one primary school child.

MONTHLY LIST

Product/Service

PRICE

Rent

Kerosene (not cooking gas)

Electricity (assumes no washing machine, microwave or toaster)

Milk

Rice

Sugar

Tea/coffee/chocolate

Transportation (for mother only on Kitty/Campbelville route)

Bread

Butter/Cheese

Cooking Oil

Chicken

Fish

Potable water

Vegetables

Seasoning

Processed Seasoning

Salt

Fruits

Detergent

Soap (Kitchen)

Deodorants

Sanitary Pads

Panty Liners

Toothpaste

Bath Soap

Toilet Tissue

TOTAL:

Rohee urged critics of government’s wages and salaries to not only consider what the Treasury could afford but also the fact that government has been “investing heavily” inj housing, water, free school uniforms, education and public health.

“All those things government is investing heavily in to help to offset what a wage and a salary would have had to buy if all of these things were privatised or were in private hands so we cannot look only at wages and salaries in isolation,” Among the PPP’s much vaunted successes is its housing programme that it says has resulted in 130,000 persons owning their own homes. Looking outside the public service, Nadir credited government’s training of out of school youth in skills so that they could earn more than a living wage. He referred to the more 900 trained heavy duty equipment operators, many of whom earn several times more than the minimum wage on the coast and in the interior

The former PPPC-led government minister recalled that while the 2009 Arbitration had awarded public servants a 33 percent increase, the real value of all wages and salaries was eroded by 18 percent due to the devaluation of the Guyana dollar.

NB: This list does not include costs for Internet, sports/leisure, school supplies and other educational material or transportation for the child to go to school.

No wonder the World's Reputable Organisation deemed Guyana at the bottom of the list for being the poorest in the Caribbean..........Thirty years ago Guyana was in the same situation as today.........where is the betterment that theCorrupt PPP/C boast about?

Slave Days are with Guyana once more under the PPP/C

Some of these expenses could be elininated.

Transportation          : What's wrong with walking?

Bread, butter&cheese : What's wrong with eating roti?

Milk          : Never drank milk regularly growing up       

Potable Water          : What's wrong with drinking regular water? If they think

it's not pure; boil it.
         It's the same well water they drink from the bottles.
Processed Seasoning  :   Why? Why can't they use the massala?

Deodorants          :          Bathe regularly

Some people want to live the high life and don't to work for it. Some of them are just plain lazy.

Potable Water          : What's wrong with drinking regular water? If they think

it's not pure; boil it.

Some people want to live the high life and don't to work for it. Some of them are just plain lazy.

Transportation:

Are you telling people to walk for six miles to and from their jobs everyday? You might as well tell the Corrupt PPP/C to ban all vehicles and start to use donkey carts in Guyana: Seems like you are still living in a Cave.

Bread, butter and cheese:

You are still living  in the past, where women used to cook roti, as a bright guy you should know that women (the Majority) do not cook roti anymore, and do not know how to cook roti, nevertheless if they were, you can do the maths, and you will find the curry and roti would be more expensive than bread and butter, surprise at you bai.

Milk:

You are just as bad as Forbes Burnham, are you telling the parents to give their kids and babies water to drink before they go to bed in the nights. $5,000 per month is very generous. When I was in Guyana, a tin of powdered milk costs me

$5,000 dollars, and this finished before the month were out, so what about a husband and wife with two children?

Bai Skelly I can go on and point out where your entire suggestions are ridiculous. 

A man who would denied babies milk is deserved the curse for life.......I do not think that you fall in that category bro.

it's not pure; boil it.

you is a typical low life collie how come god don't kick down people like  you.people like you do not need to live in this world 

it's not pure; boil it.

high life?

you call this high life?

If this is high life, what kinda life Irfart living?

Originally Posted by raymond:

it's not pure; boil it.

high life?

you call this high life?

If this is high life, what kinda life Irfart living?

jagan have to be turning in his grave 

it's not pure; boil it.

Tell dem Skeldon Bhai, Tell dem.

Soon they will join their brothers and sisters in Linden and demand free electricity while the PNC/AFC party voted down a Hydro Electric Project.

Who Vex Vex.

it's not pure; boil it.

Soon they will join their brothers and sisters in Linden and demand free electricity while the PNC/AFC party voted down a Hydro Electric Project.

Who Vex Vex.

Dem people dem want freeness nuh. Is like what's with things such as:

Rent:  Why rent when you can stay anywhere, maybe in a nice nice park or under a bridge(nice an breezy)

Kerosene...What? Kerosene, man look yeh, what the rass wrong wit small small pieces a kindlin wood an a couple match.

Electricty, HAHAHAHA...electricity?  Now dat comes as a shock, electricity? Dem people doan see others round dem doan have 'lectricity neither, is wuh wrong wit dem, stweeeps.

Sanitary Pads.   Sayyy what? Wear two, yes you hear me right, wear two panty.

An is what the shit they talkin about needin' toilet paper,what the shit is all dat about? Hmmm, dem people dem real slack yeh.

They want bread, like dat is a staple food, hahaha

I hear some long hair banna say "Man does not live on bread alone."

an hear nuh, they want chicken. Yall want chiken, come to a PPP meetin an u gun get free chiken ana red tshut. You even get a chance fo jump up an look like a real rass all the while singin, "Dem a watch we"

it's not pure; boil it.

Who Vex Vex.

Dem people dem want freeness nuh. Is like what's with things such as:

Rent:  Why rent when you can stay anywhere, maybe in a nice nice park or under a bridge(nice an breezy)

Kerosene...What? Kerosene, man look yeh, what the rass wrong wit small small pieces a kindlin wood an a couple match.

Electricty, HAHAHAHA...electricity?  Now dat comes as a shock, electricity? Dem people doan see others round dem doan have 'lectricity neither, is wuh wrong wit dem, stweeeps.

An is what the shit they talkin about needin' toilet paper,what the shit is all dat about? Hmmm, dem people dem real slack yeh.

an hear nuh, they want chicken. Yall want chiken, come to a PPP meetin an u gun get free chiken ana red tshut. You even get a chance fo jump up an look like a real rass all the while singin, "Dem a watch we"

Rent:  Why rent when you can stay anywhere, maybe in a nice nice park or under a bridge(nice an breezy).

Squatting.. Don't have to pay rent

Da is right!!

Wah happen wid bunnin dry cow sh*t?

Maybe JB no  moe about dis 

Wah happen wid tekkin a piece of stick and scrape dem ass?

Since wen dem peeple dis eat bread an cheese all de time?