PPPC decides on prime ministerial candidate

written by Denis Scott Chabrol

Friday, 14 October 2011 12:36

The governing Peoples Progressive Party Civic (PPPC) on Friday announced that it would name its prime ministerial candidate on Sunday but declined to say whether it would be Samuel Hinds again.

The 68-year old Hinds, who has been prime minister since 1992, has said that he was available for the second spot, constitutionally the principal assistant to the president.
Well-placed PPP insiders have told Demerara Waves Online News ( www.demwaves.com ) that Hinds, a Canadian-trained chemical engineer, is highly likely to be named prime ministerial candidate again.

Other names that have been touted several months ago are Foreign Affairs Minister, Carolyn Rodrigues-Birkett and Public Works Minister, Robeson Benn.

PPPC campaign spokesman, Robert Persaud declined to say whether Hinds was the person or whether the person hails from the bauxite community of Linden where the prime minister had worked and lived almost all his adult life before entering politics in the early 1990s.

“I don’t have the authority to discount or, as it were, to add anyone; the presidential candidate will be doing so,” he told a news conference at the Peoples Progressive Party Civic (PPPC) headquarters.

The prime ministerial candidate will be announced at the PPPC's third major campaign rally by presidential candidate, Donald Ramotar. Demerara Waves Online News was told that Ramotar had favoured breaking with the Cheddi Jagan-tradition that the prime ministerial candidate would always come from the Civic component to which Hinds belongs. However, a number of other senior party executives favoured sticking with the 1992 agreement.

A tight-lipped Persaud refused to say how many candidates were considered, the gender of the agreed candidate and what was the process used. “I will not comment on any potential candidate or anyone who might have expressed an interest,” added Persaud.
Originally posted by Henry:
Originally posted by D2:
[stupidness]

This is why, whenever I see you cake shop fellows call the PPP racist, I detect the sickening stench of hypocrisy.

we call the ppp racist because it confines blacks to token positions. it would have been more impressive if Benn was the presidential candidate and ramotar the PM. We all know how hopeless Ramotar is which is why the PPP has him hidden from debates and Jagdeo is running his mouth so much. So putting him in a token positions like PM would have bene appropriate.
Originally posted by Dharry:
Do not tek you all rass and pass Robeson, he is a solid PPP man. What this mean, this is the end of the CIVIC.

Robeson Benn is a CIVIC member.. That is why he is being considered..
Originally posted by jags:
Robeson Benn is just gonna be another uncle tom errrr Uncle Benn like Uncle Stam.

1. He is no sam hinds.
2. He knows how to kick ass..
2. He is more intellligent Trotman and Rakjattan put together..
Originally posted by SuperMike:
yall getting bazzadee..ah love how we gat yall fools in la la land...stop speculating and wait till we make the big declaration cheers

They are really afraid of Brindley Benn's son.
Caribj whats your take on uncle tom errr i Mean Uncle Sam.

Poor man. He is a loyal slave. Like all loyal slaves he will be forgotten, having been buried in an unmarked grave.
Robeson Benn is just gonna be another uncle tom errrr Uncle Benn like Uncle Stam.

No he is known for being ignorant (Guyanese meaning).

The PPP might bite off more than it can chew if next time he likes ths ound of President more.

What will the PPP do in the battam house, "if you nah vote PPP dem black man gun tek over.....yu mean Benn gun tek over if PPP win headbanging????!!!!!"

I guess "collie man nah gun be an tap no more".

Invite a tiger into your house and he might eat you.

How ironic if he stages an internal coup with the likes of Joe Hamilton and others. The PPP needs to knows these arent loyal slaves and, seeing a stupididy Ramotar, might just take the whole thing away.
Originally posted by caribj:
Caribj whats your take on uncle tom errr i Mean Uncle Sam.

Poor man. He is a loyal slave. Like all loyal slaves he will be forgotten, having been buried in an unmarked grave.

like ashton chase, brindley benn, Martin carter,
cedric nunes and dem boys who dedicated their klives to fight for Guyana's independence.
Originally posted by Ramakant_p:
cedric nunes and dem boys who dedicated their klives to fight for Guyana's independence.

Ashton Chse cries in his sleep about the monster that he helped create since jagdeo took over. Janet was bad enough but Jagdeo!!!!!!

The others are old men, most long gone.

yes he does. He, Joe Hamilton, Norman McLean and the others will "take over this sucker". What will bumbling Ramotar do since most of the PPP loyalists will have fled to the AFC leaving only soup lickers, milk drinkers and the criminally inclined.

Ashton Chse cries in his sleep about the monster that he helped create since jagdeo took over. Janet was bad enough but Jagdeo!!!!!!

The others are old men, most long gone.

jagdeo did better than all the Presidents put together..

1. He is no sam hinds.

flag

flag

Ywes he will kick the PPPs ass and take over. "Dumb fools think I am stupidee like Sam Hinds for them to use me", so says Benn.

Watch and see how Benn, joining with Hamilton and the other PNC tigers you all invited in turn around and gobble you up. Hammie will join them.

In 2016 you will be an ardent ROAR man screaming how "black man tief ahbee PPP party".
Ywes he will kick the PPPs ass and take over. "Dumb fools think I am stupidee like Sam Hinds for them to use me", so says Benn.

Watch and see how Benn, joining with Hamilton and the other PNC tigers you all invited in turn around and gobble you up. Hammie will join them.

In 2016 you will be an ardent ROAR man screaming how "black man tief ahbee PPP party".

ROTFLMAO!! lol lol
Originally posted by redux:

ROTFLMAO!! lol lol

These guys are just too easy. I dont know why they think they can control ruthless and very ambitious men like the ones they invited in when its clear the PPP is lacking brains. Their "brain trust" Luncheon is off....too tired.

Oh well maybe Jagdeo might stage a coup to "rescue" Guyana from the PNC pitbulls wondering around Freedom House.
The Benns have made a remarkable comeback after they got the booth kickout from the PPP by Dr.Jagan. If someone had told me that a Benn would be the Prime Minister candidate after their curse out of Dr.Jagan I would not have believe it in a million years.

Guys don't count out Jennifer Westford. She has got Donald's ear. Although, Sam Hinds and Benn are Jagdeo's guys.

flag

Benn is a patriot, and you are dotish.
Originally posted by Wally:
The Benns have made a remarkable comeback after they got the booth kickout from the PPP by Dr.Jagan. .

The Benns have long memories. "vengeance shall be mine" so they say.
Benn is a patriot, and you are dotish.

I agree. His "patriotic" act will be to clean the PPP house out and install Joe and others in high positions. After becoming President.
The Benns were extremely bitter with Dr Jagan but after Brindley's appointment as Ambassador I think they may have buried the knife with the Jagans. Or else there will be all out war against Jaganites when they get the power.
Or else there will be all out war against Jaganites when they get the power.

definitely. Robeson Benn "those Freedom House Boys think because I am black I am stupidee like Sam Hinds. aah well they will soon find out".
The Benns were extremely bitter with Dr Jagan but after Brindley's appointment as Ambassador I think they may have buried the knife with the Jagans. Or else there will be all out war against Jaganites when they get the power.

I continue to be amazed at some of the stupidness I see at GNI.

Dont worry Henry like they say rthe Benns have abone to pick with Freedom House. All the bones will be tossed in the garbage.

"hehehehehehehe dem PPP bais tink me fool fool like Sam Hinds" Big Grin

flag

You should know that Benn, Hamilton are CIVIC members not PPP members. There isn't going to be any take over of the party.
Robeson is a good man and he will make a fine PM candidate but that is all he will be, a PM candidate and not a Prime Minister since the people will share licks like peas on the PPP.

VOTE CHANGE, VOTE AFC.

By the way, where is Sam Hinds?
Originally posted by Sase Singh:
Robeson is a good man and he will make a fine PM candidate but that is all he will be, a PM candidate and not a Prime Minister since the people will share licks like peas on the PPP.

VOTE CHANGE, VOTE AFC.

I think that you start to believe your own dreams. You are very delusional.
Originally posted by Sase Singh:

VOTE CHANGE, VOTE AFC.

I think that you start to believe your own dreams. You are very delusional.

Not delusional, we know you all trick read Uncle Rama, about the nasty PPP politics.

http://www.stabroeknews.com/20...ding-linden-meeting/

well post your picture and you will see more stupidness
W

1. He is no sam hinds.
when he become prime minister,who will brake down all those poor people place.Is this why the ppp hire joe

flag
W