Originally Posted by TK:
Originally Posted by Prashad:

No caribbean country will ever agree to the beach and jungle strategy that TK is proposing.  Why would they want share their tourists with us.  Their job is to suck every dollar out of that tourist into their economy.  Why would they want to share that with us.

You could be right. But do you think the government should use the people's money to subsidized a foreign brand hotel? To put that hotel into direct competition with local investors?

I think u r missing the point of the government. Back in the 60's, Pegasus was built to provide a hotel for diplomatic foreign mission purposes-conference centre, ultra modern facilities, etc, etc. Government of Guyana at the time was a major shareholder in the venture and Hotel Tower and Park Hotel were going concerns at the time. Both those hotels along with the King George's Hotel were known to host visiting colonials.

The present day diplomatic corp are known to travel and stay over at exclusive properties-security reasons. The Hilton Trancorp. in Abuja, Nigeria, their economy is US$300.00 per night. Some rooms are US$750.00 per night. With those prices, alot of times it is some government pay the bills.

The GoG wants the Marriott in GT to provide the same services and calibre. It is not a hotel geared to the tourist industry.

Only the affluent can afford the bill.

Originally Posted by TK:

In this column, I will examine the proposed investment in the Marriott Hotel, which is expected to be part financed by the government (US$13 million).

The Proposed Kingston Marriott Hotel and Tourism

By DAILYFEATURES, THURSDAY, DECEMBER 27, 2012

Simply your personal views and examination.

Oh...wow...that is one deep and profound sentence there DG. 

About ninety percent ( 90% ) of the population may have little or no impact with your publications.

About ten percent ( 10% ) may have some interest in what you publish.

Acting out of character is a sign of senile dementia. D_G do you recognize what the numbers mean that you posted above? If so, please explain their significance.

There is no significance as usual with the Dementia_Guy since he pulled them out of his derriÃĻre

It is not a hotel geared to the tourist industry.

soooo . . . what again is the taxpayer getting for his money??

I am certain there is a ROI.

The government manages the taxpayers money, in this particular case, the government want to improve the image of the country by providing diplomats with comparable accomdations they are acusstomed to in other regions of the world..

Originally Posted by Mr.T:

I am not convinced that diplomats would want to stay in a hotel built for the drugs trade.

Is it drug money or taxpayer money?  Which one are you convinced of?

Is the regime suddenly funding the project all by itself with taxpayers money? I was under the impression that they are only a minority partner in this project.

the certainties in your head don't interest me

answer the bloody question

Y the frig u worried. The PPP government not spending a dime of ur money. 

I think the government is ready to sell their share of the hotel. Yuh ready to buy it?

The construction of the hotel is on its way. The GoG has no need anymore fear the success of the project.

I think the Marriot hotel should have been build on the linden highway to take advantage of the creeks there and the short distance from the airport.  If each of the creeks on the linden highway can have small businesses around them (selling local food, local drinks, local handcrafts  and other such things) then they can be developed into a tourist hub that can be tied into TK's idea of linking with the caribbean island tourism of Barbadoes and Trinidad because of the short distance by plane from Guyana.  We market them as Amazon jungle creeks.  Which tourist would not want to say that they visited a beach and a Amazon jungle creek in the caribbean.   

I think the government is ready to sell their share of the hotel. Yuh ready to buy it?

The construction of the hotel is on its way. The GoG has no need anymore fear the success of the project.

you have no "friggin" idea what taxes i pay in Guyana, OK . . . i take u at your word

answer the bloody question u stupid ole bum!

Originally Posted by TK:

No caribbean country will ever agree to the beach and jungle strategy that TK is proposing.  Why would they want share their tourists with us.  Their job is to suck every dollar out of that tourist into their economy.  Why would they want to share that with us.

You could be right. But do you think the government should use the people's money to subsidized a foreign brand hotel? To put that hotel into direct competition with local investors?

I think u r missing the point of the government. Back in the 60's, Pegasus was built to provide a hotel for diplomatic foreign mission purposes-conference centre, ultra modern facilities, etc, etc. Government of Guyana at the time was a major shareholder in the venture and Hotel Tower and Park Hotel were going concerns at the time. Both those hotels along with the King George's Hotel were known to host visiting colonials.

The present day diplomatic corp are known to travel and stay over at exclusive properties-security reasons. The Hilton Trancorp. in Abuja, Nigeria, their economy is US$300.00 per night. Some rooms are US$750.00 per night. With those prices, alot of times it is some government pay the bills.

The GoG wants the Marriott in GT to provide the same services and calibre. It is not a hotel geared to the tourist industry.

I am not missing the point at all. I cannot think of a worse justification for the investment than yours. Building the Marriott for diplomats? $300 and $750 a night?  For diplomats? Do Canadian diplomats pay that much? I remember Sir Courtney Blackman once told me Prime Minister Errol Barrow once refused to stay at an expensive room because he could not justify wasting the people's money. No wonder why Barbados is where it is today. Blackbeard once had a link to the amount Canadian officials pay. I hope someone can dig it up. 

Originally Posted by TK:

In this column, I will examine the proposed investment in the Marriott Hotel, which is expected to be part financed by the government (US$13 million).

About ninety percent ( 90% ) of the population may have little or no impact with your publications.

Haha...eat your heart out. People care enough to pay me to write.

I sense a vex old fox? How is the sour grape?

Idiocy is indeed your strongest suit.

Payment is immeterial; your effective readership is less than ten percent ( 10% ).

Perched in a cold hut in Alberta, Canada, Aristotle of GNI deduced that less than 10% read a column on the northern tip of South America. Oh what a scientist. 

Originally Posted by Wally:

I think the Marriot hotel should have been build on the linden highway to take advantage of the creeks there and the short distance from the airport.  If each of the creeks on the linden highway can have small businesses around them (selling local food, local drinks, local handcrafts  and other such things) then they can be developed into a tourist hub that can be tied into TK's idea of linking with the caribbean island tourism of Barbadoes and Trinidad because of the short distance by plane from Guyana.  We market them as Amazon jungle creeks.  Which tourist would not want to say that they visited a beach and a Amazon jungle creek in the caribbean.   

I agree Wally. That entire region can be a tourist hub. There is also the river going up to Santa Mission just on the other side of Demerara river. Actually orange river beach and black water can be a good attraction. When I tell friends they all want to see it. 

you have no "friggin" idea what taxes i pay in Guyana, OK . . . i take u at your word

answer the bloody question u stupid ole bum!

go stick ur head up ur azz.

Originally Posted by TK:

I am not missing the point at all. I cannot think of a worse justification for the investment than yours. Building the Marriott for diplomats? $300 and $750 a night?  For diplomats? Do Canadian diplomats pay that much? I remember Sir Courtney Blackman once told me Prime Minister Errol Barrow once refused to stay at an expensive room because he could not justify wasting the people's money. No wonder why Barbados is where it is today. Blackbeard once had a link to the amount Canadian officials pay. I hope someone can dig it up. 

U should check it out. Todays diplomatic service doan stay in cheap places-that includes the UN, World Bank and every other dipolmatic service. It does not mean diplomats as u know it. That hotel could be filled on an going basis.

U guys are wrong, that hotel is not entirely for tourist-tourists cannot pay those prices.

Being built on the Linden HIghway-that is crazy.

I beginning 2 c Nehru's logics. U people need to travel and get educated.

Originally Posted by TK:

I agree Wally. That entire region can be a tourist hub. There is also the river going up to Santa Mission just on the other side of Demerara river. Actually orange river beach and black water can be a good attraction. When I tell friends they all want to see it. 

U and Wally gotta b nuts. Do u all realize how many millions is being spent to build the hotel and u all want to have it as a rest house. Tourists only sleeps at a hotel-which is about 5 hours.

The Marriott line of hotels are not the Hiloday Inn. U all need to pull ur heads out of text books and Travel.

Originally Posted by TK:

U and Wally gotta b nuts. Do u all realize how many millions is being spent to build the hotel and u all want to have it as a rest house. Tourists only sleeps at a hotel-which is about 5 hours.

The Marriott line of hotels are not the Hiloday Inn. U all need to pull ur heads out of text books and Travel.

====

You are writing trash. I am sure I have seen many more countries and states than you. I see another insecure semi-literate running down books. I cannot find a more asinine reason than diplomats filling up a hotel. Perhaps if you read some more you would observe better when you travel. If diplomats were going to fill it up why are the advertising for a casino? You should stick to superstition which you have always done well here. 

Originally Posted by TK:

Haha...eat your heart out. People care enough to pay me to write.

I sense a vex old fox? How is the sour grape?

Idiocy is indeed your strongest suit.

Payment is immeterial; your effective readership is less than ten percent ( 10% ).

Perched in a cold hut in Alberta, Canada, Aristotle of GNI deduced that less than 10% read a column on the northern tip of South America. Oh what a scientist. 

Nonsense will always highlight your strongest points.

Originally Posted by Billy Ram Balgobin:

On the issue of the construction of a Marriot Hotel in Guyana TK is playing the role of a politician rather than that of an economist. He knows well that Guyana desperately needs investments in hotels of international standards to get the tourism sector moving. He is not dumb. He is just playing politics.

I have seen little from TK that demonstrates professional or academic competence. He may possess those qualities, but what he posts here at GNI is, as you, say playing politics, or as is always the case with the AFC, playing at politics -- always looking for some minor issue that can be inflated in importance and exploited to create an excuse to get the thoroughly uninteresting AFC once more into the pages of the Kaieteur News.

Having said that, I wish the government were putting the money into infrastructure rather than subsidizing tourism.

Originally Posted by Henry:

On the issue of the construction of a Marriot Hotel in Guyana TK is playing the role of a politician rather than that of an economist. He knows well that Guyana desperately needs investments in hotels of international standards to get the tourism sector moving. He is not dumb. He is just playing politics.

I have seen little from TK that demonstrates professional or academic competence. He may possess those qualities, but what he posts here at GNI is, as you, say playing politics, or as is always the case with the AFC, playing at politics -- always looking for some minor issue that can be inflated in importance and exploited to create an excuse to get the thoroughly uninteresting AFC once more into the pages of the Kaieteur News.

Having said that, I wish the government were putting the money into infrastructure rather than subsidizing tourism.

so you [essentially] agree with the man, but felt the need to bray stupidly on cue just because

Henny...thanks for agreeing with the AFC. BTW...I will show you later how much the AFC's policies are rooted in Alexander Hamilton. Have to run...unfortunately you and I don't get along because I am not so steeped into conspiracy theories. 

so you [essentially] agree with the man, but felt the need to bray stupidly on cue just because

I think the AFC wishes the government were putting the money into the Pegasus.

=============

Henry:

PPP politicans will profit more(money under the table) from the Marriot deal than they would if the funds were spent on infrastucture.

Remember, PPP politicians will always put their pockets ahead of country and people.

And if the PNC/AFC eventually replaces the PPP in the executive branch---they'll to the same thing:

i know what you "think" . . . but no one cares

plenty of reality to go around; go purchase some

Why don't you tell us what you "see" in that your gnat-like  brain. You are full-throated in your statements about not seeing "academic competence" but demonstrate not one iota of the same in to suggest you read the material, digested it and disagrees with it on some fundamental level.

The disagreement is not with the project per se but the subsidy of not yet known investors by the guyanese people and the overall liberal unaccountable use of our national assets from the valuable land on which this project sits to the 25 million being co opted from the ATN sale.

You are quick to leverage "academia competence" when you act like a dumb ass to leverage baseless accusations about this being about politics. Indeed it is about politics, corrupt politics by the administration!

Do you indeed ever think? I suggest you are more inclined to meander into conspiracy theories about the British manipulating global finances than to think on any matter seriously.

Here, a corrupt regime is using the nations assets and piling on debt on the nations people on behalf of Brassington and Bobby the boob who among others are constant leeches on the nations teat and yet you "think" the AFC is contesting the lack of accountability because they would "prefer" the money going elsewhere!

Originally Posted by D2/God/Stormborn:

The disagreement is not with the project per se but the subsidy of not yet known investors by the guyanese people and the overall liberal unaccountable use of our national assets from the valuable land on which this project sits to the 25 million being co opted from the ATN sale.

No need to speculate about who is investing in the AFC, you poor wretch -- it's 

Robert Badal.

Originally Posted by TK:

====

You are writing trash. I am sure I have seen many more countries and states than you. I see another insecure semi-literate running down books. I cannot find a more asinine reason than diplomats filling up a hotel. Perhaps if you read some more you would observe better when you travel. If diplomats were going to fill it up why are the advertising for a casino? You should stick to superstition which you have always done well here. 

Good for u.

The AFC must dumb ur azz-ur foolish ideas only expose their stupidity. 

Originally Posted by TK:

====

Good for u.

The AFC must dumb ur azz-ur foolish ideas only expose their stupidity. 

As I advised you earlier...stick with superstitions as you're most eloquent then. 

Originally Posted by D2/God/Stormborn:

No need to speculate about who is investing in the AFC, you poor wretch -- it's 

Robert Badal.

I am a poor wretch for pointing to the real and in your face use of national assets to fund a select crew while you make sense for speculating on a fantasy!

Get real you morally deficient donkey!

HENRY: "Having said that, I wish the government were putting the money into infrastructure rather than subsidizing tourism."

-------------

The Marriott has nothing to do with subsidizing tourism. It will have no catalytic impact on the tourist industry. Yes they ought to subsidize tourism as they must invest in physical infrastructure and human capabilities. Eco-tourism has to be one of the economic planks. 

Originally Posted by TK:

Eco-tourism has to be one of the economic planks. 

This idea makes me uncomfortable -- it smacks of turning the country into an amusement park for the Great White Hunters (whether with actual guns, or cameras.)

Hmmm...please take a visit to Costa Rica or Belize.