The proposed Public Service Staff College: Shaping a Developmental State?

SN March 9, 2016

Recently the Stabroek News (Feb 28, 2016) reported President Granger saying: “I have no interest in having an unprofessional Public Service… I also said that I did not just want an efficient public service but an ‘unbribable’ public service; professional people, people who can do their trade and people who are prepared to do their jobs without fear or favour.” It is good to hear a Guyanese Head of State finally making such a comment. It is crucial that the civil service evolve into a professional, developmentalist and politically neutral body.

For those of us who have studied development economics from an eclectic perspective – and not the purely neo-classical variety – we observe how the State can do well for economic transformation once the capacity is in place. On the other hand, the State can be predatory and retard economic development. I would place the Guyanese State – in particular the police, CANU, security forces and others – more on the predatory than developmentalist side,thanks largely to the legacies of the old PNC and the recently booted PPP.

20140101watchMoreover, the Guyanese State has been used largely for rewarding political supporters – many untrained – who often are drawn almost entirely from one ethnic group. These political civil servants often failed to realize their role in the economic transformation of the society. In the 2011 and 2015 election periods, several Permanent Secretaries and senior public servants campaigned openly for the PPP. A few even demonstrated public servility to Mr Jagdeo, making them Jagdeo servants and not public servants.

This has to be changed. However, the first six months of the APNU+AFC administration also saw many old friends of the PNC being rewarded with important positions. The new hires of the APNU+AFC administration lacked diversity on many fronts: ethnicity, gender, religion and age. Of course, several of the senior civil servants who openly supported the PPP were sent home, as was necessary. A developmental civil service will faithfully implement the policy choices of the government of the day, be politically neutral and be embedded but yet autonomous from the private sector. They will have long-term careers subjected to suitable performance reviews.

The developmental State is embedded in the sense that it understands the shortcomings of the private sector in solving coordination problems and correcting market failures. Embedded civil servants do not view the private entrepreneur as a parasite and see him/her as inherently corrupt. The State will have the bureaucratic maturity to be autonomous even though it is embedded in the needs of the private entrepreneur. One feature of an autonomous civil service is: it is unbribable, as President Granger noted recently.

One of the channels through which President Granger sees the implementation of a professional public service is the establishment of a staff college for public workers. The staff college will have faculties in International Relations (Foreign Service), Defence, Public Administration and Information Technology. It all sounds reasonable until we consider that the University of Guyana already has well-established degree programmes in Public Management and International Relations. There is also a Computer Science degree at UG.

As an educator and one who not only created courses from scratch, but also has been part of university administration (to my dislike since it takes away my research time), I am thinking about course content for these areas. From where would the teachers come? Are they going to be drawn from the existing pool at UG? Would the teachers be drawn from experienced civil servants? The way I have always seen it is to utilize and enhance complementarities when resources are very scarce. Is the staff college going to focus on remedial courses or on actual diploma programmes?

Here is a case where the President has asked the right question. The next stage should be to task UG to come up with several diploma programmes for public servants who entered the service with varying degrees of education. Those already with a bachelor’s degree would be better off doing a post-graduate diploma. And those without a bachelor’s degree would need a semi-remedial programme. People would be hard-pressed to do even basic data manipulation tasks in Microsoft Excel if they are challenged in basic algebra. I am not a fan of online education, but there could be some scope here for UG to impart some of this training online. In addition, one has to make sure these diplomas are transferable to the private sector. Not all workers will stay in the public service forever. There is no reason why these diplomas – once they have certain core training – cannot be transferable to the private sector.

I agree all public servants should take a course in national defence. Indeed, the President published a book monograph called National Defence: A Small State in the Subordinate System (published in 2012). They already have a textbook to start with here. But I still believe UG can use the exact book for a course in national defence, which is crucial not only because of the territorial troubles with Venezuela and Suriname but also the smuggling of gold, diamonds and the white stuff, all of which undermine national development through destroying the human capital pool of the labour force and corrupting the security agencies.

The same principle holds for the private sector. The reason why the private sector fails to appreciate what UG has to offer is because its managers have largely failed to ask questions. The purpose of a university is to mould human capital to have certain core skills and knowledge. If the private managers can ask the right questions, they can turn to university professors who have a wide array of skills to help in answering their questions. This is the way it works in the United States. When CEOs and corporate boards can’t address specific questions in-house they turn to their local university.

In closing, I also believe the proposed training of public servants should include a course on Guyanese political economy, focusing on how the developmentalist structures of the State were stripped away from the period of Party Paramountcy of Burnham to Elected Oligarchy of Jagdeo. The course should also juxtapose the strategies of successful developmental States around the world and also a few predatory ones, so that public servants can get a feel for the appalling errors made in Guyana since May 1966. If the political class has the appetite, I would be more than happy to develop the course outline for free.

This is a very good article from TK.  It is amazing how many people become manager without any formal training in Management.  This is true even in the USA. 

I think rather than requiring someone to go through a degree program it would be sufficient to have focused training, but at University level courses (not just a one week managerial training retreat).  All managers should of course trained in management and depending on the job, in economics and in basic tools like Excel.  

For those who think this is getting into micromanagement - it is not. Managers must be fully capable of making important decisions in their field and they should have expert knowledge to make these decisions and to be able to brief policy makers like politicians. In this vain it is also important to have politicians who can ask the right questions.  I very much doubt we have this in Guyana.  Granger does not strike me as a person who is knowledgeable about government.

Frankly, I do not believe people should be appointed in the public service unless they are an authority in the field and are dedicated to serve the interest of the public rather that the private sector they are charged to oversee (in the case of regulatory agencies).

So TK is a source for management and leadership skills now??  I would never dispute the value of a good education and job training, but if you ask Steve Jobs and Bill Gates, they might tell you that life is not a text book.  TK, on the other hand, thinks life is a text book.  Theory and practice are two different animals.  The ones who have both are the winners.

Indeed about theory and practice --- where those who indulge with theory deals with what if this is that, those do not exist, other irrelevant issues are valid, etc ... and those who focus on practical solutions.

baseman posted:

I agree, it was not bad!

And true about the management thing.  Old school mentality, a good manager is the brightest technocrat on the block!  That is Industrial revolution thinking.  Today's information-age managers need to be more adept to managing people, teams and processes!

A good manager does not have to be an expert in everything, but a sound knowledge of the broad issues, with an expertise in some relevant area.  However, he/she needs to surround themselves with the right mix of experts to leverage and have the aptitude to grasp, and decide on, critical issues!  They must be good communicators!

I agree, the level of expertise required varies (the ones closer to the actual work will need higher degree of expertise), but the one ultimately making the call must be knowledgeable in the subject.  

For example, these were the objectives of Guyana's Economic Recovery Plan -  to restore economic growth, to incorporate the parallel economy into the official economy, to eliminate external and internal payments imbalances, and to normalize Guyana's financial relations with its foreign creditors.  A leader who makes decisions on important issues like these must understand the fundamentals involved else they will be noting else but rubber stamps to ideas that sound good.  Good leaders have the ability to ask questions that even the experts overlooked; this comes with training and sometimes sheer brilliance.

Steve Jobs and Bill Gates are geniuses and experts at what they did hence their success.  They had great visions but that's only part of being a great leader.  I am sure they relied heavily on business experts to make their corporations a success. Anyway, Steve Jobs was not a good manager as you may know.

baseman posted:
VVP posted:
baseman posted:

I agree, it was not bad!

And true about the management thing.  Old school mentality, a good manager is the brightest technocrat on the block!  That is Industrial revolution thinking.  Today's information-age managers need to be more adept to managing people, teams and processes!

A good manager does not have to be an expert in everything, but a sound knowledge of the broad issues, with an expertise in some relevant area.  However, he/she needs to surround themselves with the right mix of experts to leverage and have the aptitude to grasp, and decide on, critical issues!  They must be good communicators!

I agree, the level of expertise required varies (the ones closer to the actual work will need higher degree of expertise), but the one ultimately making the call must be knowledgeable in the subject.  

For example, these were the objectives of Guyana's Economic Recovery Plan -  to restore economic growth, to incorporate the parallel economy into the official economy, to eliminate external and internal payments imbalances, and to normalize Guyana's financial relations with its foreign creditors.  A leader who makes decisions on important issues like these must understand the fundamentals involved else they will be noting else but rubber stamps to ideas that sound good.  Good leaders have the ability to ask questions that even the experts overlooked; this comes with training and sometimes sheer brilliance.

Well den, is wah di rass alyuh suh excited about Granger.  That banna have no clue rass apart from cleaning a gun barrel!!  And Burnham did not know squat, he thought Accumulated Depreciation was a bank account to buy PP&E.  And alyuh seh he was a good leader!

And why alyuh cuss out BJ so much, he was the expert in this!!

BJ is an expert who used his brains for the wrong things.

baseman posted:
VVP posted:

Steve Jobs and Bill Gates are geniuses and experts at what they did hence their success.  They had great visions but that's only part of being a great leader.  I am sure they relied heavily on business experts to make their corporations a success. Anyway, Steve Jobs was not a good manager as you may know.

When Jobs was fired, Apple almost collapsed a few years later and when he returned, it soared to become the largest [Cap] ever!

So now, how do you define leadership?  Are you saying [in your world], a good leader does not necessarily mean, or tied to, a successful outcome.

Well, banna, you need to take that hypothesis to Harvard.  Is a new one!!  But than again, Burnham, Granger were/are "good" leaders, so you have a point!!

So why was he fired in the first place?

Steve Jobs was fired because of nasty corporate politics.  He had a conflict with a senior employee and the Board of Directors sided with his opponent.  This happens all the time in the corporate world - good people get forced out and then they return with a vengeance. 

Take a look at Jamie Dimon.  He was forced out of Citigroup by Sandy Weill and other board members.  Now he is killing them being the CEO of JPMorgan Chase, they are struggling to compete with him.  Former Governor of NJ, Jon Corzine, was also forced out of Goldman Sachs.

baseman posted:
VVP posted:
baseman posted:

I agree, it was not bad!

Well den, is wah di rass alyuh suh excited about Granger.  That banna have no clue rass apart from cleaning a gun barrel!!  And Burnham did not know squat, he thought Accumulated Depreciation was a bank account to buy PP&E.  And alyuh seh he was a good leader!

I find this interesting. A Guyanese fella with a BA in economics who supported the AFC/APNU ticket told me once that LFS did not know what is GDP per capita.

That does not surprise me.  He was trained as a lawyer and every one of his economic policies failed.  And Let us not forget, Mr. Carl Greenidge was his Finance Minister.  Guyana is going to be the first country in the world where the same man gets to bankrupt the country TWICE - in two different eras!!!!

He was fired because of nasty corporate politics. 

Some may say that and some will say that he was focusing too much on a dead-end product "the Lisa" (I think it was) that dragging the company down.  Some people can be extremely brilliant but they get caught up in dead-end products without knowing when it is time to move on.  Take for example, Henry Ford and the Model T.

My father worked all of his life in G/town and he always say Burnham was an 'ordinary blackman" who rode a bicycle to work and some occasion accepted mauby and buns as legal fees from his poor clients. He could not pay $29.45 monthly installment on his car loan. His vehicle and furnitures were repossessed. The banna was a great politician but when it comes to handling his personal finances he was a disaster.

baseman posted:
VVP posted:
baseman posted:

I agree, it was not bad!

I find this interesting. A Guyanese fella with a BA in economics who supported the AFC/APNU ticket told me once that LFS did not know what is GDP per capita.

And you believed that?  Like Jagdeo, Burnham used his brilliance for the wrong cause.

Satya Nadella is an excellent cricketer.  He said playing cricket on a team helped him to build his leadership skills.  He may have a point as I notice a lot of successful corporate leaders were also good sportsmen!