Written by   
Thursday, 18 April 2013 23:11

A RECENT editorial by Stabroek News in which it condemned former President Jagdeo for his comments as they relate to East Indians caught my attention. I believe the point President Jagdeo was referring to needs to be understood in its context. The fact that we must stop looking at everything through the lens of race, I felt was the core of his comments. The editorial painted a biased opposition view and was simply not objective. The implications of what was said by the AFC of people of Indian origin to me should have been the focus of the editorial. I have pushed for economic development across all of Guyana and continue to do so regardless of race or religion. My recent visit to Parliament enlightened me: as I looked down the PPP’s aisle and then the opposition’s aisle, the PPP benches were the most diversified of all political parties. If racism was a factor, they would have mirrored the one-sided opposition. Enough said there. Politically, while I served in the opposition’s camp, I came across blatant racism by senior members. I must say I was a student of President Hoyte and at no point was there any detection of racism in his blood. In recent times at senior meetings, members of the opposition would refer to Indians in the PPP as “ dem PPP ****** people” in a very derogatory way. Sometimes I use to look around the room and feel my hair to make sure I didn’t change race. The best example was Winston Murray. He was never looked at as Indian in the PNC until he decided to run for the leadership of the party and it was said by many: “No way an Indian will ever lead the party”. My exit out of the PNC was very public because of those sentiments in the past. After I left the opposition ranks, I was shocked at how many senior members of the opposition said, “well u a ****** what you expect”, even though I had served over a decade in the opposition ranks. By leaving, they felt my Indianism was the reason for aligning with the PPP.

Race issues abound in many countries including our nation and the United States. I spent almost two decades in the US military and I can say, I ran across racism numerous times and did my best for it not to keep me back. I remember many from the minority in the USA telling me as an immigrant why did I come to take their place. So even though all of us were minorities, racism was even more prevalent.

President Jagdeo’s comments in context addressed issues that must be curtailed. There is a big difference between favouritism from any government to the accusation that it was given based on race. If that were the case, my friend Joe Hamilton who left the opposition because of its incompetence would not have got a position with the PPP.

Conclusion:
We must move past this discussion simply based on race as the former President has indicated. The AFC Chairman, Mr. Nigel Hughes, must take his position seriously and realise that him representing a lawsuit that the main premise is a racial defence approach only adds to this dilemma we face as a nation and targets people of Indian origin.  We must move forward in the best way possible as a multi-ethnic society and treat others with respect. We are only victims of the race card if we allow it. We are all Guyanese regardless of the colour of our skins, the texture and colour of our hair, our religion or our sexuality, but we must each be proud of our ethnic identity and our culture while respecting each other.a

Jagan introduced racism when he refused to accept the leadership of Forbes Burnham. Under a democratic PPP, his chances of being elected leader again later on could have put British Guiana on the correct track. Instead, CBJ and his wife adopted a beligerent demeanor and started a smear campaign against Burnham. CBJ later, bowled over B.S.Rai by rigging the congress votes and had Brindley Benn installed as Chairman.

Racism's chief architect is no other than C.B.Jagan. Predominat Indian villages,  easily grasped the Jagan's explanation of Forbes-he dared to challenge the Jagans-he was a colonial stooge.

Before the Jagan's arrival in British Guiana-the people lived peacefully. Prejudices did exist, but the 1954 PPP split made it boiled over.

Democracy would have allowed us to tolerate each other. With democracy there would have been that slim chance that ppl would have always had an alternative. With the sham of democracy today, the Indians are happy with it. The Blacks in the PPP occupy a level of authority, but the true masters are the Indians.

After 1992 PPP victory, words of the late Daman Persaud, "Who the hell is Sam Hinds." 

Truly, the PPP have all races on their benches and so would the PNC if elected as the government. Forbes had alot of influential indians with him. Likewise the PPP of today.

Racism in Guyana has a PERMANENT PLACE-the indoes would have it that way.  

FACTS ARE FACTS.   MOSE, RAMJHAAAAATAN AND GR DONT DEAL IN FACTS!!!!!

Pavi bhai, Dis Moses and Ramjaaaaataaan thing like it got you in a tizzy. Civilization has developed something to mitigate the effects for such obsession. It's called therapy. Try it....you might like it. At least you would stop singing "Ram-jaaaaat-aaan in the showers.

FACTS ARE FACTS.   MOSE, RAMJHAAAAATAN AND GR DONT DEAL IN FACTS!!!!!

Pavi bhai, Dis Moses and Ramjaaaaataaan thing like it got you in a tizzy. Civilization has developed something to mitigate the effects for such obsession. It's called therapy. Try it....you might like it. At least you would stop singing "Ram-jaaaaat-aaan in the showers.

Bhai, A JHAAT IS A JHAAAT. Ask yuh Grandpa aboutbeing a JHAAT, he will able to explain.  These LOSERS are so desperate they jumped in bed with those that put FIRE on their Balls.   FACTS BABY FACTS!!!

". . . There is a big difference between favouritism from any government to the accusation that it was given based on race. If that were the case, my friend Joe Hamilton who left the opposition because of its incompetence would not have got a position with the PPP."
Peter R. Ramsaroop

mr MBA lost me right THERE . . .

perhaps the overly rich soup caused a temporary brain fart

Most of those people who voted for the AFC, particularly Indians, are very much disappointed with the party's alliance with the PNC in parliament and on the streets. The promise of being different from the two traditional parties has not been fulfilled. Come next elections and the AFC's aggressive role with the PNC will boomerang in their faces.

The point is the PPP refuse to accept we have a race problem except when convenient. It is truly a vile thing for a party to pretend to be race neutral when it exist as a racially identified party. If they needed a race neutral society they could have done it by initiating constitution reforms. They like the status quo .They  benefit by race, frame their polemics around race and refuse to initiate fair  transformation of the constitution towards a race neutral one because race schism matters to them. The one we have guarantees a fight based on race for the state as a prize. That is the only reason Jagdeo presses race buttons. Indians are doing nothing wrong to those cantankerous neg.roes who are itching to get into office and raid the nations coffers. After all, that is what they do.

". . . There is a big difference between favouritism from any government to the accusation that it was given based on race. If that were the case, my friend Joe Hamilton who left the opposition because of its incompetence would not have got a position with the PPP."
Peter R. Ramsaroop

mr MBA lost me right THERE . . .

perhaps the overly rich soup caused a temporary brain fart

And of course we can debate about whether Hamilton plays any key role, or is just there so that the PPP can show him as Exhibit ! of how "diverse" they are.  This when, aside from Luncheon, and maybe Benn, no AfroGuyanese plays any key role in determining what the PPP does.

The PPP has been accused of anti African behavior and concrete examples of this have been furnished by many, including Hughes and Kissoon.  We have yet to get any response from the PPP defending their position.  What we get are hysterical rants from Indo Nazi racists like Jagdeo, screaming that any demand from AfroGuyanese that they should be treated equally is akin to the illtreatment of Indians by the plantocarcy of 19tgh Century BRITISH Guiana.

Indeed I note that while Jagdeo rants about what happened to Indians in 19th century BG he ignores the fcat that AfroGuyanese were treated WORSE.  One would think, listening to him, that blacks were part of the colonial elites, and that only Indians were victimized.

Bai, the Colonial Police (only Blacks) shoot up a whole lot of Indoes because they went against the Sugar Producers(White ppl, Coloured ppl, putagees & some Negroes)

Suh deh was some colonial blacks. 

Bai, the Colonial Police (only Blacks) shoot up a whole lot of Indoes because they went against the Sugar Producers(White ppl, Coloured ppl, putagees & some Negroes)

Suh deh was some colonial blacks. 

And the same police shot up blacks as well.

So whats your point.  Caribbean cops always shoot to defend the people in power, regardless as to who they are.  They shot for the British, for Burnham and now for Ramotar.  And you name the Caribbean country and the same applies there.

I wonder who these black plantocrats were?  Can you tell me?  I do know that the black farmers were so frustrated that at Buxton they had to stop train.  They had to use women, knowing that if the men had tried that they would have been shot.

when peeping peter first went back to guyana he was in the news every day badmouthing the ppp government the government was giving him a hard time so the sellout decide to drink the soup now who in their right mind will call bloody joe his friend

Peter ran to drink PPP soup when he began to understand that racial politics of Guyana, and the laziness of stupidity of the PNC will prevent them from ever winning a national election.

‘The President is my friend’ – female tenant

May 20, 2010 | By | Filed Under News 

… Raid on Peter Ramsaroop’s properties

Nineteen year-old Nicole Ming who is at the centre of a saga involving Alliance For Change Chief Executive Officer, Peter Ramsaroop, during a media briefing admitted to being a close friend of President Bharrat Jagdeo.
Ramsaroop said that this fact caused him to serve her a notice of eviction.
The teen, in the company of her lawyer, Paul Braam, held a press conference at the Boardroom of the Guyana Times, yesterday, to add her voice to what has become a major issue.

Peter Ramsaroop [partly hidden) and Nicole Ming (in blue) at the rodeo last month

Peter Ramsaroop (partly hidden) and Nicole Ming (in blue) at the rodeo last month

The teen however only agreed to speak to the media off camera. She needed to be persuaded to allow voice recording but she requested that these were not rebroadcast.

Ming said she moved in the apartment on March 15 last and first noticed the camera ‘blinking light’ some two weeks after occupying the apartment.
According to Ming she learnt of the apartment through one Jane Stuart whom she had met at a party at the Pulse Night Club.

Ming said the day after meeting Stuart at the night club she began receiving messages via Facebook but had no idea who the woman was.
According to a transcript of the Facebook conversation which was seen by this newspaper Stuart said she had introduced Ming to French billionaire, Nicolas Burggruen, at the club.
Stuart told Ming that the billionaire “plans to pick us up here with his jet to go to Paris”.

Ming then replied: “Hey Jane, wow I can’t believe you found me on FB from one name…Paris sound like fun”.

It was from then Ming admitted that she and Stuart struck up a friendship. The woman recalled that Stuart would always invite her out but she never made it since at the time she lived with her parents and was ‘not allowed to go out often”.
According to the Guyana Times employee she then told her new friend that she was looking for a place of her own to rent, and it was then she learnt of the Queenstown apartment.

The woman said that when she moved into the apartment she noticed three gadgets in her apartment, which she assumed were motion sensors. She said upon moving in she was told by both Ramsaroop and his fiancée that cameras were on the exterior of the building but never had any idea that cameras were in her apartment.

According to Ming she figured that one of the gadgets which was facing her bed was a camera some two weeks after moving into her apartment.
When asked why she did not report her suspicions earlier, the teen said she just turned the camera in another direction.

“Well you see I didn’t…basically… ok here is what happened. We tried all kind of things to see if it was a sensor, we then put our hands, throw things at it, and nothing happened”.

“And I was having a party one day so me and some friends, and we were joking around about the camera and she decided to show a piece of her skin raised up her top and the light start blinking”.

“When she stopped showing skin the lights came off and when she showed her skin again the light start blinking again”.

The woman said she was only made aware of the other cameras when the police raided the premises.

She also stated that only on one occasion did she give Ramsaroop permission to enter her apartment in her absence. Ming said that Ramsaroop had approached her informing her that the telephone services in the building were disrupted and that a technician needed to check the wire in her apartment.

The woman said she refused to leave her apartment open as Ramsaroop had requested, but it was only after she reminded him that he had spare keys to all the apartments that he agreed to use his keys when the technician was ready to do his work.

Ramsaroop has since denied ever entering the woman’s apartment in her absence.

Ming said after the search was conducted by the police she decided to move out which she did last Monday.

According to the woman, while packing her stuff on Monday, Stuart gave her a termination notice. She said that in the presence of her mother, Ramsaroop asked her to “settle the matter before it gets out of hand”.
The woman said that ever since then she has not been in contact with Ramsaroop or his fiancée. She said she however did see Ramsaroop and his lawyer yesterday at the apartment when she went to collect a stove she had left.
Responding to a question of what was her relationship with the president the woman said that was not relevant to the issue but stated that the president is her friend.

Also responding to reports in some sections of the media about Ramsaroop’s attitude towards her after seeing her with the president at a function the teen said, “He seemed perfectly fine the day after he saw me”.

Ming further declined to comment on question as it relates to her public appearance with the president at the recent Lethem rodeo and Bartica Regatta. When asked whether she believed that the entire incident is surrounded by politics, Ming said, “Ramsaroop will try to swing this entire story just to get out.”

She further noted that contrary to what Ramsaroop stated to the media about the camera being in the apartment because it was used as an office is far from the truth. The woman said she was told by Ramsaroop that the apartment was once a garage that was recently turned into an apartment.
The woman said that the police has not yet informed her as to what was found on the taperecorder recovered by the police. She however said that she hopes that if anything damaging is found she hopes it is immediately destroyed.

According to a police statement two hidden cameras were found in the woman’s bedroom and bathroom. According to the police one was found in a radio and one in a clock.

The raid was conducted as police probed allegations that Ramsaroop may have been filming the woman without her knowledge.

Ramsaroop has vehemently denied the allegations, which he claims are politically motivated to tarnish his image.

Land of Canaan fire causes $60M in damage

September 9, 2008 | By | Filed Under News 

- owners suspect arson

One of the bonds that were completely destroyed by the huge blaze.

A mysterious fire at Land of Canaan, on the East Bank of Demerara, last Sunday night has left millions of dollars in damage, with the owners of the property not ruling out arson.
The fire, which started at around 23:00 hours, completely destroyed three huge bonds rented by CARI AIR, which is owned by local businessman Peter Ramsaroop.

There are reports of loud explosions before the fire started, and the caretaker of the property, Jagdesh Persaud, said he was forced to evacuate his family as the fire raged uncontrollably.
It took fire fighters almost four hours to extinguish the fire which had engulfed the three concrete bonds.

Persaud told this newspaper that he was asleep with his two daughters when he heard what sounded like gunshots.
“I hear pow! pow! I say like thief deh around, but when I look outside I see de whole place bright, bright, then I see de fire and I call out me two children,” Persaud related.

He said that he was surprised since the electricity to the facility had been cut off two weeks ago.
Although several persons rushed to the scene of the fire, there was nothing they could do, since the fire was too big to even contemplate any attempt to extinguish it by bucket.
“I don’t know what caused the fire. At least it can’t start by itself,” Persaud told this newspaper.

Fortunately, the building he occupies with his family was not touched by the fire, although it is in close proximity to the other burnt out buildings.
Speaking to this newspaper from the United States of America via telephone, businessman Peter Ramsaroop said that from what he has learnt, something was thrown into the property.

“We did not have anything in there that would have caused a fire,” he said.

According to Ramsaroop, his company was in the process of re-tooling the facility to accommodate the processing of farmers’ produce.
“We were working with farmers in the area and we had planned to commence operations soon. Maybe the word got out,” Ramsaroop told this newspaper.

He said that already the facility was up to international standards, and he estimated his loss at a whopping sixty million dollars. According to some residents, so huge was the blaze that persons living several miles away spoke of seeing it.

Investigators are expected to revisit the scene to ascertain the origin of the fire.

The oil is ours

December 7, 2008 | By | Filed Under Peeping Tom 

Peter R. Ramsaroop, MBA
Chairman, Vision Guyana

INTRODUCTION:
Last year, right about this time, I first introduced the concept that any oil reserves we find in Guyana are that of the citizens, not the company nor the government. The year has passed and we have had little update on the status of our oil exploration.

I wanted to once again explore the oil formula we have proposed for the country so to keep us focused on the prize that is ahead of us and not allow ourselves to be hoodwinked by the government.

UK journalist Nicholas Shaxson says: “If citizens had the oil money in the first place, and the state had to bargain with them to get its cut, it seems likely that would change the game entirely.”

We continue to ask ourselves how our nation can have so much natural wealth but still is poor. Guyana is suffering from what academics call the ‘resource curse’.

This happens when a country’s economy becomes too dependent on primary exports like oil and sugar, sugar in our case. It’s more likely to happen in a country with institutions that lack transparency and caring leadership for all.

THE FACTS
Maclean’s Magazine of Canada has said that Guyana may be able to eventually match Kuwait’s annual oil production of 500 million barrels.

However, if only one tenth that amount is produced and royalties are 55 percent, at US$100.00 per barrel, that means an average annual payment of roughly US$3600.00 per person or US$300.00 a month. We know oil prices have fluctuated over the last year so the number needs to be flexible.

If Guyana’s oil reserves are proven and then controlled by our government, it could spell disaster for our country. With the nature of our current politics we cannot allow simultaneous control of both political and economic power. We may be able to foster long-term prosperity and peace if we can somewhat separate political favour from economic opportunity.

We have researched and written about democratising Guyana’s natural resources extracted from public property. This means that oil royalties would be dispersed evenly amongst our citizens. The government would have to accountably tax us in order to fund its operations.

To date our organization, Vision Guyana, is the first and so far the only organization to adopt this as part of their vision of a prosperous future for Guyana.

CGX Energy Inc had released an independent assessment of the probable amount of oil found in the offshore Corentyne concession. Its best estimate puts our oil reserves at 2.7 billion barrels.

However, the odds of finding no oil at all are 61 percent. This leaves a 39 percent chance of finding even a little oil at either one or both major drill sites, to be produced at Global Competitive Prices.

OUR PROPOSAL:

1. We propose that we the people get the royalties. “The People may get lazy” you say. Is that worse than the government using all the money to selectively bless others with laziness?

2. “Well people may waste the money,” you say again. Does the government have the monopoly on being wasteful? People spend according to their priorities. Governments spend money on what is politically expedient. We should be asking if people are more wasteful than the government.

3. “Well what about infrastructure?” The government will get revenue through taxation. That should be enough to build infrastructure and buy some accountability.

4. Amend our constitution to state that ALL natural resources belong to Guyana’s citizens.

5. Let each Guyanese choose at which bank to have their royalties deposited.

6. Have oil companies publicly state each payment and pay it directly to the banks.

7. Tax only withdrawals of principal to encourage saving and investment.

8. Allow banks to issue credit to citizens based on all types of income.

9. Enjoy an economy bursting with energy, life, hope and prosperity for all.

CONCLUSION
The Parliamentarians need to start debating issues that affects us, not bicker among themselves on frivolous laws.

Let us act now to secure our democracy by ‘democratizing’ our natural resources extracted from public land. This also goes for when Government gives away our properties to friends instead of providing tax relief to us.

Each Guyanese citizen will vote every day by spending or investing his or her share of the royalties in a free market economy. Nobody’s race will be an issue to someone wishing to sell or buy something.

No one’s party affiliation will affect whether or not they profit from the public natural bounty that rightfully belongs to each and every one of us.

I don’t offer this as a solution to all our problems, but this might be the one thing that makes the biggest difference in our way of life. We propose that consultation be started on exploring these recommendations.
Until next time, “Roop” .

Ramsaroop unaware of any lawsuit

November 27, 2010 | By | Filed Under News 

“The ostentatious spending and lifestyles of senior government functionaries especially compared to their lifestyles before their government appointments has got out of hand and has raised many eyebrows.”

Presidential Candidate, Peter Ramsaroop, on Thursday, said that he was unaware of any lawsuit against him by Agriculture Minister Robert Persaud.
The lawsuit stemmed from comments Ramsaroop made during a recently televised interview with Yesu Persaud.

According to Ramsaroop, all he knows is what he has read in the newspaper.

Ramsaroop said that when he is able to see the details of the lawsuit he would respond accordingly.

He said it would be a good thing if he is being sued because that would allow the public to join in the debate on how the assets of senior government officials are being acquired.

“Let us see their tax returns, let us see where their wealth is coming from, how they get to own television stations and have overseas investments.”
He said that all senior Government officials, and especially Cabinet members must disclose to the public all new assets and income beyond their Government salaries.

The Guyana’s People Partnership, subsequently, in a release said that it is amused at the lawsuit against their Presidential Candidate Ramsaroop.
“This is becoming a dangerous trend when the President is suing Freddie Kissoon, and now a Minister suing Ramsaroop, what and who is next,” the GPP questioned.

“The ostentatious spending and lifestyles of senior government functionaries, especially compared to their lifestyles before their government appointments has gotten out of hand and raised many eyebrows.”

He said that their fancy houses and luxury vehicles are clearly visible and the public wants to know how these are funded on their government pay cheques.

According to Ramsaroop issues of public corruption clearly come into play.
Ramsaroop questioned the role of the Integrity Commission which he calls a farce that discloses opposition officials’ details while hiding the government officials’ submissions.

He claims that too many officials are acquiring and flaunting great wealth under dubious circumstances while the public continues to suffer under among the highest tax burden in the region, “especially when the terrible services provided by the government are considered.”

He said that out of every taxable dollar, a citizen gives the government at least 54 cents, thus only retaining 46 cents (VAT at 16 per cent, PAYE at 33.3 per cent, NIS at 5.6 per cent).

“How do they expect us to survive he said.”
The presidential candidate said that it is sad that the Minister wants his hard earned money for free.

Ramsaroop and WRHM Channel 7, are being sued for $10M following a taped show earlier this month in which

Persaud claimed he was libeled.

Justice Brassington Reynolds on Tuesday granted an injunction barring the channel and Ramsaroop from repeating the libel which was allegedly made on November 7 during an interview on the “Eye on the Issues” programme hosted by businessman, Yesu Persaud.

The Minister, in his claims, is asking for damages in excess of $10M.
According to court documents filed by attorneys-at-law Anil Nandlall, Euclin Gomes and Manoj Narayan, Ramsaroop and representatives of Property Holdings Inc., the business name of WRHM Channel 7, will have to appear in court on January 11, 2011.

Minister Persaud, in a sworn affidavit, argued that “Eye On The Issues” is a programme broadcast on Channel 7 on Sunday evenings, and commands a very wide and popular viewership.

He said that on November 7, Ramsaroop insinuated that the Minister is corrupt and used words that suggested that he is “using public funds and taxpayers money and funds emanating from the Government’s Low Carbon Development Strategy” to build his house.

We believe she allowed someone to tap our phone lines – Peter Ramsaroop

May 21, 2010 | By | Filed Under News 
Peter Ramsaroop

Nicole Ming

Nicole Ming

Embattled former CEO of the Alliance For Change Peter Ramsaroop says he believes that his phone lines were tapped and is calling in an expert to verify if this invasion of his privacy occurred.

In a statement released to Kaieteur News last night, Ramsaroop charged that persons associated with his former tenant Nicole Ming trumped up the allegations against him and had his equipment seized in an attempt to gain inside knowledge of the AFC’s activities.

“I believe that someone is using Miss (Nicole) Ming to get to me…to find out details of the plans of our election campaign and strategy is now a reason to seize our computers… and also listening to our conversations.”
“We also believe she allowed someone to tap our phone lines and I am having an expert check the pinch wire in her apartment to determine that.

He also refuted reports, allegedly made by Ming, which suggested that he had attempted to reach a settlement with her, while reiterating his intention of filing charges of his own.

“We will file for civil damages and false accusations. The police failed to conduct a proper investigation.  We are still concerned about the other cameras she claims that we believe was planted.”

Ramsaroop confirmed that he left for the United States yesterday to transact “some personal matters” in Florida and Washington DC. The AFC member said he is to return to Guyana next week.

In his statement, Ramsaroop made it clear that he believes that persons within the PPP hierarchy were behind “continued and sustained harassment” that has affected his business and is now sullying his reputation.

“Continued and sustained Government harassment from the shutting down of my factory, breaking my fence, loss of personal property, loss of massive investment dollars to now tarnishing my reputation demonstrate a systematic approach to silence the opposition evidence of a corrupt government,” he said.

“They have attacked my business and I am still here, they attacked my personal property and I am still here, now they have attacked my character and I will still be here to fight for the rights of our citizens and expose the corruption and discrimination against our people.”

Meanwhile, police officials said that they are still checking the data on the two computer hard drives and digital video recorder that they seized from Ramsaroop’s Queenstown and Land of Canaan properties.

A source said that nothing incriminating has been unearthed so far.
In the wake of allegations made by Ming, investigators are trying to ascertain if any pornographic material was stored in the computers.
The source said the devices are being analysed at the Guyana Police Force’s Information Technology Department.

The investigators are reportedly expecting to be better informed sometime later today.

In the meantime, Ramsaroop is expected to return to the Criminal Investigation Department next Monday.

Following the release by the police of detailed statements by both Ramsaroop and Ming, the latter has sought to clear the air, particularly about the nature of her relationship with President Bharrat Jagdeo.
The 19-year-old Guyana Times employee has admitted that she and the Head of State are friends, however, she opined that the issue raised by Ramsaroop about her friendship with the president is merely an attempt to shift attention from the real issue.

According to a police statement, hidden cameras were found in the woman’s bedroom and bathroom. The raid was conducted as police probed allegations that Ramsaroop may have been filming the woman without her knowledge.

Ramsaroop has vehemently denied the allegations, which he claims are politically motivated to tarnish his image.

2007, 2008, 2010. Senile old FOOL just came out of a Coma.

If I am old and senile what of you who is 4 years older? The point is they jacked Peter up. They screwed with him for over  a decade and finally has something on his pitiful behind that he recapitulate after that long to speak on behalf of those who sought to ruin him

Originally Posted by Billy Ram Balgobin:

Most of those people who voted for the AFC, particularly Indians, are very much disappointed with the party's alliance with the PNC in parliament and on the streets. The promise of being different from the two traditional parties has not been fulfilled. Come next elections and the AFC's aggressive role with the PNC will boomerang in their faces.

Excellent point

Originally Posted by albert:
Originally Posted by Billy Ram Balgobin:

Excellent po

The idea that the PNC is evil and the PPP are saints is for the birds. The PPP has out done the PNC of the past in increments of hundreds of percent. They even populate their ranks with some of the henchmen, bagmen and bullies of the former PNC. I do not know what the hell you are talking about. The only value in this reflection on evils of the past  is to ameliorate the effects of the naked corruptions of the present.

Why is Guyana better off today than in the 80s.

1.  Gold prices are much higher.

2.  The overseas Guyanese population is much larger, more settled into their new countries and so better able to send significant remittances, which rank as Guyana's second largest source of foreign exchange, and way ahead of sugar, rice, or bauxite.

3.  The US, World Bank, IMF IDB, etc forced Hiyte to dump Burnham's failed socialist experiment and to allow free enterprises.  So when Communist Janet returned in 1992 she had to stick to that, and not atempt to move Guyana to be more like Castro's Cuba.

I cannot see one thing that the PPP has done to boost the economy.  I will give them credit for spending more money on social services.  Though I do not know if that means that Guyanese have better access to decent levels of education and healthcare, or PPP henchmen ran off with profits from improperly awarded contracts.

2.  The overseas Guyanese population is much larger, more settled into their new countries and so better able to send significant remittances, which rank as Guyana's second largest source of foreign exchange, and way ahead of sugar, rice, or bauxite.

3.  The US, World Bank, IMF IDB, etc forced Hiyte to dump Burnham's failed socialist experiment and to allow free enterprises.  So when Communist Janet returned in 1992 she had to stick to that, and not atempt to move Guyana to be more like Castro's Cuba.

I cannot see one thing that the PPP has done to boost the economy.  I will give them credit for spending more money on social services.  Though I do not know if that means that Guyanese have better access to decent levels of education and healthcare, or PPP henchmen ran off with profits from improperly awarded contracts.

Oh rass, like you ketch sense? You finally acknowledge that Guyana prosper under the PPP. Even if gold was high in the 80's and it was when you consider inflation, Burnham, you and the PNC would still have ruined the nation. 

But thanks to the blossoming of the tourist industry in the Caribbean and the need for labor, workers from Guyana were able to reap a windfall in those nations. Not Guyana their mother country needs them back as there is a labor shortage. 

Oh rass, like you ketch sense? You finally acknowledge that Guyana prosper under the PPP. Even if gold was high in the 80's and it was when you consider inflation, Burnham, you and the PNC would still have ruined the nation. 

But thanks to the blossoming of the tourist industry in the Caribbean and the need for labor, workers from Guyana were able to reap a windfall in those nations. Not Guyana their mother country needs them back as there is a labor shortage. 

If anyone take a balanced view, they will realize the PPP has done a decent job.  Not perfect, not without errors and flaws, but not too bad.  Caribj comes from a somewhat rational perspective consumed by ethnic security and the rights of Afros.  Frankly, I can relate to his gripe and we (Indians) felt similarly under the PNC.  I cannot understand the katahars who are just bitter for not getting a role in the PPP.  This is why, I'm hopeful the PPP could have a "meeting of the minds" with the PNC.  Caribj would be a good candidate for a role in the PPP Govt.

Jagan introduced racism when he refused to accept the leadership of Forbes Burnham.

Thats a big piece of nonsense and you know I am no Jagan supporter.  Racism existed in Guyana long before either Jagan or Burnham.  Indeed even before the Europeans arrived the various Amerindians tribes fought each other.

People might have lived in peace, quietly voicing their resentments about which ethnic groups recieved preferential treatment, which groups were "forgetting their place", and which groups were a "major threat if allowed to run BG".    One can fill in the blanks and it will differ depending on who was complaining.

All Jagan and Burnham did was exploit the smoldering resentments and fears.  One must remember that before independence botgh Africans and Indians were stigmatized groups, with insecure middle class grasping to have some security, but with majority impoverished populations.  Indeed in Georgetown the Portuguese and the Red people pretty much had their own way, with the whites on top ensuring that each group stayed in their corner.

Along comes self government, and with it demands from the majority groups about being more involved, and the inevitable conflict arose.  You can fill in the blanks, but it did not matter who was running things.  Even Trinidad and Suriname had/have similar problems.  Only t6hat Trinidad has a powerful, if numeriacl small Syrian/French Creole group, and Suriname has Javanese, and the Maroons, so the Afro/Indo conflict is less direct a sthere are other characters involved.

.contracts.

Oh rass, like you ketch sense? You finally acknowledge that Guyana prosper under the PPP..

Under Burnham there was no private sector.  Thanks to Hoyte there is.

And what of my comments suggests anythingabout the PPP.

1.  They cdant control gold prices.

2.  They were prevented from being communist because of Hoyte's reforms.

3.  A major portion of money invested and consumed in Guyana is derived from remittances.

So why credit the PPP.   Indeed its the Burnham disaster that forced Guyanese, to leave and they continue to leave under PPP rule.  So remittances contribute almsot as much foreign exchange as does gold.  And account for much of the liquidity in the banking system.  So Burnham deserves credit for remittances, if you wish to praise any one.

If anyone take a balanced view, they will realize the PPP has done a decent job. .

1.  Yes they caused gold price sto be high.

2.  the PPP were true believers of capitalism and free enterprise before 1992, and so, even if Hiyte hadnt dumped  Burnham's madness they would.

3.  Ramotar shows up in the home sof overseas Guyanese with a gun anjd forces them to send money home.

Unless the above is true I do not see what credit the PPP gets.  Indeed, given Guyana's ample resource base, and its cheap labor costs, one would expect6 to see a more radical transformation of the economy.   But Guyana still exports the same products that it did 70 years ago.  Just that gold prices are high, and remittances account for a major inflow of cash which increases investment and consumption within Guyana.

And the PPP is as much of a racist party as the PNC was in Burnham's time.  You scream about what Indians went through under PNC rule.  And you have every right to.  But yet you justify the same racism from the PPP towards blacks.

Baseman you will never sleep deeply if you continue to fear what almost half of the coastal population will do, because you are fully aware of their resentments. 

..  Caribj would be a good candidate for a role in the PPP Govt.

I am lactose intolerant and do not drink soup.  If I didnt crawl up to Burnham and the PNC, now why would I do that to the PPP which is run by people who have a deep seated hatred of blacks, and therefore cannot be truste dby me.  The PPP does not listen to people and punish those who do not do what they command them to do. 

I have no intention of becominganother frightened African govt official, terrified of victimization if they do not follow the command of a corrupt Indo Nazi clique.

You need to quit this silly notion that yet another toothless PPP black will lead Afros to trust the PPP.  The PPP took over almost all of the surviving Burnham thugs and yet they made not one minute inroad into the African/mixed vote.

And you have not one bit of shame that Guyanese had to seek economic salvation by fleeing to tiny volcanic peaks and coral reefs, even as their huge and resourance rich mother country didnt allow them an ability to earn enough to live decently.

Noteworthy that, despite 5 years of slump, these volcanoes and coral reefs are still packed with Guyanese.  So there remains a shortage of SKILLED labor.  Of course Guyana is suspected to have an unemployment rate of more than 20%.   But the PPP wants you to forget about this, while they pack the country with Chinese, in their fear that even many Indians are now not interested in supporting them.

I am lactose intolerant and do not drink soup.  If I didnt crawl up to Burnham and the PNC, now why would I do that to the PPP which is run by people who have a deep seated hatred of blacks, and therefore cannot be truste dby me.  The PPP does not listen to people and punish those who do not do what they command them to do. 

I have no intention of becominganother frightened African govt official, terrified of victimization if they do not follow the command of a corrupt Indo Nazi clique.

You need to quit this silly notion that yet another toothless PPP black will lead Afros to trust the PPP.  The PPP took over almost all of the surviving Burnham thugs and yet they made not one minute inroad into the African/mixed vote.

You are paranoid.  The PPP don't have any ill-will to Afros, infact guys like Luncheon is testimony to that.  Don't be surprised if Trotman crosses, he is a shrewd survivor.  With regards to your "lactose" issue, don't worry, we will ensure you get the right milk, we have the means and the will.

Caribj, what you mean, the PPP is carving up quite a few non-Indian and you know that!

You are paranoid.  The PPP don't have any ill-will to Afros, infact guys like Luncheon is testimony to that.  Don't be surprised if Trotman crosses, he is a shrewd survivor.  With regards to your "lactose" issue, don't worry, we will ensure you get the right milk, we have the means and the will.

Caribj, what you mean, the PPP is carving up quite a few non-Indian and you know that!

Dat KUTHE will drink Piss muchless Milk.