March 9 2018

Dear Editor,
TO begin with, we are not mendicants relying on oil money to buy bread and food for ourselves and families. Our public service is vibrant (corruption is gradually being a thing of the past). Our agricultural base in rice and other crops is being revitalised, our infrastructure is gradually being modernized and all without a cent from oil money.

The expected spin-off from production is what we are expecting to become a reality.  They are as follows:

1. The cost of gasolene will come down, thereby reducing the cost of travelling for commuters and vehicle owners alike, whereby supplementing the reduced taxation on vehicle imports and encouraging more people to buy cars.

2. The cost of light bills will be significantly reduced.

3. Frozen foods, ice, street lighting, drugs and vaccines for hospitals will be more affordable.

4. The cost of cooking gas will be within every one’s reach as well as baked products from bakeries and fast food businesses.

5. More importantly, our Guyana Dollars will move upwards against the U.S Dollar, using our combined strength of gold, oil and gas, without a doubt, agricultural exports will boost our foreign reserves.

6. The production price of sugar will drop tremendously, thereby making us competitive once again in marketing our sugar on revitalising all the estates, whether state or privately owned.

7. Basically our salaries as it stand will be able to help us to do more like owning a home, a car, extensions and modifications to homes, take holidays, etc. Not to mention the various spin offs to tradesmen and all supporting trades, and further I say not.

Let your imagination work. We are looking forward to oil production in 2020 and let no one try to derail the process. One Christopher (Columbus) came upon God’s Land and people said he discovered; one Christopher is busy trying to re-invent the wheel with no spokes for internal support.

Regards
M. Bacchus 

Base, are you in La La Land. This Govt is NOT capable of being wise period!! Full STOP!!  End of Story!!!!  When Al Yuh gun catch sense!!!

Jagdeo strikes sober tone on oil contract

Leader of the Opposition, Bharat Jagdeo

WHILE describing the oil agreement as a β€œfair agreement that allows ExxonMobil to do well in Guyana β€œ, Opposition Leader, Bharrat Jagdeo believes that the firm is investing here because it sees a good opportunity for investment.

Jagdeo also told the media on Thursday that every investor should be allowed to make money on their investment here, since that is one way a country can attract investment. Jagdeo noted during the press briefing at the Office of the Opposition Leader on Church Street that β€œwe have made it clear however, we respect the sanctity of contracts β€œ adding that the government has to decide whether it wants to re-negotiate the petroleum sharing agreement with the American oil giant.

He said after the release of the contract by the APNU+AFC government last December, the opposition party mentioned four areas with the contract which it β€œhad difficulties with.” Jagdeo said that the PPP has been consistent in its criticisms of the contract and its benefits to the Guyanese populace. He said he pointed out in the past that the party had major difficulties with contracts signed in the past and that it displayed respect for contracts signed prior to that party assuming office in 1992.

He said that ExxonMobil came to Guyana during the PPP’s term in office and β€œwe believe they have a right to make money on their investment, but we believe that Guyana, these are our resources and the bulk of the benefit must flow to Guyanese. β€œ He expressed hope that the government would sit with Exxon and re-negotiate the contract.

When questioned for clarification regarding his comment on the contract being a fair deal, Jagdeo said β€œI said we believe that there should be a fair agreement with ExxonMobil, they are not coming here because they love Guyana or all of us, they are coming here because they see a good investment opportunity.”

There have been criticisms in sections of the media about the ExxonMobil contract. Earlier this week, Minister of Business Dominic Gaskin took a dig at those critics who have been daily finding fault with the government over its handling of developments here since the discovery of oil.

Minister Gaskin noted during an oil and gas forum that the vast majority of Guyanese he has met would like to see the oil and gas industry get off the ground, and to know they can benefit. And to those persons who’ve repeatedly stated that the production-sharing agreement the government has signed with Exxon is β€œbad for Guyana” among other negatives, Minister Gaskin said that the US$300M this country stands to make come 2020, the first year of production, β€œis not chicken feed” as they have been wont to say.

Noting that that initial agreement has since been nullified by both Exxon and the government, Minister Gaskin went on to explain that back in 1999, there was no formal negotiation process. β€œThe company had a valid agreement with the Government of Guyana which was not up for re-negotiation,” he said, adding that one cannot unilaterally amend a contract after the other party has invested large sums of money under terms of the said contract.

Yep here is the sharpest tool in the shed.

Base, are you in La La Land. This Govt is NOT capable of being wise period!! Full STOP!!  End of Story!!!!  When Al Yuh gun catch sense!!!

Jagdeo strikes sober tone on oil contract

Yep here is the sharpest tool in the shed.

What Jagdeo will not tell you is that the contract the PPP signed with Exxon was worse and Exxon had no obligation to renegotiate it.

warrior posted:

Jagdeo sounding in support of Exxon contract, he needs to get on the ABC side come 2020 election, Carter will be the one to determine Fair and Free Election.

you people remember the ppp bash the Americans now you begging for carter help what a bunch of dogs  

Granger owes Carter the world, Carter is a CIA operative, the peanut planter, Sunday school teacher is a big time bandit, his foundation goes around the would to interfere with countries democratic election in the favour of America. Guyana pay back is the shitty OIL contract.

warrior posted:

Jagdeo sounding in support of Exxon contract, he needs to get on the ABC side come 2020 election, Carter will be the one to determine Fair and Free Election.

you people remember the ppp bash the Americans now you begging for carter help what a bunch of dogs  

Granger owes Carter the world, Carter is a CIA operative, the peanut planter, Sunday school teacher is a big time bandit, his foundation goes around the would to interfere with countries democratic election in the favour of America. Guyana pay back is the shitty OIL contract.

No, check this out:

https://www.cartercenter.org/

I have a meeting there in 2 weeks.

warrior posted:

No, check this out:

https://www.cartercenter.org/

I have a meeting there in 2 weeks.

Just make sure your immunization are up to date. Have a safe one.

I would like to hear what GNI resident oil expert and pot salt TK has to say about this.

He is a real pot solt foh true. He rass only gat book sense. He book sense cyant stand up to dem bais street sense. Dem bais develop dem sense from hustling and pushin. Dem bais hustle and push all dem life and den they just pay foh online dactorate. Dem bais still impress de people wid dem online fake dactorate de people wid dem dactor politics. Ehehe. Me sure he go write some rass this weekend.