After years of research and struggle with the American

Publishing system, I have made "The Thomas Carroll Affair" available to the

public.

Unfortunately I am struggling to make it available in Guyana.  I put it on Amazon, but do not know if Amazon USA will cover Guyana. Amazon says it will.

Would anyone out there be kind enough to see if the site below comes up on a Guyanese based internet computer?

Thank you - Professor Casavis

http://www.amazon.com/Thomas-C...amp;keywords=Casavis

Ex US-Embassy man out of prison

What took place

A former US embassy official in Guyana, Thomas Patrick Carroll is to be released from a Chicago federal prison this week.

According to the Stabroek News, Carroll has served a truncated term for his involvement in the sale of US visas and the bribery of an official at the US embassy in Georgetown.

Carroll, Economic Affairs Officer at the US embassy in Guyana was arrested in March of 2000 for selling up to 800 visas for entry into the United States for bribes of between US$10,000 and US$15,000 each. He pleaded guilty to conspiracy to defraud the United States Government, issuing false visa documents and bribing an official.

Carroll's attempts to recruit US embassy officer Benedict Wolfe to continue the fraudulent scheme blew open the scam.

Carroll, 38, was sentenced in June 2002 to 21 years by a Federal Court in Chicago, Illinois. The sentence which was later reduced on appeal.

In sentencing Carroll US District Judge Blanche M. Manning had cited the involvement of several members of the Guyana Police Force whom Carroll had recruited as his enforcers to protect his scheme and force his customers to pay up.

A few members of the now disbanded Target Special Squad of the Guyana Police Force, also known as the 'Black Clothes' police had earlier testified before a US grand jury in the case.

The Government of Guyana said it had no evidence of the police officers' involvement in the visa scam.

Guyanese Haleem Khan of West Demerara who was also implicated in the fraud was sentenced to 38 months imprisonment in the US. This included the time that he had been in prison since his arrest in March 2000. Khan was later deported to Guyana after forfeiting assets in excess of US$250,000 which included those in Guyana.

What’s next

Thomas Carroll still owes the US Government US$2.5M that the court had ordered forfeited. The question is : From where will be get that money?

Does he have that kind of money from the proceeds of his scam? Or will he have to borrow it? If he does have to get a loan, who will be willing to lend him such a huge amount? And if perchance he does get a loan, how will be repay it?

Those are the burning questions faced by Mr. Carroll.  It reminds us that one ought to think carefully about consequences before acting.

Read more: http://www.caribbean360.com/in...5.html#ixzz2Wy5oyaU8

Originally Posted by Vish M:

I guess he can now talk about the back-tracking folks who gave him $$$ for visa 

who is the "he" above to whom you refer, Carroll? He had lots of intermediaries from political functionaries to the security forces.

I ordered the book and will read it for whatever additional information it contains than was stated in the press.

Where do I start? (First, I hope I am operating this blog properly) I am the only one the FBI man who questioned Carroll would talk with.  He was the guy who "sweated" Carroll when the police in Chicago nabbed him. Turns out that this same fellow 'sweated' other Guyanese. (Including people in the book who ran afoul of the law later) The interrogater was recently retired and said that he'd talk with me because I am an American.  Gosh it was tough to track him down, but I found him up in Chicago. (They arrested Carroll there so he would be indicted by the police in Illinois, not the State Department. Embassy grounds. American police and Department of State Security did not want him to get away with it) 
  Well the now retired FBI guy told me this, "I've sweated 300 men in my career who were guilty.  Of all of them there were only three I did not feel sorry for.  They break down, cry, tear up, he went on to say.  Of the three, only one was a white collar criminal.  That was your boy," he said.  Then he went on to say, "Evil. I got up to one inch in front of his eyes.  Oh he teared up just a little, then evil."
  What caught me was what the man said next, "Those dead eyes," he said.  "Those dead eyes."  The FBI interrogator could not get those dead eyes out of his head, even in retirement.  He went on to say again, "I saw evil."

PS: Forward this to others. It took me a while to type and someone, somewhere in Guyana should have the whole truth for once.

You know, there are times when I think there is no one out there, Guyana is sealed off. I am trying to contact a lost world.  The Universe is huge, and I am alone sending a signal out into a dark, lightless night and hoping to get a message to someone with a receiver.
Originally Posted by Professor Casavis:
Thank you Vish M. (I have to learn how to use this site) There is more... a lot more.

So give us a li'l teaze about the "more...a lot more" nuh Prof ?

Where do I start? (First, I hope I am operating this blog properly) I am the only one the FBI man who questioned Carroll would talk with.  He was the guy who "sweated" Carroll when the police in Chicago nabbed him. Turns out that this same fellow 'sweated' other Guyanese. (Including people in the book who ran afoul of the law later) The interrogater was recently retired and said that he'd talk with me because I am an American.  Gosh it was tough to track him down, but I found him up in Chicago. (They arrested Carroll there so he would be indicted by the police in Illinois, not the State Department. Embassy grounds. American police and Department of State Security did not want him to get away with it) 
  Well the now retired FBI guy told me this, "I've sweated 300 men in my career who were guilty.  Of all of them there were only three I did not feel sorry for.  They break down, cry, tear up, he went on to say.  Of the three, only one was a white collar criminal.  That was your boy," he said.  Then he went on to say, "Evil. I got up to one inch in front of his eyes.  Oh he teared up just a little, then evil."
  What caught me was what the man said next, "Those dead eyes," he said.  "Those dead eyes."  The FBI interrogator could not get those dead eyes out of his head, even in retirement.  He went on to say again, "I saw evil."

PS: Forward this to others. It took me a while to type and someone, somewhere in Guyana should have the whole truth for once.

You know, there are times when I think there is no one out there, Guyana is sealed off. I am trying to contact a lost world.  The Universe is huge, and I am alone sending a signal out into a dark, lightless night and hoping to get a message to someone with a receiver.
Thank you Vish M. (I have to learn how to use this site) There is more... a lot more.

So give us a li'l teaze about the "more...a lot more" nuh Prof ?

Thanks for the lil teaze Prof. So we got some evil story in the book, seems I gotta check it out.

Prof, when replying try to get under the quote as I've done, makes it easier on the eyes especially for some of the old goats here.

I'll try to get it a bit larger...

Thank you. The Associate Press called it "A good yarn." I am ever your humble servant.         David Casavis, Author of the Thomas Carroll Affair

I just bought Amazon's Kindle edition of this book for US$7.79, about half the price of the print edition. I won't read it immediately, however, because I'm currently occupied with Nelson Mandela's "Long Walk to Freedom" and Mohan Ragbeer's book 2 of "The Indelible Red Stain."

Thank you. The Associate Press called it "A good yarn." I am ever your humble servant.         David Casavis, Author of the Thomas Carroll Affair

I just bought Amazon's Kindle edition of this book for US$7.79, about half the price of the print edition. I won't read it immediately, however, because I'm currently occupied with Nelson Mandela's "Long Walk to Freedom" and Mohan Ragbeer's book 2 of "The Indelible Red Stain."

You're welcome, sir.

Here is another case for the professor.
------------------------------------------------

US embassy in Guyana probes alleged visa racket

GEORGETOWN, Guyana — The US embassy in Guyana said Wednesday it was investigating allegations that a consular officer who worked at the post was selling visas for thousands of dollars.

"The Department of State is aware of allegations of improprieties relating to a Consular Officer formerly assigned to Georgetown, Guyana," the embassy in Georgetown said in a statement.

"The Department takes all allegations of misconduct by employees seriously. We are reviewing the matter thoroughly," it said in response to enquiries by AFP.

"If the allegations are substantiated, we will work with the relevant authorities to hold anyone involved accountable."

The US embassy in the South American nation gave no further details about the probe or the identity of the consular officer.

Government sources in Guyana told AFP that the officer had been removed from his post, two months before his tour of duty was due to end in September 2013.

Those sources alleged the officer had negotiated to sell visas for as much as $40,000, using a popular restaurant and bar in Georgetown, the capital of this former British colony, to seal the deals.

The officer had also travelled to neighboring Suriname, which Chinese migrants often use as a staging ground to enter Venezuela and, eventually, the United States.

In 2000, then US consular officer Thomas Carroll was charged with selling as many as 800 visas for $10,000-15,000 each.

He eventually pleaded guilty in federal court and was sentenced to 21 years in prison but that sentence was later reduced on appeal.

A Guyanese national, Halim Khan, was sentenced to more than three years in jail in connection with the visa racket run by Carroll.

http://www.google.com/hostedne...baa4fde5070d8c87.2c1

Sunil
Thank you.  Thank you both.  Honestly, I have been trying to ignore this case while I sweated the details of marketing my book, The Thomas Carroll Affair.  What you posted me is significant. On the surface, given my view and the view of those who read my book, this is far more serious than anyone thinks.
     I have another book coming out and a third one - on mass murder and America's Most Wanted - to turn to.  The last thing I need is some little hump doing a Thomas Carroll redux.
     I have about a year of research on the third book.  I wanted that second book underway this week. (No luck there) And... to top it off, I start Summer Two classes on Tuesday. I thought I'd be in the research library reviewing the origins of bonds and the bourse. I want to put together better notes on the impact of the potato on Europe!
     Perhaps Guyana is more in need of my research skills and training than this. Keep your focus on information coming out. I have to update my syllabus.

"Government sources in Guyana told AFP that the officer had been removed from his post, two months before his tour of duty was due to end in September 2013."

Gotta be an error, No?

Thank you.  Thank you both.  Honestly, I have been trying to ignore this case while I sweated the details of marketing my book, The Thomas Carroll Affair.  What you posted me is significant. On the surface, given my view and the view of those who read my book, this is far more serious than anyone thinks.
     I have another book coming out and a third one - on mass murder and America's Most Wanted - to turn to.  The last thing I need is some little hump doing a Thomas Carroll redux.
     I have about a year of research on the third book.  I wanted that second book underway this week. (No luck there) And... to top it off, I start Summer Two classes on Tuesday. I thought I'd be in the research library reviewing the origins of bonds and the bourse. I want to put together better notes on the impact of the potato on Europe!
     Perhaps Guyana is more in need of my research skills and training than this. Keep your focus on information coming out. I have to update my syllabus.

" I want to put together better notes on the impact of the potato on Europe!"

Two words, French Fries!!!

There, done.

A State Department officer has been accused of selling visas for sex and  money in what may have been a massive human trafficking operation, The Daily  Caller has learned.

The State Department acknowledged last week that one of its officials is  the target of a probe over “allegations of improprieties relating to a Consular  Officer formerly assigned to Georgetown, Guyana” without providing further  details. Local media are also claiming the official, who was recently withdrawn  from normal duties pending completion of an official  investigation, associated with drug lords as part of his visa scam.

The scandal began when executives and tourists complained that their visa  applications were being held up, and local media began reporting that a visa  official was demanding bribes and sex in exchange for visas.

The Daily Caller has identified the suspect as Edy Zohar Rodrigues Duran, formerly of Mission, Texas, and currently  living in Falls Church, Va.

Duran was removed from his post at the Guyanese capital of Georgetown in June  of this year, months short of his scheduled September 2013 departure date,  according to Mark A. Benschop and Julia Johnson, two Guyanese journalists who  spoke with TheDC from Guyana.

U.S. Embassy in Georgetown, Guyana. Department of State

It is unclear whether Duran has been fired or placed on administrative leave  within the State Department, but according to a dating profile he created on June 23, 2013,  he is looking for work in Falls Church.

The investigations began in February. Duran left Georgetown about three weeks  ago.

Duran has been “accused of selling visas to many corrupt businessmen [and]  drug dealers â€Ķ for as low as US$15,000,” according to a news report in the Guyana Observer News. “The  Feds have not stumbled on concrete evidence on the issue of money for visas, but  sufficient evidence on the sex for visas.”

Agence France Presse also reported last week that the embassy was  “investigating allegations that a consular officer who worked at the post was  selling visas for thousands of dollars.”

AFP quoted a Guyanese official saying Duran “had negotiated to sell visas for  as much as $40,000, using a popular restaurant and bar in Georgetown, the  capital of this former British colony, to seal the deals.” According to AFP,  Duran also travelled to neighboring Suriname, a frequent stop for Chinese  migrants on the way to the United States.

“The embassy wanted a hush-hush on this whole affair,” says Benschop, radio  host and publisher of the Guyana Observer. Duran was “demoted from the marriage  and visa section and placed in a warehouse far away from the embassy. His tour  of duty would have come to an end in September. All of these things caused  eyebrows to be raised.”

Read more:  http://dailycaller.com/2013/07...indle/#ixzz2YULpCuJ5

Sunil

Thank you all. This is crazy. Bookstores cannot easily get my books. Lloyd Austins, with my help ordered a few. But not enough!

I am ordering books and paying for them myself. I am ordering them in lots of 100. Then I must sell them to make room for the next lot.

That should be OK. That is, if I can get to JFK airport. I am thinking of selling them at the gates where planes to Guyana are taking off. I am also hoping to do a "Book Tour" of Guyanese communities in New York. It is CRAZY.  I do not know how to do this. So I am seeking Guyanese in New York City to assist me. Sigh. I may have to recruit a lot of people in order to move this.

The US News is interested. I am getting complaints from News outfits in the USA that they cannot get my book easily. I think people are going to libraries and asking for my book.  This is good. A library will order a book if people ask for it. Thus, to my surprise, I discovered my book in a Los Angeles Public Library!

Thank you for your kind referral.

I just now sent an email to the Guyana Journal.

Right now I have to come up with a way to sell books to Guyanese,

and to get the book to Guyana.

Happily, America may be "wising up." (As we say in the States)

I want to go to JFK and sell the books at the gates before flights take off for Guyana. That is easier said than done. Just getting to JFK without a car with a load of 100 books can be a challenge. I don't know if I can do it alone. The idea is good though.

Professor I got your email, I do not how else I can be of service.

First Name Professor Casavis

Email Address: tcaffair@hotmail.com

I hope this gets through.
I emailed you from my hotmail account and hope it made it through to this address.

This is an attempt to put The Thomas Carroll Affair forward to Guyanese readers.
Any assistance in this matter is gratefully accepted.
Thank you.

Prof. Casavis, author of the Thomas Carroll Affair
Amral

Oh well.

My email came back to me.

Also, getting to JFK airport is one of the most difficult things to do.

So says my assistant at Queens College who lives not far away.

Getting 100 books there without a car is another thing.

I don't know how I am going to do it alone.

Like many New Yorkers, I do not have a car.

Frustrating.

Guyanese communities are in the far outskirts, and difficult to get to.

Oh well.

My email came back to me.

Also, getting to JFK airport is one of the most difficult things to do.

So says my assistant at Queens College who lives not far away.

Getting 100 books there without a car is another thing.

I don't know how I am going to do it alone.

Like many New Yorkers, I do not have a car.

Frustrating.

Guyanese communities are in the far outskirts, and difficult to get to.

Professor, you sent the email to the wrong site. Danyael asked you to go to the link for Guyana Journal and send them an email. Instead, you sent an email to the administrator of this forum where you're posting now. See the link in Danyael's post above for Guyana Journal, go to that site and send them the email.

Is it possible to get the word out to other Caribbean sites? Those who are more concerned with Literature than current events or history now tell me that this book will "last," that it may find a place in the developing literary cannon of Guyana, perhaps the Caribbean.  Of course I am flattered.
     If that is the case, where do I go?  When I inquired of someone involved in Guyanese literature - whom I will not name - the reply was, "Oh. The 3 or 400 people who follow art?"  
     I am certain there are many in Guyana and the Caribbean beyond those.  How do I get in touch with them? (Just to present the book, The Thomas Carroll Affair)
     I could post to those sites. That could be a start.

Originally Posted by Amral:

Professor I got your email, I do not how else I can be of service.

First Name Professor Casavis

Email Address: tcaffair@hotmail.com

I hope this gets through.
I emailed you from my hotmail account and hope it made it through to this address.

This is an attempt to put The Thomas Carroll Affair forward to Guyanese readers.
Any assistance in this matter is gratefully accepted.
Thank you.

Prof. Casavis, author of the Thomas Carroll Affair

That is what I was thinking.

Of course I am not there, I can only guess.

Still.

I got some books into Guyana.

They should show up over the weekend.

This is a long slog.

I have to assume that many people still want to read the book.

If we were certain of everything, of what use would faith be?

I have faith that the Thomas Carroll Affair will be more than a flash in the pan.

It could be redemptive.

Read what Freddie Kissoon says about David Casavis' book:

http://bit.ly/18eM88u

===========================

Read what ex-GT&T Chief Yog Mahadeo says about the same book:

http://bit.ly/11O4CNA

=================================

Read David Casavis' response to Yog Mahadeo:

http://bit.ly/12NR4wC

==============================

Read Yog Mahadeo's rejoinder:

http://bit.ly/1alULPn

===============================

GILBAKKA'S COMMENT: I'm reading this book now, more than half completed. One thing I've learned is that in the first half of the first decade of this century, at least, there were big unlawful transactions at the US Embassy in Guyana. Those corrupt actions involved some Embassy staff, Guyanese visa brokers, top policemen and others. The item in question is the much coveted American visa stamp on a Guyana passport.

While I appreciate Professor Casavis' latent intention to write a book with popular appeal, readable and understandable, I think he could have done a better job by providing more substantiated facts and less commentary.

Of course, I recognize his commentary may be useful to foreign readers not knowledgeable about Guyana and its people. But the same commentary some Guyanese readers will find snooty, insulting and insensitive.

Overall, I think it is a good thing that this book has been written, if only to draw attention to one important aspect of crime and corruption over American and Canadian visas in Guyana. The challenge now is for a Guyanese writer to work on a more comprehensive book on the same theme.

Mark Benschop disagrees with Freddie Kissoon's opinion on David Casavis' book: http://bit.ly/13MqASH

=========================

Mr Kissoon defends his position: http://bit.ly/15ieqMR

===================================

GILBAKKA'S COMMENT: I've finished reading THE THOMAS CARROLL AFFAIR. As I said earlier, it's a good thing this book has been published. It has started a necessary conversation on burning issues surrounding the sale of American visas in Guyana.

Some parts of the book provide a cinematic narration of certain events, like the cornering and killing ex-soldier-turned-outlaw Linden London aka Blackie about 13 years ago.

There are many general statements about Guyana and Guyanese which reflect Casavis' understanding but which some Guyanese may find unflattering. Example: "People want you for what they can get, not for who you are."

Other interesting statements concern the US Embassy in Guyana, like:

"A posting to the Georgetown Embassy is often an end-of-career assignment...Posts like Georgetown have clock-watchers."

I must confess I'm a more informed man about the subjects this book deals with, but maintain the view it has a shortage of meat.

Would I recommend it? Why not? Having regard to the high costs of books in Guyana, I hereby suggest that David Casavis donate at least three copies to the National Library, 76-77  Church and Main Streets, Georgetown, Guyana.

When I applied for an immigrant visa to Canada nearly 20 years ago, I visited the library and looked up a number of books on Canada. I was better able to handle the interview at the Canadian High Commission in Georgetown.

Interestingly, through Casavis' book I learned something about that place I never knew about. Read for yourself: "Guyana's most haunted place is the Canadian Embassy...The ghost of a nun and her cat haunts it."