The Trinidad example

April 10, 2014 | By | Filed Under Editorial

The occurrences in neighbouring Trinidad and Tobago have not escaped the notice of Guyanese with specific reference to the actions of that country’s Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar with the recent firings of several of her government ministers. Those removed from public office as a result of running afoul of the personal and political principles of their erstwhile leader are probably now considering the errors of their ways.  But let us examine the options available to our very own President Donald Ramotar. First of all it is generally accepted that His Excellency is not his own man as evidenced by the wholesale bequeathing of cabinet members by his predecessor.  Allegations of impropriety have been an almost normal characteristic in this current dispensation and reflect a continuation of misconduct under the previous administration. Nothing to appease the soul of the governed is attempted and the collect psyche is further debilitated by inexplicable executive irresoluteness and indecisiveness. It is apparent that this government is quite comfortable with the perceptions our neighbouring countries have of us and therefore there is no urgency to treat with behaviours which in other countries are not tolerated. Maybe His Excellency can learn from some of the experience of South Sudanese President Salva Kiir who fired his entire Cabinet and Vice President within two years of his country gaining independence from Sudan.  To show that there are no sacred cows, among those sent packing were Pagan Amum, the Secretary-General of the ruling party and top negotiator at the peace talks which led to independence and Vice President Riek Machar who had untimely ambitions. President Jacob Zuma of South Africa effected a cabinet reshuffle seventeen months after first announcing the names of his government ministers.  Zuma who has since become a lightning rod in a controversy over accusations of unethical conduct, made further cabinet changes each following year from 2010 to 2013. France’s new Prime Minister Manuel Valls unhesitatingly made significant adjustments to the Cabinet lineup when he sacked the finance minister and shifted around the incumbents of several portfolios including for Women’s Rights; Urban Policy; and appointed a new Environment and Energy Minister. What is perhaps significant is the resoluteness of the aforementioned Heads of Government who do not seem to be hamstrung by any impediments to their occupancy of the highest office in the land.  Allegations of corruption have been addressed in Malawi by President Joyce Banda probably in response to a European Union warning that it would stay the release of a pledged €29m (£25m) disbursement in December if a corruption scandal involving her minister was not resolved. It is believed that the Malawi President had purged her government so that those implicated could be investigated.  The alleged malefactors included ten government officials who were arrested and charged with money laundering, misuse of public office and corruption; nine senior police officers who were each jailed for 14 years for their roles in a $164,000 (£102,814) fraud; and twenty-five ministers whom she fired since she had lost faith in them, and to make sure that those implicated did not interfere with the investigations. Donald Ramotar’s fatal flaw could be seen in the context of not looking far enough ahead to recognize the potential political backlash which his seeming reluctance to decisively confront those deviant personalities he had inherited could unleash. Interestingly, Banda’s Finance Minister who at the time was heading a high-profile delegation to Washington meetings with the World Bank and the International Monetary Fund was also fired with his colleagues. There can be no getting away from the widely held view that Guyanese were shortchanged with Ramotar’s sheepish acceptance of the old ministerial appointees some of whom had been tried, tested and found wanting in the balance. There is a current mood of unfounded strident optimism that is counterbalanced by the uncertainty of ever regaining majority status if the same level of belligerent arrogance prevails.  President Ramotar must be seized with the urgency to pick a new team based on competency and not be saddled with relics of the worst excesses of political expediency in this country. His Excellency must unburden himself and step up to be counted as the President who accepted no less than the highest moral standards from his cabinet.

Quote "But let us examine the options available to our very own President Donald Ramotar. First of all it is generally accepted that His Excellency is not his own man as evidenced by the wholesale bequeathing of cabinet members by his predecessor.  Allegations of impropriety have been an almost normal characteristic in this current dispensation and reflect a continuation of misconduct under the previous administration."unquote

The Trinidad example

The occurrences in neighbouring Trinidad and Tobago have not escaped the notice of Guyanese with specific reference to the actions of that country’s Prime Minister Kamla Persad

By getting rid of all those thieving Ministers in her country, Prime Minister makes Donald Ramotar looks like a p ussy.

Originally Posted by asj:

The Trinidad example

The occurrences in neighbouring Trinidad and Tobago have not escaped the notice of Guyanese with specific reference to the actions of that country’s Prime Minister Kamla Persad

By getting rid of all those thieving Ministers in her country, Prime Minister makes Donald Ramotar looks like a p ussy.

them bai say donald is not his own man,he maybe BAR-RAT man i hope he using condom,bar-rat had the shittings lately 

In the recent times, we have been able to see a genuine turn in T&T with the general in charge saying that no one is above the law. For the past two decades, this was never so. We always heard clamouring that people in high positions in our society would break the laws and get away with it. Others have said there is one law for the normal citizen and another for the elite.

In the past, these type of actions were unheard of in T&T. We must give kudos to all those who are creating this new precedence. It’s better late than never. No one is above the law.

Derrick Johnson
via e-mail

Last edited by Chief

Quote "But let us examine the options available to our very own President Donald Ramotar. First of all it is generally accepted that His Excellency is not his own man as evidenced by the wholesale bequeathing of cabinet members by his predecessor.  Allegations of impropriety have been an almost normal characteristic in this current dispensation and reflect a continuation of misconduct under the previous administration."unquote

Not only may Donald not be in charge, but if the current Cabinet is not fit think about who is in reserve. If the starting lineup is weak the bench players must be awful.

LET OLD WOUNDS HEAL

PM: Forget ‘pain and anguish’ caused by Robbie’s 18-18 decision

By Joel Julien joel.julien@trinidadexpress.com

IT is time to allow “old wounds to heal” because the past is best honoured by “learning and letting go”.

So said Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar, one of the country’s Cabinet members who lost her job following former president Arthur NR Robinson’s decision in 2001 to appoint Patrick Manning prime minister following an 18-18 general election deadlock.

Persad-Bissessar made the statements as the Parliament yesterday delivered  tributes to Robinson who passed away on Wednesday.

Persad-Bissessar recounted Robinson’s “life that was lived with tremendous purpose and achievement”.

She said during Robinson’s tenure as president he faced a “defining moment” in this country’s “social and political history”.

“In 2001, just one year after the UNC (United National Congress) was elected to a second term, a general election was forced and the result delivered a deadlock with both major parties receiving 18 seats,” she said.”

“It was then left to president Robinson to decide who would assume the prime ministership and the choice made was for Patrick Manning to assume leadership of government. The Member for San Fernando East,” Persad-Bissessar said.

Robinson’s decision to by-pass Basdeo Panday for the post of prime minister sparked controversy.

“This electoral tie and unprecedented constitutional crisis and the decision made by the then president caused intense debate, a great part of which was bitterly played out in the public,” Persad-Bissessar said.

“We all know what the arguments were at that time. We all know how we felt at that time and how we were prepared to fight his decision,” she said.

Persad-Bissessar said many were hurt by Robinson’s decision.

“Many were hurting, one side did not lose and the other side did not win,” she said.

“But today, almost 14 years later, that decision has written itself into history as a moment when our nation was forced to re-examine its supreme law and reconsider the arrangements by which we govern ourselves,” Persad-Bissessar said.

Persad-Bissessar said at no time in history  everyone agreed when faced with a turning point.

“All throughout human history, where nations around the world came to turning points where the future was to be transformed and a new path was to be chosen, there was never a time when everyone agreed,” she said.

“Yes there was pain, there was anguish and indeed there was even bitterness,” Persad-Bissessar said.

Persad-Bissessar called on those still hurting to let the wounds heal.

“If we as a nation are to truly continue walking forward we are the ones who will hurt ourselves if we remain locked in the past,” she said.

“And for anyone who still holds to the pain of the past, I ask respectfully that we allow our old wounds to heal, consider what we have been able to learn and then allow ourselves to grow,” Persad-Bissessar said.

Persad-Bissessar said it is “our duty to rise above that which pains is personally and do what is best for our country”.

In it now time to let go, she said.

“And this is why, Mr Speaker, notwithstanding arguments in the past and our conviction that maybe something wrong was done. The past is best honoured by learning and letting go,” she said.

She said Robinson was only human.

“Was Mr Robinson the perfect human being? No, he wasn’t, as none of us here,” Persad-Bissessar said.

Why Ramotar should follow Trinidad example when we have decent and respectable people running Guyana? Guyana don't have thief and corruption like Trinidad.

God bless you!!

Why Ramotar should follow Trinidad example when we have decent and respectable people running Guyana? Guyana don't have thief and corruption like Trinidad.

hey snake crawl back under that rock you live under until nehru is ready to take you for some free cheap rum

God bless you!!

Chief, you have to get first hand info about Guyana vs Trinidad. Don't think the grass is greener over there. When I speak to my Trinidadian friends, they consider Guyana a paradise. That's why my view is different from yours. 

SnakeMan you are the most trusted poster here and the most truthful.

I hope you know sarcasm when you see it. mudderskoant! sh1tface kakahole

God bless you!!

Chief, you have to get first hand info about Guyana vs Trinidad. Don't think the grass is greener over there. When I speak to my Trinidadian friends, they consider Guyana a paradise. That's why my view is different from yours. 

you post like a little boy 

You cussing up and thing like you in a good mood.

Sometimes Political do get into you, and you cannot help, but to use words that you would not preferable use, I do a lot these days, could be that I am getting old and my tolerance is waning a bit. But I wish to point out here that there is no hard feelings for other posters here, as we all have different political views.

you right no hard feeling but i will still love to hang  some of them ppp thieving  bais  

Bai Warria, you nah want fuh hang out wid me. Ma ah PPP man. Me ah tief baaad. If you hang out wid me, you might go home wid you bare buckta; if you lucky. Some day I would let you know when I will be coming to CN. So you know, keep your stuff hidden. I have a lot of relatives there you know.

 When I speak to my Trinidadian friends, they consider Guyana a paradise.

They feel sorry for you.  Trinis find Guyana and Guyanese a joke.  We have replaced Grenadians in that regard.  To them Guyana is mud, snakes, and poor people.

 When I speak to my Trinidadian friends, they consider Guyana a paradise.

They feel sorry for you.  Trinis find Guyana and Guyanese a joke.  We have replaced Grenadians in that regard.  To them Guyana is mud, snakes, and poor people.

wELL SAID!!