Dear Editor,
The PNC with all its flaws is still a far more democratic organization than the PPP. The PNC dared to have a primary while the PPP dared not. After 19 years in office the PPP is so scared of its own records that it spends 90 percent of its time telling Guyanese what the country was like 25 years ago. Much of what the leaders say is often lies or twisted versions to suit their own ends.
Not even in South Africa does the ANC refer so often to the apartheid system which held people in virtual subhuman conditions for decades. The PPP has developed the strategy of blaming Burnham for everything.
When Mr. Jagdeo came to office by the decree of his party, Guyana suffered a great injustice. Had the PPP been democratic, Moses Nagamotoo, a far more competent person and politician, most likely would have emerged as the successor. However, the PPP did not care about democracy and foisted Bharrat Jagdeo, a very vengeful and visionless politician, on the nation. Now again, instead of opening up the field so that we may have the best people in service, Mr. Jagdeo, true to form has handpicked Donald Ramotar.
The average Guyanese who is interested in politics knows that Ramkarran and Nagamotoo, as well as several others in the PPP would make far better leaders than Ramotar. It seems therefore that Mr. Jagdeo is fearful of having fair play in his own party as well as in the country.
As the longsuffering Guyanese nation goes to the polls on November 28, I hope they would reject this nonsensical fear mongering of this PPP cabal and vote issues rather than fear or propaganda. As for Donald Ramotar, this man seems to stand for nothing. He seems quite content to follow Jagdeo without opinion or vision. He seems basically clueless.
On the question of scholarship, we have noticed a concerted effort to attack Brigadier Granger’s record and reputation. Informed Guyanese know full well that neither Jagdeo nor Ramotar is any match for Brigadier Granger’s intellect.
Mr. Jagdeo who attended the Patrice Lumumba University has not even written an article but to attack Brigadier Granger who has written several books speaks to his ignorance. We invite people to Google the college and find out that it was a university of no real serious rating. It was what could be called an unranked university where all who attended had passing grades whether or not they attended classes.
I was informed that Russian citizens do not attend this University mainly because of its poor image. If fact, it was established by the former Soviet Union during the Cold War to provide scholarships to students in Third World socialist countries.
As for Minister of Agriculture Robert Persaud, who has also been on the attack recently, he is said to have done a six-month correspondence course from a college of little or no reputation. Any six-month Masters of Business Administration (MBA) programme done online is highly questionable. Let him tell the public the name of the university so that we may check it out.
As Jagdeo is about to leave office, he leaves the country in tatters. He is like a neutron bomb. He would have left buildings standing but the patriotic spirit of the Guyanese people would have been destroyed by his visionless, insensitive and immoral leadership.
Aubrey Retemyer

Disqus
Login About Disqus Like Dislike
and 25 others liked this.
Glad you liked it. Would you like to share?Facebook
Twitter
ShareNo thanksSharing this page …
Thanks! Close

Add New Comment
Image Post as …
Showing 8 comments
Sort by Popular now Best rating Newest first Oldest first Subscribe by email Subscribe by RSS
woodant 17 hours ago

THIS IS AN AWSOME PIECE OF WRITING....WELL SAID AUBREY.
(Edited by a moderator)

Flag 5 people liked this. Like ReplyReply Ice R 21 hours ago

Very good letter Audrey. The truth hurts but is reality.
Flag 5 people liked this. Like ReplyReply wel_Hung 23 hours ago

aubrey yuh in guyana, do some research about who de army man was in de 1973 elections.
Flag chokey and 3 more liked this Like ReplyReply APny 21 hours ago

Apparently the Guyanese masses are ignorant and only Aubrey Retemyer is smart to vote on issues. Just how could someone be so self deluded and writes so much crap beats me.
Flag 2 people liked this. Like ReplyReply dannyvid 22 hours ago

Your first sentence is total bull.
(Edited by a moderator)

Flag 2 people liked this. Like ReplyReply saggacayman 21 hours ago in reply to dannyvid

Why the first sentence is bull Moses Nagamootoo was a more senior member of the ppp than Jagdeo and was anointed as leader Sam Hinds according to the constitution of Guyana which takes precedence over any political party constitution should have been the President of Guyana after Jagan died when Burnham died power was immediately passed on to Hoyte so indeed the PNC with it numerous flaws is far more democratic.
Flag Mike Joans and 6 more liked this Like ReplyReply Kole Jurgen 21 hours ago in reply to dannyvid

dannyvid... as i said before, if you had a brain... you're like any empty barrel... maketh the most noise of no substance!!!
Flag 5 people liked this. Like ReplyReply Steve 12 hours ago

It is known that many people "wrote" books; high school drop outs, movie stars with no academic bacground, comedians,clowns and many others who have never seenn a school door. So to tell people that Granger "has written several books" is meaningless. TELL THE PEOPLE WHAT HIS ACADEMIC QUALIFICATIONS ARE?

Flag 1 person liked this. Like ReplyReply If you find a comment distasteful or inappropriate, you can flag the comment and send us a report for immediate removal. Send report to kaieteurnews@yahoo.com
Kaieteur News reserves the rights to moderate any blog deemed inappropriate and is not be responsible for the views expressed in the blog.
blog comments powered by Disqus

Latest Letters Headlines

Originally posted by Ramakant_p:
How can the PPP be undemocratic. We are having a free and fair election.
You also have freedom speech.

You guys will stop at nothing.

Acording to the PPP Commies, democracy begins and ends with the Ballot. You forget the PPP is there only due to race politics, which means there needs to by other institutional safeguards to ensure true democracy.
Originally posted by baseman:

Acording to the PPP Commies, democracy begins and ends with the Ballot. You forget the PPP is there only due to race politics, which means there needs to by other institutional safeguards to ensure true democracy.

That was in 1955 and 1961.

In 2011 there is a movementwhere blacks and indians are coming together under the PPP/C banner. saying that is no democracy is saying that you are a sore loser..

You guys should come up with a different slogan.

In 2011 there is a movementwhere blacks and indians are coming together under the PPP/C banner. saying that is no democracy is saying that you are a sore loser..

We did come up with a different slogan......

Piss
Poor
Performance
and
Corruption

Elections does not mean democracy. The ability for the people to conserve their authority to hire and fire their politicians for transgression is. The PPP is a nepotistic authoritarian regime facilitated into office by a weak constitution where democracy is concerned. The people have no control as to who is selected for office. no means to test their competency for the task and no means to control or remove them from office in an ethnic managed system. Pretending you have the moral ground because of elections and being blinded to the democratic deficits in the state does not detract from the reality we have a good old fashion oligarchy in office,
Originally posted by D2:

Elections does not mean democracy. The ability for the people to conserve their authority to hire and fire their politicians for transgression is. The PPP is a nepotistic authoritarian regime facilitated into office by a weak constitution where democracy is concerned. The people have no control as to who is selected for office. no means to test their competency for the task and no means to control or remove them from office in an ethnic managed system. Pretending you have the moral ground because of elections and being blinded to the democratic deficits in the state does not detract from the reality we have a good old fashion oligarchy in office,

The People have a choice: The PPP, PNC, AFC WPA. It is their birth right for them to choose which ever party they prefer. You have no moral authority to inselt them because they do not agree with you. Even you people are choosing the PPP. You should be pi$$ed off with them and not the Indians which has largest block vote in guyana. BUt you are choosing to align yourself hooligans and crooks and you believe that everybody should be like you? Bullshyte.
You can call those who do not agree with you any kind of names you want, but the fact they are not going to listen to you....

Lift you head out of the sand.

I did. I saw a PPP victory again..

Now, tek di sand out of yuh eyes.

The Merger is on.. Blacks and Coolies are coming together..

Now if you finish, you can take your head out of the AFC's ASSES. They are holligans and crooks...
Originally posted by D2:

The People have a choice: The PPP, PNC, AFC WPA. It is their birth right for them to choose which ever party they prefer. You have no moral authority to inselt them because they do not agree with you. Even you people are choosing the PPP. You should be pi$$ed off with them and not the Indians which has largest block vote in guyana. BUt you are choosing to align yourself hooligans and crooks and you believe that everybody should be like you? Bullshyte.
You can call those who do not agree with you any kind of names you want, but the fact they are not going to listen to you....
I am not insulting the people. I am calling the principles that legitimizes the authority of government flawed and in need of changing. It suffocates democracy and give us mediocre people like Ramoutar and Jagdeo No body selected them. Both hide from public interrogation that may reveal their flaws. We are spoon fed candidates.
Originally posted by D2:

I am not insulting the people. I am calling the principles that legitimizes the authority of government flawed and in need of changing. It suffocates democracy and give us mediocre people like Ramoutar and Jagdeo No body selected them. Both hide from public interrogation that may reveal their flaws. We are spoon fed candidates.

The People knows that yet they supported them for reasons of their own. If you can show me which of the other Leaders are of a better calibre then I will follw them, if not keep you peace..
Originally posted by D2:

The People knows that yet they supported them for reasons of their own. If you can show me which of the other Leaders are of a better calibre then I will follw them, if not keep you peace..
The people are for a large part ignorant of our founding documents and how they delimit democracy. The PPP on the other hand knows but they refuse to change it. The PPP instead reserve the totalitarian principle of democratic centralism for their own candidate selection so how and when are we to expect them to address our democratic deficits?

You do not seem to get it if you are asking me to show you alternative leaders. It is not for me or anyone to do that. It is for any who feel they have such abilities to be afforded the opportunity to make that known. That is how democracy is conserved and the will of the people is expressed. Leaders exist everywhere but our system is not geared to find them.
Originally posted by D2:

bla bla bla the same people will vote the PPP back into office come election day...what will you say then..dumm2 i will be watching for your comment on this..hear waa me sey..teh Guyanese people will vote the PPP back into power like they always did.
Originally posted by SuperMike:
Originally posted by D2:

bla bla bla the same people will vote the PPP back into office come election day...what will you say then..dumm2 i will be watching for your comment on this..hear waa me sey..teh Guyanese people will vote the PPP back into power like they always did.
don't expect much from a sheep.
Originally Posted by Guyanese Patriot:
Dear Editor,
The PNC with all its flaws is still a far more democratic organization than the PPP. The PNC dared to have a primary while the PPP dared not. After 19 years in office the PPP is so scared of its own records that it spends 90 percent of its time telling Guyanese what the country was like 25 years ago. Much of what the leaders say is often lies or twisted versions to suit their own ends.
Not even in South Africa does the ANC refer so often to the apartheid system which held people in virtual subhuman conditions for decades. The PPP has developed the strategy of blaming Burnham for everything.
When Mr. Jagdeo came to office by the decree of his party, Guyana suffered a great injustice. Had the PPP been democratic, Moses Nagamotoo, a far more competent person and politician, most likely would have emerged as the successor. However, the PPP did not care about democracy and foisted Bharrat Jagdeo, a very vengeful and visionless politician, on the nation. Now again, instead of opening up the field so that we may have the best people in service, Mr. Jagdeo, true to form has handpicked Donald Ramotar.
The average Guyanese who is interested in politics knows that Ramkarran and Nagamotoo, as well as several others in the PPP would make far better leaders than Ramotar. It seems therefore that Mr. Jagdeo is fearful of having fair play in his own party as well as in the country.
As the longsuffering Guyanese nation goes to the polls on November 28, I hope they would reject this nonsensical fear mongering of this PPP cabal and vote issues rather than fear or propaganda. As for Donald Ramotar, this man seems to stand for nothing. He seems quite content to follow Jagdeo without opinion or vision. He seems basically clueless.
On the question of scholarship, we have noticed a concerted effort to attack Brigadier Granger’s record and reputation. Informed Guyanese know full well that neither Jagdeo nor Ramotar is any match for Brigadier Granger’s intellect.
Mr. Jagdeo who attended the Patrice Lumumba University has not even written an article but to attack Brigadier Granger who has written several books speaks to his ignorance. We invite people to Google the college and find out that it was a university of no real serious rating. It was what could be called an unranked university where all who attended had passing grades whether or not they attended classes.
I was informed that Russian citizens do not attend this University mainly because of its poor image. If fact, it was established by the former Soviet Union during the Cold War to provide scholarships to students in Third World socialist countries.
As for Minister of Agriculture Robert Persaud, who has also been on the attack recently, he is said to have done a six-month correspondence course from a college of little or no reputation. Any six-month Masters of Business Administration (MBA) programme done online is highly questionable. Let him tell the public the name of the university so that we may check it out.
As Jagdeo is about to leave office, he leaves the country in tatters. He is like a neutron bomb. He would have left buildings standing but the patriotic spirit of the Guyanese people would have been destroyed by his visionless, insensitive and immoral leadership.
Aubrey Retemyer

Disqus
Login About Disqus Like Dislike
and 25 others liked this.
Glad you liked it. Would you like to share?Facebook
Twitter
ShareNo thanksSharing this page …
Thanks! Close

Add New Comment
Image Post as …
Showing 8 comments
Sort by Popular now Best rating Newest first Oldest first Subscribe by email Subscribe by RSS
woodant 17 hours ago

THIS IS AN AWSOME PIECE OF WRITING....WELL SAID AUBREY.
(Edited by a moderator)

Flag 5 people liked this. Like ReplyReply Ice R 21 hours ago

Very good letter Audrey. The truth hurts but is reality.
Flag 5 people liked this. Like ReplyReply wel_Hung 23 hours ago

aubrey yuh in guyana, do some research about who de army man was in de 1973 elections.
Flag chokey and 3 more liked this Like ReplyReply APny 21 hours ago

Apparently the Guyanese masses are ignorant and only Aubrey Retemyer is smart to vote on issues. Just how could someone be so self deluded and writes so much crap beats me.
Flag 2 people liked this. Like ReplyReply dannyvid 22 hours ago

Your first sentence is total bull.
(Edited by a moderator)

Flag 2 people liked this. Like ReplyReply saggacayman 21 hours ago in reply to dannyvid

Why the first sentence is bull Moses Nagamootoo was a more senior member of the ppp than Jagdeo and was anointed as leader Sam Hinds according to the constitution of Guyana which takes precedence over any political party constitution should have been the President of Guyana after Jagan died when Burnham died power was immediately passed on to Hoyte so indeed the PNC with it numerous flaws is far more democratic.
Flag Mike Joans and 6 more liked this Like ReplyReply Kole Jurgen 21 hours ago in reply to dannyvid

dannyvid... as i said before, if you had a brain... you're like any empty barrel... maketh the most noise of no substance!!!
Flag 5 people liked this. Like ReplyReply Steve 12 hours ago

It is known that many people "wrote" books; high school drop outs, movie stars with no academic bacground, comedians,clowns and many others who have never seenn a school door. So to tell people that Granger "has written several books" is meaningless. TELL THE PEOPLE WHAT HIS ACADEMIC QUALIFICATIONS ARE?

Flag 1 person liked this. Like ReplyReply If you find a comment distasteful or inappropriate, you can flag the comment and send us a report for immediate removal. Send report to kaieteurnews@yahoo.com
Kaieteur News reserves the rights to moderate any blog deemed inappropriate and is not be responsible for the views expressed in the blog.
blog comments powered by Disqus

Latest Letters Headlines

a timely reminder of the tiefing PPP.

These were the days when Baseman was on the good guys side.