The chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff of the US, General Martin Dempsey, has stated this about ISIS - “They will have to be addressed on both sides of what is at this point a nonexistent border,”.

The US President has finally moved from defense to offense. I know that the Repubs have been saying that Obama is too reflective, doesn't like to lead, etc., but what they misses is Obama's deliberate style. Obama has signaled a new phase after the Black Ops mission to get hostages held by ISIS ended in killing some ISIS Jihadis but the hostages were moved from that location. Obama is gonna now take it to ISIS wherever they are and that includes Syria. So far it is special Ops and air strikes.

The US_of_A will be fully involved in the area primarily for oil, its major needs from the area and under the pretext of protecting in the area.

D_G, if you do not like someone cynicism becomes the automatic genuflection when they do something that's to their credit.

You do not like Obama so your cynical side continues to peddle something that would have truth under Bush/Cheney oil pair, but under Obama what links does he have to oil to warrant your cynicism?

If the USA does not bomb them to smitherines then the alternative is to sit and speak with them and then   create new bordres.

Chief, Obama cannot talk to ISIS. It's war with a group whose objective is to destroy America. Obama is moving from actions that he used to see as a law-enforcement act to one that is a declaration of war. In other words, the war on terrorism must be resuscitated but executed differently from the way Bush handled the first one on Al Qaeda after 9/11.

BTW, he should talk to Hamas on the other hand. Hamas is NOT ISIS (as Bibi Netanyahu would have us believe). Hamas is purely one-country focus - the Israel/Palestinian one. Here is where Hamas should recognize Israel's right to be a country and then sit with the West Bank's Palestinian Authority of Abass and get the US on its side on 2 matters - (1) Israel must be a State but NOT A Jewish State as it has twice as many Palestinians as Jews) and this will be tantamount to apartheid; and (2) Jerusalem must remain a town that is not Israel's capital.

The US_of_A will be fully involved in the area primarily for oil, its major needs from the area and under the pretext of protecting in the area.

D_G, if you do not like someone cynicism becomes the automatic genuflection when they do something that's to their credit.

You do not like Obama so your cynical side continues to peddle something that would have truth under Bush/Cheney oil pair, but under Obama what links does he have to oil to warrant your cynicism?

Oil is the prime focus for all presidents of the US_of_A.

If the USA does not bomb them to smitherines then the alternative is to sit and speak with them and then   create new bordres.

Chief, Obama cannot talk to ISIS. It's war with a group whose objective is to destroy America. Obama is moving from actions that he used to see as a law-enforcement act to one that is a declaration of war. In other words, the war on terrorism must be resuscitated but executed differently from the way Bush handled the first one on Al Qaeda after 9/11.

BTW, he should talk to Hamas on the other hand. Hamas is NOT ISIS (as Bibi Netanyahu would have us believe). Hamas is purely one-country focus - the Israel/Palestinian one. Here is where Hamas should recognize Israel's right to be a country and then sit with the West Bank's Palestinian Authority of Abass and get the US on its side on 2 matters - (1) Israel must be a State but NOT A Jewish State as it has twice as many Palestinians as Jews) and this will be tantamount to apartheid; and (2) Jerusalem must remain a town that is not Israel's capital.

I've seen the Jewish population in Israel being stated as 75%. What do you mean when you say that "it has twice as many Palestinians as Jews?"
Originally Posted by Mars:

I've seen the Jewish population in Israel being stated as 75%. What do you mean when you say that "it has twice as many Palestinians as Jews?"

You're correct.....my bad.......the point is that there is an Arab minority, but one significant enough that having a State that recognizes only one religion - like the Saudis do - is not right.

Obama finally out of his slumber.  That banna see a train coming and he seh, ah firefly till da rumble on his head.

Why don't you and your lawyer friend apply fuh a job to advise Obama? or offer your superior intellect for free?

Obama finally out of his slumber.  That banna see a train coming and he seh, ah firefly till da rumble on his head.

Obama has been killing more jihadist daily from his living room couch than any other President. ISIS is just more of the same in more massive scale.

This is the role of ther west from now on and forever. It stands as the bulwark against any overt move by any group to change who we are. The West include Russia as well.

Even the Chinese are in this fight...they are not like us however. They have no tolerance for "others" in their society. In that respect they are like some muslims. They just murdered a few hundred tribals in the north just for participating in Ramadan.

I said "forever" because I do not see muslims ( good or bad ones) ever accepting our secular reality as co equal in the social space. Even christians do not but they had their reformation where the "enlightened conclusion" was that diversity does not mean anhiliation and there may be some good to frame multicultural communalism in the traitions of

secularism. To them these days diversity is just another debate.

With muslims no. It is the insipid sameness of Muslim sharia or nothing else. I have seen numerous studies indicating why like christians there will be reformation moment when the debate in islam will  change to Islam mediating its wish to convert the world with the acceptance that others can have valid faiths in the same social space  and need to compete as equals. I am not convinced it is matured enough to do so at the moment because it is still blinded by its conception of purity and the filth of others.