Indo-Guyanese writer Gaiutra Bahadur says:

“Dougla” is a slur meaning “bastard” or “mutt.” It has its origins in Bhojpuri, the dialect of Hindi spoken by the majority of Indians who migrated as indentured laborers in the 19th and early 20th centuries. In North India, the word was used to describe someone with parents of different castes. It had the strong connotation of pollution, since orthodox Hinduism saw relationships across caste as illegitimate. In the Caribbean, the word was applied to the children of black and Indian parents. Its sting was no less in this transplanted setting.

Despite the shortage of Indian women in indentured societies, very few relationships developed between Indian men and black women. Mutual distrust began with the first encounter, on boats from India where West Indian Blacks were seamen and Indians the human cargo. Indian women were sexually exploited by seamen of all races, but the crew were typically Black or white. And suspicions of the other persisted on plantations in Guyana, where Indians lived under a pass system that restricted their movements and kept them residentially separate from Africans — and where British colonial masters divided-and-ruled by placing Blacks in positions of authority over Indians, as “drivers” or sub-overseers in the sugar cane fields and as the policemen who often broke labor strikes and protests, sometimes with fatal violence. Africans, meanwhile, saw the Indians as imported scabs, a cheap and exploitable labor force meant to undercut their own bargaining power as newly emancipated workers. Cultural differences — language, religion, food — kept the two groups further apart. Exceptions existed. I found some century-old examples in British Colonial Office archives of black and Indian couples, but for the most part the two groups remained sexually separate, and “douglas” continued to be stigmatized. It remains a difficult identity to negotiate. In recent years, however, the word has been reclaimed, with scholars of the Caribbean from Yale to the University of the West Indies exploring what precisely the imaginative category “dougla poetics,” a sensibility in music and literature based in mixed roots, might mean. I wonder if it might also be fruitful to explore the parameters of a “dougla politics.” If the mixed-race voters, and mixed couples, I interviewed are any indication, it might mean a resistance to definition, a volatility that could challenge the traditional way of conducting campaigns and practicing politics in Guyana. As a group, they were difficult to pin down and open to contradiction. Concrete, sometimes seemingly minute matters influenced the way they voted rather than the epic, abstract canvas of race.

[http://www.warscapes.com/opinion/dougla-politics]

Originally Posted by Prashad:
For us East Indians the Douglas should be our brothers and sisters because they are hated because of the East Indian blood in them.

There is no reason as to why a person of Mixed Indian ancestry cannot be as Indian as you or I if they choose to define themselves as such.

Actually, the "Indian" race is the product of the meeting between the Caucasoid race and an African race. We are the original Mixed race of the ancient world. We are more a Hispanic race than a "pure" race as Caucasians and Blacks are.

For us East Indians the Douglas should be our brothers and sisters because they are hated because of the East Indian blood in them.

who hates them?

please tell

Some Indians with whom I associated in Guyana looked down on dougla folks because of the Black in them. They didn't want their children to marry douglas.

There is much complexity your statement fails to capture. Even among Blacks there is a huge color issue. The American Black elite is no way near genetically similar to the masses.

The real issue is one of power or perceptions of it. We have inherited very warped hierarchical systems entwined with class, color, race etc. etc. It's not an Indian issue.

Reduce may be you should ask Pharoah Granjer that question directly.

Why are you deliberately refusing to spell his name correctly? It's "Granger." Why do PPP Indos bring such scorn on themselves by stooping to infantile things such as spelling the man's name as "Grainger" or "Granjer"?

Do you really not know how to spell or are you just being clumsily racist?

Some Indians with whom I associated in Guyana looked down on dougla folks because of the Black in them. They didn't want their children to marry douglas.

There is much complexity your statement fails to capture. Even among Blacks there is a huge color issue. The American Black elite is no way near genetically similar to the masses.

The real issue is one of power or perceptions of it. We have inherited very warped hierarchical systems entwined with class, color, race etc. etc. It's not an Indian issue.

I am trying to avoid complexity on this BB. I'm sure you know why.

Yuh ent see fo yuhself wha damage yuh complexity do hey?

Originally Posted by Freaky:
smfh at Parshad "when we Indos get we own nation"

gad I wish yuh wish wud come tru
all all Indo nation behind Black Bush/Mibicuri conservancy tap

I second dat tawt. How I wish jagan's mad pickney would pack their jahaji belongings and move to some part of Black Bush and establish a separate state where they can live free to engage in whatever schupidity they please.

There is no reason as to why a person of Mixed Indian ancestry cannot be as Indian as you or I if they choose to define themselves as such.

Actually, the "Indian" race is the product of the meeting between the Caucasoid race and an African race. We are the original Mixed race of the ancient world. We are more a Hispanic race than a "pure" race as Caucasians and Blacks are.

Also, it is opined Japanese is from the original mix from Caucasoid and Mongoloid. What I find interesting, is the how the races remained permanent as people moved in their race groups around the world.   

Worked for a dougla foreman at Blairmont Sugar Estate. De man din like coolie people at all. During the race riots in New Amsterdam, on his way home to Stanleytown he was stopped by a mob of Blacks. He quickly proclaimed, "I am one ah alyuh." The mob pull off his cap, because dem din know he. The mob taunted him seying, "no you are not, you gat cooolie in you, we gaon beat the coolie outa you razz." And dey beat him good. In the hospital he was. I felt sorry him. When the man returned back to work, he was much hateful towards coolie people. I bet u could put his hands on his cooolie father, he would a beat his razzz good for his mischief wid the Black girl.     

. . . The American Black elite is no way near genetically similar to the masses.

i suggest u stop advertising your illiteracy on these matters

stick to what u know

Worked for a dougla foreman at Blairmont Sugar Estate. De man din like coolie people at all. During the race riots in New Amsterdam, on his way home to Stanleytown he was stopped by a mob of Blacks. He quickly proclaimed, "I am one ah alyuh." The mob pull off his cap, because dem din know he. The mob taunted him seying, "no you are not, you gat cooolie in you, we gaon beat the coolie outa you razz." And dey beat him good. In the hospital he was. I felt sorry him. When the man returned back to work, he was much hateful towards coolie people. I bet u could put his hands on his cooolie father, he would a beat his razzz good for his mischief wid the Black girl.     

u are an inverterate, shameless peddler of tall tales . . . once they fit a certain deadly stereotype where blackman is concerned

what is the likelyhood dis wan is annada fake . . . hmmm?

There was this Headmaster(Mr. Neville Bourne) at Blairmont School who was very kind to me. He geh me a good good break in life. For three months, on Wednesdays I walked from Rosignol Public School to attend his woodworking class. I made an egg stand as the project. He liked my handy work. He remarked how good I was with my hands-imparting, anyone who worked with their hands can never starve.

I spoke very well, neat in appearance and mannerly. Black people liked that in children. I was favored all the time for those attributes.

Mr. Bourne was going to see that I do well in life. He made sure I did all the things necessary to earn a paying scholarship. I got paid $6.42 per week at 14 years of age at Bookers Training Centre.  

Since that time I've had higher education. My father use to tell me, he gat no money to send me to high school but goan mek sure my primary school education be the foundation that I can build upon. Between him, Mr. Bourne and kind black people of Rosignol Village I have done well with those blessing.

I live healthy because of those opportunities, I have homes in atleast 3 countries, with humility I am millionaire plus. All from that kindness of Mr. Bourne-God put him on my path.

Well, What am I doing on this BB. It helps my luminosity.

I like the gaff. 

That is why Sig when we get our own nation why should take the Dougla with us. Self hate is the most destructive weapon against our people.

Let's hope I live long enough. I am already 3 scores and ten. Still up to mischief though. And some people I juss love to provoke or poke fun at. 

There was this Headmaster(Mr. Neville Bourne) at Blairmont School who was very kind to me. He geh me a good good break in life. For three months, on Wednesdays I walked from Rosignol Public School to attend his woodworking class. I made an egg stand as the project. He liked my handy work. He remarked how good I was with my hands-imparting, anyone who worked with their hands can never starve.

I spoke very well, neat in appearance and mannerly. Black people liked that in children. I was favored all the time for those attributes.

Mr. Bourne was going to see that I do well in life. He made sure I did all the things necessary to earn a paying scholarship. I got paid $6.42 per week at 14 years of age at Bookers Training Centre.  

Since that time I've had higher education. My father use to tell me, he gat no money to send me to high school but goan mek sure my primary school education be the foundation that I can build upon. Between him, Mr. Bourne and kind black people of Rosignol Village I have done well with those blessing.

I live healthy because of those opportunities, I have homes in atleast 3 countries, with humility I am millionaire plus. All from that kindness of Mr. Bourne-God put him on my path.

I like the gaff. 

Damn..Siege you deh top a the ladder.

I like the gaff. 

Good for you, Siggy. We must never forget those who gave us an upward push in life.