From today's New York Times By DAVID W. DUNLAP

A Statue of Muhammad, Taken Down Years Ago

It would have given great offense, had anyone known it was there.

For the first half of the 20th century, an eight-foot-tall marble statue of the Prophet Muhammad overlooked Madison Square Park from the rooftop of the Appellate Division Courthouse at Madison Avenue and 25th Street.

Sixty years ago, the statue was quietly removed, in an episode that now looks, in light of recent events in Paris, like the model of tact, restraint and diplomacy.

What had spared the sensibilities of Muslim passers-by from 1902 to 1955 was that “Muhammad,” by the Mexican sculptor Charles Albert Lopez, was among nine other lawgivers, including Con***ius and Moses.

After New York’s polluted air had finished with the sugary stone, trying to figure out who was whom from street level, three very tall stories below the courthouse rooftop, would have been a fool’s game.

If any attribute might have identified Mr. Lopez’s figure as Middle Eastern, it would have been its scimitar. But the distinctive curving blade had fallen off at some point.

“They probably didn’t know he was there,” George T. Campbell, the chief clerk of the Appellate Division, First Department, said in 1955, when the statue was finally removed out of deference to Muslims, to whom depictions of the prophet are an affront.

(For the same reason, The New York Times has chosen not to publish photographs of the statue with this article.)

It does not seem likely that the designers of the courthouse intended offense to Muslims or anyone else. The architect, James Brown Lord, worked closely with a group of sculptors, including Mr. Lopez, to ornament the facade with figures that would instruct and inspire viewers.

“These artists were rendering the image of the prophet in a spirit of respect,” said Michele H. Bogart, a professor of art history at Stony Brook University and the author of “Public Sculpture and the Civic Ideal in New York City, 1890-1930.” “They were interested in Islam’s contribution, as one of the great world religions, to American law and civilization of the early 20th century.”

Many American civic buildings from the late 19th and early 20th centuries are rich in allegorical or representational artworks whose meanings are largely lost on contemporary viewers. They may have been an equal mystery back in the day.

It was not until 1953, when the Appellate Division announced that long-needed repairs were to be made at the crumbling courthouse, that the identity of one of the statues as a representation of Muhammad was widely recalled.

Had the New York City Department of Public Works prevailed at the time, all 10 statues would have been removed from the courthouse, since they were in a state of dangerous disrepair. The clerk, Mr. Campbell, fought hard to repair, clean and keep them.

Public discussion of the project, however, had alerted the embassies of Egypt, Indonesia and Pakistan to the existence of “Muhammad.” They asked the State Department to intervene with the city’s public works commissioner.

Many Muslims also wrote directly to the First Department, Mr. Campbell said, asking the court to get rid of the statue. “Our seven justices recommended granting the request,” he said in 1955.

To compensate for the absence of a figure at the commanding southwest corner of the building, seven statues were shifted one pedestal westward, leaving “Zoroaster” by Edward C. Potter in the place of “Muhammad.” The easternmost pedestal, once occupied by Henry K. Bush-Brown’s “Justinian,” was left vacant.

Sometime in 1954 or 1955, “Muhammad,” which weighed more than 1,000 pounds, was lowered to the street, wrapped in excelsior and spirited off to a storehouse in Newark. It had not yet been destroyed when The Times reported the episode on April 9, 1955.

An article in The Times on Feb. 12, 2006, “Images of Muhammad, Gone for Good,” made a tantalizing reference to the statue’s having last been seen in 1983, “lying on its side in a stand of tall grass somewhere in New Jersey.”

If the statue is still out there, however, now would not seem to be the moment to uncover it.

Apellate Court Manhattan

• Apellate Court Manhattan

Dem Merikans pagla laka rass.

Dem put 9 statue of lawgivers pon top de court house.

Dem include one statue of de Muslim lawgiver Muhammad.

Dem imagine wha Muhammad de look like and dem mek de thousand-pound statue.

Then dem had to tek down and hide Muhammad from de courthouse rooftop becaz some Muslim people objeck.

Well, Gilbakka telling allyou dis today: if dem bin mek a statue of de Hindu lawgiver Manu, he woulddah be standing pon top da courthouse up to now.

And dem won't ah have a statue-gap on de rooftop. Good fo dem rass.

PS: If anyone wants more information on Manu, request same from yuji22 or Mitwah.

Then dem had to tek down and hide Muhammad from de courthouse rooftop becaz some Muslim people objeck.

Well, Gilbakka telling allyou dis today: if dem bin mek a statue of de Hindu lawgiver Manu, he woulddah be standing pon top da courthouse up to now.

PS: If anyone wants more information on Manu, request same from yuji22 or Mitwah.

Gil...how come you talkin like Berbishun and you nevva ben ah Berbice ?

Like yuji and Mits ah lan you.

100 percent accurate.

Originally Posted by Tola:

Eh Eh 

Man Gil, like you live in Berbice for a while. Even me can't talk Berbician English like dat.

We Barbician does want to cut de English like dem Town Man but now dem Town Man cutting we Berbice English. Look story hey na.

Tola, I visited Berbice a few times. Lemme recall:

First time, Cheddi Jagan invited me to accompany him to Skeldon, two Sundays after the infamous 1973 general elections. On our way he stopped at a house in #63 Village for lunch. That was where I ate channa curry for the first time in my life. It's one of my favourite dishes now.

Second time, I accompanied a Russian journalist in January 1991 at the invitation of the late Dr Sheik Haroon, Ahmadiyya Muslim Missionary. He took us to Idris Deen's home for lunch, at Skeldon I think. That was the first time I ate baked sweet potato slices. Delicious.

Third time, I went to Corriverton one week before the 1992 general elections to do a survey on voter preferences for the Carter Centre. I had to rush back to New Amsterdam to catch the return ferry and reach Georgetown before sundown. Forget about lunch.

Fourth time, back to Springlands stelling with some journalists in 1993 to witness how the ferry to Nickerie was running. For lunch I ate a big plate of Chinese lowmein at the stelling.

As you can see, my exposure to Berbicianese is limited.

First time, Cheddi Jagan invited me to accompany him to Skeldon, two Sundays after the infamous 1973 general elections. On our way he stopped at a house in #63 Village for lunch. That was where I ate channa curry for the first time in my life. It's one of my favourite dishes now.

Second time, I accompanied a Russian journalist in January 1991 at the invitation of the late Dr Sheik Haroon, Ahmadiyya Muslim Missionary. He took us to Idris Deen's home for lunch, at Skeldon I think. That was the first time I ate baked sweet potato slices. Delicious.

Third time, I went to Corriverton one week before the 1992 general elections to do a survey on voter preferences for the Carter Centre. I had to rush back to New Amsterdam to catch the return ferry and reach Georgetown before sundown. Forget about lunch.

Fourth time, back to Springlands stelling with some journalists in 1993 to witness how the ferry to Nickerie was running. For lunch I ate a big plate of Chinese lowmein at the stelling.

Gil...And you survived dem PNC days, unlike now that could be risky for journalists.  

'Unfortunately', I left a year after they took office and was not 'fortunate' to experience the Burnham days fully, but had some scary times during visits.

I got a good sense of that time by reading Fr. Morrison's  book: Justice.

Fr. Darke was my scout leader trainer at Camp Jubilee and I still have some photos he took of me and Dr. Reid.  I remember that day well... a big black man over shadowing me, after I lived most of my life in an Indian village.

My fond memories of Dr. Jagan was with the PYO at his bottom house at PM, with his mother present. He even remembered going to primary school with my mother.

Will those PPP day ever return ? Churchill like you must have emotional memories, especially after what is taking place now.

Missing the Berbice ferry started lifetime  friendships in our home. While searching for a  place to stay overnight my brothers would invited strangers to stay at our house. Now people  are too scared to even talk with each other.      

But in Berbice, did you drink de backdam trench wata like dem cane cutta and rice farma, or eat boiled curry egg wid rice, a Berbice student lunch favourite.  I would eat half on the way to school and not able to resist temptation, the rest at recess. 

Last edited by Tola

Gil...And you survived dem PNC days, unlike now that could be risky for journalists.  

'Unfortunately', I left a year after they took office and was not 'fortunate' to experience the Burnham days fully, but had some scary times during visits.

Fr. Darke was my scout leader trainer at Camp Jubilee and I still have some photos he took of me and Dr. Reid.  I remember that day well... a big black man over shadowing me, after I lived most of my life in an Indian village.

My fond memories of Dr. Jagan was with the PYO at his bottom house at PM, with his mother present. He even remembered going to primary school with my mother.

Will those PPP day ever return ? Churchill like you must have emotional memories, especially after what is taking place now.

Missing the Berbice ferry started lifetime  friendships in our home. While searching for a  place to stay overnight my brothers would invited strangers to stay at our house. Now people  are too scared to even talk with each other.      

But in Berbice, did you drink de backdam trench wata like dem cane cutta and rice farma, or eat boiled curry egg wid rice, a Berbice student lunch favourite.  I would eat half on the way to school and not able to resist temptation, the rest at recess. 

Very nice post Tola. 

Memories are great Yuji.

We all want the best for the people of Guyana, especially the young, who have a full life ahead of them.

I am bothered a lot by what the youth are presently experiencing, especially in areas of high suicide levels, where they see little hope for the future.

Like Dr. Jagan was, governments need to mingle more with ordinary citizens at all times. It is only then  they will know how to work with  them  properly.     

Very nice post Tola. 

Memories are great Yuji.

We all want the best for the people of Guyana, especially the young, who have a full life ahead of them.

I am bothered a lot by what the youth are presently experiencing, especially in areas of high suicide levels, where they see little hope for the future.

Like Dr. Jagan was, governments need to mingle more with ordinary citizens at all times. It is only then  they will know how to work with  them  properly.     

Agreed. 

Politicians of today have lost that personal touch with the grassroots.

Dr.Jagan was a very humble man and was adored by the grassroots. I still remember Dr. Jagan and his humility. I have never been a part of any political party but I was required in High School in Guyana in 1978 to read a political book and comment. I read the West on Trial and it sparked my political interest.

God bless his soul.

Very nice post Tola. 

Memories are great Yuji.

Agreed. 

Politicians of today have lost that personal touch with the grassroots.

Dr.Jagan was a very humble man and was adored by the grassroots. I still remember Dr. Jagan and his humility. I have never been a part of any political party but I was required in High School in Guyana in 1978 to read a political book and comment. I read the West on Trial and it sparked my political interest.

God bless his soul.

The West on Trial is also one of my favourite books, I read it a number of times, because I can relate closely to his life at  Port Mourant.

Mutiny on the Bounty is another, that I studied in school.  My dream, before too long, is to visit Pitcairn's Island.

When I see what is happening with youth, especially  at Black Bush Polder and even Skeldon, I get very angry as displayed in many of my posts.

It is difficult not to get upset when we see how little control some people have of their lives and are struggling just to survive.

On the surface they seems well, but after getting to know them better, their internal turmoil surface.

I believe the PPP is still good for Guyana, but not as the are now.

They need a strong leader who is in tune with the people and could make non-influential decisions.    

Give dem a call nah bai. Dem can still put Manu up dere. Given hat he is the Hindu lawmaker, his presence is well justified. Seriously, Muslims are very particular of not avoiding "make believe" stuff. Muhammad knew how other religious/organizations leaders' images were subsequently substituted for God's. He wanted Muslims to avoid that situation hence no credible images of him. He was contented with his position as prophet and did not wish for him to be mistaken as God.

Originally Posted by ksazma:

Give dem a call nah bai. Dem can still put Manu up dere. Given hat he is the Hindu lawmaker, his presence is well justified. Seriously, Muslims are very particular of not avoiding "make believe" stuff. Muhammad knew how other religious/organizations leaders' images were subsequently substituted for God's. He wanted Muslims to avoid that situation hence no credible images of him. He was contented with his position as prophet and did not wish for him to be mistaken as God.

NEWSWEEK article The Koran Does Not Forbid Images of the Prophet:

"Over the past seven centuries, a variety of historical and poetic texts largely produced in Turkish and Persian spheres—both Sunni and Shiite—include beautiful depictions of the Prophet Muhammad. These many images were not only meant to praise and commemorate the Prophet; they also served as occasions and centerpieces for Muslim devotional practice, much like celebrations of the Prophet’s birthday (Mawlid) and visitations to his tomb in Medina."

In the Topkapi Museum in Istanbul, Turkey, this old painting of the Prophet is on exhibition:

The West on Trial is also one of my favourite books, I read it a number of times, because I can relate closely to his life at  Port Mourant.

Mutiny on the Bounty is another, that I studied in school.  My dream, before too long, is to visit Pitcairn's Island.

When I see what is happening with youth, especially  at Black Bush Polder and even Skeldon, I get very angry as displayed in many of my posts.

It is difficult not to get upset when we see how little control some people have of their lives and are struggling just to survive.

On the surface they seems well, but after getting to know them better, their internal turmoil surface.

I believe the PPP is still good for Guyana, but not as the are now.

They need a strong leader who is in tune with the people and could make non-influential decisions.    

The current PPP cabal are too corrupt which will

cause their down fall,the young ones in the party

enriching them self by illegal means.