World Bank report....

On basis of per capita income…World Bank ranks Guyana second poorest in Caricom

DECEMBER 30, 2013 • BY STABROEK EDITOR •

With a Gross National Income (GNI) of just US$3, 410 per capita, the World Bank in its 2014 World Development Report rated Guyana among the least wealthy in CARICOM. This figure is in stark contrast to that of Guyana’s fellow CARICOM country, The Bahamas, whose GNI is recorded as US$21,280 per capita, making it the wealthiest CARICOM country. According to the World Bank, Guyana is the second poorest country in Caricom but far ahead of Haiti, which has a GNI of US$760 per capita. “For 2012, the economy expanded by 3.7% down from 4.5% in 2011 and 4.4% in 2010.” The Bank however noted the economy’s expansion in 2013 which it attributed to increased activity in rice and gold production, as well as improvement in the manufacturing sector. The Bahamas’s economic prosperity, on the other hand, is attributed mostly to its vast tourism sector which accounts for over 60% of the Bahamian Gross Domestic Product (GDP), and creates jobs for more than fifty percent of the country’s workforce. The island’s financial services sector is the second most vibrant and accounts for about 15% of its GDP. Guyana was also outperformed by Trinidad and Tobago which registered a GNI of US$14,400 per capita. In fact, the twin-island state has been doing so well that the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) in 2011 removed it from its list of developing countries. The country’s economy is driven by its petroleum industry, although its manufacturing and tourism sectors are also very important. St Kitts and Nevis also did well, registering a GNI of US$13,330 per capita. Tourism and manufacturing are the main drivers behind the twin-island federation’s development, after sugar cultivation, owing to growing production costs and falling world market prices, was reduced. The tourism sector has been doing particularly well, and the island has seen tourist arrivals expand from 379,473 in 2007 to 587,479 in 2009. It is also tourism which helped Antigua and Barbuda attain its US$12,640 GNI per capita. The country’s tourism sector accounts for more than half of the GDP, although the growing medical schools and its students make very large contributions to the economy. Guyana’s CARICOM and South American neighbour Suriname achieved a GNI of US$8,480 per capita although its economy fell on hard times during the 1990’s. The country’s ability to beat back economic hardships and register such a relatively high GNI is a result of government initiatives to diversify the economy, and decrease dependence on Dutch financial assistance. Bauxite mining couple with exploration and exploitation of oil contributes substantially to the country’s GDP, although agriculture and ecotourism are important components. Ranking closer to Guyana was Jamaica and Dominica with GNIs of US$5,140 and US$6,460 per capita respectively. About 50% of Jamaica’s economy is built on income generated by tourism-related services. At the same time, Jamaica’s economy is a fair mixture of state enterprises and private businesses, while agriculture, financial and insurance services, manufacturing and mining play integral roles in the country’s economy. Meanwhile, Dominica, whose economy historically depended largely upon gains from its banana and other agricultural endeavours, came back from the brink of a financial crisis in 2003 and 2004 to experience growth levels of 3.5 percent and 4.0 percent in 2005 and 2006 respectively. Growth in 2006 in particular, was said to be the fruit of macroeconomic reforms pursued by government, which saw new ground gained in construction, tourism, offshore services and some sectors of the country’s banana industry.

What the People say...

When the World Bank recently regurgitated growth information provided by the corrupt minority government, the PPP-minded bloggers praised the World Bank.

Well, I join them in praising the World Bank for always telling the truth. And I pray that our country will see better times.

You know, in the so-called worst days of the PNC, a pocketful of money bought a basketful of goods. But now in the so-called better days of the PPP, a basketful of money can't even buy a pocketful of goods.

In fact, the situation has become so shameful that the corrupt minority government has introduced the $5,000 bill to help erase the shame of our people walking around with tons of dollar bills that can only buy a few pounds of food.

Emile_Mervin

OMGorsh! The WB is lying! Jagdeo should cuss them out and show them how much money he and the cabal made on behalf of all poor Guyanese!

Pilot 230 / 380

So what ? That could be change in a few years . Just put the PPP back as de opposition . Sorry fuh them young sugar cane .

Amen-Ra

This is from the world bank, let's hear what the talking heads going to say be prepared for the rebuttal.

Democracy Enigma

Our Ex-President The Right Honorable Bharat Jagdeo served on the World Bank ,The International Monetary Fund and he will be the most advantageous person to clarify the American Position .
These things happen to all countries when OIl,Mineral resources and Democracy clash American Style .

H_ali

This has been the case for DONKEY years, but of recent Guyana's poor has gotten poorer while the rich has been sucking the blood of the poorest Guyanese.

ahimsa / H_ali

Damn lie! The middle class has grown by leaps and bounds under the PPP, they own their own home, many people have a car, a cell phone etc. Guyana is 4 times ahead of Haiti. In 1992, they were almost neck and neck.
Let progress continue!

H_ali /ahimsa

you must be feeding from the gravy train. remove your beaks from the hole you have dug yourself into for a change. the only reason why many Guyanese are surviving is because of the goodwill of their FOREIGN relative. again remove your head from where the sun doesn't shine

Burch01

We do not need World bank to confirm what we feel everyday .....only the pradovillians ; the new special breed contract workers; the top imported managers --local expatriates (one ethnicity); those paid at US Dollars rate $15.000 US monthly (if you are a son of a 'big one) are flying high........the rest of us suck'' awara seed''

sukhram

Well is the American make Bahamas the richest in CARICOM if you people don't know the depend on America to keep their country like that and the Bahamas claim them self to be the 54 state of America.

Al Fernandes

The World Bank betta be careful before dem get a good cuss down ...

What GNI members want to know...

Maybe Ugee22, Pundit, De PNC Hydro Specialist,

De Rev, Godie Walla, Kwame

or any other one of those

who support and practice Buggery

can tell us if the World Bank it Speaking the true.

and why.....Jagdeo, Ramotar, Luncheon and Ramsammy

used USAID money

to buy spy computers for Roger Khan operations.

Lets see if we can get a honest Answer

from any of the Crab Louse

before the Year 2013 comes to an end

The PPP is about to complete yet another billion dollar raid on State resources.

November 24, 2013 | By | Filed Under Letters 

Dear Editor, One may ask, what is a government elected to do?  Our primary understanding would be to govern in the national interest for the betterment of all the people; not in the interest of a few. So why is the PPP only fostering the business interest of a small group of people closely aligned to that party? This issue has been studied with much diligence over the years and the Kaieteur News expose captioned “The Heist of Guyana – the Communication Scheme” is just another revelation of how the PPP  hierarchy is about to complete another billion dollar raid on the Treasury to enrich themselves, relatives and friends. They have done this many times before but this is going to be the largest raid ever on the people’s money. It is wrong and we must vehemently condemn it. The general thrust of owner Glen Lall and editor Adam Harris’ Kaietuer News article “The Heist of Guyana” points us in the right direction – namely, the Jagdeo cabal with the full collaboration of the Ramotar bunch have made plans to retroactively transfer one of Guyana’s greatest and most valuable assets— the wireless telephony spectrum—from the people of Guyana to themselves and friends for a pittance. This is worse than the most outrageous corrupt practice or any highway robberies. The greatest political act in the history of Guyana was when the PPP was relegated to a minority Government status.  The main causation of that political revolution was the PPP’s gross acts of massive corruption and mal-administration of the affairs of the State, including the whole scale plundering of the people’s resources. Yet, the PPP will not stop such depraved behavior; in fact, they have caught the disease called “kleptocrotitist” meaning the inability to prevent theft from the Treasury. This is a disease that is easily spread among the group and can only be cured by therapeutic help from well qualified and experienced Psychiatrists, most of whom can be found in the developed countries. The electro-magnetic spectrum is worth billions of dollars (the last estimate was G$24 billion) but yet we find that the PPP is determined to transfer these expensive spectrums for little or nothing to their friends and family through their back door corrupt practices which were perfected by the Jagdeoites. This spectrum supports businesses in the quad-play sector which constitutes cable businesses, businesses using the broadcast television frequency, radio frequency and the jewel in the crown — the wireless (cellular) telephone frequency. No government in its right mind, except for the PPP would give away such treasured state resources to their friends and relatives for nickels and dimes. As APNU—MP Joseph Harmon rightfully said, “them eyes pass we.” In 2011, the Jagdeo regime literally gave away the radio and television frequency for absolutely nothing to their friends and family creating the conditions for them to earn billions of dollars at the taxpayer’s expense.  In April 2013, Prime Minister Sam Hinds confirmed that the PPP will not collect fees from two companies in the cable business, both owned and controlled by persons close to former president Jagdeo. Again, more milk and honey for a pittance for the best friends of the PPP.  The fact remains, Jamaica was able to leverage some US$40 million for just one cable license. Score sheet so far -Guyana ZERO; Jamaica US$40 million. The PPP did not stop there. They wanted total domination of the airwaves in Guyana. While we acknowledged that the drafted telecommunication legislation meets the basic international standards, we are quite disturbed that the PPP cabal, like a thief in the night, inserted the licensing of three PPP aligned telecommunication companies—Quark Communication, E-Networks and Global Technologies—all owned by friends of the former president, again for a pittance. This goes to show how crooked this regime is as they continue to bleed the nation of all its vital resources. This is not what the people had expected when the PPP promised to level the playing field and bring order to the telecommunications industry. The risks that GT&T and Digicel took, and the investments they have made over the years are enormous and should be respected by the PPP cabal; and this should easily justify their place at the table. However, these three PPP fly by night operators have done very little in terms of investing in technology for the wireless communications network over the years and should not be given licenses for a pittance? What risk did they take?  What investment have they made for the direct benefit of the Guyanese people? Have they ever built any children hospital like Digicel or paid the billions of dollars in taxes like Digicel and GT&T did over the years? How dare these members of the “Committee for the Re-election of Jagdeo” popularly referred to as the CREEPS, reap the rewards by not taking the appropriate risk and truly investing in the Guyanese people?  Why is the PPP giving away the state’s valuable airwaves frequencies to their rich friends? The only answer is the PPP has taken corruption to its highest level; therefore, we will be forwarding this letter to all the members of CARICOM and to all regional and international communication bodies. We demand that the PPP cabal rescind their preferential treatment to the three communication companies owned by their friends this telecommunication bill be sent to the select committee for further scrutiny. We also demand that the playing field should be leveled and regularized between GT&T and Digicel first, before any other players are invited to take part in the process. The market place can be opened to all other players by way of a spectrum auction in a regulated manner once it is regularized and they are prepared to pay the fair market value for the available band width.  If the friends of the former President need space on the spectrum, let them compete in a transparent manner like everyone else in the world; they should not be given preferential treatment by the PPP. We strongly opposed this corrupt PPP minority regime for giving their friends and relatives who are the owners of Quark Communication, E-Networks and Global Technologies and to have free access to the state most prized resources. We also called on all Guyanese to revolt against this corrupt regime for such unethical practice. We say thanks and Glen Lall and Adam Harris of Kaieteur and we salute them for exposing the racketeering and plundering of the state resources by the PPP. They have done their part diligently, so now is the time for the people of Guyana to follow suit. We can no longer stand idle and allow this crooked and immoral regime to commit such blatant crime against the state. We are calling on the majority opposition to use the powers granted to them by the Constitution to investigate this criminal act and surcharge the alleged perpetrators for their twisted ways and warped mentality. This is the time for the opposition to unite and vigorously defend the interest of the people. Furthermore, the majority Parliamentary opposition must take their responsibility more seriously and design laws in such a way to meet the objective of fostering competition while at the same time securing the best value for money for the people of Guyana. Once this cat is out the bag, there is no opportunity for any future government to roll back this conspiratorial PPP plan and thus if this is not done using best practices, the nation will have opportunity losses to the tune of billions of dollars that will never ever be recovered. Is that a price we as Guyanese are prepared to pay to please the economic oligarchic who controls the PPP? We say no and hope you do as well. Chandra Deollal, Esq. Mark Dacosta, Dr.Terrence Simon,  Joycelyn Wilson, Guyatree Balgobin Esq, Aubrey Reteymer, Noel Moses, Sasenarine Singh, Asha Balbachan, Derrick Arjune, Esq. Donna Mattho, Asquith Rose, Ricky Bisnauth, Harish S. Singh.

PPP embarks on "broad left" electoral strategy
  • Friday, 03 January 2014 19:03

PPP Headquarters- Freedom House

The governing Peoples Progressive Party (PPP) has announced a new political strategy to attract more non-members in the hope of regaining its parliamentary majority at the next general and regional elections.

PPP General Secretary, Clement Rohee said the Marxist-Leninist oriented party has decided to establish a “broad left, progressive, democratic front” involving a number of categories of stakeholders including politicians and organisations from across the social and political divide. The PPP hopes the broad left model will also attract working people, farmers, intellectuals, professionals, the business community, NGOs and all Guyanese to assist in establishing a National Democratic State.

“It touches on almost every social strata of society who are desirous of playing a role in nation building so there may be people in this front who admire the idea… but they are not a member of the PPP, they are not a left-leaning person, they are just patriotic and nationalist,” Rohee told Demerara Waves Online News (www.demwaves.com) on Friday.

Pointing to the creation of the Reform component of the Peoples National Congress Reform and the formation of A Partnership for National Unity (APNU), Rohee said the “broad left” approach is part of the PPP’s plan going into the next election.

“All these are what you call electoral strategies that political parties would adopt…You have to look at politics in a very dynamic way. The political parties have to make the necessary adjustments in keeping with the new realities that are emerging in the country in order to ensure not only relevance but vibrancy and continuity,” said Rohee.

Political pundits outside the PPP say that party hopes to revive a 1970s model to confront the opposition which now controls the 65-member National Assembly by one seat. The PPP has conceded that it needs to work hard to regain its simple majority because of a younger voting population, short memories of the past under the PNC by older persons, complacency and apathy.

Rohee acknowledged that the broad left did not differ much from the Civic component of non-PPP members who wanted to make a contribution to national development.. we will be working to embrace and individuals who are prepared to commit themselves in this direction,

“It’s not very different. The only difference is that it’s a front. It’s more organised, it’s not a loose thing of people who are part of a front and committed to a programme,” he said.

For the first time in Independent Guyana, the National Assembly is controlled by the Opposition.

Government has complained bitterly that its programmes and policies are being frustrated by the opposition – APNU and Alliance For Change (AFC) – using its one seat majority to vote down aspects of the National Budget and block the enactment of certain laws.

On the other hand, the opposition says its only aim is to ensure tougher laws, accountability and transparency rather that corruption, nepotism and other forms of maladministration.

http://caribnewsdesk.com/news/...t-electoral-strategy

Why would you replace one corrupt party with another?.

The opposition failed to use their majority in parliament to produce good governance.

Indians will not vote for the PNC but would experiment with voting for the AFC under Khemraj Ramjattan.

Why would you replace one corrupt party with another?.

The opposition failed to use their majority in parliament to produce good governance.

Indians will not vote for the PNC but would experiment with voting for the AFC under Khemraj Ramjattan.

The Corrupt PPP/C had twenty two years, to put their house in order,  they are in their 23rd years now..........yet Guyanese are the poorest amongs't our neighbouring countries in the Caribbean.....why should we, tolerate this non-sense when our country are exporters of so much commodities.

The younger generations after graduating and where thousands are leaving schools every year are looking for jobs......under the corrupt and thieving PPP/C there is none. The Poor People are looking for house lots in order to come out of renting dwellings........The Corrupt PPP/C find it best to give on a platter to their cronies hundreds of acres of land, instead of giving to the Poor and Opressed People of Guyana.

As I said it seems, we have a bunch of thieves calling themselves PPP/C, because when Jagan died, the PPP/C died with it, it is better to kick these bum out and give the governance to anyone.    

World Bank ranks Guyana second poorest in Caricom

This figure is in stark contrast to that of Guyana’s fellow CARICOM country, The Bahamas, whose  GNI is recorded as US$21,280 per capita, making it the wealthiest CARICOM country.

According to the World Bank, Guyana is the second poorest country in Caricom but far ahead of Haiti, which has a GNI of US$760 per capita. “For 2012, the economy expanded by 3.7% down from 4.5% in 2011 and 4.4% in 2010.” The Bank however noted the economy’s expansion in 2013 which it attributed to increased activity in rice and gold production, as well as improvement in the manufacturing sector.

The Bahamas’s economic prosperity, on the other hand, is attributed mostly to its vast tourism sector which accounts for over 60% of the Bahamian Gross Domestic Product (GDP), and creates jobs for more than fifty percent of the country’s workforce.

The island’s financial services sector is the second most vibrant and accounts for about 15% of its GDP.

Guyana was also outperformed by Trinidad and Tobago which registered a GNI of US$14,400 per capita. In fact, the twin-island state has been doing so well that the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) in 2011 removed it from its list of developing countries.

The country’s economy is driven by its petroleum industry, although its manufacturing and tourism sectors are also very important.

St Kitts and Nevis also did well, registering a GNI of US$13,330 per capita. Tourism and manufacturing are the main drivers behind the twin-island federation’s development, after sugar cultivation, owing to growing production costs and falling world market prices, was reduced. The tourism sector has been doing particularly well, and the island has seen tourist arrivals expand from 379,473 in 2007 to 587,479 in 2009.

It is also tourism which helped Antigua and Barbuda attain its US$12,640 GNI per capita. The country’s tourism sector accounts for more than half of the GDP, although the growing medical schools and its students make very large contributions to the economy.

Guyana’s CARICOM and South American neighbour Suriname achieved a GNI of US$8,480 per capita although its economy fell on hard times during the 1990’s. The country’s ability to beat back economic hardships and register such a relatively high GNI is a result of government initiatives to diversify the economy, and decrease dependence on Dutch financial assistance.

Bauxite mining couple with exploration and exploitation of oil contributes substantially to the country’s GDP, although agriculture and ecotourism are important components.

Ranking closer to Guyana was Jamaica and Dominica with GNIs of US$5,140 and US$6,460 per capita respectively. About 50% of Jamaica’s economy is built on income generated by tourism-related services. At the same time, Jamaica’s economy is a fair mixture of state enterprises and private businesses, while agriculture, financial and insurance services, manufacturing and mining play integral roles in the country’s economy.

Meanwhile, Dominica, whose economy historically depended largely upon gains from its banana and other agricultural endeavours, came back from the brink of a financial crisis in 2003 and 2004 to experience growth levels of 3.5 percent and 4.0 percent in 2005 and 2006 respectively.

Growth in 2006 in particular, was said to be the fruit of macroeconomic reforms pursued by government, which saw new ground gained in construction, tourism, offshore services and some sectors of the country’s banana industry.

Massive corruption uncovered at CJIA

January 5, 2014 | By KNews | Filed Under News

Corruption is said to be a disease that eats away at the faith of citizens in its government and when it is reported and there is inaction it is even more despicable.

Officials are now talking about a racket at the Cheddi Jagan International Airport (CJIA). Despite numerous reports to superiors, the racket is not investigated and is, in fact, covered up.

The Guyana Revenue Authority (GRA) is responsible for the collection of all taxes payable to Government. It also runs an Internal Affairs and Intelligence and Risk Management department.
There is, further, a monitoring section which operates at wharves and airports.
According to reports, a very senior officer (name provided) in the monitoring section at the airport has been colluding with security officers and immigration officials to recycle airport tax stubs, as well as allow for drugs and other items to be placed on planes destined for foreign locations.

In the case of the recycled stubs, these are then resold to travelling passengers.
The publication was told that the official would stop the cameras from recording or delete footage altogether, in order to allow these dealings to go unrecorded.
This publication was informed that the cameras at the airport are very unreliable and would become non functional after a bout of heavy rains among other reasons.
Whenever questioned about missing footage the fact that the system is unreliable is used as the excuse.
The crooked GRA officer who facilitates this was also accused of doing the same when he was posted at a city wharf where containers are searched.
Corrupt businessmen would usually make a payment to ensure that their containers are not thoroughly searched and the GRA monitoring officer would record the opening of the container after which a series of technical ploys would be used to cover up the fact that the containers are not properly searched.
According to reports, despite the activities being reported, the officer was transferred to the Airport and was subsequently promoted.
This publication was told that the reason the activities are not thoroughly investigated and forwarded to the Commissioner General is the fact that the corrupt officer and the persons required to investigate, share a close relationship.

MAKE IT A LEVEL PLAYING FIELD: IF SOMEONE HURL STONES THE SOMEONE SHOULD GET BACK SOME STONES HURL AT HIM:

IT APPEARS THAT AMRAL IS BEING ONE SIDED ON THIS INSTANCE

RELEASE BROS JALIL, MITS AND MARS:

RE: OPPOSITION TO THE CORRUPT PPP/C IS NOW MUZZLED?

Not as long as we're still around, unless we all receive a banning and this ends up a PPP/C site where thieves meet.

Well look at it this way, the three brothers that were suspended is all Opponents of the Corrupt PPP/C why the defenders of the Corrupt PPP/C were not penalised? they were all in the penalty zone........I simply do not understand Amral actions.

Originally Posted by asj:

Well look at it this way, the three brothers that were suspended is all Opponents of the Corrupt PPP/C why the defenders of the Corrupt PPP/C were not penalised? they were all in the penalty zone........I simply do not understand Amral actions.

Let us keep this in the proper perspective, these vulgar individuals were suspended because of vulgar language and unethical behavior, not their political views.   You should be the last to comment on this, as a moderator you should have stopped the situation before it reached a crisis point. Also you should set a good example by your own deeds, let us not forget your disparaging remarks about me. 

as a moderator you should have stopped the situation before it reached a crisis point. Also you should set a good example by your own deeds, let us not forget your disparaging remarks about me. 

I questioned this moderator's partiality before. Sorry ASJ, you should not be taking sides as a moderator. It's like Rush Limbaugh moderating the presidential debates in the USA.

QUOTE " You should be the last to comment on this, as a moderator you should have stopped the situation before it reached a crisis point. Also you should set a good example by your own deeds, let us not forget your disparaging remarks about me."UNQUOTE 

I thought that I made my point crystal clear to you already, but sometimes your brains seems to get its thinking power from that big bag you have hanging so it takes time to register.

Moderator or no moderator, if you throw stones at me then I will hurl it back at you, hoping that it hits your bigseed.

If you approach my post without your insults, and then you will get the same treatment, in my respond.

I do not have any apologies to make to anyone here.

as a moderator you should have stopped the situation before it reached a crisis point. Also you should set a good example by your own deeds, let us not forget your disparaging remarks about me. 

I questioned this moderator's partiality before. Sorry ASJ, you should not be taking sides as a moderator. It's like Rush Limbaugh moderating the presidential debates in the USA.

Skelly, you are ignorant of certain things here on Political, I suggest that if you have a complaint.....then take it to Amral, and please go give your advise to someone who really needs it.

Originally Posted by asj:

Skelly, you are ignorant of certain things here on Political, I suggest that if you have a complaint.....then take it to Amral, and please go give your advise to someone who really needs it.

Sure will keep that in mind Mr. Moderator.

No audited accounts from 52 NDCs in

last five years

January 14, 2014 | By | Filed Under News 

-none from six municipalities for more than decade and half

Despite receiving millions of dollars every year from Central Government, there have been no audited accounts from six municipalities for at least 15 years. The municipalities have also been collecting taxes from residents.

Former Auditor General, Anand Goolsarran

In total, 52 Neighbourhood Democratic Councils (NDCs), representing 80 per cent of total number, did not have audited accounts for the last five years. About 18 have also never produced audited accounts since they were established in 1994 – that is for 19 years. Writing in his weekly column in the Stabroek News, former Auditor General, Anand Goolsarran, was critical noting this is despite the fact that, as in the case of municipalities, NDCs are in receipt of significant amounts of money from the Treasury, not to mention rates and taxes being collected from local residents. “For example, the 65 NDCs received a total of $195.5 million in 2012 from budgetary allocations approved by Parliament.  According to the Audit Office’s records, most of the entities had submitted financial statements for audit several years. However, some statements had to be returned for corrections while for others, the audits were either being planned or were being finalised.” The 2012 Auditor General’s report issued on September 30 last stated that of the 294 sets of financial statements in the possession of the Audit Office as at September 30, 2011, a total of 221 statements were audited by December 2011 but the related reports had not been issued. However, no audits were finalized in 2011 while for 2012, 48 audits were completed and the related reports issued. “So the question is: what happened to the audit of 173 statements carried forward to 2012 that were completed and were

Local Government Minister, Ganga Persaud

“being finalized? Why should there be this overwhelming and undue delay in completing the audits of NDCs when the financial statements comprise merely a statement of receipts and payments? A dedicated auditor with access to the cash book, vouchers and bank statements will take less than a day to complete the audit.” Goolsarran said that an analysis of the situation paints yet another sorrowful picture of the functioning of the Audit Office whose mission statement states, inter alia, that the Audit Office is committed to promoting good governance, including openness, transparency and improved public accountability, through the execution of high quality audits and the timely reporting of the results. “It is time the Audit Office takes stock of itself and ensure that appropriate measures are in place to lift standards of efficiency and effectiveness consistent with its mission statement.” He called on the Ministry of Local Government to play a greater monitoring role in ensuring the timely and proper accountability of NDCs. “After all, there are two subject Ministers as well as two former Ministers acting as advisors to oversee the work of the Ministry. Parliamentarians must also demand proper accountability for funds previously given to the NDCs before new funds are allocated.” Regarding what can be done on a political level, the former Auditor General pointed out that the Minister of Finance has until March 31st to prepare and lay before the National Assembly the Estimates of Revenue and Expenditure for 2014. “Given the present configuration of the National Assembly and in order to ensure the smooth passage of the estimates,

Auditor General, Deodat Sharma

commonsense would dictate that there should be meaningful consultations with the combined Opposition during the preparation of the estimates. However, such consultations have so far not taken place, and from all appearances, we are heading for a third consecutive year of serious disagreements over allocations for government programmes and projects, and possible budget cuts.”