Originally Posted by Kapadilla:

PPP. AFC 12%, PPP 46% and PNC rest come nest electshan.

that sounds about right.

Now will the PPP threaten snap elections again if that happens?

Will they accuse APNU of rigging the elections?

Will they scream that because Guyana is booming PPP voters so no reason why they should vote.

While APNU is stupid they generally have a sharp eye when the PPP tries to rig elections.  I know that the PPP isn't going to be so stupid because if so G/twn will shut down as will the entire ECD, and EBD.

I do note that they refuse to release the results of the 2012 census.  Is it because the Indian population has plunged and they are now in mass panic, given that the PPP polls poorly among mixed voters?

Originally Posted by Amral:

So in 2006 the PPP won 54% of the  vote with 186k votes.  In 2011 they won 49% of the votes with 168k votes.  The PNC in 2006 won 34% of the votes with 115k votes.  In 2011 they won 41% of the votes with 139k votes.

Don't know the point that you make, but given generational and demographic changes, if we look at the last two elections, the trends aren't good for the PPP.  Its Indian voting base is declining and it has COMPLETELY failed to penetrate the African/mixed voting base of the opposition.

Note that it is the mixed population which grows with every election, and its clear that their preference is for APNU or the AFC.

So in 2006 the PPP won 54% of the  vote with 186k votes.  In 2011 they won 49% of the votes with 168k votes.  The PNC in 2006 won 34% of the votes with 115k votes.  In 2011 they won 41% of the votes with 139k votes.

Don't know the point that you make, but given generational and demographic changes, if we look at the last two elections, the trends aren't good for the PPP.  Its Indian voting base is declining and it has COMPLETELY failed to penetrate the African/mixed voting base of the opposition.

Note that it is the mixed population which grows with every election, and its clear that their preference is for APNU or the AFC.

Or it could be that the Corrupt PPP/C supporter has not been going out and vote, if the same trend continues.......then we will definately see the corrupt ppp/c kicking dust.

the PPP need a Messiah to lead them out of the wilderness.

Does the PPP have the god given right to rule?  If that party is hopeless then let them die.  I can assure you that if the PPP dies tomorrow the PNC will be gone by Tuesday.

This will then allow new parties to arise with a fresher vision, and without the baggage of the past.

The AFC was supposed to be that new party, however the people were so afraid of change that they stuck to the PPP and PNC. Remember the AFC has not been in power so we don't know much about them other than the fact that their leadership are disenchanted former PPP/PNC members. But notable is that they are against bold development and would kick out the Chinese if ever they won elections.

That is what I said before we need a new party with fresh blood and vision, But until that is formed, you have to settle for the PPP.

isn't this what alyuh been wringing yuh hands calling fuh before the AFC come on the scene

now alyuh moving the goalposts again

PPP protection racket . . . smh

That is what I said before we need a new party with fresh blood and vision, But until that is formed, you have to settle for the PPP.

INDIANS have to settle for the PPP.

BLACKS refuse to do so.

ADDRESS the fact that black people view the PPP as hostile to them, and the fact that YOU clearly haven't factored that into your thinking!

So no the 40% of the black and mixed vote do NOT have to settle for the PPP.  Your comments are a INSULT to them!

The government has lost its connection with the common man

March 3, 2014 · By Staff Writer · 3 Comments   

Dear Editor,

Sometime last year the residents of Lamaha Gardens published in the print media a detailed double page notice on the suspected fraudulent sale of their community playground. The transaction involved government officials from a particular ministry, the Deeds Registry and other government bodies.

The shocking revelation of this transaction did not elicit a response from any minister of government, especially the Attorney General. There was no one jumping to defend the 300 plus households in Lamaha Gardens. However, quite recently your newspaper published a brilliant investigative editorial on the 142 Durbana Square playground fraud which involves government employees. Lo and behold, our Attorney General immediately pens a letter in defense of government actions (or inaction) with the said fraud. I must say he was very quick to jump to the government’s defense.

On Mashramani Day the Minister of Finance was involved in an accident and left the scene of the accident. The public has been well informed via the media and on social networks of what transpired and will make its own judgment as to whether the Minister’s action was above the law. Within days of the accident the Attorney General jumped in once again to the defense of the Minister. The victims of the accident never had any official representation from anyone in government.

Editor, my point is that the current PPP Government has lost its connection with the common man. They are so occupied with big projects, big schemes and a new bourgeois way of life that they cannot relate to the concerns of the ordinary folk.

Yours faithfully,

Marcus Craig

http://www.stabroeknews.com/20...nnection-common-man/

We understand Big Seed..... Hydro Goodey

cannot think like a normal guyanese

and this Godey cause him to keep saying

AFC is in bed with APNU.

But See how PPP was desperate to Delay

announcing to the nation that they are a minority Govt.....

Just see how and why

the PPP keep calling for recounts.

Also see and understand AFC's position .....

when it was clear PPP is now a Minority Govt

AFC feels Guyana needs Peace & Stability,

AFC calls on all Guyanese to be Vigilant,

ALL Guyanese.... must Continue to Support

AFC Clear position and

AFC call for Peace,

AFC call for Stability...... and

AFC call for a Better day for Guyana.

And Remember

AFC will not sit and make deals with PPP or APNU

But AFC call for all parties .....PPP, APNU & AFC

to show responsible leadership.... and

sit and talk what is best for Guyana & All Guyanese....

because AFC will not make any Private Deals

with PPP or PNC regarding governance of Guyana.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FzGMmY-NYzQ

Boy, 6, dies at Leonora Hospital from

lack of oxygen

MARCH 10, 2014 | BY  | FILED UNDER NEWS 

- hospital report cites two similar fatalities

Dr. Kamal Narine

A six year old boy was recently added to a list of two persons who died at the Leonora Cottage Hospital due to shortage of oxygen and medication at the facility.
This was revealed in the minutes of a recent statuary meeting which quoted assistant administrator of the institution, Dev Hira as saying that a report compiled by the hospital’s Cuban Director states that the child died due to the lack of oxygen.
In the minutes, seen by Kaieteur News, Hira is quoted as telling regional councilors that the child’s death is the third incident of this kind at the institution. The minutes made no mention of what steps the hospital’s administration will implement to correct this situation.
During an interview with this newspaper, the region’s Alliance for Change Councillor, Dr. Kamal Narine noted that all is not well with the region’s health care system.
He said that apart from the continuous and dangerous instances of drug shortage that have been affecting the country, there is a possibility that most of the medication in Region Three is expired.
Dr. Narine said that when the region submits claims for drugs, the drugs are usually lodged at the storage bond of the West Demerara Regional Hospital. He explained that whenever the other facilities of the region need supplies, they would request it from that hospital’s bond.
Protocol is that the requested medications would be lodged at the bond of the requesting hospital, and staffers there would inspect the supplies before sending them to the respective departments.
However, in Region Three, Dr. Narine alleged that on many occasions, the requested supplies of medications are sent directly to the respective departments, not affording staffers the chance to inspect the delivery in order to ensure that it is of proper quality.
“This is a mad, mad situation. In situations like this, you even got people being treated with wrong doses. Then there is no proper audit of the drugs, so I am sure that many are expired,” Dr. Narine posited.

The Leonora Cottage Hospital

Because he is a member of the region’s health committee, which has insights on the health issues facing the district, he does not utilize the services offered.
“It’s frightening. I would prefer go to a private institution,” Dr. Narine declared, adding that even the X-ray machine at the Leonora Hospital does not work.
The AFC Councillor maintained that the region’s health system is problem-plagued, and that those in authority at the Ministry of Health seem not to care.
“Imagine you can be injected with something that they mistake for something else, and you can die. How more serious can our system get? This is something that is really bothering me, and some of the other councilors, but the government is not doing anything to change this situation.”
Kaieteur News was told that during the region’s recent statutory meeting, the Regional Health Officer, Ms. Nadia Coleman told councilors that she was no longer prepared to deal with the region’s health struggles, since the shortage of drugs cannot be pinned on her.
According to two of the councilors, the woman explained that whenever she requests four or five oxygen cylinders, the region would receive two or three.
“I was made to understand that they does be telling her that the supplies are wasting, so that’s the situation.”
When the region’s administration receives the short stock of oxygen, Coleman is reportedly forced to make the call as to which one of the hospitals and health centres should benefit from the supply.
“This is nonsense! And we have the Minister doing nothing. Before, we used to have problems, yes, but this new Ministerâ€ĶI don’t know what he doing,” one of the councilors said.
Just recently, a resident of Tuschen, East Bank Essequibo who suffered a stroke also blamed this on the lack of drugs and equipment at both the Tuschen Health Centre and the Leonora Cottage Hospital.
According to the elderly man who is diabetic, a few weeks ago, he started visiting the health centre repeatedly to have his blood sugar level monitored.
However, he claimed he was told by nurses there, that this could not be done since there were no machines or strips to do so.
A few days later, Ali developed complications due to his condition and had to be rushed to the Emergency Unit of the Leonora public health facility, where he said he was told that there wasn’t an adequate supply of medication.
Ali subsequently suffered a mild stroke, and Kaieteur News understands that both the aforementioned public health facilities are in short supply of drugs to treat common illnesses like cold and cough.
“Not even for children,” he said.
Another AFC Councillor of Region Three, Harry Deokinanan said that the drug situation in his district has deteriorated to the extent where even the People’s Progressive Party Civic (PPP/C) Councillors are beginning to speak out.
He said that even though some of the facilities might ‘look nice’ on the outside, they lack the resources to execute some very basic treatments.
“If you got a health institution in a region and people can’t benefit from it, then what is the point? If people can’t go to a hospital or health centre in Region Three and get simple treatments, then what is the point?”

Child death at Leonora Hospitalâ€Ķ

Parents peeved lack of oxygen

March 11, 2014 | By | Filed Under News 

“Dah shock me, because I knew is oxygen my son had to get, so instead of carrying he to Georgetown, I rush he to the nearest place”- Mother

The parents of the child, who recently died at the Leonora Cottage Hospital, are peeved at the fact that the public health facility had no supply of something as vital as oxygen.
The now dead six-year-old boy, Henesh Ramlakhan, was the only child of Jairam Ramlakhan and Vidya Persaud, residents of Anna Catherina, West Coast Demerara.

The young mother told Kaieteur News yesterday that on the morning of February 5, her son started experiencing breathing problems, and that knowing his condition, she knew that all he needed was some oxygen.
Persaud said that she did not want to risk taking her son to as far as Georgetown, and therefore opted to rush the child to the nearest health facility for a quick supply of oxygen, which she suspected that he needed.
“I did know that when he get the l’il oxygen he would be alright, but if I did only know that a proper looking and important place like the Leonora Hospital didn’t even have oxygen, I would ah tek the chance and carry he to Georgetown.”
“â€ĶLike I couldn’t even believe it. That shock me, because I knew is oxygen my son had to get.”
Persaud said that her son had a heart condition, and would frequent the clinic at the Georgetown Public Hospital where he is usually treated and sent away.
At least two Region Three officials said that the child was in a critical condition, and would have died even with the oxygen. However, Ramlakhan’s mother insists despite her son’s illness, she knew that all he needed at the time was some oxygen.
Persaud told this publication that after informing her that there was no oxygen, the Leonora Hospital staff called for an ambulance to transport the child to Georgetown. Unfortunately, the child was unable to breathe and died before the ambulance could arrive.
Initially, the circumstances surrounding the child’s death were not made public. However, Kaieteur News obtained the minutes of a recent statuary meeting, which quoted the hospital’s assistant administrator, Dev Hira, as saying that a report compiled by the institution’s Cuban Director states that the child died due to the lack of oxygen.
This newspaper was unable to make contact with Hira for a comment on the issue. However, another Region Three Councillor said that while the minutes did quote Hira as telling regional councillors that the child’s death is the third incident of that kind at the institution, the document, although authentic, misrepresented what Hira meant.
“The document will be corrected, but it should be noted that it was the third time that the hospital was completely out of oxygen, not the third time that somebody died.”
It is no secret that health facilities across the country have been facing a significant shortage of drugs. Authorities would usually say that this is due to the lack of communications at the health centres and hospitals.
Just recently, Indra Chandarpal, Chairperson of the Parliamentary Sectoral Committee on Social Services, told this newspaper that the shortage is as a result of weak communication between Regional Health Authorities and the Ministry of Health’s bond at Diamond, East Bank Demerara.
Chandarpal explained that the health centres on West Demerara would have to send their request to the West Demerara Regional Hospital, which would in turn request the drugs from the national bond.
She noted, too, that the shortage of medical supplies at health facilities should not be a regular feature, since the Regional budgets cater for health services.
Meanwhile, this newspaper understands that during a recent statutory meeting, the Regional Health Officer, Ms. Nadia Coleman, told councillors that she was no longer prepared to deal with the region’s health struggles, since the shortage of drugs cannot be pinned on her.
According to two of the regional councillors, Coleman explained that whenever she requests four or five oxygen cylinders, the region would receive two or three.
“I was made to understand that they does be telling her that the supplies are wasting, so they only providing what they think would be used, so that’s the situation,” Alliance For Change (AFC) Councillor, Harry Deokinanan said.
He claims that when the region’s administration receives the short stock of oxygen, Coleman is forced to make the call as to which one of the hospitals and health centres should benefit from the supply.
Meanwhile, in addition to the inadequate supply of drugs, there is also a possibility that the existing supply of medications is expired.
This was according to Alliance for Change Councillor, and member of the Region Three Health Committee, Dr. Kamal Narine, who explained that when health centres and hospitals request drugs from the storage bond at the West Demerara Regional Hospital, protocols are often not followed and instead of being lodged at the bond of the requesting hospital for inspection, the medications are sent directly to the individual departments.
“This is a mad, mad situation. In situations like this, you even got people being treated with wrong doses. Then there is no proper audit of the drugs, so I am sure that many are expired,” Dr. Narine posited.
Because he is a member of the region’s health committee, who has insights into the health issues facing the district, he does not utilize the services offered.
“It’s frightening. I would prefer to go to a private institution,” Dr. Narine declared, adding that even the X-ray machine and telecommunication at the Leonora Hospital does not work.
“This is nonsense! And we have the Minister doing nothing. Before, we used to have problems, yes, but this new Ministerâ€ĶI don’t know what he doing,” Dr. Narine said.
Efforts to contact the Health Minister, Dr. Bheri Ramsaran were futile.

Squatters must remove from East Bank

Demerara sea dam- Ministry of Public

Works

Some of the squatters in Herstelling that have not received house lots and are unable to remove from the sea dam at present.

- 14-day notice expire, hundreds without house lots

Residents of the Diamond and Herstelling sea dam are peeved at the fact that although the government acknowledges that they are poor people, they are still being forced to pay exorbitant prices for house lots.
They all say that they cannot even afford to move themselves from the dam where they have been residing for several years.
The Ministry of Public Works and Communication has issued notices informing these squatters that they are occupying state reserves against the law. The Sea Defence Act prohibits persons from occupying sea defence reserves and threatens stiff penalties.
A 14-day notice issued to all the squatters expired on Sunday. Efforts are now being made to clear the reserves.
The Works Ministry in collaboration with all relevant agencies including the Ministries of Housing and Water and the Neighbourhood Democratic Councils (NDC) is spearheading this effort.
According to Savitri Persaud, of Herstelling, East Bank Demerara (EBD), notices were issues from the Ministry of Public Works to persons on the sea dam, and squatters were asked to visit the Ministry of Housing and Water with their respective notices and apply for their house lot.
“We are poor people; we can’t afford to pay $500,000 for a house lot. That is why we are living here! We are willing to move but they have to try to assist the very poor people; some people get house lots for $92,000 and $150,000. That is till behind Parfait Harmonie. My husband and son died and I sell fish. If I go there what will I do? “
Patricia Williams of Herstelling, East Bank Demerara and a mother of seven, said that it is very hard for her to make payments for a plot she is being awarded. She said that she needs time to make such payments in small installments, because she has many children to care for as a single parent.
According to Sookranie Singh, she has been living on the sea dam for 20-years. She said that she applied for a house lot in 1992, in 1995 then again in 2005, but never was successful. “They say how they can’t find the filesâ€Ķthey telling you that go and live at some family or rent somewhere. Family will only keep you for a two day and we can’t afford to rent anywhere.”
Squatters at Diamond, East Bank Demerara wanted to remain anonymous for fear of victimization from the authorities. However, collectively they agreed that several households, who could have afforded to remove from the squatting area, did so.
This newspaper spoke to a majority of women who revealed that the Ministry of Housing has been giving them the royal run around to obtain a house lot. “They (Ministry of Housing) tell we
that them ain’t got land right now and as soon as they get land them gon tell we. They tell we that them got 200 plus land inside the Diamond Scheme, and them gon look after it, they want we to move and they ain’t giving we no house lot yet.”
One woman said that since most of the people cannot afford to purchase the land at present, “the Government should put the people on the land, and let them pay for it. Instead of paying rent, which most can’t affordâ€ĶThey want we get half of the money first before we could get the land. Not everybody can afford that! We working for a small salary,
“I have to provide for three children, they have to change school, I can’t even afford to eat properly and they want me to pay a big set of money for land. How will poor people survived?” one woman said.
Adding that the Prime Minster, Samuel Hinds visited the area earlier in the year, residents in Diamond related that their names were recorded, and it was promised that persons would be assisted with some of the money needed to pay for their respective house lots. However, to date nothing has materialized.
Another woman asserted that the persons who are working at the Diamond NDC are looking after their personal interest rather than the interest of the people that are seeking the council’s assistance.
Many persons claimed that the government has not given any assistance to persons who are moving. However, according to Ministry of Public Works and Communication, Robeson Benn, transportation is being provided for hundreds of persons that are squatting on the Diamond and Herstelling sea dam to remove their valuables, since it is compulsory for everyone to eventually relocate.

NB The corrupt PPP/C has been allocating house lots for cronies and friends and family yet the poor people cannot be given house lots. Now they are pushing poor people out of their homes.

Shortage of medicationâ€ĶLack of

communication a bogus excuse – Dr.

Norton

March 14, 2014 | By | Filed Under News 

Shadow Minister of Health, Dr. George Norton believes that the real reason behind the shortage of pharmaceuticals in the country lies with its sourcing.
He is of the opinion that the excuse of lack of communication between regional health services and the Ministry of Health’s storage bond at Diamond, East Bank Demerara, is one that is bogus.
“It can’t be that, let’s face it. We have drugs going around with short shelf lives, then we suddenly end up with an abundance of expired medications that can’t be used, and the Ministry then has to ration what they have, so that there is the underlying problem,” Dr. Norton asserted in an invited comment on Wednesday.

APNU’s Dr. George Norton

APNU’s
Dr. George Norton

“This has to stop. The Ministry of Health needs to stop playing around with people’s lives, and create a level playing field for pharmaceutical suppliers, so that people don’t have to die like this.”
Norton was at the time reflecting particularly on the death of a six-year-old boy at the Leonora Cottage Hospital due to the lack of oxygen at the facility.
The child, Henesh Ramlakhan, was suffering from a heart condition, and according to his mother, Vidya Persaud, all he needed was a supply of oxygen, and “he would ah been good to go.”
Instead, the child was pronounced dead at the hospital, about 30 minutes before the arrival of an ambulance from the West Demerara Regional Hospital.
Persaud told this newspaper that she did not want to risk taking her son to as far as Georgetown, and therefore opted to rush the child to the nearest health facility so that he can get a quick supply of oxygen, which she suspected that he needed.
“â€ĶLike I couldn’t even believe it. Dah really shocked me,” the irate mother said.
In addition to not having in store the basic supply of oxygen, the facility at Leonora has also been short of other essential drugs. But this is not the only location that has been experiencing such shortages.
Over the past months, there have been continuous reports of health centres and hospitals across the country, which have been operating without an adequate supply of medication.
These include saline, strips to aid the testing of diabetes and eye drops among others.
Just recently, Indra Chandarpal, Chairperson of the Parliamentary Sectoral Committee on Social Services told this newspaper that the shortage is as a result of poor communication between Regional Health Authorities and the Ministry of Health’s bond at Diamond, East Bank Demerara.
Chandarpal explained that the health centres on the West Demerara would have to send their request to the West Demerara Regional Hospital, which would in turn request the drugs from the national bond.
She noted too that the shortage of medical supplies at health facilities should not be a regular feature, since the Regional budgets cater for health services.
Meanwhile, this newspaper was told by Region Three Councillors that during a recent statutory meeting, the Regional Health Officer, Nadia Coleman, declared that she was no longer prepared to deal with the region’s health struggles, since the shortage of drugs cannot be pinned on her. It was explained too that it is not the case where communication between regional authorities and Ministry is bad.
According to at least two of the councillors, Coleman explained to them that whenever she requests four or five oxygen cylinders, the region would receive two or three.
“I was made to understand that they does be telling her that the supplies are wasting, so they only providing what they thing would be used, so that’s the situation,” Alliance For Change (AFC) Councillor, Harry Deokinanan said.
He claims that when the region’s administration receives the short stock of oxygen, Coleman is forced to make the call as to which one of the hospitals and health centres should benefit from the supply.
Meanwhile, in addition to the inadequate supply of drugs, there is also a possibility that the existing supply of medications is expired.
According to Alliance for Change Councillor, and member of the Region Three Health Committee, Dr. Kamal Narine, whenever health centres and hospitals request drugs from the storage bond at the West Demerara Regional Hospital, protocols are often not followed, and instead of being lodged at the bond of the requesting hospital for inspection, the medications are sent directly to the individual departments.
“This is a mad, mad situation. In situations like this, you even got people being treated with wrong doses. Then there is no proper audit of the drugs, so I am sure that many are expired,” Dr. Narine said during a recent interview.
Because he is a member of the region’s health committee, who has insights on the health issues facing the district, he does not utilize the services offered.
“It’s frightening. I would prefer to go to a private institution,” Dr. Narine declared.
In January, Chief Medical Officer, Dr. Shamdeo Persaud had said that shortage of essential medicines can be as a result of many scenarios. These include the situation where supplier(s) fail to comply with the recommended delivery schedules.
Dr. Persaud had acknowledged also, the relatively short shelf life of the medication, noting that caution remains in the procurement process of the drugs.
In light of the many challenges facing the health sector, APNU’s George Norton also made the call for Minister of Health, Dr. Bheri Ramsaran, to resign.
“It goes without saying, he should just do the honourable thing and leave,” Dr. Norton said.
His call was seconded by AFC Councillor, Dr. Narine.
“We have the Minister doing nothing. Before, we used to have problems, yes, but this new Ministerâ€ĶI don’t know what he’s doing,” Dr. Narine said.