There was ethnic, regional balance when I gave out radio licences – Jagdeo

March 25, 2016 | By | Filed Under News 

– says Gov’t can revoke licences but may face courts

By Jarryl Bryan
Former President Bharrat Jagdeo is defending the decision he took in 2011 to grant some of his family

Former President, Bharrat Jagdeo

members and favoured friends, prime spots on the radio spectrum. In the face of calls for those licences to be revoked, he is stating that the Granger administration “can do what it wants.”
The Opposition leader is claiming that there was ethnic and regional balance when he granted those radio and television licences. He made these statements during a press conference at Freedom House yesterday.
During his conference, there seemed to be a “tit-for-tat’ approach. Jagdeo used examples of the current administration’s handling of contracts, including contracts for the cleanup of the city and the specialty hospital, to substantiate his claim that there is less transparency under this current administration compared to his.
“When we talk about transparency, at least I made it clear. There was a committee that was set up that recommended them to me. As Minister of Information, the committee recommended. You had regional and ethnic balance because of the 12 licences; six went to non-Indo Guyanese.”
“I ensured ethnic balance across the country and geographic balance. I had criteria,” Jagdeo declared. “The present Government can do what it wants. If it wants to revoke those licences, that is the Government’s decision.”
However, Jagdeo said that if the Government took this line, it would become a legal matter since the licence holders would likely go to the court. Jagdeo also said that Government did not need approval from his party, save and except for when it came to connecting it to corruption.
“I didn’t know the Government needed approbation from the PPP to do anything, excepting when it wants to connect us to corrupt acts. Like the (Specialty) hospital. (Government’s position) was they are not going to go (ahead) with it. And then we found out they are giving it to a person who was very close to (Minister Khemraj) Ramjattan with no public tender.”
This is a reference to the Government’s decision to not engage in a new bidding process for a contractor to complete works on the Specialty Hospital. This project was started under the People’s Progressive Party (PPP). However, the previous contractor, Surendra engineering, ‘skipped’ the country prematurely.
“They said that the PPP had evaluated this bidder and ranked him second. And so, since the first rank bidder is in court now, they had to go with the second ranked bidder. And then they lied about it too. In fact the evaluation report disqualified this company.”
Weeks before leaving office in 2011, then President Bharrat Jagdeo granted his best friend, Dr. Ranjisinghi ‘Bobby’ Ramroop, five radio frequencies; he also gave New Guyana Company Limited, five frequencies. In addition, Telcor, a company with close links to his nephew-in-law and former Minister, Robert Persaud and Cultural Broadcasting Inc. received another five.
Jagdeo also ordered the grant of two cable licences to two of his closest friends, Vishok Persaud and Brian Yong. In addition The Mirror, a newspaper which belongs to Jagdeo’s party, received multiple frequencies.
The disclosures of the licences, which also included approval for two cable TV operations, sparked court cases and several days of protests, as well as local and international condemnation. Former President Donald Ramotar had promised to examine the issue but never did.
Jagdeo was mandated by law to consult with the Broadcasting Authority which was not operational at the time. Between 2001 and 2011, it was this provision that was used by Jagdeo’s government to deny anyone a TV or radio licence.
It is understood that even existing stations were denied expansion since it would have meant granting them additions to their licences.
Channel Seven TV’s Rex Mc Kay, Veteran Television personality Enrico Woolford and numerous others had also applied for radio licences, but were not given.
GNBA Officials have recently disclosed that Jagdeo’s ad hoc approach has led to prime spots on the spectrum being taken up. All premium spots on the television and cable channel frequencies are gone. There is little space left for new applicants on the radio spectrum.
During a post cabinet press briefing yesterday, however, Minister of Natural Resources Raphael Trotman revealed that the radio licences imbroglio will be up for a policy decision by Cabinet in mid Apri

Jagdeo see ethnic balance wid a cock eye

March 25, 2016 | By | Filed Under Dem Boys Seh, Features / Columnists, News 

Albert Einstein, a famous mathematician and scientist once said, “We can’t solve problems by using de same kind of thinking used, when we created them.”
That mean you can’t do or seh de same thing and expect a different result. But Jagdeo, that scamp, think that he can create and solve a problem by thinking de same way.
He run de country fuh almost 15 years and create unimaginable hardships and problems that to this day de leaders who come after him can’t find solutions.
He had a press conference yesterday in which dem boys ask him to explain dem radio licence and frequency that ee give away couple days before he lef office.
His answer shock dem boys. He seh how he share  dem licence and frequency wid ethnic balance. That mean that he give de radio licence equally to all de races.
He give Babbie, he best friend, five; he give Robert Persaud, he nephew in law, five; he give de PPP five. That alone account for 15. De other couple give out to one and two coolie and black people. That is what that scamp Jagdeo call ethnic balance.
And de big three—Robert, Babbie and de PPP— can broadcast countrywide while de others can permitted to only cover a village. That is also balance in Jagdeo book.
When he share out de prime waterfront Pradoville land dem boys want to know wha kind of ethnic balance living in there.
Jagdeo should also show de nation de ethnic balance of de people who get prime housing lands by de acres pun de East Bank.
During de same press conference de GEA boss, Mahender Sharma, is a bright young man. Dem boys agree wid him. De boys was a bright li’l boy when dem know him but since he start hang wid Jagdeo he get just like Jagdeo, ethnically balanced.
This same bright young man, Sharma, introduce polygraph testing to catch thieves in ee workplace.  This bright young man too smart. He didn’t lead by example. He test everybody, except himself. He knock off de petty thieves and keep de big ones just like how Jagdeo knock off Joseph O’Lall, de petty thief, and put in Sharma.
Dem boys seh Sharma learn from de best—Jagdeo— about ethnically balance. This is de same Jagdeo that couldn’t find one black person to employ as an ambassador anywhere in de world. And is not dem boys seh suh; is Luncheon tell de court that Jagdeo eye didn’t see none so he couldn’t appoint nine. That is what Jagdeo, that scamp, call ethnic balance.
He mandate two cable licence to two of he friends and of course none ain’t black. That is ethnic balance. Dem boys can write a book about this bandit.
However, today is Good Friday so dem boys ain’t want to upset Guyana, because is not one set of people gun be upset. Is all de races, including Uncle Glenn, who got de biggest newspaper in Guyana.
To succeed he had to be a big thief or one of Jagdeo friends.
Talk half and a quiet Good Friday to you all.

Tola, exactly how is your suicide prevention business coming along?  Exactly what are you working on now to address?

Be careful, that anti-Jagdeo hatred and jealousy could cause some of you to become suicidal!  Keep an eye on yourself!

baseman posted:

Tola, exactly how is your suicide prevention business coming along?  Exactly what are you working on now to address?

Be careful, that anti-Jagdeo hatred and jealousy could cause some of you to become suicidal!  Keep an eye on yourself!

Jagdeo is selling a bag of turd. He give his butt buddy Brian young, the PPP pandit's son and Mirror and the PPP and Robert Persaud these licenses days before he left office and he is saying he was balanced? That is as unbalanced and crooked as one can get. That man is a nasty, bare faced corrupt and vile crook.

You need to watch your own mental state over others. Confronting the audacity of the corrupt practices is liberating for the people. It is crooks like you needing to lie to yourself and to your god that build up negative Karmic points and need to check your blood pressure least you kick the bucket before you can make it right.

baseman posted:

Jagdeo is selling a bag of turd. He give his butt buddy Brian young, the PPP pandit's son and Mirror and the PPP and Robert Persaud these licenses days before he left office and he is saying he was balanced? That is as unbalanced and crooked as one can get. That man is a nasty, bare faced corrupt and vile crook.

You need to watch your own mental state over others. Confronting the audacity of the corrupt practices is liberating for the people. It is crooks like you needing to lie to yourself and to your god that build up negative Karmic points and need to check your blood pressure least you kick the bucket before you can make it right.

The big question are these bandwidths using, or the owners just hold on to it.

baseman posted:

How is your begging for a raise at the bars coming along? Leave Tola alone. Why are you picking a fight with him rather than looking for a job?

Something which is unbalanced to a normal person may seem balanced to an unbalanced person.

baseman posted:

How is your begging for a raise at the bars coming along? Leave Tola alone. Why are you picking a fight with him rather than looking for a job?

Are you Tola's panty hose deh Lily man?

I just asked the man a question on his "initiative", which is/was [he claims] his main mission and purpose for being in Guyana!!  Or is it not?

I can help you with your job search. I know that you sponsored a meeting for Granger. Interested in a posting in a foreign land?

baseman posted:

Are you Tola's panty hose deh Lily man?

I just asked the man a question on his "initiative", which is/was [he claims] his main mission and purpose for being in Guyana!!  Or is it not?

I can help you with your job search. I know that you sponsored a meeting for Granger. Interested in a posting in a foreign land?

Nah bwoi Mitwah, you below my punching class in just about every which way!!  But thanks for the offer!!

Ok I'll let Granger know that you are no longer interested. So you are saying there was no strings attached to your sponsoring of his meeting?

Is radio frequencies that important in today's internet world? To amuse myself, I have been listening to Rush and I must say that most of any hour on radio is used up with commercials. Or maybe that is because it is right wing radio.

Nonetheless, the internet is a much better tool for information.

Mr.T posted:

There was balance. One for my friends, none for my enemies. One for the PPP, none for the PNC. One for the coolies, not for the negroes.
And that was the balance.

You have to balance the words. Coolies cannot go with negroes, it has to be blacks instead of negroes. The N words was once used, but has now become a taboo. East Indians is the word in conjunction with negroes.

Something which is unbalanced to a normal person may seem balanced to an unbalanced person.

Since the left side of a brain controls the right side of a body, only left handed people are said to be in their right mind and don't fall into a trap easily.  Happy Easter - Go fly a kite. LOL  

baseman posted:

Eh eh, ah since when you tunn Grangadutt?

Alyuh natt bin see, me went down deh, met with bad man Harmon.  But he rass waan gi mi lil schupit wuk below me [known] punching class, wukking unter he semi-literate shirt jack shuga banna.  Soa me tell he "go haul he rass".

Dem PNC/AFC bannas tootaally ungraaateful, all datt milage me put in, cuss PPP, cuss BJ, sponsa meeting, jess fuh dem gett powah.  Now dem kick me rass daside!!

Look deh bais,  PPP --> ROAR --> AFC --> PNC, me bin round da block.  Man, me feel laka wan ISIS bride!!

just wan more in the long, undistinguished line of underemployed petty ole bigots husslin lil wuk

not surprised

Mr.T posted:

There was balance. One for my friends, none for my enemies. One for the PPP, none for the PNC. One for the coolies, not for the negroes.
And that was the balance.

IN THE PNC DAYS - NOEL BLACKMAN WAS GIVEN LICENCE AND ANOTHER AT BV ( FOR GET HIS NAME ) BV MAIN RD AND LINE TOP .

ian posted:

IN THE PNC DAYS - NOEL BLACKMAN WAS GIVEN LICENCE AND ANOTHER AT BV ( FOR GET HIS NAME ) BV MAIN RD AND LINE TOP .

yes, Noel Blackman and most/all? TV operators pre-jagdeo got licenses to broadcast under Hoyte

what exactly is your stupid point?

redux posted:
ian posted:

yes, Noel Blackman and most/all? TV operators pre-jagdeo got licenses to broadcast under Hoyte

Dummy I respond to T. Get the SHIT out your brain Jerk 

ian posted:
redux posted:
ian posted:

again, what's your point?

baseman posted:

The big question are these bandwidths using, or the owners just hold on to it.

Robert Persaud sold his...gotten grates....made a huge chunk of pocket change

redux posted:
ian posted:

If you believe you will come after me for my post - you choose the wrong person. Go after your mother for bring a dummy in this world. 

ian posted:
redux posted:
ian posted:

If you believe you will come after me for my post - you choose the wrong person. Go after your mother for bring a dummy in this world. 

what does that even mean?

redux posted:
ian posted:
redux posted:
ian posted:

Mr.T posted:

IN THE PNC DAYS - NOEL BLACKMAN WAS GIVEN LICENCE AND ANOTHER AT BV. - both owners are  negroes

ian posted:
redux posted:
ian posted:

Bringing family into  a discussion is not allowed on GNI, especially mothers. 

Is radio frequencies that important in today's internet world? To amuse myself, I have been listening to Rush and I must say that most of any hour on radio is used up with commercials. Or maybe that is because it is right wing radio.

These "radio frequencies" are legacy terminology from pre TV days. In physics it is the electromagnetic spectrum and can be used as a carrier signal for any analog or digital signal. That includes anything from TV to phone to radio as all are data. You can call it ( for convince not precision sake) a data transmission spectrum....

ian posted:
redux posted:
ian posted:
redux posted:
ian posted:

Mr.T posted:

IN THE PNC DAYS - NOEL BLACKMAN WAS GIVEN LICENCE AND ANOTHER AT BV. - both owners are  negroes

u testing meh patience (incoherent) klown

wadda france is your point?

redux posted:
ian posted:
redux posted:
ian posted:
redux posted:
ian posted:

Mr.T posted:

u testing meh patience (incoherent) klown

wadda france is your point?

What you say DUMMY. Me na undastand. 

KUMBAYA 

These "radio frequencies" are legacy terminology from pre TV days. In physics it is the electromagnetic spectrum and can be used as a carrier signal for any analog or digital signal. That includes anything from TV to phone to radio as all are data. You can call it ( for convince not precision sake) a data transmission spectrum....

Plus the International Telecommunication Convention normally held in Geneva, assign specific and limited bandwidths to countries. When these frequencies are assigned for whatever reason, the remaining bandwidth becomes limited for further assignments.

What Jagdeo did, was limiting the bandwidth in Guyana, to any other frequency assignment.     

Joking aside, this whole radio licensing thing in Guyana is a joke. When I was in Linden in the 70's I had to get a good radio so that I could pick up stations from other countries. The local stuff was all about  Champion baking powder, and nothing else.

baseman posted:
Tola posted:

Ignorance and arrogance are bad things, for some who profess to be intelligent.

Hey, I just ask a simple question.  This was your stated mission for many years, wasn't it.  What's so "ignorant and arrogant" about asking how it's going under the new Govt!  Is the "band-with" issue related to suicide in Guyana?

Don't know why you have to get flustered over a simple question!!

baseman posted:
Tola posted:

Ignorance and arrogance are bad things, for some who profess to be intelligent.

Hey, I just ask a simple question.  This was your stated mission for many years, wasn't it.  What's so "ignorant and arrogant" about asking how it's going under the new Govt!  Is the "band-with" issue related to suicide in Guyana?

Don't know why you have to get flustered over a simple question!!

Baseman, you display all the ignorance and arrogance by placing yourself on a pedestal. Not only on GNI, but also in Bangalore, Mumbai and Switzerland where we have friends. You think you might have done well, but talk to  some of the people involved in that issue and places.  

You display yourself as an intelligent person, but you fail all tests by your arrogant postings on GNI.  Your attitude don't build lives, they destroy it. You come here portraying yourself as a successful business person, but your writings display your back-dam attitude and possible upbringing.

You are more stupid that others might think, to feel that Jagdeo bandwidth issue is related to  children killing themselves in Guyana.    

The questions you ask about our project in Guyana was answered and discussed a number times on GNI.  But you must have been asleep and too dam lazy.

You were ignored in the past and will continue to be ignored. So keep on braying to yourself.  

Last edited by Tola
baseman posted:
Tola posted:

Plus the International Telecommunication Convention normally held in Geneva, assign specific and limited bandwidths to countries. When these frequencies are assigned for whatever reason, the remaining bandwidth becomes limited for further assignments.

What Jagdeo did, was limiting the bandwidth in Guyana, to any other frequency assignment.     

So, now you out of the suicide prevention sphere?

You do not have to try so hard to be an ass. That is over kill. The man often stated he originally worked as a radio officer and is well versed in this arena of communication.

baseman posted:

Ok, I see.  It's just that suicide has escalated under the PNC,

Guyana became known as the suicide capital of the world under the PPP. Even the IAC, hardly a friend of APNU, had to commend Granger for the great interest that he at least displayed of addressing the suicide problem.

Note that with an estimated 80% of the suicides being among Indians (The Guyana Times article that I posted, which shut VishMahabir up)  it is noteworthy that Granger receives such a commendation, even though the vast majority of the families with suicide victims will NEVER vote for him

Now compare this with the PPP, which screamed with incredulousness at the notion that gov't can be expected to address this problem.

baseman posted:
Tola posted:

So, now you out of the suicide prevention sphere?

... That is over kill. The man often stated he originally worked as a radio officer and is well versed in this arena of communication.

Ok, I see.  It's just that suicide has escalated under the PNC, maybe the lack of focus??  What you think, apart from blaming BJ and the PPP??

Stay on topic or start a new thread. I am too old to be meandering all over the place. This thread is about jagdeo's bare faced dissimulation of the known facts...he give away prime electromagnetic spectrum real estate to his friends and family.

baseman posted:

He is the president of ALL Guyana, not just who voted for him.  The PPP was the same!!

Now, that is not to say suicide has not escalated further under the PNC!!

Yes and Granger does indicate this, as he expressed concern and mounted initiatives to benefit those who will never vote form him.  Even a PPP affiliated  group made mention of this, and I am sure received a sound screaming and rampaging session from Jagdeo.

You do NOT know whether suicides have increased under the PNC. You DO KNOW that suicides under the PPP were so high that a mere 22% of the population, which is Hindu, accounted for 70% of the suicides.  Note that almost 100% of rural Hindus vote PPP.

Now what did the PPP do address the problem?  Scream that they are the "coolie people party, and that black man gun rape yu daughter". So much contempt that the PPP has, even for its own support base!

Mr.T posted:

Joking aside, this whole radio licensing thing in Guyana is a joke. When I was in Linden in the 70's I had to get a good radio so that I could pick up stations from other countries. The local stuff was all about  Champion baking powder, and nothing else.

You mean to say that they left out Indi Curry Powder and Sujata too? Me ent believe yuh, bai T.

Mr.T posted:

You mean to say that they left out Indi Curry Powder and Sujata too? Me ent believe yuh, bai T.

Wha happen wid de Brunswick sardine commercial, using the punts afterwards to make sakal-gatta and race punts in heavy rain fall run-off, wid a sail made from Clipper cigarette wrapper.