Re-migrating teachers want jobs back

Education Minister Priya Manickchand

… Govt mulls how to deal with breached contracts

BY ALEXIS RODNEY

Teachers who would have breached their contracts with the Government to pursue lucrative offers overseas could be considered for re-employment, Education Minister Priya Manickchand has said.

She told Guyana Times that with a number of trained teachers returning to Guyana, her Ministry is currently working around a system which could enable them to continue teaching here.

Hundreds of Guyanese teachers had taken up lucrative offers in countries such as The Bahamas, Botswana, The Turks and Caicos Islands and other Caribbean countries. However, a number of them have been returning in recent times and Government sees this as an opportunity to capitalise on their skills. The school system here is still short of qualified teachers and only recently Government has been considering hiring foreigners to teach Mathematics and Science.

Currently, the Education Ministry allows teachers who have breached their contracts, to make payments in the event they wish to return. “What we know is that teachers are re-migrating. And what is under active consideration is how we are going to deal with their contracts,” Manickchand said.

Speaking exclusively to Guyana Times on Tuesday, the Education Minister said she is aware of close to 10 individuals who have indicated their interest in returning to the education system here. These are teachers who had passed through the training offered by the Cyril Potter College of Education (CPCE), and who had left the jurisdiction without permission from the Ministry or the Teaching Service Commission (TSC).

“The rule is, you have to pay it off before you can begin teaching again”, she told this publication, while noting that the Ministry is also seeking out ways through which those rules could be relaxed, without jeopardising agreements in other service areas.

Many teachers, she said, are lobbying to honour this commitment while they teach. “They are asking for many things like, “please allow me to pay as I teach”, Manickchand reported.

Asked what is being done to prevent teachers from leaving the country, Manickchand explained that contracts are signed, while passports and other travel documents are stamped. She said however, that unlike previous years, fewer teachers are leaving the country.

She recalled that many Guyanese educators had left home when countries like Belize, The Bahamas and Botswana were in desperate need of teachers. That situation has improved, she noted.

Earlier in this year, questions were raised over the millions of dollars being spent on salaries for teachers, who in the past, were known to have left the teaching service. Manickchand had told the National Assembly, that although the situation was obviously a huge issue in the past, her Ministry had put measures in place to address the problem.

Some $35.6 million was said to have been spent to pay teachers who had already exited the system between 2006-2011, the National Assembly had learnt. A Partnership for National Unity (APNU) Member of Parliament (MP) Volda Lawrence had commented that the Education Ministry was expending millions of dollars in overpayment to persons; many of whom would have left the education system.

She questioned what measures the Ministry has in place to stem the “consistent haemorrhage of salaries being paid to persons, who many times, would have left the institution”.

Mancikchand had explained that teachers would leave the job. However, the Ministry would only be notified three months later, while salaries continued to be sent to the banks. She had said too that one would expect that in such cases, “human decency” would dictate that they would return the money, however, based on the Auditor General’s report, the country was let down. She noted that the Ministry had written to some of these individuals, and some had returned and repaid the money.

MP Lawrence also pointed out that a number of people, after getting away with the misdeed, still turn up and receive full payment for monies owed to them, including gratuity, while no deductions are made.

Maniachand has failed to explain  what measures the Ministry has in place to stem the “consistent haemorrhage of salaries being paid to persons, who many times, would have left the institution.

They shouldd be locked up for 6 months in the interior then gave them a job .

Come on Chief, you don't think a Fine enough to cover for their Training is enough?  And Guyana needs them if we are going to continue to lead the Caribbean.

I doubt any newly hired teacher is waiting over three months for their first paycheck so it shouldn't take that much time to get notice when their statuses change. That said, contracts are solely for the preservation of desired business practices so there is no hard rule that they have to be strictly abided by and since Guyana can utilize these teachers, why not?
Originally Posted by ksazma:
I doubt any newly hired teacher is waiting over three months for their first paycheck so it shouldn't take that much time to get notice when their statuses change. That said, contracts are solely for the preservation of desired business practices so there is no hard rule that they have to be strictly abided by and since Guyana can utilize these teachers, why not?

I agree. But they should pay their penalty up front. They made good wages in the foreign countries.

Come on Chief, you don't think a Fine enough to cover for their Training is enough?  And Guyana needs them if we are going to continue to lead the Caribbean.

There are folks, teachers, nurses, bussinessmen and others who stuck it out in Guyana, good or bad. What annoys me is that these vultures took our training then ran away from their obligation anf that deserves jail time.

You are out of your damn mind. Many in the PPP now took scholarships went away and returned. These are Guyanese who are in a profession that is unrewarding and trying to make a way. They went away, got their heads above water and are back. They are more experienced, older and have a better aptitude for their subject area than as greenhorns in the trade after school They are not asking for a remission of their debts but to be employed in their field and in a profession that needs them They should be given their jobs back. Further, given how much the PPP steal ...not exempting plumpy who is now worth over a couple of million...these people need their damn jobs with no question asked.

Demanding up front repayment could jeopardize their decision or ability to re enter the teaching sector where they are needed. Withholding part of their pay may be more effective and a win win situation.
Originally Posted by ksazma:
Demanding up front repayment could jeopardize their decision or ability to re enter the teaching sector where they are needed. Withholding part of their pay may be more effective and a win win situation.

How about their double dipping for three months? I think they should loose any seniority too. 

You are out of your damn mind. Many in the PPP now took scholarships went away and returned. These are Guyanese who are in a profession that is unrewarding and trying to make a way. They went away, got their heads above water and are back. They are more experienced, older and have a better aptitude for their subject area than as greenhorns in the trade after school They are not asking for a remission of their debts but to be employed in their field and in a profession that needs them They should be given their jobs back. Further, given how much the PPP steal ...not exempting plumpy who is now worth over a couple of million...these people need their damn jobs with no question asked.

Two wrongs do not make a right.

It is problem solving. Keep them out and they do not pay. H ire them you get the benefit of their experience in an area that needs them and paid back as well.

Al Yuh don't let Caribj hear Teachers running back to Guyana from the Islands, the man gun get a heart attack.

Aye keera mout dem peopkle mekkin 60K US$ a year in Bahamas. 

Originally Posted by Kapadilla:

Al Yuh don't let Caribj hear Teachers running back to Guyana from the Islands, the man gun get a heart attack.

OK SHIT MOUTH, without stinking up the place, tell us why they are returning SHIT MOUTH.

Keera mout ask Dr Manikchand na. LOL 

SHIt MOUTH, Dem SHIT in yuh ,outh and tell yuh dem ah mek 60000 or yuh clean dem Batty fuh wan small piece, SHIT MOUTH.

Aye wite mout daag. Me know wan cousin mekkin 60 K US$ dey in wan high skool. And de man not living in wan basement lika yuh. 

But yuh bin want me bring yuh back in meh Basement and Pung Pang Yuh but because I told you I don't go that way, yuh get  all bad up like you should. Al YUh gat wan different kind of passion when wan man reject Al Yuh. It is hard for me to explain to GNI but I think dem Bhias know what I talkin bout.

Wite mout I aint going in foh dem things that. I like my women dem. Is de best ting God put pun dis land. You try wid da hanky panky dey. 

Girls don't like SHIT MOUTH people.

With that kind of salary, American certified teachers will be leaving America for those jobs. Are you sure about the salary?

Originally Posted by raymond:

this thread has totally disintegrated

Shut your poke and allow dem girls to cuss out.

cHIEF BRING YUH cHUN cHUN YUH GUN SEE WHERE bARLEY AH GROW. tHEN AGAIN YOU MAY ENJOY

Originally Posted by raymond:

this thread has totally disintegrated

Shut your poke and allow dem girls to cuss out.

cHIEF BRING YUH cHUN cHUN YUH GUN SEE WHERE bARLEY AH GROW. tHEN AGAIN YOU MAY ENJOY

Kapadilla already told you that he ain't going for that.