Yesterday marked the 120th birth anniversary of Mao-tse-tung. It is generally agreed that this Chinese leader was one of the 20th century's greatest world leaders.

I have to disagree. He is an example of what happens when one has absolute power...one decays into totalitarianism and treats individual lives as incidental.

1. ^ Rummel, R. J. China's Bloody Century: Genocide and Mass Murder Since 1900 Transaction Publishers, 1991. ISBN 0-88738-417-X p. 205: In light of recent evidence, Rummel has increased Mao's democide toll to 77 millionDaniel Jonah Goldhagen.Worse Than War: Genocide, Eliminationism, and the Ongoing Assault on Humanity. PublicAffairs, 2009. ISBN 1-58648-769-8 p. 53: "... the Chinese communists' murdering of a mind-boggling number of people, perhaps between 50 million and 70 million Chinese, and an additional 1.2 million Tibetans."
  2. Jump up to:a b Fenby, J (2008). Modern China: The Fall and Rise of a Great Power, 1850 to the PresentEcco Press. p. 351. ISBN 0-06-166116-3. "Mao's responsibility for the extinction of anywhere from 40 to 70 million lives brands him as a mass killer greater than Hitler or Stalin, his indifference to the suffering and the loss of humans breathtaking"
Originally Posted by Danyael:

Yesterday marked the 120th birth anniversary of Mao-tse-tung. It is generally agreed that this Chinese leader was one of the 20th century's greatest world leaders.

I have to disagree. He is an example of what happens when one has absolute power...one decays into totalitarianism and treats individual lives as incidental.

I'm not saying we must praise him, my friend. I never idolized him.

I'm merely noting a historic landmark, 120 years, the birth of a man whose words and deeds affected more than a billion people.

Stay cool, D.

Gil

The word "Chinam**" is a racist one. I expect better from you.

It's not racist for me. Just short for Chinese man. In this thread, a journalese headline.

It is racist. You should apologize.

I repeat. CHINAMAN is not racist to me, a cÃķÃķlieman.

I won't apologize to you. Who are you?

Gil

It's not racist for me. Just short for Chinese man. In this thread, a journalese headline.

You also used a racist word "coo***" that is a racist word and banned here by admin. I now see your true colour. You are indeed a racist.

You now owe two apologies. Carry on.

Gil

You also used a racist word "coo***" that is a racist word and banned here by admin. I now see your true colour. You are indeed a racist.

shutup patacake boy it musbe true what jailil say about the crablouse nuh.

Bhai yuh think dem Crab Louse does play.

As long as yuh don't roll-up with Prostitutes, Pimps, Panty-men

and those who promote or like practicing Buggery....

yuh safe.....so we will keep our distance from De Crabs.

Gil

I owe you nothing.

I never in my life took offence at being called a cÃķÃķlieman.

You can call me anything you like.

You call me a racist today.

When I'm ready to repay you in kind, don't go whining to Amral.

Gil

I owe you nothing.

Gil

You cast the first stone by calling yuji a racist. Guess what ? You are the one using racist terms. Who Vex Vex

Gil

I owe you nothing.

Gil

You cast the first stone by calling yuji a racist. Guess what ? You are the one using racist terms. Who Vex Vex

I'm repeating here what I wrote on December 24:

"While I'm at it, let me state frankly that, reading your posts, I detect unconcealed racial bias in favour of Indo-Guyanese at the expense of Afro-Guyanese.

Only yesterday, you were scaring people by saying the PNC will destroy Guyana just as black people are destroying Sudan. I warn you: your racist propaganda will backfire and harm the PPP"

=================================

juji22, you may interpret the above whichever way you like.

You told me:"You are indeed a racist.." This is a clear, declarative statement that leaves no room for interpretation.

Gil

Man you are surprising! in one instant you are complaining about those inferior black people and here you are defending those "chinamen" because one called them "chinamen" with no pejorative qualifier of their status as good or bad but merely as a label for ethnic identity

Originally Posted by Wally:

According to this man above.  Large parts of India belong to China based on the Mongol Royal Emperor Qing Kangxi's royal claims that India belongs to him.

The man above was a megalomaniac, Wally.

Let us use the occasion of his 120th birthday to resolve to fight against the megalomaniacs of the present time.

Gil

Man you are surprising! in one instant you are complaining about those inferior black people and here you are defending those "chinamen" because one called them "chinamen" with no pejorative qualifier of their status as good or bad but merely as a label for ethnic identity

It is no surprise that you defend racism. Shame.

Gil

I owe you nothing.

Gil

I'm repeating here what I wrote on December 24:

"While I'm at it, let me state frankly that, reading your posts, I detect unconcealed racial bias in favour of Indo-Guyanese at the expense of Afro-Guyanese.

Only yesterday, you were scaring people by saying the PNC will destroy Guyana just as black people are destroying Sudan. I warn you: your racist propaganda will backfire and harm the PPP"

=================================

juji22, you may interpret the above whichever way you like.

You told me:"You are indeed a racist.." This is a clear, declarative statement that leaves no room for interpretation.

Gil

There is no excuse for using racist terms. Your language is disgraceful. Two apologies are warranted. I never used a racist term on this BB. My conscience is clean.

How about you Gil ? Will you ever apologize for using racist terms ?

It is very ironic that Mao who tried to wipe out Buddhism in Tibet and China grew up in a home where his mother was a stanch Buddhist.  She would encourage him as a boy to learn about the principles of the religion and about the life of Buddha.  But as a teenager he abandoned the religion and choose a different path in life.

shutup patacake boy it musbe true what jailil say about the crablouse nuh.

Bhai yuh think dem Crab Louse does play.

To be on the safe side

you must avoid any Relationship or Contact

with  any of them Prostitutes, Pimps, Panty-men

and those who promote or like practicing Buggery....

so all abee on GNI

who will keep our distance from De Crabs....

Safe from dem dutty-ness....

Gil

It is no surprise that you defend racism. Shame.

Since when can one who insists on their superior race, then turn around and claim  to be a soldier against racism? Get real punk

images

You said the "Y" word yuji, you are a racist you need to apologize to the Chinese for calling them the "Y" word.

Cain, in the 1990s a Jamaican dancehall singer named Yellow Man performed to a jam-packed National Park in G/T.

In Jamaica, Yellow Man used to share the stage with a great Chinese-Jamaican musician, Byron Lee. Those guys loved Yellow.

images

You said the "Y" word yuji, you are a racist you need to apologize to the Chinese for calling them the "Y" word.

Cain, in the 1990s a Jamaican dancehall singer named Yellow Man performed to a jam-packed National Park in G/T.

In Jamaica, Yellow Man used to share the stage with a great Chinese-Jamaican musician, Byron Lee. Those guys loved Yellow.

I met Yellowman in San Diego a few years ago.  Yellowman is not yellow. He is albino.  He is super white.

images

Jamaica has a different type of culture than Guyana with a different racial classification.  In Guyana Byron Lee would be Afro-Guyanese and Chinese Guyanese mix.  But in Jamaica he would be considered Chinese Jamaican.  A man who is mixed Afro-Guyanese and Indo-Guyanese would be considered dougla in Guyana but in Jamaica he would be see as an Indian Jamaican.