At Xmas, Roleen struggles to put meal on table, care for grandson

Posted By Shabna Ullah On December 25, 2012 @ 5:10 am In Local | No Comments

As everyone was busy preparing for Christmas, Roleen Alexander of Rosignol, West Bank Berbice who is caring for her 10-year-old grandson, Shemmar Simon is worried about where the next meal would
come from.

Life had always been a struggle for Roleen, 48, and when her son-in-law, Anderson Nicholson brutally murdered her daughter, Trevlyn Kingston-Nicholson on October 14, 2008, her situation became worse.

The man also dealt Roleen serious injuries. Her fingers on her left hand were punctured with a fork and she suffered chops to her forehead with a chopper.

She was treated first at the Fort Wellington Hospital and then transferred to the Georgetown Public Hospital.

Her fingers have been left permanently disabled and she is unable to do much. She also still suffers pain in her forehead at times.

She has also been tasked with taking care of Trevlyn’s son, Shemmar Simon, 10, and said sadly, “If he didn’t kill she, she woulda be here to look after she son.”

At the time of her injuries she earned a living by “cleaning drains and washing [doing laundry] for people.” But now she can only use her right hand to perform chores.

She currently works as a security guard at the nearby Rosignol Secondary School but her income is barely enough.

Many days there is hardly any money left for food after she pays the bills and takes care of other expenses. But “sometimes when I go out on the road somebody I know would give me a $100 or $200 or something to cook.”

Relatives would send her a little money “whenever dem get but I can’t depend on dem.” She also gets a “little public assistance [for the child] but the book sharing till January.”

Roleen Alexander hugs her grandson, Shemmar Simon

His grandfather [Roleen’s husband] “used to help me and give him money to buy something at school but he grandfather died… And when I don’t have to give him he would he would say ‘grandmother ah going without’”.

According to her, “I deprive myself of a lot of things just to take care of him… I have to find lesson fee and all kinda things and it hard.”

She said too that the other day she took him into a store “just for a walk and he tell me ‘grandmother, buy something for me na’ and I tell he I din have money… and he understand.”

Pausing during the interview as tears streamed down her face, Roleen said sadly that she did not plan to do anything special for Christmas because “I don’t have any money.”

As for presents, the child would not be getting any, or at least not from her. He was able to attend the party at the school without paying because “I explained my situation to the teacher.”

She gave him “his same old clothes to wear to the party. Right now his pants and everything getting short and I cannot afford to buy more.”

The house she lives in belongs to her in-laws and she would have to move sometime.

They will assist her to build a smaller house at the back of the yard though, but she also has to try and raise some money on her own.

Right now she also she has to find money to buy a new mattress for a bed that someone gave to her.

Roleen was still disturbed at the fact that while she was hospitalized after the chopping, her relatives went into her daughter’s house and removed her belongings, including clothing, wardrobe, a gas stove, bed and mattress.

They also took away Shemmar’s clothing, school bag with books and his toys. They have never returned any of the items.

She was sad too that her other children “don’t give me anything. Strangers does help me more than my own.”

Although four years have passed, she is finding it difficult to put the memories of the horrible ordeal behind. She had watched in horror as her daughter’s life was cold-bloodedly snuffed out right before her eyes.

She had prayed that Nicholson would face the full brunt of the law and was glad that he had admitted to the crime and had been remorseful for his actions. But she was not at all satisfied with the outcome of the just concluded trial.

At the Berbice High Court, Justice Roxane George sentenced him to 13 years in jail. He had changed his plea to guilty to the lesser count of manslaughter in November and it was accepted by Senior State Prosecutor Prithima Kissoon.

The judge informed him that she would “start off with 23 years” but she knocked off 10 years; taking into consideration the four years that he had already spent, a favourable probation report and his guilty plea.

Given a chance to speak before the sentence was passed, Nicholson said he regretted what happened and knew he had to face the consequences of his actions.

He had described the event as a “contrary triangle” and said he and his wife shared a happy marriage but felt provocation caused the devil to come between them.

Roleen is also aware of the fact that Nicholson had changed his life and had become a practising Christian while on remand.

She told this newspaper that she would “leave everything to God. I go to church too and the Bible said to forgive…” She has forgiven him because “the Father does forgive us but he gat to answer fuh wah he do.”

She recounted that her daughter met her demise following an argument with Nicholson over a text message that was sent to his phone.

Before that, Roleen who had returned to her daughter’s house at D’Edward Village after taking Shemmar to the health centre, said her son-in-law left to go to Cotton Tree school with a fork to assist his brother with some work.

Trevlyn had gone to the seaside to check on their cows and when her husband returned home and learnt that she was there he went in search of her. A few minutes later she got a message that he was beating her and she went and brought her home.

Nicholson followed them and attempted to plunge the fork into Trevlyn but Roleen jumped between them and the fork connected with three fingers on her left hand.

The enraged man then reached for a chopper and dealt Roleen the wounds to her forehead.

As this was happening, her daughter took the opportunity to run out of the yard and through a short alleyway. Her husband pursued her after grabbing a cutlass.

By the time she crossed the church bridge and reached on the PNC Dam she could not run anymore and fell. She was unable to get up as he rained chops on her.

With blood trickling from her wounds, especially one on her right temple, Roleen, too, screamed for mercy.

The distressed mother said she watched helplessly from a resident’s yard and listened to her daughter pleading for life with every chop until she took her last breath.

The attacker then calmly walked away with the murder weapon before starting to run as he was halfway towards the sea-dam. The following day he surrendered in the company of his lawyer.

Life had always been a struggle for Roleen, 48.

She currently works as a security guard at the nearby Rosignol Secondary School but her income is barely enough.

Many days there is hardly any money left for food after she pays the bills and takes care of other expenses. But “sometimes when I go out on the road somebody I know would give me a $100 or $200 or something to cook.”

BJ has reduced Guyana to a nation of beggers.

WHERE IS BUGRD AND NEHRU BHAI AND THAT JOKER HENRY.

And when I don’t have to give him he would he would say ‘grandmother ah going without’”.

IN GUYANA A 10 YEAR CHILD GOES WITHOUT.

THERE ARE MEMBERS OF THE JAGDEO/RAMOTAR CABAL THAT MAKEA MILLION DOLLARS A DAY FROM ILLEGAL ACTIVITIES AND HERE A 10 YEAR OLD CHILD JUST WAS $200 FUH FOOD.

SHAME ON THE PPP!

Al YUh are real JACKASSES. Right here in the GREAT USA hundreds of thousands are on the COLD Streets without a Meal this Christmas Day. I think Al Yuh had Al Yuh Brains removed at Birth.  STUPID AS STUPID GETS!!!

Every time you mention the USA as a comparison. Like that's in your eyes justification for the poverty inflicted by the PPP upon its population, and the wide scale corruption carried out by the PPP.

If that's your excuse then why are you not going back to Guyana wher thins are so much better in your opinion? Why you prefer staying in the US where life is so touch for you?

Originally Posted by Mr.T:

Every time you mention the USA as a comparison. Like that's in your eyes justification for the poverty inflicted by the PPP upon its population, and the wide scale corruption carried out by the PPP.

If that's your excuse then why are you not going back to Guyana wher thins are so much better in your opinion? Why you prefer staying in the US where life is so touch for you?

Another idiotic statement. This is a Christmas of Idiots.

Originally Posted by Mahen:

What a jackass, this could be repeated 10,000 times in the USA.  People do suffer even in the most successful of societies so why is this unique to Guyana, a struggling developing nation.  There are 10's of millions of welfare in the USA.

Why you put a black picture, to depict racism?  This situation is present in all races.  Why don't you go show the suffering of the kids whose bread-winners were killed off by the Buxton FF's.

Bai, I responded before even reading your comment.  This guy is a real jackass.  I have a suspicion he is a certain character on this blog who goes by his real name.

What does this story have to do with PPP/C government?

what do you expect? someone like christopher ram to beat his wife and bribe her with fancy house and money so she wouldn't snitch?

Christopher Ram beat up his wife and housed her in a mansion at Windermere, Florida so she could not testify against him in court. The mansion was bought using drugs money collected from his client Roger Khan.

AFC and APNU have no comment on this one am i rite?

Originally Posted by Hubert Persaud:

What does this story have to do with PPP/C government?

what do you expect? someone like christopher ram to beat his wife and bribe her with fancy house and money so she wouldn't snitch?

Christopher Ram beat up his wife and housed her in a mansion at Windermere, Florida so she could not testify against him in court. The mansion was bought using drugs money collected from his client Roger Khan.

AFC and APNU have no comment on this one am i rite?

Hubert, you could counter this nonsense without sinking to this level.  C Ram's personal life is his business and should not be dragged in, no different than BJ's marital issues.  This story reminds me of some of the nonsense the admin of the AFC FB page allowed to be posted.

What a jackass, this could be repeated 10,000 times in the USA.  People do suffer even in the most successful of societies so why is this unique to Guyana, a struggling developing nation.  There are 10's of millions of welfare in the USA.

Why you put a black picture, to depict racism?  This situation is present in all races.  Why don't you go show the suffering of the kids whose bread-winners were killed off by the Buxton FF's.

Oie Baseman, it takes a Jackass to know a jackass, so it appears you are my cousin since you are a MULE.

Mixed Breed.

America has a population of 300 million, Guyana less than 1 million.  The percentage of those living below the poverty line in Guyana is now 39%, in America it is 15%.

So go and shove your head you know where!

Originally Posted by Devindra:

Oie Baseman, it takes a Jackass to know a jackass, so it appears you are my cousin since you are a MULE.

Mixed Breed.

America has a population of 300 million, Guyana less than 1 million.  The percentage of those living below the poverty line in Guyana is now 39%, in America it is 15%.

Guyana is a 3rd world nation and should not be compared to the USA. Instead you should be referencing other comparable 3rd world nations to make your point. Also I would question where you got your %s info. 

Mixed Breed.

Guyana is a 3rd world nation and should not be compared to the USA. Instead you should be referencing other comparable 3rd world nations to make your point. Also I would question where you got your %s info. 

OK 10% of Jamaica live below the poverty line according to the World Bank.  The Guyana figure is still 39%.

Emerging economy with emerging economy 

NEXT FOOL!

Oi Daven:

why you following these fools, their maths is wrong, their arithmetic is wrong, their politics is in confusion.  All to protect the tiefing industry that they represent.

Mixed Breed.

OK 10% of Jamaica live below the poverty line according to the World Bank.  The Guyana figure is still 39%.

NEXT FOOL!

Maybe you should learn to read....how about 43+%.

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gle...iness/business8.html

Mixed Breed.

NEXT FOOL!

Well them the World Bank is a Liar Baseman.

Davin said 10% and the Work Bank said 18% of Jamaica population lives below the poverty line and you quote an absurd number.

Here is the source of the World Bank figure.

http://databank.worldbank.org/...p?RowAxis=WDI_Series~&ColAxis=WDI_Time~&PageAxis=WDI_Ctry~&PageAxisCaption=Country~&RowAxisCaption=Series~&ColAxisCaption=Time~&NEW_REPORT_SCALE=1&NEW_REPORT_PRECISION=0&newReport=yes&ROW_COUNT=1&COLUMN_COUNT=53&PAGE_COUNT=1&COMMA_SEP=true

Listen all Baseman is a greater source of Info than the World Bank?

Turd!

Originally Posted by Ronald Narain:

Mixed Breed.

NEXT FOOL!

Well them the World Bank is a Liar Baseman.

Davin said 10% and the Work Bank said 18% of Jamaica population lives below the poverty line and you quote an absurd number.

Here is the source of the World Bank figure.

http://databank.worldbank.org/...p?RowAxis=WDI_Series~&ColAxis=WDI_Time~&PageAxis=WDI_Ctry~&PageAxisCaption=Country~&RowAxisCaption=Series~&ColAxisCaption=Time~&NEW_REPORT_SCALE=1&NEW_REPORT_PRECISION=0&newReport=yes&ROW_COUNT=1&COLUMN_COUNT=53&PAGE_COUNT=1&COMMA_SEP=true

Listen all Baseman is a greater source of Info than the World Bank?

Turd!

I quoted a source, not my number.  Goes to show, don't hang on every number you see out there.  How could one source have 10% and another have 43%.

Me Fada seh:

It would be splendid if the Indian Rights Activist and kwak pollster Visnu Bisram and his right hand in subterfuge Anand Budrum can sponsor a raise fuh this family.

An the Richmond Hill Business community can pitch in.

That would be something.

Originally Posted by Vish M:

Can one of these Pontificators just reachout and assist this woman?

It seems as though many gets joy in just talking and shooting "SH*T"

So Vish M, why don't you stop pontificating and shoot some dollars into this project?

Oops,  run, run, run and hide.

If it was an East Indian woman, would Vish have found money?

Me Fada seh:

It would be splendid if the Indian Rights Activist and kwak pollster Visnu Bisram and his right hand in subterfuge Anand Budrum can sponsor a raise fuh this family.

An the Richmond Hill Business community can pitch in.

That would be something.

Alyuh just moutar.  Why don't you get your club together, headed by GR and others, and raise the money to help.  The ran into hardship due to an unfortunate circumstance like many in Guyana and around the world.  Rather than leading protests and encouraging mayhem and destruction for freeness and privilege, take up this worthy cause.  It will satisfy your over-bloated egos.

So Vish M, why don't you stop pontificating and shoot some dollars into this project?

If you feel so strongly about it, they you go find the money nah.  Don't just sit on the fence and talk shyte.

Blood sucking Robber Barrons NEVER helped anyone.!!

Nah, me mixed.

HEHEHEHE!

Nah, me mixed and I only help my racial group - the mixed race.

HEHEHEHE!

Good, well stop complaining and go help your group.

Nah, me mixed and I only help my racial group - the mixed race.

HEHEHEHE!

Good, well stop complaining and go help your group.

All cassava get same skin but all nah taste same way.

On a serious note:

Baby who ah cry ah house and ah door ah same thing meaning

The same manner in which you treats your child, you should treat another's.

I am in GT for Phagwah and will seek her out.   NO MONEY, only food!

I do not give my children money, that have to do chore to earn it, so I do not give money away.  That is my philosophy.

I always donate FOOD.  Maybe a half bag rice would be a good gift.

On a serious note:

I do not give my children money, that have to do chore to earn it, so I do not give money away.  That is my philosophy.

Good, well now stop bragging about your half-bag rice and go do it.  And why you think the lady can wait at you convenience, track her down, seek her out and get her the aid you tout about.  You are a big empty talker.

Banna, you are a typical "throwing a fish" rather than "teaching to fish".  You hardly give any thought to what you throw, like a trench fisherman.

On a serious note:

Good, well now stop bragging about your half-bag rice and go do it.  And why you think the lady can wait at you convenience, track her down, seek her out and get her the aid you tout about.  You are a big empty talker.

Banna, you are a typical "throwing a fish" rather than "teaching to fish".  You hardly give any thought to what you throw, like a trench fisherman.

I wonder what the First man who sold $3.4 billion to the Health sector in Guyana will do for this woman?

Rass the first man got 80% of the pharmaceutical contracts, what happen to fair dealing and competition.

We need a Public Procurement Commission NOW!

On a serious note:

I wonder what the First man who sold $3.4 billion to the Health sector in Guyana will do for this woman?

Rass the first man got 80% of the pharmaceutical contracts, what happen to fair dealing and competition.

Why you focus on what another man did or did not do.  The lady waiting for you half-bag rice handout.  That act is not encumbered by any Public Procurement Commission.

On a serious note:

Why you focus on what another man did or did not do.  The lady waiting for you half-bag rice handout.  That act is not encumbered by any Public Procurement Commission.

Rass Baseman, you are like a real anti-man.  The man said PHAGWAH, like you hard of hearing or wha?

Them a what me, them a watch me, them a waaaaatch me, them a what me!

Rass Baseman, you are like a real anti-man.  The man said PHAGWAH, like you hard of hearing or wha?

Them a what me, them a watch me, them a waaaaatch me, them a what me!

Banna, I know what he said but the lady suffering now, why you mekking she wait will yuh Phagwah celebration.  Some alyuh katahars can be cruel especially when it's not your own race.  He could send he half-bag rice nah!!

Remigrants house lots cost four times more than Jagdeo’s

December 25, 2012 | By | Filed Under News 

Chairman of the Alliance For Change (AFC), Nigel Hughes, is hoping that all future eligible persons acquire house lots at a comparative market value to what former President Bharrat Jagdeo and a few of his closest allies acquired theirs in Pradoville Two, (Sparendaam) East Coast Demerara.

Jagdeo’s mansion sits on two acres of land at Pradoville Two.

Hughes, who had virtually taken on members of the ruling administration by himself on the National Communications Network “corruption debate” had lashed out at the circumstances under which Jagdeo acquired his two-acre plot of land at Sparendaam.
According to reports, which were confirmed during last September debates, Jagdeo acquired his land at Pradoville 2, at a “market value” of $5M per acre, a price that was justified by Attorney General, Anil Nandlall.
But when compared with the price that the government is offering land to remigrants at Providence, East Bank Demerara, Jagdeo and his associates have actually secured a sweet deal, Hughes said.
Officials from the Ministry of Housing have confirmed that persons applying for a 8,000 square-foot house lot in the remigrant housing scheme are being asked to pay $7M per lot. One acre gives five house lots.
The house lots are 8,000 square feet. The area of the plot is less than a quarter of an acre of land.
Compared to what former President Jagdeo paid, the remigrants are being asked to pay almost six times more for a comparative plot of land.

Bharrat Jagdeo

A copy of the letter that the Ministry of Housing dispatched to prospective remigrant house lot applicants, read.
“Land Allocation Department
Tel. Nos: 592-223-7530, 7521, 7517
Dear (Name Given)
With respect to your offer of an allocation at Pln. Providence, you are invited to select your lot number at the Providence Stadium, East Bank Demerara on Saturday, July 7, 2012 at 14:00h.
Please be informed that since you have qualified for a High Income land, that you are required, to make a full payment for the land, the conveyance fee of $8,000 and the Identification of Lot fee of $3,000. Payments must be made by Manager’s Cheque.
Please be advised that after making full payment of the land and conveyance fee, you can sign to process for a Certificate of Title.
Payment required for allocation of a house lot.
Offer
Cost of land—$7,000,000 (G)
Conveyance Fee—$8,000 (G$)
Identification of Lot Fee—High Income—$3,000 (G$)
Kindly ensure that you walk with the required sum of money to make the full payment along with Original and copies of your: Identification Card/Passport, Birth Certificate/Naturalization Documentation and an Affidavit stating Non-Ownership of Property in Guyana, so that your offer can be formalized into an allocation.

Nigel Hughes

Please note that the Central Housing & Planning Authority is making this offer available to you on the condition that neither you nor your spouse is the owner of any property in Guyana. This offer shall be rescinded if you are found to be the holder of property in Guyana.
Should you fail to respond to this offer of allocation on July 7, 2012, it will be assumed that you are no longer interested and the offer will be null and void.
We hope that you take this opportunity and be a part of this exercise. All for your information and guidance.
Sincerely,
For the Chief Executive Officer”
At the price offered by the Ministry of Housing, remigrants would actually pay close to $42M per acre. When compared to the prime ocean front land that former President Bharrat Jagdeo acquired at $5M an acre, Nigel Hughes said that it is no wonder that the Alliance for Change questioned the circumstances under which state lands were given out at Pradoville Two.
“I hope that they put in some facilities with the same alacrity that they did at Pradoville Two for the other citizens at the remigrant scheme,” Hughes told this newspaper yesterday.
The remigrant scheme was conceptualized and promoted by the Bharrat Jagdeo regime under the stewardship of one of his protégés, Irfaan Ali.
Housing Ministry officials confirmed that the water network as well as roads has already been installed in the scheme, and the electricity infrastructure should be completed early next year.
Hughes, an attorney-at-law, had contended that Jagdeo, while in office, acquired more wealth than any other president of independent Guyana.

Anil Nandlall

Hughes had pointed out that “no other Head of State in this country through independence to now…while they are President, made a business of the presidency to acquire the assets that the state owned; not assets they went out on the open market and bought; assets that the state owned and they then converted and bought below market prices.”
Hughes was mainly referring to the ‘palace’ that the former Guyanese leader now owns at Sparendaam.
According to Hughes, Jagdeo managed to purchase prime ocean front land for $5M per acre, an amount way below the market value of such property.
“This is state land acquired by the government of the day and distributed to the President and the President’s friends below market prices, next to Courida Park, some of the most expensive real estate. I’m still waiting to find out where I can get one acre of ocean front property, prime real estate for $5M per acre,” Hughes said.
He challenged his opponents to identify whether Dr. Jagan or even President Burnham ever carried out such practices.
Hughes’s assertions were strongly refuted by Labour Minister Nanda Gopaul and Attorney General Anil Nandlall, who made it clear that Jagdeo received what every other Guyanese received under the government’s housing programme.
“The impression that is being given  here, is that the President embarked upon this conquest and acquired land by some improper way and improper procedure is one that must be wholly rejected,” the Attorney General said.
According to Nandlall, many persons including ministers of the government, former Commissioners of Police and CARICOM Secretariat officials were offered lands for sale there, a move he said was made public.
But according to Hughes, like many other Guyanese, he was unaware that the state lands at Pradoville 2, which “Jagdeo and his close associates” now occupy was advertised for sale publicly.
“Can I ask…where was this land advertised? When did they advertise ocean front land?” Hughes had questioned.