By Kiana Wilburg 

Jun 10, 2016 Source

Over twenty forensic audit reports have been released by the Government and there has not been a single charge leveled against those who have been implicated in the said reports.

WPA Executive Member, Dr. David Hinds

While some critics opine that the Government is dragging its feet in this regard, Executive Member of the Working People’s Alliance (WPA) Dr. David Hinds believes that the citizenry should exercise a little patience with the “Better Life For All” Administration.In an interview with Kaieteur News, Dr. Hinds opined, “I cannot believe the government would do nothing about the audits.” He said that Government’s inaction would be a politically suicidal move. “I think they are erring on the side of caution,” he added.

Dr. Hinds said that this is understandable given the PPP’s drumbeat about witch-hunting and the fact that the Coalition would need votes from the PPP’s traditional constituency if it’s going to prevail at the next elections.But over-caution, the activist said, could eventually lead to inaction and this could cost the Coalition support in its core base. He said that in such an instance, the Government finds itself between a rock and a hard place.The University professor said that in politics, the first question is always—”How is this going to affect our chances at the poll?”To this question, Dr. Hinds said that realistically, the government has to weigh this very carefully.
He noted, “Unfortunately, political morality is always very low on the pecking order for governments and political parties. But if little or nothing is done, that will amount to a political victory for the PPP.”

He added, “They could argue that they are vindicated because the government could not pin anything on them. Note, the Opposition Leader, Bharrat Jagdeo keeps repeating the mantra—if you find corruption charge the people. And former President Donald Ramotar on the other hand keeps saying that the government is going after PPP people.”Hinds said that whether these two positions are coordinated or not, they amount to a kind of circling of the issue by the PPP, which then pushes the government into a corner.The WPA Executive Member explained that the other consequence of inaction is the continued institutionalization of corruption. He opined that those involved from top to bottom, in and out of government, would read that as weakness on the part of government.

Dr. Hinds said that he would propose the establishment of an independent Anti-Corruption body to study these audits and recommend the needed action to the President and the State Asset Recovery Unit (SARU). He stressed that the Cabinet should not be deciding on the action that should be taken.Dr. Hinds further asserted that such a body should be broad-based and not overstaffed with lawyers. He said that it should include people of moral standing in the society who are concerned about stamping out public corruption.Simultaneously, he said that the process of empowering SARU should be high priority. He emphasised that it should be speeded up. Dr. Hinds opined that if that route is taken, it partially frees up the process from overt partisan considerations.

While the WPA Executive Member holds this view, Public Security Minister, Khemraj Ramjattan said that the Board members of various entities will have the opportunity to decide the course of action that will be taken on the damning findings of the forensic audits launched by the APNU/AFC administration.Ramjattan recalled that there was a sub-committee which was established to examine the various forensic audit reports. He said that the sub-committee consisted of himself, Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs, Basil Williams and Junior Finance Minister, Jaipaul Sharma. The Minister noted that the sub-committee was initially tasked with the responsibility of going through the reports with an aim of determining which deal mainly with administrative irregularities and which enter the realm of criminality.
The Parliamentarian said that the matters of an administrative nature would require disciplinary action against those at fault, while those of a criminal nature will be forwarded to the police for further investigations.Ramjattan maintained that it would be too burdensome to just hand the reports over to the police only to find that some reports speak only to administrative improprieties.

The Minister said, however, that the Boards of the audited entities will now have a chance to examine the said reports to decide on what will be the outcome. He believes that it is important for the Boards not to be left out of the equation and for them to have a say in what is the way forward on prosecution and administrative decisions that need to be taken.The Public Security Minister asserted, “I have recommended that all forensic audits reports go to the Board so that they can have a say regarding the forensic audits and determine whether they see prosecution as necessary. We should not exclude the Board even though a sub-committee was given the responsibility to make certain determinations.”He added, “I have been asked by some of the Boards to look at some of the reports in light of my previous association with criminal law. About four or five I have agreed should go to the police for further investigations.”

Asked to say what those reports are, Ramjattan said he could not reveal that at this point.It was in May that the Granger-led administration began expending some $133M of taxpayers’ dollars on 45 of the 50 forensic audits to ascertain how the assets of the state were sold, disposed of or transferred under the previous administration.The remaining five audits were sponsored by the Inter-American Development Bank (IDB).Several audits were also launched in July while others started in later weeks. While the report on NICIL has been completed for months now, criminal proceedings are still to take shape. Those on the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) and the National Frequency Management Unit (NFMU) have been completed for a longer period.

They have nothing which will stand up in court.  Sooner or later hey have to switch and begin to fullfill their mandate and promises to the people of Guyana.  Stop wasting time and money chasing shadows!!

ba$eman posted:  Stop wasting time and money chasing shadows!!

Sir, it is my humble opinion that there are many 'shadows' with fancy SUVs, mini-mansions and fat bank accounts which could not be achieved with their official salaries alone. The Leader of the Opposition seems to agree because he has called on the government to take some of those 'shadows' to court.

How many of us live on our salaries alone?  Don't politicians have investments?  Don't they get paid for speaking engagements? Dont they get paid for consulting assignments?  Doesn't jagdeo get stipends for all the international organizations whose boards he sits on?  You all need to stop this kind of narrow minded thinking.

ba$eman posted:

They have nothing which will stand up in court.  Sooner or later hey have to switch and begin to fullfill their mandate and promises to the people of Guyana.  Stop wasting time and money chasing shadows!!

They have money laundering and tax laws. It brought down Capone when no evidence of his collusion in illegal rum running etc could be found. Audit these fellows with pools and big mansions and any assets that could not be verified should have a tax lien against it. Then jail their behinds for tax evasion and money laundering.

How many of us live on our salaries alone?  Don't politicians have investments?  Don't they get paid for speaking engagements? Dont they get paid for consulting assignments?  Doesn't jagdeo get stipends for all the international organizations whose boards he sits on?  You all need to stop this kind of narrow minded thinking.

Then they can show those income. It ought to be on their tax forms even if they are exempted. You cannot qualify for an exemption unless the asset is listed. If it is not listed sieze it as ill gotten gain. The laws demands a minimum fine for evasion at two times the value.

Suh what you saying most of the politicians in Guyana are clean and not corrupt,hardly believable for a third world country.

LIAR LIAR!!!  THE GADAHAS PANTS ON FIRE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Looks like you used to clothe your GADAHA.

GADAHAS leading Guyana to DESTRUCTION. You are such a smart person you demanded CHANGE and NOW yuh gat yuh CHANGE!!!  Enjoy.

Miss Haniffa, nowhere in my comment did I say or suggest that Jagdeo is a 'shadow' implicated in the audit reports. For the purpose of this conversation, Jagdeo is an honorable man. The audit reports specifically named some persons who engaged in malfeasance acts. At the moment, I can think only of Jaya Manickchand and Valmiki Somebody. There are others and the reports are available online. 

GADAHAS leading Guyana to DESTRUCTION. You are such a smart person you demanded CHANGE and NOW yuh gat yuh CHANGE!!!  Enjoy.

Couple more years to go we will judge when time comes.

alyuh does accept defectors just in case if it does not work out,just asking.

The problem with people like you is that Al Yuh willing to go all the way to Al Yuh grave with FALSE hopes!!!

Danyael posted:

Then they can show those income. It ought to be on their tax forms even if they are exempted. You cannot qualify for an exemption unless the asset is listed. If it is not listed sieze it as ill gotten gain. The laws demands a minimum fine for evasion at two times the value.

Good, go make their day...you joker!!

Couple, you mean give the 28 years?

 Don't politicians have investments?  Don't they get paid for speaking engagements? Dont they get paid for consulting assignments?  Doesn't jagdeo get stipends for all the international organizations whose boards he sits on?  You all need to stop this kind of narrow minded thinking.

In order to have investments you would have had to have money. These folks were dirt poor in 1992.

Jagdeo only began to sit on boards after he left office.  The notion that he received sufficient income from speaking engagements, while president,  to become a millionaire is a laugh.

There has been massive corruption.  Whether the coalition decides to reveal who is guilty is their issue. If they don't then they just further the opinion of many that they are also corrupt.

The problem with people like you is that Al Yuh willing to go all the way to Al Yuh grave with FALSE hopes!!!

What you guh do bhai some of us believe every Guyanese should be given the opportunity to prove their mettle,when that doesn't happen they feel left out,hence the repercussions are not healthy.

 Don't politicians have investments?  Don't they get paid for speaking engagements? Dont they get paid for consulting assignments?  Doesn't jagdeo get stipends for all the international organizations whose boards he sits on?  You all need to stop this kind of narrow minded thinking.
There has been massive corruption.  Whether the coalition decides to reveal who is guilty is their issue. If they don't then they just further the opinion of many that they are also corrupt.

The only "massive" corruption is what's swirling around in you over imaginative head.  And I assume there is a lot of swirling!

ba$eman posted:

The only "massive" corruption is what's swirling around in you over imaginative head.  And I assume there is a lot of swirling!

Just look at those seaside dachas where the PPP elites squat on state property and you will see where t he massive corruption is...if you chose to see.

Danyael posted:
ba$eman posted:

Just look at those seaside dachas where the PPP elites squat on state property and you will see where t he massive corruption is...if you chose to see.

Aah, shut up you king of prattle!!

ba$eman posted:
Danyael posted:
ba$eman posted:

There is not holding back the truth. Those were pernicious crooks and not you or any in the PPP can walk back what is known.

Danyael posted:
ba$eman posted:
Danyael posted:
ba$eman posted:

There is not holding back the truth. Those were pernicious crooks and not you or any in the PPP can walk back what is known.

As I said, there is no holding back the truth, you are a prattle king!!