TIME names 15-year-old scientist and inventor Gitanjali Rao its first Kid of the Year

N'dea Yancey-Bragg, USA TODAY

Time magazine has selected 15-year-old scientist and inventor Gitanjali Rao as its first-ever Kid of the Year.

The magazine has named a Person of the Year for 92 years, and in 2019, Greta Thunberg became the youngest person to ever receive the honor. Before Thunberg, the youngest recipient was 25-year-old Charles Lindbergh in 1927.

This year, Time partnered with Nickelodeon to search social media and school districts across the country to find the most influential kid of 2020.

The list was narrowed down from 5,000 young Americans to five finalists, who will each receive a cash prize and be given a chance to contribute to the magazine. The short list includes artist Tyler Gordon, 14, designer and activist Jordan Reeves, 14, world’s first crayon activist Bellen Woodard, 10, and youth hunger activist Ian McKenna, 16.

2019 Person of the Year: Time names teen climate change activist Greta Thunberg

“Small steps can lead to big change,” TIME for Kids editor Andrea Delbanco said in a statement. “These are everyday kids making change in their communities in a fun and accessible – but very impactful – way.”

Rao told Angelina Jolie in an interview for Time she was 10 years old when she became interested in carbon nanotube sensor technology, molecules that can detect chemicals in water. At age 11, she won the Young Scientist Challenge for creating a device that can detect lead in drinking water with the help of a mobile app. Last year, she was named to Forbes' 30 under 30 list.

She also has developed an app and Chrome extension called Kindly which uses artificial-intelligence technology to detect cyberbullying at an early stage, she told Time.

Rao said she has developed an interest in genetics and is working on a way to detect biocontaminants like parasites in water and a product to diagnose prescription ­opioid addiction early on.

She told the magazine she has also partnered with rural schools, STEM organizations and museums around the world to run innovation workshops to help young students develop their own inventions. She said she has mentored more than 30,000 students.

"My goal has really shifted not only from creating my own devices to solve the world’s problems, but inspiring others to do the same as well," she said. "Because, from personal experience, it’s not easy when you don’t see anyone else like you."

Follow N'dea Yancey-Bragg on Twitter: @NdeaYanceyBragg

This article originally appeared on USA TODAY: TIME names scientist Gitanjali Rao as first ever Kid of the Year

Then he was just drawing attention to her because she was an outstanding thinker who was of Indian ethnicity! I'd rather he drew attention to oustanding Guyanese! She is NOT Guyanese! Are you Indian or Guyanese? Guyana has had many outstanding thinkers of different ethnicities to be proud of!

Then he was just drawing attention to her because she was an outstanding thinker who was of Indian ethnicity! I'd rather he drew attention to oustanding Guyanese! She is NOT Guyanese! Are you Indian or Guyanese?

Guyana has had many outstanding thinkers of different ethnicities to be proud of!

That's is true !!!! we shouldn't not piggyback on Indians.

Then he was just drawing attention to her because she was an outstanding thinker who was of Indian ethnicity! I'd rather he drew attention to oustanding Guyanese! She is NOT Guyanese! Are you Indian or Guyanese? Guyana has had many outstanding thinkers of different ethnicities to be proud of!

I disagree.  The achievements of all youth should be highlighted, regardless of country, or nationality.  I believe D_G  draw attention to her, not only because she is an Indian,  but because she is an  outstanding thinker, who happens to be an Indian. African and other country's youth were also highlighted on this forum.

In order to resolve the racial problem in Guyana, I believe, we need to open our minds to other races. Sometimes by living and working with them.   

Why complain? She is a very talented young lady that is featured on Time Magazine.

Her achievement speaks for its self. Don't be a Sour Puss, there is nothing political about this article.

I will ignore the comments but I would like Guyanese to realise that few people are thinkers anywhere in the world Most are drones concerned with survival and only do what is necessary for that! Another thing I'd like to draw attention to is that there was no India as a country until the British! Just separate kingdoms fighting each other for more territory on behalf of their rulers egos! There were a few farsighted rulers but their rule didnt last! Now it seems Modi is bent on separating the country again with his Hindustan idea!

East Indian people is a demonym that is used in North America to refer to: people from South Asia, South Asian ethnic groups, or. people from India, Indian people. Indo-Caribbean, Caribbean people with roots in India.

dotcom.

@Mitwah posted:

East Indian people is a demonym that is used in North America to refer to: people from South Asia, South Asian ethnic groups, or. people from India, Indian people. Indo-Caribbean, Caribbean people with roots in India.

dotcom.

Some of them don't want to be Identified with the Caribbean people . Two stick lash you will get .

@Django posted:

Some of them don't want to be Identified with the Caribbean people . Two stick lash you will get .

Too many Afro blacks! Caribbean Indos are a different kind of black! Is in de hare! Never mind we all descended from Africans but dese intermixed until de hare becum strate! Dem peepul hav fuh uze hare stratenur! See?

@Django posted:

This is selfish of you. From the inception of this forum, members highlighted the youths and their accomplishments from India, Guyana, and elsewhere for their brilliance. Indians happen to be our ancestors. If you are ashamed of that then you should not dictate. D_G is known for covering youths with special abilities over the years as I can remember.

Viper

Then he was just drawing attention to her because she was an outstanding thinker who was of Indian ethnicity! I'd rather he drew attention to oustanding Guyanese! She is NOT Guyanese! Are you Indian or Guyanese?

Guyana has had many outstanding thinkers of different ethnicities to be proud of!

@Django posted:

@Viper posted:

This is selfish of you. From the inception of this forum, members highlighted the youths and their accomplishments from India, Guyana, and elsewhere for their brilliance. Indians happen to be our ancestors. If you are ashamed of that then you should not dictate. D_G is known for covering youths with special abilities over the years as I can remember.

You should have taken the time to follow the post ,instead of spewing venom .There was no admonishment on D_G for his post .

My lineage is acknowledged and don't need an assessment .My great great grandfather left India 151 yrs ago,with his pregnant spouse and three children ,the fourth was born on the ship, to seek a better life for his family ,not knowing they will be in another continent ,there was tragedy one year after ,his second son died at the age of six yrs. There is a disconnect from India by his descendants and no longing for any attachment . I am proud to be Guyanese living among the different ethnicity in my village ,where there are respect for each other.  @Former Member is correct with his statement which was responded to, we seem to forget the outstanding Guyanese ,hence my statement of piggybacking on Indians. Also Indians don't treat Indo-Carribbean as equals.

@Django posted:

You should have taken the time to follow the post ,instead of spewing venom .There was no admonishment on D_G for his post .

My lineage is acknowledged and don't need an assessment .My great great grandfather left India 151 yrs ago,with his pregnant spouse and three children ,the fourth was born on the ship, to seek a better life for his family ,not knowing they will be in another continent ,there was tragedy one year after ,his second son died at the age of six yrs. There is a disconnect from India by his descendants and no longing for any attachment . I am proud to be Guyanese living among the different ethnicity in my village ,where there are respect for each other.  @Former Member is correct with his statement which was responded to, we seem to forget the outstanding Guyanese ,hence my statement of piggybacking on Indians. Also Indians don't treat Indo-Carribbean as equals.

I became aware of how Indian nationals, at least one, view Guyanese of Indian descent when a relative of Shruti Kant, the principal of the Indian high school in Georgetown, laughed at the religious practices of Guyanese Indian Hindus! He wanted to seduce Guyanese Indian girls, though, because, as he said, they were beautiful! It made no difference to him whether they were girls from a decent home or prostitutes, he plied them with the same line, he would marry them and take them back to India! He courted my young, naive sister-in-law and later came to Canada I told my sister-in-law to tell him that Canada was too small for both him and me! He stopped seeing her after he got my advice! Another one, while she worked at the Toronto Post Office, kept trying to seduce her telling her how unhappy he was with his wife! I gave him an anonymous threat which frightened him into leaving her alone! Guyanese Indos are suckers for these scum who exploit Guyanese Indos looking wistfully to Mother India! We are NOT Indians! We ARE Guyanese and they regard us scornfully as such!

Race versus Nationality versus Ethnicity is not the same.

Race is defined by the physical characteristics....

Nationality is defined by birthright or naturalized.... Some have more than one.

Ethnicity is defined by : Language, accent, religion, styles of dress, hairstyles, social customs, food and dietary preferences or restrictions.

Mine is defined by my  heritage; religious holidays, language, cultural practices etc.....

@Mitwah posted:

Race versus Nationality versus Ethnicity is not the same.

Race is defined by the physical characteristics....

Nationality is defined by birthright or naturalized.... Some have more than one.

Ethnicity is defined by : Language, accent, religion, styles of dress, hairstyles, social customs, food and dietary preferences or restrictions.

Mine is defined by my  heritage; religious holidays, language, cultural practices etc.....

So?