Timeline of the Georgetown Prison fire and riot.

July 10, 2017 Source

(Department of Public Information)

– 16:45- The Director of Prison, Gladwyn Samuels, is informed of

disturbance at Georgetown Prison.

– Samuels is informed that an officer is being held hostage and that

there are sounds of gunshots within the prison

– Two locations of the prison are set ablaze simultaneously; the Strong

Cell Division and the Wooden Prison/Condemn Division

– A total of five prisoners are observed leaving the prison.

– The Guyana Fire Service is contacted and responds. Fires are observed

at four (4) locations within the prison complex- Fire Chief Marlon Gentle

– The Standard Operating Procedures (SOPs) are activated. The various

Joint-Services are contacted and respond.

– Eight (8) persons from the prison are transferred to the Georgetown

Public Hospital (GPHC) receive medical attention at, seven (7) of whom are

Prison Officers

– The Guyana Fire Service arrives on scene with two (2) fire tenders,

but the fires quickly spread to other parts of the prison compound

– With the assistance of the other agencies, the Prison Officials

activated the emergency evacuation procedure as fires spread.

– Guyana Fire Service dispatches more fire tenders to the scene

– Groups of prisoners are brought out from inside the prison. Some are

placed to sit on Camp Street and others inside the Prison Officer Club.

– 18:35 hrs- Several prisoners, being held in the Prison Officers Club,

set fire to the building. The burning building is evacuated Prisoners are

moved on to the roadway at the corners of Camp and Bent Streets.

– Security Forces expand cordons around scene.

– Guyana Water Inc. disconnects water supplies to some parts of

Georgetown to increase water pressure around Georgetown Prisons to assist

in fire fighting efforts.

– Security officials begin transporting prisoners to the Lusignan Prison

on the East Coast of Demerara via trucks, and buses.

– Minister of Public Health Volda Lawrence arrives at the GPHC, actives

emergency procedures, and updates media on persons admitted and extent of

injuries. Public reassured that all measures are in place to deal with mass

casualties if necessary

– 20:00hrs-President David Granger convenes National Security meeting

– Prison Officer Odinga Wickham succumbs from his injuries. Other

wounded prison officers being treated for gunshot wounds and lacerations.

– Guyana Fire Service cancels all rotations and leave for staff. All

instructed to report to their stations.

– All of the wooden buildings in the Georgetown Prison Complex are

destroyed

– 10:45-Two press conferences are held at the National Communications

Network. They are conducted by Fire Chief Marlon Gentle, Chief Prison

Officer ag. Gladwin Samuels, Guyana Police Force Commisioner Seelall

Persaud and Guyana Defence Force Chief of Staff Col ag. Nazrul Hussain. The

second is conducted by Minister of Public Security Khemraj Ramjattan.

– The mastermind of the unrest is identified as Bartica and Lusignan

massacre convict Mark Royden Durant aka Royden Williams and Smallie; and

Uree Varswyck. The other three have not been identified as yet.

– The joint services operation continues effort to recapture the escaped

prisoners.

– Members of the public are advised to take all necessary precautions as

they go about their activities. Report any suspicious activities to the

nearest police station.

– 01:50-Remanded murder accused Shawn Collins, 20, of lot 6 Ketley and

Drydales Streets who escaped whilst being transported with other prisoners

to another location is recaptured on Hadfield Street. He was not among the

five original escapees.

– Initial walk through inspection of the GT prisons conducted by

security officials, no bodies discovered so far

– Roll calls are conducted at Lusignan Prison to identify and account

for those in custody

– National Security meeting set for 12:00hrs July 10, 2017, at Camp

Ayanganna

Police issue bulletins for two more escapees.

The police today issued wanted bulletins for two more escapees from yesterday’s Camp Street prison revolt.

Both were in jail in relation to murder probes.

The police say that Stafrei Hopkenson Alexander, 32,  is wanted for questioning in relation to  Murder and Escaping from Lawful Custody (Georgetown Prison).

His last known address is  Laing Avenue, Georgetown.

Sherwin Nero a/k Sherwin Moses c/d “catty” is wanted by the police for questioning in relation to  Murder and Escaping from Lawful Custody (Georgetown Prison). His last known addresses were Friendship Buxton, ECD & Lot 74 Dennis Street, Sophia.

Stafrei Hopkenson Alexander

Anyone with information that may lead to the arrests is asked to contact the police on telephone numbers 229-2289, 229-2655, 274-0409, 225-6411, 225-8196, 225-2227, 227-1149, 226-7065, 911 or the nearest police station.

Yesterday, the police issued wanted bulletins for the suspected prison break mastermind and murder convict, Royden Williams and murder accused Uree Varswyk. The men have now been on the loose for over 10 hours. A fifth prisoner is believed to have escaped but the authorities have not been able to identify him.

Sherwin Nero a/k Sherwin Moses c/d “catty”

Lusignan Prison Today.

Scenes from the Lusignan Prison where the inmates from

the burnt out Camp Street Prison are being

temporarily housed.

Security personnel on the roof of the Lusignan Prison overlooking
the hundreds of inmates temporarily housed in the compound.
Security personnel near a fence after a gunshot was heard
inside the Lusignan Prison this morning. According to reports
it was a warning shot.
Police officers keeping persons from venturing near the
Lusignan Prison
where the inmates from the burnt out Camp Street Prison are
being temporarily housed.

Granger wanted the prison to burn down so his prisoners can escape. This is the second time this happens in two years under the PNC watch. 

The Buxton Gang is rebuilding.   Guyana is the country with the largest Military officers in power per capita.  Yet there were two prison riots in two years.  Where did the prisoners get the guns from?  Where did the bank robbers earlier this week get those guns from? 

Look where he put the prisoners from Camp Street.  Straight to Lusignan.  Back to the scene of the crime.  Lusignan Massacre II in the making.

The GADAHA only know aboutBRUKING, MO FIAH, SLO FIAH and give wuk to washed up Military officers!!!!!

Look where he put the prisoners from Camp Street.  Straight to Lusignan.  Back to the scene of the crime.  Lusignan Massacre II in the making.

they should put you in there for being ugly 

warrior posted:

they should put you in there for being ugly 

Warria, wha you nah shet you rass and leave the lady alone. Before calling someone ugly, you should look yourself in the mirror and say "damn! I am ugly". I do it all the time.

PPP sensationalists like our own Bhagdad Bib are trying to milk this disaster for all its worth as if there were no prison overcrowding problems during their time. What did the PPP do in their 23 years to alleviate the situation? You would think that they handed over the prisons in great shape when they were rejected.

Granger wanted the prison to burn down so his prisoners can escape. This is the second time this happens in two years under the PNC watch. 

The Buxton Gang is rebuilding.   Guyana is the country with the largest Military officers in power per capita.  Yet there were two prison riots in two years.  Where did the prisoners get the guns from?  Where did the bank robbers earlier this week get those guns from? 

It was all in the news that the Bank robbers get the guns from PNC police. Ramjattan, mean, lean, no nonsense police force.

PPP sensationalists like our own Bhagdad Bib are trying to milk this disaster for all its worth as if there were no prison overcrowding problems during their time. What did the PPP do in their 23 years to alleviate the situation? You would think that they handed over the prisons in great shape when they were rejected.

The initial report stated that over 100 were dead.  That was later changed to none were dead.  I want to know how 1,018 inmates were housed there and only 5 escaped!!!!  And why are you trolling the PPP facebook pages?  What does Ramjattan has on his facebook page?

President announces emergency plan in wake of prison break.

Following yesterday’s Camp Street Prison riot, the Government has approved the immediate implementation of a four-part emergency plan, which includes the erection of temporary structures to house the displaced prisoners, the completion of a recovery operation to account for every single prisoner, implementation of legal measures to immediately reduce the prison population and the immediate apprehension of the five inmates, who escaped.

This is according to President David Granger, who in an address to the nation this evening, assured citizens that the National Security Council, which held its second meeting at Camp Ayanganna today, will continue to remain engaged to coordinate and implement immediate measures to ensure that the situation remains stable and secure.

“The Guyana Defence Force, the Guyana Police Force, the Guyana Prison Service and the Guyana Fire Service are working together to ensure public safety. A manhunt is being executed, air and ground patrols are being conducted and vigilance has been heightened on roadway and at key points,” the Commander-in-Chief said, according to a release from the Ministry of the Presidency.

By the end of today, close to 300 inmates should be relocated to various detention facilities across the country, including at Mazaruni, New Amsterdam and Timehri, the release said. The remainder will be kept at Lusignan, where temporary facilities are currently being installed by engineers from the Ministry of Public Infrastructure. Tents, in addition to the portable toilets, are being set up to protect inmates from the elements, while construction starts on three holding shelters, washrooms and reinforced gates. A budget of $18M has been approved for these works.

The release said that Minister of Public Security, Khemraj Ramjattan informed that six magistrates from different magisterial districts were at the Lusignan Prison to review the records of inmates, who are eligible for release between now and August, for the purposes of early release. They are also looking at releasing on their own recognisance, inmates, who have been detained for minor, non-violent offences and reducing bail for those who could not have afforded to post the initial court-ordered figure.

Minister of Public Infrastructure, David Patterson, who was part of the meeting, also disclosed that his Ministry in collaboration with the Guyana Fire Service and the Guyana Prison Service will begin the process of removing debris at Camp Street and restorative works will be carried out on the brick prison located within the precincts of that facility. This building, which sustained minor damage from the fire, has the capacity to house about 250 prisoners.

The PNC are known for fires - in the 60's . Bun down GNTC and holla its the PPP and now them have the Brothers from the WPA who dem claimed bun down MOND. Hoyte slow fyah, mo fyah and now DAG Nuff Nuff fyah.

The initial report stated that over 100 were dead.  That was later changed to none were dead.  I want to know how 1,018 inmates were housed there and only 5 escaped!!!!  And why are you trolling the PPP facebook pages?  What does Ramjattan has on his facebook page?

Don't flatter yourself that I'm going around trolling the pages of these clowns. These photos were posted all over the place with people laughing at these jackasses sensationalizing the story like you are prone to do here.

Kaneville man found at Vigilance after reported abduction by prison escapees.

July 11, 2017 Source

A Kaneville man was who had been missing since Sunday afternoon after he was reportedly abducted at gunpoint by prisoners who broke out of the Camp Street jail, turned up alive last night at the Vigilance Police Station.

Matthew Shivtahal, 22, of Kaneville, Grove, East Bank Demerara, had been reported missing and Commander of ‘A’ Division Marlon Chapman had revealed that the man’s car, PKK 4103, was found abandoned at North Ruimveldt.

Chapman did not reveal details about the reported hijacking but stated that it was being investigated.

Matthew Shivtahal

Shivtahal’s common-law wife, Rovanie Kharmattie, told Stabroek News that she last saw her husband on Sunday afternoon, when he left home to make his way to Industry, East Coast Demerara, to pick up some family members.

“He drop some family members in Industry around 11 am and was going back for them around 4 pm,” she said.

Kharmattie said that it was around 5.30 pm that she received a call from someone who informed her that four men had abducted her husband with his car. The wife said that she made a report to the Grove Police Station about what had happened.

Matthew Shivtahal’s car in the compound of the East La Penitence Police Station, where it was taken after being found abandoned in North Ruimveldt.

According to her, Shivtahal was in Georgetown with a female family member and five children. “What I hear is that they stop my husband and a [dreadlocked] man hold he up and put a gun to his head. They ordered everyone to come out the car,” Kharmattie explained. She said the female family member told her that her husband also exited the car but the men ordered him to get back in and to drive them.

Kharmattie said that yesterday morning the police from Grove Police Station called and informed her that a car matching the description of her husband’s was found abandoned behind North Ruimveldt. She said the car was taken to East La Penitence Police Station, where she and her mother in-law later went to verify that it was her husband’s vehicle.

Worried for her husband’s safety, Kharmattie had appealed for help in locating him. Shivtahal’s family also took to social media and did the same.

Another prisoner recaptured.

July 11, 2017 Source

In late breaking news, Stabroek News learnt at press time this morning that a prisoner who was not earlier said to be among the escapees was captured on the West Demerara.

His name was given as Shamudeen Mohamed and his address as Tuschen, East Bank Essequibo. He and four others were charged in December last year with the murders of Good Hope rice farmers Mohamed and Jamilla Munir, who burnt to death after their house was set ablaze during a robbery attempt on April 17, last year.

According to reports, Mohamed was recaptured at his home and his mother was also arrested.

Shamudeen Mohamed

Another prisoner recaptured.

July 11, 2017 Source

In late breaking news, Stabroek News learnt at press time this morning that a prisoner who was not earlier said to be among the escapees was captured on the West Demerara.

His name was given as Shamudeen Mohamed and his address as Tuschen, East Bank Essequibo. He and four others were charged in December last year with the murders of Good Hope rice farmers Mohamed and Jamilla Munir, who burnt to death after their house was set ablaze during a robbery attempt on April 17, last year.

According to reports, Mohamed was recaptured at his home and his mother was also arrested.

Shamudeen Mohamed

I remember this

Amral
randolph posted:

The PNC are known for fires - in the 60's . Bun down GNTC and holla its the PPP and now them have the Brothers from the WPA who dem claimed bun down MOND. Hoyte slow fyah, mo fyah and now DAG Nuff Nuff fyah.

The strength of a niggro lies in a single match.

Jagdeo slams gov’t for prison unrest.

– praises security forces.

July 11, 2017 Source

– sympathises with family of slain officer

Opposition Leader Bharrat Jagdeo yesterday expressed condolences to the relatives of the now dead prison officer and commended the security forces for their work during Sunday’s horrific destruction of the Camp Street prison, but blasted the administration for what he described as an “outrageous spectacle of a bumbling inept, incompetent” government in full display.

In the statement, issued almost day after the fire which was set by prisoners who also shot and injured several prison officers, Jagdeo said that the service provided by the joint services attested to their commitment to law and order under dire situations.

“Their sacrifices must be contrasted with the unbelievable incompetence and lack of accountability displayed by those with political responsibility for security at the city jail and law and order in our country,” the Opposition Leader said.

Jagdeo, who was president when five notorious prisoners escaped the same prison and wreaked havoc throughout the country leaving many bodies in their wake, said that although there was paucity of accurate information in the public domain about Sunday’s event it was evidence that the government was inept.

He noted that the incident occurred just more than one year after a similar episode at the “identical location revealed for all, the lack of planning and contingency that prevailed under the Granger government’s watch.” He was referring to the March 2016 fire at the said prison which resulted in the deaths of 17 prisoners. President David Granger had set up a Commission of Inquiry (CoI) into that incident and according to Jagdeo the government is yet to indicate to the nation the recommendations that were accepted and implemented.

Though he claimed that the CoI was held in in secrecy, it was in fact open and there were many media reports on the testimonies given.

And while the report was not officially made public the media have reported on the recommendations extensively and government officials, including Public Security Minister Khemraj Ramjattan, have disclosed what recommendations were implemented.

“Conducting public policy in secrecy, in spite of public criticism, has now become a defining characteristic feature of this government,” Jagdeo claimed.

Meanwhile, the Opposition Leader said that his office recognizes the human rights of both the convicted and remand prisoners and reiterated that the state “bears full responsibility for the safety and wellbeing of those detained.”

He called for a full disclosure of Sunday’s incident and of all aspects of the identical tragedy, loss of lives and destruction of property that occurred there in March 2016.

“We urge all Guyanese to extend our full support to our security services as they restore law and order, the statement said. “All of those who are responsible for these tragic events including particularly the politicians must be held accountable.”

Granger announces post-jailbreak emergency plan.

The construction of secure temporary structures to accommodate displaced inmates of the razed Camp Street Prison is among the measures in an emergency plan agreed to by the National Security Committee (NSC), President David Granger announced to the nation last evening.

In a brief televised address, Granger outlined the four-point emergency plan agreed to by members of the NSC, which had met twice since the events of Sunday afternoon’s jailbreak.

The NSC received up to date reports on the death, destruction and displacement caused by the fire set by rioting prisoners.

Granger said that the agreed four-part emergency plan comprised the construction of temporary structures to safety and securely house prisoners in the short term and protect the population; the completion of recovery operation to account for and accommodate every single prisoner; implementation of legal measures to immediately reduce the prison population; and, importantly, the immediate recapture of the five inmates, who escaped custody.

President David Granger yesterday convened a second meeting of the National Security Council (NSC) following Sunday’s riot at the Camp Street Prison. Granger is flanked by Prime Minister Moses Nagamootoo and Minister of State Joseph Harmon. Also present are Commissioner of Police Seelall Persaud, Fire Chief Marlon Gentle, Deputy Head of the Guyana Defence Force Colonel Nazrul Hussain and Minister of Legal Affairs and Attorney General Basil Williams. (Ministry of the Presidency photo)

Granger told the nation that the Guyana Defence Force, the Guyana Police Force, the Guyana Prison Service and the Guyana Fire Service are working together to ensure public safety. “A manhunt is being executed, air and ground patrols are being conducted and vigilance has been heightened on roadway and at key points,” he stressed, while also lauding the security forces for their response and the ability to limit casualties.

He commended security forces for their resolute response to the emergency under difficult circumstances, containing the situation and limiting the loss of life. “They have been working around the clock,” he said while expressing condolences to the relatives of slain prison warden Odinga Wain Wickham, who was killed in the violent breakout.

The NSC, the President informed, will be meeting again and will continue to implement immediate measures to ensure that “the situation remains stable and secure and that there is a return to normalcy.”

Five prisoners are believed to be on the run after the escape. Three have been identified as convicted mass murderer Mark Royden Williams and murder suspects Uree Varswyk and Stafrei Hopkinson Alexander.

Commissioner of Police Seelall Persaud told reporters during a press conference on Sunday that from information gathered it is believed that Williams was the mastermind of the breakout.

CCTV footage in the prison shows what happened but it has not yet been fully analysed. Prison Director Gladwin Samuels revealed that Williams was seen along with Varswyk, while “one person had his face wrapped in some piece of cloth so from the CCTV footage he could not have been identified.”

Persaud believes that Williams orchestrated the ruckus at the prison with help from fellow inmates, simply because he “wanted his freedom” and would stop at nothing in getting it.

Fire service wasn’t prepared to fight prison blaze, terrified residents say.

Despite the lessons that should have been learned from last year’s deadly fire at the Camp Street prison, witnesses say both the Guyana Fire Service and Guyana Water Inc (GWI) were not prepared for the fire that devastated the jail on Sunday.

Residents in the area surrounding the prison told Stabroek News that the two fire tenders that showed up to battle the flames soon ran out of water and were unable to access any from the hydrant at the corners of John and Bent streets, since the water pressure was too low.

“It wasn’t until about 9.30 that GWI come and turn something on it and then they put on a hose and it start giving water,” one resident told Stabroek News.

Another resident reported offering the firemen access to her black tanks as the fire raged. A third resident pointed Stabroek News to an unmarked hydrant.

He explained that for years he has asked both the prison service and GWI to place a marker at the location, without success. The area remains covered by wooden slates.

The resident noted that after he had identified the area to the firemen, they were able to use the hydrant to assist in dousing the flames that had already consumed the building.

On Sunday, inmates of the prison set at least four fires as a means to facilitate their escape from lawful custody. Stabroek News has reported that the first fire began just after 3 pm and by 8 pm all the wooden buildings had been razed.

Arriving on the scene at 4.15 pm, Stabroek News was there when the first two fire tenders arrived at just about 5.30 pm and attempted to douse the flames, which were emanating from the south western corner of the compound. Shortly after, the entire building burst into flames.  Warning shots from the police officers guarding the jail’s perimeter filled the air and the two fire tenders rushed to the south side of the jail in a bid to contain the fire.

‘We coulda dead’

These shots were the second set to ring out, and residents living in the area were at this point traumatised. They noted that the proximity of the prison has always made them feel unsafe but Sunday’s fire and riot solidified their belief that the centre of a residential area is no place for criminals to be housed.

“It really isn’t safe for us with the prison being here because look we coulda dead… They coulda run over here and invade us or hold us hostage or something,” one woman who resides in Bent Street lamented.

“When they started, there were no police around,” she said, adding, “the gunshots were terrible… I didn’t take it for nothing at first ’cause I thought it was squibs then we hear it again and I went to the bedroom window I saw a plain clothes person with a gun in his hand and then the police that was guarding here move back the barrier and start shoot.”

She added that “when I came down to the front here, I saw a smaller building where they does use to pray smoking and myself and some other neighbours from the barbershop were looking on and they say fire, fire, yuh in see the place smoking officer and I pick up my grandchildren, open the back door and run out and went in by some neighbours and we de still hear the gunshots and shouts of fire.”

Though she evacuated the building, the woman said she kept a watchful eye since she wasn’t sure whether or not her home would be affected by the blaze.

“What happen was that they had a fire at the other end first and the fire reel came and like they didn’t have water and I throw water on we building and then my sisters came and then my sons… till late last night [Sunday] we come back. The fire reel was there and the place was burning. They couldn’t get it [the hydrant] open. My sister even ask them if they want the tank water to help and it was so chaotic. In the midst of the fire you hearing gunshots. We saw a lot of prisoners up in the tower with their heads tie up and I was very scared to come out and scared for my grandchildren ’cause I frighten they shoot at us you know,” the woman said.

“I want it moved… Me ain’ want this jail here anymore because this is the second time something like this happened. I’d be glad if it could move because it really affecting us. Look we can’t even do business around here, we can’t do nothing and it’s scary. If it could move, it would be good, it’s really not safe for us,” she lamented.

One of the woman’s neighbours told Stabroek News that she was forced to take desperate measures in order to evacuate her home and avoid both the bullets and the heat of the flames.

She said she was lying down when she started hearing what she assumed were gunshots but did not pay attention. It was not until the shooting intensified and the neighbours in the yard raised an alarm that she realised what was taking place.

“My landlord turn and seh we got to evacuate and so we go through the alleyway because we couldn’t come out from the front because the shots were coming from all over. But before we left we start hearing the pelting and I see one of them trying to jump from the top. We even hear some of the prisoners hollering how they getting burn. I’m new in the area, so I only know of one entrance to my place. That was right were the bullets were coming from pow, pow, like squib. Thankfully, my neighbour knew about an alleyway and he show us,” she said.

The woman added that even with their shortcomings, the fire spread too fast for the fire service to contain.

“They didn’t even get to calm the fire because it just blaze right through; when here start to blaze fully, then it start on the other side ’cause like they start fires at different places all at one time,” she said.

Displaced

Like her neighbour, the woman remained resolute in her belief that the area was no place to house such a facility.

“I was still on the road minutes to 12 and when I asked if I can go back and they said only who living here could proceed so I went in back, but when I got in the yard I see the other tenants out on the road and they say that the police put them out,” the woman said.

“I went by the gate and went and call and they tell me I can’t sleep in here. They tell me just get what I want and leave the place…. yuh can’t sleep in there. So, I ask them where am I going to sleep, you can’t just evacuate and don’t have anywhere to put us and he said that’s their orders. I had to call a cousin and go by her.”

Another resident who spoke to Stabroek News complained about being verbally harassed by inmates of the prison while carrying out tasks in his yard. “You see them they would usually disrespect people. Since I in school I hear the jail supposed to move and up to now it can’t move but I feel is high time that they move it. This here is a disgrace. This place make nuff businesses close down because they got the road blocked off; when you come in here night time, they asking you where you living or where you going. Last time I try come through here to come home, they tell me I can’t pass,” the man lamented.

Giving his account of what happened, the man said, “When I get up at minutes after 4, I hear somebody shouting, ‘Fire! Fire!’ And I look and see fire at the back deh and fire in the middle plus I start hearing gunshots in there. Fire tenders didn’t come till almost an hour later and number two the water pressure… they had water but the water run out.”

It was this resident who told Stabroek News about the second hydrant.

“You know is when they know about the fire hydrant there? Last night, when I told them about it… GWI had to come and clear it with a key… they didn’t know it was there. They say is only one hydrant they got but I keep telling them that there was another one there. You know how much times I ask them to come and put a pole and come and clean it out but is only last night they come and find it. They say they will come and put a pole there but up to now they ain’ come… they ain’t servicing nothing,” he lamented.

Another individual speaking with Stabroek News from a Camp Street business claimed to have seen men who he assumed to be prison escapees running along Camp Street before hijacking a car at the corner of Hadfield Street and driving off.

He could not, however, offer a description of the men or the vehicle they reportedly hijacked, since he was more focused on securing his business place.

“I wasn’t really paying attention. After that firefighters came and were trying to stop the fire and they actually seemed like they were doing a good job but like half an hour after the building was already fully flamed,” he said. (By Thandeka Percival and Mariah Lall)

View of the burnt out Camp St. Prison

The unmarked Fire Hydrant on Bent Street

One of the homes on Durban St affected by fire.

Police issue wanted bulletins for 4 Camp Street inmates, withdraw one

– road blocks, other measures in place to assist in recapture.

July 11, 2017 Source

The police yesterday issued wanted bulletins for two other inmates believed to have escaped on Sunday afternoon during the Camp Street prison unrest, but last night withdrew one of the names stating that the prisoner had been accounted for.

Meanwhile, Crime Chief Wendell Blanhum has said that several measures have been put in place to recapture the escapees, who may now be four in number.

This development came less than one day after the police confirmed via wanted bulletins that Mark Royden Williams and Uree Varswyk were two of the escapees. Two others had been identified yesterday by the police as Stafrei Hopkinson Alexander and Sherwin Nero also known as Sherwin Moses called “Catty”.

However, hours after the release of these two bulletins yesterday, Public Relations Officer of the Guyana Police Force Jairam Ramlakhan related last evening that Nero had been positively identified and accounted for by a senior prison official.

At the time of their escape, the prisoners were said to be armed.

When contacted yesterday, Blanhum informed Stabroek News that several measures including the establishment of countrywide roadblocks had been put in place in an effort to recapture the prisoners.

He said that apart from the roadblocks, the police have been working along with intelligence operatives. He also said that they have informed their overseas counterparts including the neighbouring countries to be on the alert.

Additionally, he said, several searches were conducted in various communities.

Stabroek News understands that following their escape, the inmates hijacked a car which was later found at North Ruimveldt. The driver of the car had not been located up to last evening. (See story on page 13)

Meanwhile, police reported the arrest of another inmate, Shawn Collins, 20, of Ketley and Drysdale streets, Charlestown around 1.15 am yesterday.

Collins reportedly slipped through the cordon on Sunday evening. He was spotted by the police on patrol duty at Hadfield Street and was promptly apprehended.

Other information reaching this newspaper was that inmate Dennis Williams called ‘Anaconda’ may have assisted with the escape plan. As such, he is expected to be questioned by the police today.

Up to late yesterday afternoon, officials from the prison service were conducting head counts to determine if all of the over 1,000 inmates who were housed at the Camp Street jail had been accounted for.

Escapees

According to information retrieved from the Stabroek News archives, Williams had previously attempted to escape lawful custody while Alexander had escaped and was later recaptured.

In a press release, the police confirmed yesterday afternoon that Alexander, 32, was wanted for questioning in relation to murder and escape from lawful custody (Georgetown Prison).

Alexander, also known as “Anthony Williams” and “Ratty,” whose last known address was Laing Avenue, Georgetown was on remand for the murders of Linden businesswoman Shevon Gordon in April 2015; Richard Remington between February 9 and February 12, 2015, at Cholmondeley Hill, Wismar, Linden and his co-accused in the murder of Gordon, Robin Maxwell Thomas.

Alexander had escaped from the Mackenzie Police Station in December 2015 while on remand for the murder of Gordon. He was recaptured and charged with the two other murders.

Mark Royden Williams, called `Smallie,’ of Friendship/Buxton, East Coast Demerara (ECD) and Dennis Williams called `Anaconda,’ were both convicted on the lesser count of manslaughter on charges stemming from an attack at Bartica in which gunmen had killed 12 persons.

Varswyk of Lot 30 Church Street, Zeskenderen, Mahaicony, ECD was recently committed to stand trial for murder. He is accused of being involved in the murders of Guyana Geology and Mines Commission engineer Trevor Abrams and security guard Wilfred Stewart during a raid at the Sterling Products Limited (SPL) offices at Providence in 2014. He was committed to stand trial for the murder of Abrams on June 30 this year and in November 2016 for the murder of Stewart.

Anyone with information that may lead to the arrests of these inmates are asked to contact the police on telephone numbers 225-6411, 226-1389, 227-2128, 226-7065, 225-2227, 225-0575, 911 or the nearest police station.

GHRA praises Joint Services for near miraculous relocation of Camp St prisoners.

July 11, 2017 Source

The Guyana Human Rights Association (GHRA) yesterday said that the Joint Services’ ability to relocate just over 1,000 prisoners following Sunday’s destruction of the Camp Street Prison bordered on the “miraculous” and was deserving of praise.

In a statement issued yesterday, the GHRA said that judging from their performance on Sunday night, lessons have been learned by the Guyana Prison Service (GPS) and the Joint Services from last year’s fire, in which 17 prisoners perished.

It also called for a quick assessment of other aspects of the tragedy.

Fire was set at various points by rioting prisoners on Sunday and several of them managed to escape.

The GHRA yesterday stated that while a final accounting for all prisoners awaits a search of the cooling-off compound, the Prison Service staff and Joint Services who worked with them along with inmates deserve the highest commendation.

Police officers yesterday morning keeping persons from venturing near the Lusignan Prison compound where the inmates from the burnt out Camp Street Prison are being temporarily housed.

This commendation, the statement said, is additionally merited, in the light of the provocation of the Prison Officers’ Club being set alight, allegedly by some  inmates being held there as a temporary measure.

“The spotlight needs to move fairly quickly to an assessment of other aspects of this tragedy,” the GHRA said.

It said the prison population as of Sunday, according to Prison Director (ag) Gladwin Samuels, stood at 1,018 in a prison built originally to accommodate 300 to 400 inmates.

While noting that the prison has to take all who are sent by the courts, the GHRA highlighted that a central complaint leading to last year’s fire came from remand prisoners, who usually spend long periods awaiting trial.

It said the Commission of Inquiry report after last year’s fire pointed out that refusal of bail in bailable cases, inability by prisoners to pay bail, a dearth of magistrates, slowness of the high courts, and lack of alternative sentences and absence of a sentencing policy leading to bizarre discrepancies in sentences were causes of overcrowding, which one way or another fall within the purview of the administration of justice.

“Following a temporary introduction of night courts and appeals to magistrates to use their common sense and be evenhanded in bail matters, overcrowding has assumed a lower profile. An initiative to develop alternative penalties has reportedly been developed but its effects are not yet evident in the courts,” the statement said.

It was noted that equally disturbing was the lack of sustained interest from the legal profession in bringing pressure to keep prison reform front and centre in the public concern.

Similarly, it added that the Parole Board, the other key institution nominally responsible for the welfare and safety of prisoners, has powers to ensure that time spent productively while in prison will result in positive and timely recommendations for parole. “It is the safety valve all prisons require to incentivize good behaviour.

More attention to the role of the Guyana Parole Board is needed to ensure public accountability and greater vitality,” GHRA stressed. “By contrast, the GPS has shown imagination and leadership on overcrowding by rewarding prisoners who work without compensation in the prisons,” it stated.

According to the release, Samuels is reported as stating that as a form of compensation, the prisoners receive reduced time on their sentences. “Last year a total of 8,743 days were taken off from the sentences.

In the past, it was seven to 28 days, but this time we started from 14 to 21, to 28 days….many of them are well behaved and go beyond the call of duty of what is required,” he was quoted as saying, while noting that some 486 prisoners have benefited from the scheme to date.

Magistracy moves to release prisoners remanded for petty crimes, some drug offences.

In the aftermath of the devastation of the Camp Street prison, which left authorities scrambling to accommodate the roughly 1,000 inmates who had been housed there, the magistracy yesterday moved to release some prisoners being held for petty crimes.

Up to yesterday, many of the prisoners were still being held near the Lusignan Prison, where magistrates were sent to grant self-bail to those remanded for a range of petty crime. They were also to reduce or review bail for some who were remanded over possession of certain amounts of narcotics as well as other crimes.

Many of the city courts were unable to proceed with the cases of remanded prisoners yesterday due to their displacement in the aftermath of the prison’s destruction. As a result, these cases were adjourned.

However, city magistrates Leron Daly, Annette Singh and Allan Wilson as well as East Coast magistrates Peter Hugh and Zamillia Ally Seepaul were all escorted to the Lusignan facility.

Stabroek News was told that the magistrates were directed to grant self-bail for larceny-type offences, frauds, embezzlement, perjury, obtaining money, uttering forged documents, threatening language, damage to property, dangerous driving, smoking drugs, having utensils for smoking drugs, possession of cannabis below 50 grammes and possession of cocaine below 25 grammes.

This newspaper was also told that magistrates were directed to consider a bail reduction or a review in cases where the individual was charged with having between 51 grammes and 1 kilog of cannabis, 26 grammes and 1 kilog of cocaine, carnal knowledge (with conditions), and unlawful wounding (with conditions).

Magistrates are also expected to review or deny bail to persons charged with robberies, break and enter and larceny, possession of firearms and ammunition, and possession of narcotics above one kilogramme.

The PNC will put the country in a state of emergency and apply military rule. This was all a set up to free the Black Freedom Fighters. Many small criminals are still missing, but that was the plan. Now they can beg foreign countries for financial grant to build new prisons, many countries will be willing to give in return for oil contracts in the future, at the said time prison money will be squandered.