I never knew such a thing existed. That must be a huge crowd of twelve portuguese he spoke to. I have to go back there and erect a statue of a banna holding a piece of gyalic poke but make sure it is made with the strength of Cuffy's and not the one that recently took a dive

Dem boys musse cut corners and used cow poop instead of cement.

My experience with Guyanese of Portuguese descent is that they are mostly PNC supporters and identify with Blacks more than Indians. Cain is a prime example, he goes around using the C word loosly while the N word is not part of his vocabulary. History shows that they were always an uppity people, looking down on people of color despite coming from poverty themselves.

The Portuguese labourers rarely remained on the sugar plantations after they completed their period of indenture. Generally, they found it physically difficult to carry out the tough tasks in the sugar cane fields. But they were also influenced by the popular opinion that working in the sugar cane fields was akin to slavery. In addition, they felt uncomfortable working alongside Blacks and Indians, ethnic groups that Whites regarded as socially inferior. They, being White, also felt it was below their dignity to associate themselves with such a menial position in the colonial society. Many of the planters, themselves Whites, also were in an uncomfortable position of ordering people of their own ethnic group to do strenuous field work

http://www.guyana.org/features...story/chapter47.html

My lifelong experience with Portuguese has been 99.9 percent positive. Only one person accounts for my 0.1 percent negative experience, namely Gail Teixeira. Incidentally, one of Cain's cousins is my friend from the early 1960s when we were classmates at Central High School. Thanks to Cain, we were able to reconnect in Canada. From the 1960s to the mid-1990s I enjoyed the acquaintances and friendship of a fair number of Portuguese. We visited each other's home in Guyana for social interactions. 

There was a Portuguese lady, Aunty Rano, going around my village with a huge basket of fowls and eggs on her head, which she was buying and selling. One day she went to a guy's house and yelled loudly 'Jatan, you kak (fowl cock) dead.'  Biggest joke whenever villagers meet up.

While living in NYC we socialized with a wonderful family - the McLeans from ECD - an older Portuguese guy married to an Indo-Guyanese and produced several good-looking children. 

My lifelong experience with Portuguese has been 99.9 percent positive. Only one person accounts for my 0.1 percent negative experience, namely Gail Teixeira. Incidentally, one of Cain's cousins is my friend from the early 1960s when we were classmates at Central High School. Thanks to Cain, we were able to reconnect in Canada. From the 1960s to the mid-1990s I enjoyed the acquaintances and friendship of a fair number of Portuguese. We visited each other's home in Guyana for social interactions. 

As long as you knew your place, these folks are cordial. When you step out of line and acted as their equal, that is when the fangs come out to put you back in your place. Look how you tolerate cain's denegration of Indians by his continous use of the C word as indicated by yugii.

Nothing racial there...nothing like "another bright coolie PPP bright boy...bla bla bla...nor did I read " Can the Coolie President justify bla bla bla

Even I, the humble ever so graceful and full of sweetness Sir Cain would be pissed at that

I thought the 0.1 negative experience was Peter D'Aguiar!!  The man who got conned by the PNC.

There was a Portuguese lady, Aunty Rano, going around my village with a huge basket of fowls and eggs on her head, which she was buying and selling. One day she went to a guy's house and yelled loudly 'Jatan, you kak (fowl cock) dead.'  Biggest joke whenever villagers meet up.

While living in NYC we socialized with a wonderful family - the McLeans from ECD - an older Portuguese guy married to an Indo-Guyanese and produced several good-looking children. 

Dad had a good friend from Leonora or thereabout. If I remember correctly, the house was on your left as you came around a right turn on the public road which then had a left turn short distance after. A butcher named Haroun. Had a big family. Wonder if they're still around?

As long as you knew your place, these folks are cordial. When you step out of line and acted as their equal, that is when the fangs come out to put you back in your place. Look how you tolerate cain's denegration of Indians by his continous use of the C word as indicated by yugii.

Nothing racial there...nothing like "another bright coolie PPP bright boy...bla bla bla...nor did I read " Can the Coolie President justify bla bla bla

Even I, the humble ever so graceful and full of sweetness Sir Cain would be pissed at that

Notice well..I have the utmost respect for most posters regardless the colour of their skin and I never use harsh words in any of my posts to them. It is only the morons who see colour in all they do I have a problem with. Furthermore, if we had Portuguese posters who were as filthy minded as some of u porters here..I would cuss their rass as well.

I thought the 0.1 negative experience was Peter D'Aguiar!!  The man who got conned by the PNC.

D'Augiar was a little bit like Jagdeo, no respect for Indians. Jagdeo uses them and D'Augiar felt they were not worthy to be decision makers. A contemptable Putagee razz. 

Bibi Haniffa posted: I thought the 0.1 negative experience was Peter D'Aguiar!!  The man who got conned by the PNC.

Bibi, politics is politics and opposing politicians play their respective roles on their political stage accordingly. Personally, Peter D'Aguiar was a charming man like Cheddi Jagan. A gentleman. I saw him in person a few times, the last time being outside his Banks DIH Liquor Outlet on Brickdam. He was about to enter his car with a tennis racket and short tennis pants. Our eyes met and he smiled nicely. We never spoke to each other. He died one month later.

Another memory: In August 1972 Cheddi Jagan drove myself, his daughter Nadira and her boyfriend to visit Accabre College at Land of Canaan, East Bank Demerara. When we returned to Georgetown, to my surprise Dr Jagan parked his car outside D'Aguiar's DEMICO HOUSE and invited us inside for ice cream. That was only 8 years after D'Aguiar & Burnham had removed Jagan from office. Only 8 years after Jagan was urging PPP supporters countrywide to boycott D'Aguiar's PepsiCola and I-Cee soft drinks. If Jagan had regarded D'Aguiar as a demon at a human level, I don't think he would have bought D'Aguiar's ice cream at all.

Politics is politics. D'Aguiar was a humane Portuguese who treated all his employees well, regardless of race. I knew a few Banks DIH workers personally; they would never have traded their jobs to work at Freedom House or Congress Place. Ken DeAbreau, DEMICO Manager, had a son who was a beer-drinking buddy of mine. He told me some nice things about D'Aguiar.

D'Augiar was a little bit like Jagdeo, no respect for Indians. Jagdeo uses them and D'Augiar felt they were not worthy to be decision makers. A contemptable Putagee razz. 

What the skunk you know about D'Augiar? You want me cuss yo rass too nuh you ole racist you..D2 was right bout you. 

Notice well..I have the utmost respect for most posters regardless the colour of their skin and I never use harsh words in any of my posts to them. It is only the morons who see colour in all they do I have a problem with. Furthermore, if we had Portuguese posters who were as filthy minded as some of u porters here..I would cuss their rass as well.

Nonsense you are racist against Indians. A simple search of your nick and the derogatory word coolie will verify this. It is too late to take this one back, the cat is out of the bag. 

Your cat perhaps.

Like you stealing DG's patented word or what?  Meanwhile you will pay for your ill will and disrespect towards Indo Guyanese with your continued dismissive use of the C word.  It seems that the PNC slop can crew got your back on this one as gilly, djangy, gt and others condone your actions.

Your cat perhaps.

It seems that the PNC slop can crew got your back on this one as gilly, djangy, gt and others condone your actions.

There are good coolies and there are ungood coolies. Cain likes coolie Gilly but dislikes ungilly coolies. Plain and simple.

Yeah!! I love black people too.

Your cat perhaps.

It seems that the PNC slop can crew got your back on this one as gilly, djangy, gt and others condone your actions.

There are good coolies and there are ungood coolies. Cain likes coolie Gilly but dislikes ungilly coolies. Plain and simple.

But Gilly even thought infatuated with cain and other portuguese, should not allow this infatuation to cloud his judgement by giving these racists a free pass at denigrating Indians with derogatory comments.  

Nonsense you are racist against Indians. A simple search of your nick and the derogatory word coolie will verify this. It is too late to take this one back, the cat is out of the bag. 

Con***ius say, Letting Cat out of bag much easier than putting Cat back in.

I never knew such a thing existed. That must be a huge crowd of twelve portuguese he spoke to. I have to go back there and erect a statue of a banna holding a piece of gyalic poke but make sure it is made with the strength of Cuffy's and not the one that recently took a dive

I was in Funchal. With women like those living there I would never leave. I also like their basket sleds. They skate down hills in them. I think you need to claim original people status and go back. I think if you are third generation Portuguese you can reclaim status.

What the skunk you know about D'Augiar? You want me cuss yo rass too nuh you ole racist you..D2 was right bout you. 

When a man tells you who he is...believe him. He said he was a racist, segregationist, skunk. Believe him.

I was in Funchal. With women like those living there I would never leave. I also like their basket sleds. They skate down hills in them. I think you need to claim original people status and go back. I think if you are third generation Portuguese you can reclaim status.

Saw that on Bizarre Foods......

Do they eat funny stuff? That is a fish and wine culture from what I saw.

From what I remember, nothing funny or weird which is kind of strange for his show. Beautiful place though and as mentioned before, gorgeous women.