Originally Posted by TI:

Calling a man a great leader who ran a country into the ground, created a situation where children did not know what bread and butter looked like, responsible for food lines circling around the block.....hahaha, Guyanese like suffering! 

Plant a seed...fill a need

We used to see lines and join them. Not even knowing what was being sold of if there would be any left when we make it to the top of the line. Every fricking thing was a nightmare. You run out of gas on a Friday afternoon, you had to wait till Monday and hope that the gas station had electricity to sell their gas. That is if they even had gas. Hail the great Kabaka.

And while we would like the passage of time to allow us to forget about his nonsense, we can't because that monstrosity that he created is a stumbling block to the proper and fair governance of the Guyanese nation. Alas, he thought he would live forever so he made himself President for life. He couldn't make it through a customary 5 years parliament term.

Originally Posted by ksazma:

And while we would like the passage of time to allow us to forget about his nonsense, we can't because that monstrosity that he created is a stumbling block to the proper and fair governance of the Guyanese nation. Alas, he thought he would live forever so he made himself President for life. He couldn't make it through a customary 5 years parliament term.

And Jagan and the PPP did nothing to change the Burnham constitution.

Jagan is on record saying nothing is wrong with that constitution. Bariian washed idiots like Chruchill and Nagamootot stiil cannot come to thier senses to say that Jagan was a no good .

Not true. Jagan for the most part had no voice in parliament. I lost count how many times he was tossed out of parliament and barred from attending by the Speaker. My guess is that the few times that Burnham graces allowed him to be present, he had to pick and choose what he will be addressing or maybe Burnham decided for him. For the last decade before Burnham died, Jagan was kicked around like a football. Sase Naraine should have no trouble remembering how many times he kicked jagan out of parliament.   

Kaz,

After Jagoan got elected as President he visited NY and at the Sheraton Hotel he was asked bya journalist from WLIB about the Burnham constittion and he sais " NOTHING IS WRONG WITH THAT CONSTITUTION".

gniERS SUCH AS cHRUCHILL WAS PRESENT .

And that is why I am bemoaning it today. Jagan prior to becoming president wanted that constitution dead, then he became president and thought nothing was wrong with it. The Alliance are saying that they will amend it but I got a feeing that they will not if they win. Jagan was a very simple man who live very simple in his very simple house in Bel-Air. One would have thought that he had the people on his side after 1992 to get rid of that monstrosity but he didn't. Was he prioritizing and death came before he did one would never know. What we do know is that it badly need to be burnt but I don't have any confidence that any of the power hungry people of Guyana care to burn it no matter how much they pontificate.

Kaz,

After Jagoan got elected as President he visited NY and at the Sheraton Hotel he was asked bya journalist from WLIB about the Burnham constittion and he sais " NOTHING IS WRONG WITH THAT CONSTITUTION".

That's True.....Jagan said he will never use that Constitution against the Guyanese People.

But we guess he was not Speaking for Jagdeo & Ramotar or the PPP.

The Good thing is Both AFC & APNU are making this a Campaign Promise to change the constitution....the first thing when they get in office.

They have seen how far Jagdeo & Ramotar can stretch the constitution to hold on to power illegally.

Kaz,

That's True.....Jagan said he will never use that Constitution against the Guyanese People.

But we guess he was not Speaking for Jagdeo & Ramotar or the PPP.

The Good thing is Both AFC & APNU are making this a Campaign Promise to change the constitution....the first thing when they get in office.

They have seen how far Jagdeo & Ramotar can stretch the constitution to hold on to power illegally.

Why do you think they will not see how they can stretch it to hold on to power also.

Mr. Satan has an interesting notion of legitimacy.

If you use the army to continuously steal people's votes and impose yourself as the all supreme dictator, that's legitimate.

I have seen black soldiers jumped off the GDF truck and stomped on bread being sold by black vendors at Bourda Market.

I have waited for hours in kerosene line at Regent Street and when you get up close to the pump, black men go in front of you and the pump man says nothing and you can't say anything to the terrorists.  That was the Burnham era.  Not to mention that you join the line for many hours, and when you get close, the kero is finished.

Originally Posted by Jay Bharrat:

If you use the army to continuously steal people's votes and impose yourself as the all supreme dictator, that's legitimate.

I have seen black soldiers jumped off the GDF truck and stomped on bread being sold by black vendors at Bourda Market.

I have waited for hours in kerosene line at Regent Street and when you get up close to the pump, black men go in front of you and the pump man says nothing and you can't say anything to the terrorists.  That was the Burnham era.  Not to mention that you join the line for many hours, and when you get close, the kero is finished.

Those are statements that can be verified. My mom and father talk about the bullying experiences in lines on numerous occasions. Yes the army was part of the system of party paramountcy. However, that same PNC under Hoyte ordered the army to stay away from politics.

Jay,I too was one of those who joined the line back in those days. for both bread and kero.However I would like to point one thing out. You claimed that the black terrorists would cut in  line and neither you or the pump attendant could say anything. two things. they were not black terrorists; just black guys. and secondly, they went in front of you because you let them.
Many people tried to cut the line with me but I didn't allow that. I held my ground. But some of you guys are so afraid of black people that's it boggles the mind. people will be people. If you allow them to take advantage of you, they will. regardless of race, color or creed.  Stop scaring yourself.
I do agree with you about GDF soldiers stomping on bread. this I've seen.
The board is awash with the idea that should the APNU win this election, it's back to the bread line. I don't believe this. Times have changed. It ain't happening. But it's a good political ploy though. However, it won't work.

I kno the daag, you kno the saag, all ah we kno the Daag!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Dat daag loved you. Cared for you, and tried to nurture you by way of the GNS. But you were too stubborn. So your were made to leave where he knew you would be successful. And he was rite. So you should lite two agarbatti and some camphor and ouchay de man picture as a form of gratitude.

My mother-in-law used to sell at the Bourda Market.  Several times, the black boys would steal her things and run.  When they are caught, the black people would surround you and say, "loose the boy, loose the boy," and you have to let go.

The way I used to get my cooking gas was through a black brother from the Church, Bro. Wayne. At that time you could not just walk in a store and get gas. Bro. Wayne was a Burnham presidential guard, and he felt sorry for us because 3 had children. He knew how to get gas.

That was Burnhamism.  Under Grangerism, I do not believe it will be like that, that's why I support the Coalition.  Granger is a moderate, and folks tell me he is a decent fellow.

I was giving those examples to show how Burnham was an illegitimate dictator and his reign spawned a culture of wickedness.

Looking at Mr. Burnham in his state owned cars, state owned airplanes, state owned houses and on his state owned horses it is hard to believe that he was poor.  In reality he was a poor man.  He did not own a home in Georgetown and I don't think he owned a proper car. I think the only thing he really owned was may be a bankrupt farm with some land that he bought out of bankruptcy. 

Originally Posted by Wally:

Looking at Mr. Burnham in his state owned cars, state owned airplanes, state owned houses and on his state owned horses it is hard to believe that he was poor.  In reality he was a poor man.  He did not own a home in Georgetown and I don't think he owned a proper car. I think the only thing he really owned was may be a bankrupt farm with some land that he bought out of bankruptcy. 

He also owned a bankrupt Guyana.   At least one would think he thought so.

Chief we do not agree on political issues but that is no excuse for going around calling folks idiots......I do not go around telling people about your basement mentality.....

"The way I used to get my cooking gas was through a black brother from the Church, Bro. Wayne. At that time you could not just walk in a store and get gas. Bro. Wayne was a Burnham presidential guard, and he felt sorry for us because 3 had children. He knew how to get gas."

I understand and hear you. I was a frequent visitor to bourda market, since I live at the corner of D'urban and Lime st. straight up the road from orange walk. Still do. But I wish to reiterate. There will be no bullshit like the days of old. The opposition knows this. They're probaly reading this rite now.
Now I see you mentioned a presidential guard named wayne. Is this wayne johnson who is related to the padmores. They had a big operation in bourda market. His younger brother "mad mark" was Burnham's godson.

Burnham's wife had to sell the land behind the gardens to make ends meet. Their Belfield House was sold and is a car dealership now. The PPP had said Burnham was listed as the 3rd richest man in the world by some magazine.

Actually, it was not the PPP that said so, but the PPP stayed silent conveniently while the false rumour was making its round.

I enjoyed a reasonably close comradely relationship with Janet Jagan at that time [1974] and I asked her to lend me her copy of the Ebony magazine. She giggled her girlish giggle and told me Ebony never published that Burnham was one of the world's richest men.

If Burnham were really rich, his children would have inherited his wealth and they would be living in luxury today. But that is not so. Check out the Facebook pages of Melanie and Ulele Burnham and you will see what I mean.

Burnham's wife had to sell the land behind the gardens to make ends meet. Their Belfield House was sold and is a car dealership now. The PPP had said Burnham was listed as the 3rd richest man in the world by some magazine.

Burnham never sold his wife the land behind the gardens when he was Prime Minister or President.  He leased her the land.  I think it was the Jagans or Hoyte that may have given her permission to buy the land at a reduced cost after seeing her situation.  Bookman probably knows more about this.

The Belfield house and land was a rental that Burnham was renting monthly.

Not true. Jagan for the most part had no voice in parliament. I lost count how many times he was tossed out of parliament and barred from attending by the Speaker. My guess is that the few times that Burnham graces allowed him to be present, he had to pick and choose what he will be addressing or maybe Burnham decided for him. For the last decade before Burnham died, Jagan was kicked around like a football. Sase Naraine should have no trouble remembering how many times he kicked jagan out of parliament.   

Mr. Jagan was also a fight up man in parliament.  Law books and water bottles were known to be found on the floor. 

Originally Posted by Wally:

Mr. Jagan was also a fight up man in parliament.  Law books and water bottles were known to be found on the floor. 

Don't forget the Speaker's mace. Jagan picked it up and was going to throw it out the window. Burnham said: "Throw, boy. You're going after it." Jagan meekly put the mace back where it belonged.

Originally Posted by Sheik101:

I kno the daag, you kno the saag, all ah we kno the Daag!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Dat daag loved you. Cared for you, and tried to nurture you by way of the GNS. But you were too stubborn. So your were made to leave where he knew you would be successful. And he was rite. So you should lite two agarbatti and some camphor and ouchay de man picture as a form of gratitude.

Al YUh GT People gat to kiss his dead ass forever. He should come back and rule Al YUh Lazy, backward FOOLS!!!

Kaz,

It may not be the whole Constitution bad and then again the interpretation and use of the Constitution is vital A caring PPP will use the Constitution to benefit the Guyanese People. So Jagan was not only SMART but light years ahead of his colleagues.