Tourism industry poised to take off - Minister Ali - at launch of initiative titled ‘ Rediscover Home”

Georgetown, GINA, January 26, 2012
Source - GINA

The package being offered for Festival of Colours

Minister of Housing and Water Irfaan Ali, acting in the capacity of Minister of Tourism, Industry and Commerce, on Wednesday at the Ministry of Housing launched the first of a series of tourism packages to be unleashed under the ‘Rediscover Home’ Tourism Initiative.

The package which is titled; “Festival of Colours” will see a range of tourism based activities being centred around Guyana’s Holi/ Phagwah festival from March 2 - 9, 2012.

“To ensure Guyana’s tourism product is enhanced, marketed and successful at the end of the day, the first pilot package has been established with the kind collaboration/cooperation of the Dharmic Sabha…we said that we are going to create packages around Guyana’s culture/heritage…the first culture that would form the pilot package is Holi or Phagwah,” Minister Ali said.

Minister Ali also said that this event would form part of the Tourism Sector’s over-arching motto for 2012 which is ‘Rediscover Home’.

“The motto indicates what we are doing…we are targeting overseas based Guyanese directly, to come home to rediscover and enjoy the cultural activities in their home…towards this end, there will be a package available for the week- long activities…this package would see a return airfare on the Caribbean Airlines from New York to Guyana being priced at US$580 tax inclusive, which is a seven nights and eight days package, and hotels offering as low as US$45 to US$116 VAT and breakfast inclusive…which are rates that are remarkable for visitors who buy into the package and be part of the week - long celebrations…a number of nature tours would ultimately form part of the package,” Minister Ali said.

Minister of Tourism, Industry and Commerce (ag) Irfaan Ali, Director of the Guyana Tourism Authority, Indranauth Haralsingh and Dr. Vindhya Persaud of the Dharmic Sabha at the launching of ‘Festival of Colours’

Minister Ali said that with the packaging of activities around the rich Guyanese culture, this will see the country’s tourism product/industry being propelled, coupled with the fact that representations are being made by Hollywood for Guyana to be the host country for the production of a movie in 2012.

Director of the Guyana Tourism Authority, Indranauth Haralsingh said “there is a need for more packaging of our culture as it will catapult the tourism sector”.

Haralsingh also said that the month of March was targeted not only because of Phagwah but also because it is the season where there isn’t a lot of travelling, therefore an activity of this nature will aid the tourism sector’s objective or surpassing the tourist arrival figure for 2011.

Dr. Vindhya Persaud of the Dharmic Sabha said that organsation is pleased to be a part of the activities which will further aid in the development of the country. Towards this end, the Sabha has made representation to have a few of the Indian Soap Opera stars to be a part of some of the slated activities, thereby boosting the hype of the week-long event.

Minister of Tourism, Industry and Commerce (ag) Irfaan Ali, flanked by some of the stakeholders of the pilot project, Festival of Colours

Caribbean Airlines, Manager, South America, Carl Stuart along with other tourism industry stakeholders all expressed their contentment with being associated with the activity.

The Ministry of Tourism, Industry and Commerce along with other stakeholders are aggressively pursuing their objective of transforming Guyana into the Caribbean’s number tourist destination as they are of the belief that the country’s rich heritage will boost the tourism product.

With the advent of the pursuit of this objective, regional and international persons, businesses, organisations, tourists and wilderness explorers are coming to discover the tourism opportunities that Guyana has to offer.

As recent as Wednesday, a team from the History channel arrived in Guyana with the intention of shooting and capturing some of the country’s most untouched and pristine areas following in the steps of reputable worldwide companies such as the British Broadcasting Corporation (BBC).

Wonderful!

I would love to go but between Mar7 and Mar9 Iman supposed to be doing lotsa stuff. One day is a Sunday and I suppose to go to church, I been promisin my MIL for donkey years that I'll go an check it out, so Mar is the month I plan on startin.
Another day in that week I gotta re-arrange my socks drawer it's getting a tad messy. On a couple of mornings, a couple buddies stoppin by, we plan on checkin' out The Price is Right.
So, is like I got nuff tings plan and I lil busy but I hope things work out.
Originally posted by Ramakant_p:
It's too late for this year. All flights are booked and not enough going to Guyana.

Too late ma rass, alyuh come donk and spen' lil paisa nah, abie ga nuff ting foa alyuh see.
Originally posted by Sledgehammer:
It's too late for this year. All flights are booked and not enough going to Guyana.

Too late ma rass, alyuh come donk and spen' lil paisa nah, abie ga nuff ting foa alyuh see.

The idea is to come home for Phagwah, but there are no flights available.
As usual a stupid PPP cannot see that they need to attract NON Guyanese. Why limit this just to people who go home any way?

Why not develop an entire package that features ALL of our attractions and several of our Festivals?

Trinidad and Suriname do this.
Originally posted by caribj:
As usual a stupid PPP cannot see that they need to attract NON Guyanese. Why limit this just to people who go home any way?

Why not develop an entire package that features ALL of our attractions and several of our Festivals?

Dang! I lost my bet. I expected CaribJ to place his bilge by 1 PM. Big Grin

Dang! The man has more patience than I thought. Big Grin

This is red meat to CaribJ, like Romney's mutual funds investments that buys Freddie Mac's bonds is to Newt Gingrich Big Grin
Originally posted by Kari:

Dang! I lost my bet. I expected CaribJ to place his bilge by 1 PM. Big Grin

Dang! The man has more patience than I thought. Big Grin

This is red meat to CaribJ, like Romney's mutual funds investments that buys Freddie Mac's bonds is to Newt Gingrich Big Grin

Kari whats your problem? Busy defending a primitive govt which refuses to understand that tourism will be developed when it spreads beyond people who are going home to see family?
Caribj,

Guyanese money is green too. Don't you ever believe all non-Guyanese are tourists are generous with spending. They can be very cheap people too. Just ask one of the taxi boys who work at the Pegasus.
Originally posted by Mitwah:
What sort of attractions are there in Berbice for tourists?

They are not many. That's why I proposed we build a zoo and a botanical garden. The people can market their Madrassi Culture and their wonderful South Indian dishes.
Albert, how do you plan to compete with Costa Rica?

Why travel so far? Suriname has a tourist industry that Guyana will never be able to approach, let alone match. A cousin of mine became a millionaire in Suriname from just organizing tourist events.
Originally posted by Spice Girl:
Shouldn't it be "Re-Experience Home!"?
"Re-discover Home" on the banner shows INCOMPETENCE and bad grammar for all to see.

DISCOVER---to see, get knowledge of, learn of, find, or find out; gain sight or knowledge of (something previously unseen or unknown)

How can a person discover their home more than once?
Originally posted by Mr.T:
Albert, how do you plan to compete with Costa Rica?

Why travel so far? Suriname has a tourist industry that Guyana will never be able to approach, let alone match. A cousin of mine became a millionaire in Suriname from just organizing tourist events.

You should go and live in suriname and take your relatives with you.
Guyana's Tourism is far from taking off as Guyanese does not stay in hotels when they visit their beloveth country. They sponge off poor relatives while they throw money around in the local bars which are filled with alcoholics looking for a free drink.

I don't think you should expose Nehru so openly in public, but he is not the typical Guyanese. He does also flash his credit card when entertaining visitors from Guyana.

Some visiting Guyanese do stay in hotels, where there is running water and indoor lavatories. Many returning Guyanese are no longer accustomed to living in such 3rd world conditions. Their kids are in general completely alien to backdam way of living. So they won't want to stay in any other than the home of a wealthy friend or family, or a decent hotel. Especially once mosquito smell them out.
Originally posted by Gupta:
I agree RamaK.. hotels are half empty..therefore the Mariott Hotel should be scrapped. There is no need to waste $$MILLIONS on that hotel. There is very little to gain.

Like you guys have not sussed it out yet. Have any of you ever seen the movie "The Producers"? If you haven't, then you should. That's exactly how Guyanese corruption works. They start a project with the intention to disappear with the money, but sometimes the project might actually come off. Unfortunately for Guyana, it's the taxpayer who is picking up the bill for the mess left behind.
Originally posted by Billy Ram Balgobin:
Caribj,

Guyanese money is green too. .

yes and there are but so many Guyanese who dssire to do anything other than hang oput with friends and family. Those who go to Guyana already go. How many others will journey there?

To get growth they must tap new markets. If Suriname can why cant Guyana.
Originally posted by Billy Ram Balgobin:
Caribj,

Guyanese money is green too. .

yes and there are but so many Guyanese who dssire to do anything other than hang oput with friends and family. Those who go to Guyana already go. How many others will journey there?

To get growth they must tap new markets. If Suriname can why cant Guyana.

Dem Buxton bais give da place a real bad name. Wah dem should do is open up dem caves and trenched dem FF used to use and mek dem tourist attraction an' tourist gon come and mek life bettah. But dem cyant raab and kill people. Yuh see, if yuh bruddahs dem don't act up, di place can progres and alyuh gon do bettah also. No need to tief and tek wah adda people gatt.
Originally posted by Gupta:
Originally posted by albert:
Guyana has the potential to be a sustain a major Eco-tourism industry....

Not with Berbice under water.

This is a good start with an Eco-tour..."Hey honey, let's go take a drive through the village by boat."
Originally posted by Rev Al:
What sort of attractions are there in Berbice for tourists?

Mitts:

Check it out:

The ancient county--Berbice

Rev,

That was nostalgic for me. Perhaps I missed them. What were the attractions for a first time visitor?