Transparency in Public Procurement is non-negotiable, says Edghill - warns all must follow the rules, allow the system to workPDFPrintE-mail
Written by Gary Eleazar   
Saturday, 01 June 2013 00:07

“We have a modern, effective procurement legislation - what we have to do is ensure that every person engaged is following the rules.”
This was the clarion call of minister within the Ministry of Finance, Bishop Juan Edghill, as he addressed the participants of the government sponsored Procurement Symposium at the Guyana International Conference Centre at Liliendaal, East Coast Demerara, on Thursday.

Minister Edghill in delivering the feature address to the contractors and consultants gathered for the symposium said: “We view private sector and private business as partners for the development of Guyana.”

Quote: “If I am going to call on public servants who evaluate bids to ensure accountability, I must also say to the bidders we must learn to live by the rules and regulation and allow the system to work.”

Minister within the Ministry of Finance, Juan Edghill.

He cautioned, however, that the need for transparency in public procurement is non-negotiable.
Long gone are the days when a permanent secretary or regional executive officer, “could pick up phone and call a friend to say I have job,” Edghill observed.
In reference to the system in place he pointed to the fact that Guyana has one of the more advanced and progressive Acts in this part of the world to facilitate public procurement.
“The country is not such a big corrupt country that we have nothing good,” and pointed to the fact that many other countries are now turning to Guyana to take example from its procurement methods.
“Government cannot develop the country without the involvement of the private sector,” said Edghill, as he used the opportunity to also salute the curious contractors for their contribution to building the nation over the course of the years.
He  acknowledged that while there are many times “we don’t always share the same views we all have the same objective,” adding  that sometimes contractors are judged unfairly and painted with a broad brush as ‘crooks’ but this is not the case for every private sector contractor.
“I stand here as a representative of government to say that whether you working in the regions or with national projects, whether for $1M or $100M this administration appreciate your partnership and our call is for us to work together to accelerate Guyana’s development.”
This partnership, he cautioned, has to be undertaken within a particular framework, hence the need for the symposium to better edify those stakeholders.
According to Edghill, the intent of the symposium was to facilitate a candid discussion on the matter of procurement with the aim of realizing the objective of getting value for money.
“My involvement is to ensure that taxpayers’ money is properly spent and we (are) getting value for money.”
Government, he said, wants to work closely with the private sector to ensure that through competition, “we get the best price, the best skills and ensure an outcome that all will be pleased with.”
Public procurement, according to Edghill, is a powerful driver for development as it also allows support for  marginalized groups and boosts  local capacity.

Transparency Non-Negotiable

He reiterated, however, that on the matter of public procurement, transparency is non-negotiable.
He said that in government’s quest to ensure greater transparency, all evaluators of bids must sign a confidentiality declaration as well as a conflict of interest declaration.
Edghill said that the evaluators will also have to ensure strict compliance with the requirements of the Integrity Commission.
“That alone in itself will not change public perception,” according to Edghill who also requested that an offensive be launched to decimate corruption in procurement.
“If I am going to call on public servants who evaluate bids to ensure accountability, I must also say to the bidders we must learn to live by the rules and regulation and allow the system to work.”

Edghill: "The country is not such a big corrupt country that we have nothing good . . ensure accountability . . . and allow the system to work."

dese PPP ministas gat jokes . . . har de har har har har harr

In reference to the system in place he pointed to the fact that Guyana has one of the more advanced and progressive Acts in this part of the world to facilitate public procurement.
“The country is not such a big corrupt country that we have nothing good,” and pointed to the fact that many other countries are now turning to Guyana to take example from its procurement methods.
“Government cannot develop the country without the involvement of the private sector,” said Edghill, as he used the opportunity to also salute the curious contractors for their contribution to building the nation over the course of the years.

Originally Posted by Conscience:

i'm sure the contractors found it very "curious" when de PPP minista started using words like "transparency" and "accountability" . . . until they noticed de smile

Edghill said that the evaluators will also have to ensure strict compliance with the requirements of the Integrity Commission.
“That alone in itself will not change public perception,” according to Edghill who also requested that an offensive be launched to decimate corruption in procurement.
“If I am going to call on public servants who evaluate bids to ensure accountability, I must also say to the bidders we must learn to live by the rules and regulation and allow the system to work.”

. . . Edghill who also requested that an offensive be launched to decimate corruption in procurement.

dawg sucking egg conducting seminar on securing fowl pen . . . can't mek this shyte up

Bhai, Start at ABC with TK nah. Yuh giving the BOy BIG thing like wan COW to start, what happen to mosquito??

Bhai, Start at ABC with TK nah. Yuh giving the BOy BIG thing like wan COW to start, what happen to mosquito?

suh . . . drugB and the other low IQ rats finally scamper off de "TK" train in shame, leaving only the DUMBEST of the DUMB dragging deh DUMBass behind dem . . . still struggling for relevance

heh heh heh

Bhai, Start at ABC with TK nah.

Yuh giving the BOy BIG thing like wan COW to start, what happen to mosquito??   

Bhai, Start at ABC with TK nah.

Yuh giving the BOy BIG thing like wan COW to start, what happen to mosquito??   

suh . . . drugB and the other low IQ rats finally scamper off de "TK" train in shame, leaving only the DUMBEST of the DUMB, the dribbling, the diapered and the senile dragging their DUMBass behind dem . . . still struggling for relevance

uhhhh huh . . .

Edghill: "The country is not such a big corrupt country that we have nothing good . . ensure accountability . . . and allow the system to work."

Must run for president in 2016 and fix everything. Talk is cheap!

Originally Posted by Prince:

Bhai, TK bought his Degree On-Line. Meh gat wan Padna gat wan Certificate On-line fuh married People.

he he hee . . . parade of the inaugural ASNEM (reverse MENSA) single-digit IQ class

he he hee . . . parade of the inaugural ASNEM single-digit IQ class

Like TK ah yuh Lover??/

Like TK ah yuh Lover??

u waan talk sexy wid me now gyal?

Like TK ah yuh Lover??

HEHEHE Girly TK calling me Gal.

I don't question people's credentials and how they get it. However, whether this poster is TK or not, he's definitely a loose canon and he don't care to have a serious and balance discussion. He sound like one of the haters of progress and that alone is bad news.

Like TK ah yuh Lover??

nah . . . is me calling you out u screaming, drunkie ho

I don't question people's credentials and how they get it. However, whether this poster is TK or not, he's definitely a loose canon and he don't care to have a serious and balance discussion. He sound like one of the haters of progress and that alone is bad news.

What is new Bhai. The word Neemakaram was originated for a reason. It is a Sickness some Indiand have.

u wouldn't recognize a "serious and balance discussion" if it jumped up and slapped u upside your head . . . except, of course, if kwamee is leading a discussion on bukta parties and ting

Like TK ah yuh Lover??

nah . . . is me calling you out u screaming, drunkie ho

Don't make the mistake and come to my Room cause I gun show you whois Gal. I don't know if you will Holler like a Pig or groan wit Pleasure.

ahmmm nerooo . . . may i respectfully suggest that these antiman fantasies are more appropriate for your private conversations and role-playing encounters with kwamee

. . . to be filed away with the 'Julius' tapes, arite? 

ahmmm nerooo . . . these antiman fantasies are more appropriate for your private conversations with kwamee

file it away with the 'Julius' tapes, arite? 

Oh now yuh friken Butta Bing Butta Bang ButtaFookooo.

ahmmm nerooo . . . these antiman fantasies are more appropriate for your private conversations with kwamee

yeah bai . . . a drunken antiman like you masturbating to a fantasy that involves me is indeed "FRIGHTENING" thought 

yeah bai . . . a drunken antiman like you masturbating to a fantasy that involves me is a indeed "FRIGHTENING" thought 

Come out the Closet and be PROUD TK. It is who you are. This is America don't feel Shy.

nehru: "Don't make the mistake and come to my Room cause I gun show you who is Gal. I don't know if you will Holler like a Pig or groan wit Pleasure."

=============

yeah nerhu bai . . . a drunken antiman like you masturbating to a fantasy that involves me is indeed a "FRIGHTENING" thought

nehru: "Don't make the mistake and come to my Room cause I gun show you who is Gal. I don't know if you will Holler like a Pig or groan wit Pleasure."

=============

yeah nerhu bai . . . a drunken antiman like you masturbating to a fantasy that involves me is indeed a "FRIGHTENING" thought

=============

YUh ah wan fish Market Homan. Yuh Prapa like Gotay Dhal.

=============

kwameesque . . . 

=============

Nehru you prappa wicked, you gun put labba pun redunce. I didn't realize redunce was a woman, not it all makes sense. 

=============

Nehru you prappa wicked, you gun put labba pun redunce. I didn't realize redunce was a woman, not it all makes sense. 

castrated druggie supposedly 'not seeing' my posts, but jerking off and joining in on Nehru antiman fantasy anyway

alyuh 2 need to pm kwameee and mek it a party . . . ugghh

He  acknowledged that while there are many times “we don’t always share the same views we all have the same objective,” adding  that sometimes contractors are judged unfairly and painted with a broad brush as ‘crooks’ but this is not the case for every private sector contractor.
“I stand here as a representative of government to say that whether you working in the regions or with national projects, whether for $1M or $100M this administration appreciate your partnership and our call is for us to work together to accelerate Guyana’s development.”