Jagdeo willing to surrender part of Guyana’s river territory to Venezuela

October 23, 2015 5:40 pm Category: latest news A+ / A-

By Jomo Paul

Opposition Leader, Bharrat Jagdeo

[www.inewsguyana.com] – Opposition Leader, Bharrat Jagdeo says had the current Venezuela border controversy flared up to these proportions, under his tenure, he would have considered the option of surrendering parts of the Orinoco river to Venezuela.

Jagdeo made the disclosure at a press conference on Friday afternoon, October 23, where he disclosed some of his concerns about the methods being employed by President David Granger to bring the issue to a defined solution.

“There were other options that involved a negotiated settlement which did not see any land concessions that the 1899 award would remain intact…you could probably on the maritime area, give Venezuela a channel out to the sea. So you make a slight concession in the maritime area but ensure that you do not concede any territory that is land-based,” said Jagdeo, a former President.

But Jagdeo was emphatic that there are several other options at the disposal of the APNU+AFC administration and the United Nations that would see the ultimate resolution of the border controversy.

The Leader of the Opposition questioned whether the juridical option was the best given the dynamics of the situation and whether it would see the UN pulling out of the process; something which he objected to.Venezuela/Guyana

“There are several other options, I am not saying the juridical option is bad, I am saying did we decide as a country to go this route – can we go it alone? What is Venezuela does not want to go this route?” he questioned.

“Will it means us losing the UN because this option is not available in their charter. I am not questioning the juridical route I am just saying that it is very important (to know whether the UN was on board,)” Jagdeo added.

He maintained that the PPP supports the government of Guyana on the border issue and that should not be questioned.

“Keep the United Nations involved even if you go the juridical route…keep the UN involved at all costs,” stated Jagdeo. Pointing to the border issue with Suriname, Jagdeo stated that from where he sits he is certain that the issue never left the President Desi Bouterse’s agenda.

“I don’t know if it ever left the agenda. There are times when they would not mention it but I was in no way under the illusion that it was not on their agenda,” he stated.

But despite that statement, Jagdeo was pellucid that the Guyana’s border with Suriname is settled and the “New River Triangle is ours by agreement.”

Meanwhile, Jagdeo is advocating that the APNU+AFC administration expeditiously put steps in place for the establishment of a Border Committee.

Originally Posted by Pointblank:

By Jomo Paul

[www.inewsguyana.com] – Opposition Leader, Bharrat Jagdeo says had the current Venezuela border controversy flared up to these proportions, under his tenure, he would have considered the option of surrendering parts of the Orinoco river to Venezuela.

Jagdeo made the disclosure at a press conference on Friday afternoon, October 23, where he disclosed some of his concerns about the methods being employed by President David Granger to bring the issue to a defined solution.

“There were other options that involved a negotiated settlement which did not see any land concessions that the 1899 award would remain intact…you could probably on the maritime area, give Venezuela a channel out to the sea. So you make a slight concession in the maritime area but ensure that you do not concede any territory that is land-based,” said Jagdeo, a former President.

But Jagdeo was emphatic that there are several other options at the disposal of the APNU+AFC administration and the United Nations that would see the ultimate resolution of the border controversy.

The Leader of the Opposition questioned whether the juridical option was the best given the dynamics of the situation and whether it would see the UN pulling out of the process; something which he objected to.Venezuela/Guyana

“There are several other options, I am not saying the juridical option is bad, I am saying did we decide as a country to go this route – can we go it alone? What is Venezuela does not want to go this route?” he questioned.

“Will it means us losing the UN because this option is not available in their charter. I am not questioning the juridical route I am just saying that it is very important (to know whether the UN was on board,)” Jagdeo added.

He maintained that the PPP supports the government of Guyana on the border issue and that should not be questioned.

“Keep the United Nations involved even if you go the juridical route…keep the UN involved at all costs,” stated Jagdeo. Pointing to the border issue with Suriname, Jagdeo stated that from where he sits he is certain that the issue never left the President Desi Bouterse’s agenda.

“I don’t know if it ever left the agenda. There are times when they would not mention it but I was in no way under the illusion that it was not on their agenda,” he stated.

But despite that statement, Jagdeo was pellucid that the Guyana’s border with Suriname is settled and the “New River Triangle is ours by agreement.”

Meanwhile, Jagdeo is advocating that the APNU+AFC administration expeditiously put steps in place for the establishment of a Border Committee.

What makes this treasonous? Did you read, and more importantly, comprehend what is stated in the article??

jagdeo is a ****** a antiman bugger batty all u collie that support him is traitor to guyana 

i suppose if i retort to your asinine post and use the "n" word, i will be accused of being a racist. You have insulted all Indians by your useless dribble, but yet the moderators dont seem to give a damn.

Originally Posted by VishMahabir:whether the juridical option was the best given the dynamics of the situation and whether it would see the UN pulling out of the process; something which he objected to.

What makes this treasonous? Did you read, and more importantly, comprehend what is stated in the article??

There were other options that involved a negotiated settlement which did not see any land concessions that the 1899 award would remain intact…you could probably on the maritime area, give Venezuela a channel out to the sea. So you make a slight concession in the maritime area

Jagdeo says had the current Venezuela border controversy flared up to these proportions, under his tenure, he would have considered the option of surrendering parts of the Orinoco river to Venezuela.

Pointblank
Originally Posted by VishMahabir:

By Jomo Paul

Any leader of a country  who propose giving up any part of his country's territory to another, need to have his head examined.

People and governments fight to retain territory, not give it up.

Jagdeo is being an ass with this statement and not fit to be a leader of anything, especially a country.

For this and numerous other reasons, he should never form another government in Guyana.      

Last edited by Tola

jagdeo is a ****** a antiman bugger batty all u collie that support him is traitor to guyana 

i suppose if i retort to your asinine post and use the "n" word, i will be accused of being a racist. You have insulted all Indians by your useless dribble, but yet the moderators dont seem to give a damn.

You are an idiot and a fool, and just as big a traitor, for even hosting  the notion that Jagdeo is not any of the above. Granger should now lock him up for treason. Benschop got locked up for far less.

Maybe Jagdeo is being smart knowing that this government is right now very hapless and he is trying to set them up to suggest something as stupid as he did. The difference is that while he is not part of the current government, his pronouncements/suggestions are not as critical as theirs. I wouldn't be surprised if the government start parroting the same thing since so far they don't seem to have any ideas of their own.

Originally Posted by ksazma:

Maybe Jagdeo is being smart knowing that this government is right now very hapless and he is trying to set them up to suggest something as stupid as he did. The difference is that while he is not part of the current government, his pronouncements/suggestions are not as critical as theirs. I wouldn't be surprised if the government start parroting the same thing since so far they don't seem to have any ideas of their own.

Seriously, padna, Jagdeo opened a can of worms yesterday. No patriotic and responsible Guyanese politician ought to utter such things. He will have some damage control to do. He could issue a press statement to clarify or he could say he was misunderstood. I watched a video clip of his press conference yesterday and it ent kosher.

You don't care when your Indo KKK friends make anti black statements.

By Jomo Paul

The Leader of the Opposition questioned whether the juridical option was the best given the dynamics of the situation and whether it would see the UN pulling out of the process; something which he objected to.

Jagdeo, not a blade of grass you jackass? So now we're supposed to add legitimacy to Venezuela's claim on our territory. What a moron! Maybe he's trying to appease Venezuela for the kickbacks they gave him while the PPP was in power. This Judas would sell his country for a few farthings. Traitor!

What am I missing here? Isn't the Orinoco already in Venezuela and don't they already have a channel to the sea via the Orinoco?

Originally Posted by Mars:

By Jomo Paul

The Leader of the Opposition questioned whether the juridical option was the best given the dynamics of the situation and whether it would see the UN pulling out of the process; something which he objected to.

Jagdeo, not a blade of grass you jackass? So now we're supposed to add legitimacy to Venezuela's claim on our territory. What a moron! Maybe he's trying to appease Venezuela for the kickbacks they gave him while the PPP was in power. This Judas would sell his country for a few farthings. Traitor!

What am I missing here? Isn't the Orinoco already in Venezuela and don't they already have a channel to the sea via the Orinoco?

'NOT BLADE OF GRASS YOU JACKASS'.

Jagdeo is too dumb to understand anything said in favour of Venezuela, can be used against Guyana. As his video statement above.  

By Jomo Paul

Jagdeo had to get his one minute of fame after President

Granger address parliament on the Venezuela border claim.

So he come up with this stupidity.

Seriously, padna, Jagdeo opened a can of worms yesterday. No patriotic and responsible Guyanese politician ought to utter such things. He will have some damage control to do. He could issue a press statement to clarify or he could say he was misunderstood. I watched a video clip of his press conference yesterday and it ent kosher.

Sure it is treacherous but I wouldn't put it past Jagdeo to poke the government. He is evil enough to know that they are hapless right now and may just take the plunge.

The Orinoco river mouth wide like a bad woman cyat. Maduro already can pass through that channel but Jagdeo offering him the G-spot.

LOL

Mad-uro, Jag-uro and Bout-uro make a 'perfect couple'.

What a bunch of power-hungry fruit-cake !! 

I caught that too.   Jagdeo is being slick by not using names known as being Guyanese to hand over Guyana. What he actually wants to do his hand over Marowhanna, Mabaruma and those other areas.

I want to hear baseman, druggie and the other Indo KKKites praising Jagdeo for this. Jagdeo now legitimizes Venezuela's border claim, and will be cited as evidence that Guyanese have no objection to Venezuela's claims.

What a silly man!

Jagdeo never said that he would consider the option of surrendering parts of the Orinoco to Venezuela.  What Jagdeo said was he would have considered offering Venezuela an outlet into the Atlantic.  Under the Law of the Sea Convention, Venezuela already has this right.  So in fact Jagdeo was not suggesting anything new.

Originally Posted by Bibi Haniffa:

Jagdeo never said that he would consider the option of surrendering parts of the Orinoco to Venezuela.  What Jagdeo said was he would have considered offering Venezuela an outlet into the Atlantic.  Under the Law of the Sea Convention, Venezuela already has this right.  So in fact Jagdeo was not suggesting anything new.

Opposition Leader, Bharrat Jagdeo says had the current Venezuela border controversy flared up to these proportions, under his tenure, he would have considered the option of surrendering parts of the Orinoco river to Venezuela.

Bibi Just confirm.....Jagdeo is a $kont....

Quote Bibi : Under the Law of the Sea Convention, Venezuela already has this right.  So in fact Jagdeo was not suggesting anything new.

By now we should know everytime Jagdeo open his mouth some Lies fly out.

He say he Marry Varshnie.....

She say he run away from puss...

He say he was offering Venezuela an outlet into the Atlantic.

Bibi say he offering them something that they have the right to.

Jagdeo say Granger Buss up Kwame backside on election day.

Granger say no one touch Kwame outlet.

all they did was let him out safely from the polling station.

Jagdeo say he wish Granger offer him an outlet from the Pradoville $cam....

Granger tell him ....go to Marudo and see if he can help you with a outlet..

Doesn't Venezuela already have an outlet to the Atlantic via the Orinoco?

What does this mean? - "Opposition Leader, Bharrat Jagdeo says had the current Venezuela border controversy flared up to these proportions, under his tenure, he would have considered the option of surrendering parts of the Orinoco river to Venezuela".

Interesting words from an experienced "whore man".

I guess you didn't do geography because you would know that Venezuela ALREADY HAS an outlet to the Atlantic.

Jagdeo is confused and displayed why it is a good thing that the PPP lost.  Imagine, by now Jagdeo would be in Caracas begging Maduro to allow ghim to keep Region 2, so that the PPP didn't become a minority party PERMANENTLY.  Gladly handing over the PNC dominated Region 7 to Maduro.