Tripartite Initiative meetings to begin next year … APNU, AFC have not submitted list of concerns

Written by Chevon Singh
Saturday, 31 December 2011 02:59
Source - Guyana Chronicle

Cabinet Secretary Dr. Roger Luncheon and media representatives at yesterday’s press briefing.

HEAD of the Presidential Secretariat, Dr. Roger Luncheon, has announced that the planned meeting with the parties of the Tripartite Initiative will not be held this year.

He made this announcement yesterday during the final post cabinet press briefing for 2011, at the Office of the President, when he proffered several reasons for this delay.

Dr. Luncheon noted that the body, consisting of representatives from the governing People’s Progressive Party (PPP/C), A Partnership for National Unity (APNU) and the Alliance for Change (AFC), had earlier met and had agreed on certain steps in moving forward, among them was the admission of their list of matters of concern.

“The meeting is not likely to occur within the last few days of 2011… the governing party has indicated its representatives, information of that nature from the other two parties is yet to be submitted. The delayed submission of the list and the failure so far to have APNU and AFC confirm dates and high representatives, would now see 2012 being the occasion for these matters to be gone into,” he explained.

Dr. Roger Luncheon and Press Liasion Officer Kwame McCoy

As to the consequence of the delay in the meeting, Dr. Luncheon said, “The meeting would have gotten those three lists consolidated, matters prioritized and would have included a schedule of meetings and place of meetings to take the tripartite initiative on to a higher stage of its implementation.”

The Cabinet Secretary said that the delays and the concern of the governing party that APNU and AFC are meeting together, independent of the tripartite mechanism, to address issues on their lists, makes the prospects of the tripartite initiative questioned from the onset.

He said, “The governing party has already publicly registered its concern that the action of the two other parties seems inconsistent with the undertaking that lies behind the creation of the tripartite mechanism.”

Last Updated ( Saturday, 31 December 2011 03:26 )

Here is a copy of the email I sent out:

date Thu, Dec 22, 2011 at 9:13 PM
subject AFC's list of priority issues
mailed-by gmail.com

Dear Dr Luncheon,

Please find attached, and in the body of this email, the AFC's list of priority issues that we had agreed to submit to you at our meeting with the President on Thursday, December 15. Please acknowledge receipt of this email and attachment.

The Economy
1. Reduce VAT to 12 %
2. Increase salaries of public servants inclusive of nurses, teachers, and disciplined services and sugar workers by 20%
3. Increase the PAYE threshold to $50,000
4. Reduce the Berbice River Bridge rates by 50%
5. Grant duty free fuel concession to rice farmers and to the fishing industry
6. Reduce taxes and duty on brand new motor vehicles and cut corporate taxes (non-commercial) to 25%
7. Repair a military aircraft to provide lift for national security purposes and to support hinterland development in Reg. 8 and other hinterland regions
8. Review the LCDS to remove conditions that are excessively adverse to small miners and loggers and complete the demarcation of Indigenous lands
9. Review all major projects within the past two years such as the Amaila Falls Hydro Project, Vaitarna, Marriot, the CBJIA expansion, etc. by the Economic Services Sector Committee
10. Reform and increase the old age pension scheme; review and reduce the President’s pension package
11. Provision of housing units for suitable citizens

The Constitution
1. Appoint the Chancellor of the Judiciary
2. Appoint an Ombudsman
3. Appoint the members of the Public Service Appellate Tribunal
4. Commence an inquiry into GECOM, and identify processes for its overhaul

Governance
1. Establish the Procurement Commission within 4 months of the convening of Parliament
2. Review and complete local government reform
3. Amendment of Access to Information Act
4. Establish a Truth, Reconciliation and Justice Commission
5. Parliamentary Reform in line with the recommendations of the Sir Michael Davies' report

Security
1. Renegotiate the British Government support worth $1.6 B to enhance our security sector
2. Permit forthwith the establishment of a DEA office here in Guyana

Public and Private Media
1. Reorganise NCN (both TV and Radio) to accord with a BBC framework of independence and operations
2. More balance in the newscasts and more time for Opposition views on State media
3. Issue radio and extensions of TV licences to qualified applicants

--
Regards,
Gerhard Ramsaroop
Executive Member, Alliance for Change

And here is the copy of the email acknowledging receipt of my email:

date Thu, Dec 22, 2011 at 11:10 PM
subject Re: AFC's list of priority issues
mailed-by srs.bis6.us.blackberry.com

Gerhard
OP acknowledges receipt of your e-mail containing the list of priority issues submitted by the AFC.
Sent from my BlackBerry smartphone from GT&T
Originally posted by Wally:
Kwame is back.

And De_Gina Lap Cloth posting the lies as fast as Kwame can say ....."Julius"

Gerhard is Quick in exposing the Lies and Filt they post here on GNI.
“The meeting is not likely to occur within the last few days of 2011… the governing party has indicated its representatives, information of that nature from the other two parties is yet to be submitted. The delayed submission of the list and the failure so far to have APNU and AFC confirm dates and high representatives, would now see 2012 being the occasion for these matters to be gone into,” he explained.

In light of what Gerhard posted above, it is clear that Dr. Luncheon is either out to lunch ( and I am being overly generous)n or he is just another bald face liar.
You missed the decoupling of the broadcasting system from the ruling party machinery. It should not be an instrument of party propaganda but a public service entity. The PPP especially abused its authority over the agency in the last elections.
Originally posted by Gerhard Ramsaroop:

mailed-by gmail.com

Dear Dr Luncheon,

Please find attached, and in the body of this email, the AFC's list of priority issues that we had agreed to submit to you at our meeting with the President on Thursday, December 15. Please acknowledge receipt of this email and attachment.

The Economy
1. Reduce VAT to 12 %
2. Increase salaries of public servants inclusive of nurses, teachers, and disciplined services and sugar workers by 20%
6. Reduce taxes and duty on brand new motor vehicles and cut corporate taxes (non-commercial) to 25%
7. Repair a military aircraft to provide lift for national security purposes and to support hinterland development in Reg. 8 and other hinterland regions
8. Review the LCDS to remove conditions that are excessively adverse to small miners and loggers and complete the demarcation of Indigenous lands
9. Review all major projects within the past two years such as the Amaila Falls Hydro Project, Vaitarna, Marriot, the CBJIA expansion, etc. by the Economic Services Sector Committee
10. Reform and increase the old age pension scheme; review and reduce the President’s pension package

The Constitution
2. Appoint an Ombudsman

Governance
1. Establish the Procurement Commission within 4 months of the convening of Parliament
5. Parliamentary Reform in line with the recommendations of the Sir Michael Davies' report

Security
1. Renegotiate the British Government support worth $1.6 B to enhance our security sector

Public and Private Media
1. Reorganise NCN (both TV and Radio) to accord with a BBC framework of independence and operations
2. More balance in the newscasts and more time for Opposition views on State media

--
Regards,
Gerhard Ramsaroop

Gerhard
OP acknowledges receipt of your e-mail containing the list of priority issues submitted by the AFC.

Looks like AFC want to shake up di cow pen down hey. Good luck to them.
Originally posted by Jalil:
Kwame is back.

You AFC coolies on this GNI are a pack of liars..
GR, The PNC opposition had opposed most of those demands you and the AFC are making. These are PPP initiatives. athe PPP has plans to introduce the bills in parliament. I just hope that the AFC don't dind a way to vote against the bill..

All those guys who are acting in their jobs will be appointed now that the AFC favoured the initiated by the PPP..

Long live Guyana and the PPP.
Tripartite Initiative stalled - APNU, AFC to name High Representatives

December 31, 2011 | By KNews | Filed Under News
Source - Kaieteur News

The Tripartite Initiative between the governing party and the two opposition parliamentary parties has been stalled and the government is putting the blame at the feet of the opposition parties.

According to Head of the Presidential Secretariat, Dr Roger Luncheon, one of the issues that stalled a meeting that was planned before the end of the year today, was the “belated” submission by the opposition parties of lists of issues they wanted discussed. In addition, he said the Alliance for Change (AFC) and A Partnership for National Unity (APNU) have so failed to nominate “high representatives.”

As a result, he said that the meeting, which could have prioritized the issues to take the initiative ahead, would have to take place in the new year, but no dates were given.

In addition, Luncheon restated the concern of the governing PPP/C that the AFC and APNU are meeting together outside of the Tripartite Initiate, saying this was “inconsistent” with the reason for the setting up of the initiative.

The AFC and the APNU have been meeting to agree on a choice for Speaker of the National Assembly. The AFC is sticking with Moses Nagamootoo, while the APNU has named Deborah Backer and Camie Ramsaroop for the post.

Deferral of the tenth Parliament this month was one of several issues agreed upon when representatives of the AFC and APNU met President Donald Ramotar on December 15.

During the discussions, in which Luncheon, Prime Minister Samuel Hinds, and Presidential Adviser on Governance Gail Teixeira participated, several issues were raised including a list of issues for discussion and prioritization for future meetings and two representatives nominated from APNU and AFC to work on identified and agreed on priority issues.

It was also agreed that the Minister of Finance will meet with the two identified finance persons of the APNU and AFC soon to consult on the preparation of the 2012 Budget.

“The meetings have been very useful. We have been very frank with each other. I hope to proceed working in that way, in consulting with them in moving our country forward…,” President Ramotar said after the December 15 meeting.

Mr. Ramotar won the presidency at the 2011 general and regional elections held on November 28 after the PPP/C captured 48.6 percent of the votes and secured 32 seats in the National Assembly.

The opposition parties hold the majority of seats with APNU’s 26 and seven from the AFC.
Originally posted by Sledgehammer:
Originally posted by Gerhard Ramsaroop:

mailed-by gmail.com

Dear Dr Luncheon,

The Economy
1. Reduce VAT to 12 %

The Constitution
2. Appoint an Ombudsman

Governance

Security

Public and Private Media

--
Regards,
Gerhard Ramsaroop

Gerhard

Looks like AFC want to shake up di cow pen down hey. Good luck to them.
and you is the racist collie cow
Originally posted by Ramakant_p:
Kwame is back.

for the new year if you come on this forum drunk,i will kick your ass
Apparently the AFC/PNC don't practice what they preach. They want coalition but yet don't know how to go about compromising. How can they exclude the PPP from any negotiations and claim they are cooperating?
Originally posted by BGurd_See:
Apparently the AFC/PNC don't practice what they preach. They want coalition but yet don't know how to go about compromising. How can they exclude the PPP from any negotiations and claim they are cooperating?
hush little baby don you cry.for 20 yrs the ppp bully the oppistion in parlament,now they want to know what the oppistion is discussing,karma is a bitch
Originally posted by warrior:
hush little baby don you cry.for 20 yrs the ppp bully the oppistion in parlament,now they want to know what the oppistion is discussing,karma is a bitch

So you dunces don't want cooperation, you have taken an antagonistic approach. If PPP say x you say y. The country can not forge ahead with this type of bipartisan approach. But good luck with going to bed with the PNC, they might just put a fat bigan up your rear. ahahhahaa

who cooperation ppp or the country,what happen for the past 20 yrs where was ppp cooperation.you have it all wrong the ppp will dance to the oppistion music.the AFC already send them a list and the lunchman is lying and you talking about cooperation.maybe the ppp should try a little honesty,it will be hard for them,because they donot know the meaning of the word honesty
Kwame is back.

The AFC coolies are a pack of ass.holes...

The AFC coolies are a pack of ass.holes...[/QUOTE]
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Ah why abie Coolie like cuss abie mattie but run way from facing Afros. Someting wrang wid all Coolies, abie gatt a bigg prablim. So wah bout da AFC Afros? Dem Afro bai nah even cuss dem mattie, natt even dem killers, looters and rapists. Dem seh is just reaction or over-reaction of an oppressed people...poor ting dem.
Originally posted by Mara:
he is just another bald face liar.

No just Luncheon trying to stage an environment where the PPP will claim that govt cant work as an excuse for another election.
How can they exclude the PPP from any negotiations and claim they are cooperating?

They can exclude because teh PPP doesnt include them in all aspects of governance.

Ah why abie Coolie like cuss abie mattie but run way from facing Afros.em.

I can well imagine you spend all day drooling about those strong muscular and hyper-masculine African men who so terrify you....intimidate you...fascinate you...hey cause you to look at them in awe!!!!
. If PPP say x you say y. a

And if x is nonsense you think that they should agree? 65% of registered voters do not approve of the PPP and they showed this by voting for others...or not voting PERIOD!!!
But good luck with going to bed with the PNC, they might just put a fat bigan up your rear. ahahhahaa

I see both you and sledge seem fascinated by black equipment and its use up the anatomy of Indo men.
Originally posted by caribj:
But good luck with going to bed with the PNC, they might just put a fat bigan up your rear. ahahhahaa

I see both you and sledge seem fascinated by black equipment and its use up the anatomy of Indo men.

Where did Sledge evva talk bout Afro "ting", da aint me ting bai. Mi lil dougla gurl don't camplain, and da's wah matta to me bai.

Ah why abie Coolie like cuss abie mattie but run way from facing Afros.em.

I can well imagine you spend all day drooling about those strong muscular and hyper-masculine African men who so terrify you....intimidate you...fascinate you...hey cause you to look at them in awe!!!!

Dem do nieda bai, wah you own a you own, me is least interested. Me lil coolie wife and dougla gurl appreciate mi every inch and that's all wah matter.
Me lil coolie wife and dougla gurl appreciate mi every inch and that's all wah matter.

Maybe they prefer your wallet....clearly from your obsession with black men you dont have too many inches to boast of.

Maybe you and druggie can compare notes.
Me lil coolie wife and dougla gurl appreciate mi every inch and that's all wah matter.

Maybe they prefer your wallet....clearly from your obsession with black men you dont have too many inches to boast of.

Maybe you and druggie can compare notes.

I'm definitely not interested in your anatomical indulgences, it matters little to nothing to anyone. Most women are interested in other attributes as such no reason to compare or give a second thought. You seem infactuated by it, maybe it's the "man" in you?

I'm definitely not interested in your anatomical indulgences, it matters little to nothing to anyone. ?

AAAH continue to shake in YOUR fear of AfroGuyanese men what ever your reason for this is, ignoring similarly bigotted attitudes from Indians to blacks.

I'm definitely not interested in your anatomical indulgences, it matters little to nothing to anyone. ?

AAAH continue to shake in YOUR fear of AfroGuyanese men what ever your reason for this is, ignoring similarly bigotted attitudes from Indians to blacks.

you in make believe land bai.