Speaker tolerates opposition’s lawlessness in Parliament : -Legal experts advised minister should be allowed to speak uninterruptedPDFPrintE-mail
Written by Nadine Sanchara and Kriseana Ramrekha  
Thursday, 08 November 2012 21:07

PULL QUOTE: ‘The Speaker of the National Assembly of Guyana, I so rule, has no power to restrict or deny the right of the Honourable Clement J. Rohee, Member of Parliament from speaking or fulfilling his ministerial duties and responsibilities in so far as they relate to this House of Assembly.’ THE 30th sitting of the National Assembly was yesterday adjourned until November 22 owing to the disorderly conduct of members of the combined opposition towards Minister of Home Affairs, Clement Rohee.

alt

Government’s Chief Whip, Ms. Gail Teixeira, along with Home Affairs Minister, Mr. Clement Rohee and other government ministers at the press conference after Parliament was adjourned yesterday  (Adrian Narine photos)

The ruckus created by the opposition brought the parliamentary sitting to near state of anarchy which the Speaker, Mr. Raphael Trotman seemingly tolerated. The lawless display by the opposition was similar to the one at the previous sitting of the National Assembly which also resulted in the adjourning of the House. The minister was scheduled to move the second reading of the Firearms Bill; however, he was prevented from speaking due to opposition members chanting loudly “Rohee must go.” However, Trotman had declared prior to Rohee rising to speak that the minister should be allowed to proceed uninterrupted. He noted that this decision was made based on legal advice he received from Attorneys-at-Law, Rex McKay and Stephen Fraser and also Ms. Ulele Burnham of the United Kingdom Bar. Trotman explained that he had to resort to seeking legal advice because on the first occasion when the bill was introduced in parliament, the House went in an uproar regarding the ability of Rohee to perform the duties of Minister of Home Affairs, and some members believed that he should not be allowed to speak. Nevertheless, Trotman stated that he must find that in the absence of a specific resolution in the House that specifically sanctions a member and directs that he be restrained from speaking in any one or more of his capacities, it is by law and duty bound that the minister must be allowed to speak. “The Speaker of the National Assembly of Guyana, I so rule, has no power to restrict or deny the right of the Honourable Clement J. Rohee, Member of Parliament from speaking or fulfilling his ministerial duties and responsibilities in so far as they relate to this house of assembly,” he stated. However, as soon as Rohee rose to speak, the chanting from the opposition began so loudly that no one could have heard anything he had to say. Even after the Speaker made several appeals for order in the House, they were not deterred. Trotman then called a short recess during which he spoke to the government’s and the opposition’s Chief Whips. Upon returning, he reiterated that his ruling should be respected and adhered to.
alt

Home Affairs Minister, Mr. Clement Rohee attempting to present the Second reading of the firearms (Amendment) Bill 2012 yesterday at parliament

However, when Rohee attempted to read the Bill, he was again prevented from speaking freely as opposition members once again started to shout, “Rohee must go.” The Speaker was then forced to invoke Standing Order 47:9 which states that in the case of grave disorder arising in the assembly the speaker may, if he thinks fit and necessary, decide to adjourn the assembly. He did not do so, though, before giving a warning which the opposition chose to blatantly ignore. Speaking at an impromptu press conference at the Parliament Building after the National Assembly’s adjournment, Prime Minister Samuel Hinds related that the government expected the speaker to have acted more strongly in his ruling.

If Trotman cannot be impartial and perform his duty as he should, then he's not fit to hold the speakership. It's a shame all of this is unveiling before the public eyes. What would happen differently when parliament convenes again?

Originally Posted by ABIDHA:

If Trotman cannot be impartial and perform his duty as he should, then he's not fit to hold the speakership. It's a shame all of this is unveiling before the public eyes. What would happen differently when parliament convenes again?

Thank you Sir but we have these DUMB Jackasses to deal with here!!!!

You have to excuse the bloggers who are afraid to discuss the truth in this debate. I notice they would prefer to discuss you, Nehru. This news is not only from the Chronicle , it is on every newspaper and television station throughout Guyana. This is a serious matter, and Trotman needs to rise above his partisanship.

Originally Posted by PRK:

I see the hyena shit in yuh head is seeping through yuh mouth and ears again.

Atre you his Pimp or you yourself a HO????

When I see people talking shit i does call it suh. 

It's very unfortunate that you do not see your oen shit. We all talk shit from time to time. You shit seems to be weak like "you gat belly wuk from you mouth".

LAMO He does get Belly Wuk from he mouth????

Sir, where did you see shit? Nehru posted an article to the fact of what took place in parliament recently, and you immediately jump on the posters rather than the article. I don't understand why you're being so defensive. If you want to avoid the issue, then desist from attacking the poster. It's a simple decision.

Originally Posted by ABIDHA:

Sir, where did you see shit? Nehru posted an article to the fact of what took place in parliament recently, and you immediately jump on the posters rather than the article. I don't understand why you're being so defensive. If you want to avoid the issue, then desist from attacking the poster. It's a simple decision.

Bhai, Dem seh JACKASS nah gat brain, dat is why he does shit wid he mouth.