Two more commit suicide in Region Two – the question remains ‘Why’?

January 10, 2016 8:05 pm Category: Crime, Internet, latest news, Local News A+ / A-

Two separate families on the Essequibo Coast is mourning the death of their loved ones as they tragically consumed poisonous substances separately. Dead is 23-year-old Akel Shurland of Adventure and 27-year-old Kaimwattie Persaud of Anna Regina.

DEAD: 23-year-old Akel Shurland of Adventure

According to information reaching INews, Shurland was involved in an accident recently. He crashed into another vehicle and was asked for compensation. He became confused in the process and went home and drank poison. He battled for his life several days at the Suddie Public Hospital after he succumbed.

Meanwhile, Khemwattee Persaud – a worker attached to the Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM) office at Anna Regina had an heated argument with her husband after which she consumed the poisonous substance. Information revealed she went at a ‘lake outing’ and upon her return she had a confrontation with her husband.

Only recently also a 21-year-old and a 42-year-old father hang himself at Windsor Castle and Golden Fleece respectively, both villages on the Essequibo Coast. The 21-year-old hang himself on Christmas morning, while the 42-year-old father hang himself Old Year’s night in his house. The island of Wakenaam also recorded four more suicide in December, 2015.

DEAD: 27-year-old Kaimwattie Persaud of Anna Regina

INews also understands that a 12-year-old is presently at Suddie Public Hospital battling for her life. She too consumed a quantity of poisonous substance.

With the increase in the number of suicides in Region Two, residents are calling on the coalition Government to implement more programmes and seminars within the Region to educate persons on the issue of suicide. They are of the view that the APNU/AFC Coalition government can do much more to address suicide in the country.

According to residents living on the Essequibo Coast, the Government has the responsibility to do more by providing recreational facilities, youth training\empowerment and employment for young people. They are of the view that the government policies to prevent suicide is not working because more young people are ending their life in very tragic manner as a result of frustration, no jobs, economic problems and domestic violence.

Residents said the Government need to take a serious stand on the social issue of suicide and place the matter on the front burner. Suggestions were made for more professional counseling on the ground.

Currently, Region Two has the highest rate of suicide.

http://www.inewsguyana.com/two...uestion-remains-why/

Images (2)
  • blobid0
  • blobid1

Guyanese people have too much problems to handle. We have young drug addicts committing murder for fun. Others chose the quick and easy way out of their troubles. No one seems to care. Government is talking more and act less.  

What is still fresh in my mind is that young lad from England. His death was pre planed two day ahead of his arrival and his grave was already dug.  

This is unbelievable!

Not quite, Vish. We're ranked as the country with the highest suicide rate in the world. Question is, how do we stop this. What is the root cause?

Does anyone know the outcome of that "big and urgent" meeting Granger had last week on suicide prevention?

It appears that it was all talk as usual from this useless administration.

Where is Tola ?

Why don't you all start a foundation to help address this instead of posting racist nonsense here all day and blaming the govt.  Yugi has 100k to spare.  Make yourself useful other than being empty vessels making noise all day. 

You all would do nada yet you come and claim to advocate for Indians and how the Blackman is source of all Indians problems. Don't expect much from you backward people.

FC posted:

Why don't you all start a foundation to help address this instead of posting racist nonsense here all day and blaming the govt.  Yugi has 100k to spare.  Make yourself useful other than being empty vessels making noise all day. 

You all would do nada yet you come and claim to advocate for Indians and how the Blackman is source of all Indians problems. Don't expect much from you backward people.

Agreed...oww don't lump all ah we in the same basket.

FC posted:

Why are they speaking out now when people ctriticise the present govt.? Where were they when the PPP was in office and this was happening and the PPP was being criticised?

FC posted:

Why are they speaking out now when people ctriticise the present govt.? Where were they when the PPP was in office and this was happening and the PPP was being criticised?

PPP had over 20 years in office to do something about this...new Govt been in power only a few months

RiffRaff posted:
FC posted:

PPP had over 20 years in office to do something about this...new Govt been in power only a few months

When campaigning , the PNC promised they had the magic wand to solve all problems, such as crime, unemployment, jobs creation,economic growth. Today ,they are spending more money and time organizing for the 50th celebration and everything else takes second fiddle.

They've been busy fortifying themselves and friends while selling the average Indian the Blackman koolaid. Look, the poor, the mentally ill and people suffering from a number of maladies (drug abuse, suicide etc.)have been ignored.  They only matter come election. Vote PPP because the black bogeyman is around the corner.

RiffRaff posted:
FC posted:

In 20 years the PPP did not bankrupt the country.  In a few more months the PNC will.  Watch what happens after the big independence celebrations.  You see Moses already coming to beg for money this weekend.

FC posted:

What is the topic of discussion moron? But hold on to that thought and see how it plays out. PPP low life's on this forum.

I was responding to the question above my statement.  Pay attention please.

Do you have a problem reading? What was the person commenting on when he said "the PPP had 20 years to fix this".  Looks like I am talking to another PPP dunce.

The afc/apnu now own all ills in the nation as they are in office. Enough of this nonsense of blaming the PPP. afc/apnu needs to take ownership and cease the sporting out of tax payers dollars on 50th anniversary celebration. 

Indians are suffering from economic, political and domestic depression. They are being marginalized by the current government. Suicide is not new, and still there is no effective govt program in place to educate these young people to value life and how to cope with their problems. When these problems arise, the the treasury is dry, yet there is plenty of money to spend on less important things like fete night and pre planning of independence celebration. 

Cobra posted:

Indians are suffering from economic, political and domestic depression. They are being marginalized by the current government. Suicide is not new, and still there is no effective govt program in place to educate these young people to value life and how to cope with their problems. When these problems arise, the the treasury is dry, yet there is plenty of money to spend on less important things like fete night and pre planning of independence celebration. 

SInce you into blaming the Govt for this...what did the PPP do when they were in power for over 20 years to curtail suicides

FC posted:

Shyte from my end of the world, it is blacks who complaining how bad the kulies treated them since dem come to BG.

If Yuh can tell from all dis gaff, we freaking stupid.

FC posted:

What is the topic of discussion moron? But hold on to that thought and see how it plays out. PPP low life's on this forum.

I was responding to the question above my statement.  Pay attention please.

Too angry for that. He rather beat u up. Typical. 

Cobra posted:

Guyana became the suicide capital of the world under the PPP watch. What was the reason then?

This is unbelievable!

Not quite, Vish. We're ranked as the country with the highest suicide rate in the world. Question is, how do we stop this. What is the root cause?

We have an expert on GNI name Tola. He knows all the answers. Let's get his opinion.