U.S. House passes Keystone XL bill; Obama says he won't be rushed

CTVNews.ca Staff, Published Friday, November 14, 2014 9:48AM EST, Last Updated Friday, November 14, 2014 3:21PM EST, Source - CTV News

The U.S. House of Representatives has approved the controversial Keystone XL oil pipeline from Alberta to Texas, but critics say Friday’s vote was nothing more than “political theatre” since President Barack Obama has the final say.

The Republican-controlled House voted 252-161 on the bill to approve the pipeline. The House has voted on the same legislation multiple times before and now it will go before the U.S. Senate.

But even if the Senate gives Keystone the green light, Obama could veto it.

“Today’s vote is an absolute farce,” the U.S. policy director of 350.org, the group behind many climate-focused campaigns, told CTV News Channel Friday.

“It’s an empty act of political theatre, designed to pay tribute to big oil and embarrass President Obama,” Jason Kowalski said. “This decision does not rest with the House, it does not rest with the Senate. It rests solely with the president.”

Dale Marshall, the national program manager for Environmental Defence, said Keystone XL doesn’t pass “the climate test that president Obama laid down himself.”

Marshall said greenhouse emissions will go up “considerably” if the pipeline is built and he doesn’t see Obama approving it, given the “climate leadership” he has demonstrated.

Speaking to reporters in Myanmar Friday, Obama said his administration’s review of Keystone XL can’t be completed before the legal challenge to the pipeline in Nebraska is settled.

"I don't think we should short-circuit that process," he said.

The White House has previously hinted that Obama may veto the bill.

The proposed 1,900-kilometre pipeline would extend from the Alberta oilsands through Montana and South Dakota to Nebraska, where it would connect with existing pipelines to carry more than 800,000 barrels of crude oil a day to refineries in Texas.

Those who support the project say it will create thousands of jobs and make oil transport safer, but environmentalists say dangerous spills could still happen.

With files from The Associated Press

Those who support the project say it will create thousands of jobs and make oil transport safer, but environmentalists say dangerous spills could still happen.

U.S. House passes Keystone XL bill; Obama says he won't be rushed, CTVNews.ca Staff, Published Friday, November 14, 2014 9:48AM EST, Last Updated Friday, November 14, 2014 3:21PM EST, Source - CTV News

While indeed there is the possibility of spills and other issues, environmentalists always over-blow the issues to the nth degree simply to say about any project.

Obama hinted he may sign executive order on Immigration bill as early as next week. Good news. I love them democrats...shameless me. 

Immigrants built this Country. It is about time. One ah meh Sweethoman live here fuh 20 years , paying her Taxes and she cant get Permanent.

Obama hinted he may sign executive order on Immigration bill as early as next week. Good news. I love them democrats...shameless me. 

Immigrants built this Country. It is about time. One ah meh Sweethoman live here fuh 20 years , paying her Taxes and she cant get Permanent.

Tell her she was supposed to come through the front door of America. Not the back door where the missiles are shooting in and out. 

She can always adopt if she can't get pregnant.

Oh Rass Pregnant?? Who deh Rass gun mind deh Pickney????