Three war vets and a young Marine among Tennessee rampage victims

Aamer Madhani, USA TODAY 3:54 p.m. EDT July 17, 2015

The victims of the shooting rampage that targeted two Tennessee military recruiting centers include an Iraq war veteran and a young Marine who was just starting his career. VPC

977 147 3 LINKEDIN105 COMMENTMORE

The shooting rampage that targeted two Tennessee military facilities took the lives of four Marine reservists who collectively had given 35 years of service to their country and completed seven tours of duty in Iraq and Afghanistan.

Gunnery Sgt. Thomas Sullivan, 40, who grew up in Springfield, Mass., had done two tours of duty in Iraq and served more than 17 years.Sgt. Carson Holmquist, a Wisconsin native who was an automotive maintenance technician, had two tours of duty in Afghanistan during his six years. Meanwhile, Staff Sgt. David Wyatt, of Burke, N.C., a field artillery operations man, had twice deployed to Iraq and once to Afghanistan during his 11 years in the military.

Lance Cpl. Squire "Skip" Wells, 21, was the relative newcomer, having joined the military last year, but he had already racked up a long list of commendations, according to his service record. His family said that he had quit college to join the Marines so he could follow what he believed was his "calling."

Sullivan  had served with the Marines since 1997. He saw fierce fighting during the Battle of Abu Ghraib, west of Baghdad, during a 2005 Iraq tour, his friend Josh Parnell told the website Patch. During that tour, Sullivan earned a Combat Action medal and a Purple Heart, Parnell said.

"There's no Marine you would want that was better in combat than him," Parnell recalled.

A Marine in Chattanooga, Tennessee is wondering why his fellow service members are dead after the FBI says Mohammod Youssuf Abdulazees went on a 'lone wolf' style shooting rampage. Witnesses to the crime say the incident doesn't 'feel real.' USA TODAY

At Nathan Bill's Bar and Restaurant in Springfield, which is owned by Sullivan's brother Joe, a giant American flag was displayed on Friday near the front entrance in honor of the fallen Marine.

"Here's to our hero," the restaurant wrote on its Facebook page with a photo of the flag.

Sullivan graduated from Cathedral High School in Springfield in 1994. The school announced his death on its Facebook page.

"This morning it is with heavy hearts that we share the news of the passing of our Cathedral brother, Thomas Sullivan '94. Thomas, a Gunnery Sgt., Iraq veteran and Purple Heart recipient was killed yesterday in Chattanooga, Tennessee," the school wrote.

Springfield Mayor Dominic Sarno said Sullivan's death "is a tragic loss not just for the Springfield community but for our entire nation."

Massachusetts Gov. Charlie Baker ordered U.S. and state flags on public buildings in the state to be lowered to half-staff in honor of the four Marines killed Thursday in Tennessee and offered his condolences to Sullivan's family and friends.

"Terror comes home to Massachusetts," Baker wrote on his Facebook page. "God Bless Tom Sullivan and his family and friends."

Wells, of Cobb, Ga., had attended Georgia Southern University from 2012 through the fall of 2013.

"The entire Georgia Southern University community is saddened by the news that former student and Marine Skip Wells was killed yesterday in the Chattanooga tragedy along with three fellow Marines," the school said in a statement.

Family spokesman Andy Kingery said that Wells decided to leave school, because he "felt a calling to serve in the Marines.” Kingery called the the incident "senseless."

"If you had a team, you would want him on it, because he was going to go for you the extra mile in anything he did," Kingery told WSB-TV.

Holmquist grew up in Grantsburg, Wis., where his parents still live, but more recently called Jacksonville, N.C. home

Susan Holmquist, the Marine's mother, said that military personnel arrived at her door at 7 p.m. Thursday and told them of her son's death. She said on Friday that she and her husband are "just trying to make it through the day." The Marine sergeant is also survived by his wife,Jasmine, and their son, Wyatt.

Josh Watt, who was principal of Grantsburg Sr. High School when Carson attended, said that Holmquist graduated in 2008 and played football all four years at Grantsburg, starting the last two at defensive back. Watt, who also served as football coach, says Carson was an avid sportsman who enjoyed fishing and hunting

Watt recalled when Holmquist paid a return visit to school after boot camp, dressed in his new dress blue uniform. It was clear that Holmquist was proud of becoming a Marine, he said.

The shooter has been identified as Mohammod Youssuf Abdulazeez, 24, of Hixon, Tenn. The FBI is still trying to determine the motive for the shooting.

Abdulazeez, who was born in Kuwait and previously held Jordanian citizenship, was a naturalized U.S. citizen.

The Marines said that the incident would not change the service's commitment to maintaining a presence in U.S. communities.

"The incident has not changed the Marine Corps' resolve to maintain a presence in our communities," Maj. Paul Greenberg, a Marine spokesman, said in a statement. "Our reserve centers will remain open, and continue with the mission of augmenting and reinforcing the active component Marine Corps with trained units and individual Marines.

Contributing: KARE-TV

Originally Posted by ksazma:

Our Muslim cowards only know how to kill unarmed people in civilian settings.

Unlike those soldiers who fought and killed the Afghanis and Iraqis mano a mano.

Thank you. Res ipsa loquitor. Your idiocy speaks for itself.

Only our mentally diseased Muslims from the Terrorist Ameen Corner would dare to equate their terrorists and our Soldiers.

I can't help but notice this never seems to outrage you Merican moonheads enough to abandon your American citizenship, American lifestyles, and American earned wealth. You are the true beneficiaries of the American State and you are so low as to criticize the Soldiers whose sacrifices provide you that freedom to chatay terrorist behind safely on the internet.

Allah ho akbar!

There are good and bad in all religion. This innocent killing on Marines is more heart wrenching to you than anyone else because of your dedicated service to protect the homeland that gave us our freedom.

It F-ing makes me wanna pray to the God I don't believe in for some right wing nutcase to give any random masjid the allah treatment.

for u, it's all about the show nuh

bored much?

I'm not inclined to argue with you over my personal feelings on this. I'll take a pass today.

Suffice to say, I'm a strong believer of the law of reciprocity in maintaining peace especially when one side is of a savage nature like our Muslims. Muslims are like animals, they only respond to a bloody nose when they do something wrong. So once in a while you must give the Muslims a bloody nose when they step out of the bounds/limits of human civilization.

Unlike those soldiers who fought and killed the Afghanis and Iraqis mano a mano.

Only our mentally diseased Muslims from the Terrorist Ameen Corner would dare to equate their terrorists and our Soldiers.

I can't help but notice this never seems to outrage you Merican moonheads enough to abandon your American citizenship, American lifestyles, and American earned wealth. You are the true beneficiaries of the American State and you are so low as to criticize the Soldiers whose sacrifices provide you that freedom to chatay terrorist behind safely on the internet.

Allah ho akbar!

That is the difference between you and I bai. I never feel compelled to eat American shit just because I live in America. You somehow feel that compulsion although I doubt any American ever asked you to. That may very well have something to do with your displayed inferiority complex. Soldiers regardless of country are trained to kill. Nothing admirable about them. I prefer to admire people like doctors, teachers etc. Most soldiers end up mentally disturbed. That is not a knock on you. It is just the nature of that arena and the level of indoctrination that takes place in the military. Why would I care to admire mentally disturbed people?

Allah ho akbar!

That is the difference between you and I bai. I never feel compelled to eat American shit just because I live in America. You somehow feel that compulsion although I doubt any American ever asked you to. That may very well have something to do with your displayed inferiority complex. Soldiers regardless of country are trained to kill. Nothing admirable about them. I prefer to admire people like doctors, teachers etc. Most soldiers end up mentally disturbed. That is not a knock on you. It is just the nature of that arena and the level of indoctrination that takes place in the military. Why would I care to admire mentally disturbed people?

Wow! Impressive! Truly impressive. Need some time to formulate a response.

Allah ho akbar!

Wow! Impressive! Truly impressive. Need some time to formulate a response.

Take all the time you need. Take some time to take your medication also.

bored much?

I'm not inclined to argue with you over my personal feelings on this. I'll take a pass today.

Suffice to say, I'm a strong believer of the law of reciprocity in maintaining peace especially when one side is of a savage nature like our Muslims. Muslims are like animals, they only respond to a bloody nose when they do something wrong. So once in a while you must give the Muslims a bloody nose when they step out of the bounds/limits of human civilization.

ok, so it's about the show

Originally Posted by kp:

I will forward this reply, you should be deported, you echo all the qualities of a terrorist.

Yuh gat de address weh tuh forward it or yuh want me give yuh it?

bored much?

Surely you're above this. You really believe I consider spilling human blood some form of entertainment? I never once had an appetite for blood however I would never hesitate in seeing it spilled under the right circumstances.

I actually and sincerely believe that when people act outside of civilizational norms and existentially threaten the rest of us, we must resort to the Law of Reciprocity. If you kill our innocent civilians, then we'll just file away the Geneva Conventions and kill some of your innocent civilians (not less and not more). Eventually, we are both going to arrive at the place where we can agree to some more civilized rules. Or we just exterminate the misbehaving party. Either way we'd have a solution.

The Law of Reciprocity/Proportionality is what guarantees civilized behavior between peoples and nations.

bored much?

Surely you're above this. You really believe I consider spilling human blood some form of entertainment? I never once had an appetite for blood however I would never hesitate in seeing it spilled under the right circumstances.

I actually and sincerely believe that when people act outside of civilizational norms and existentially threaten the rest of us, we must resort to the Law of Reciprocity. If you kill our innocent civilians, then we'll just file away the Geneva Conventions and kill some of your innocent civilians (not less and not more). Eventually, we are both going to arrive at the place where we can agree to some more civilized rules. Or we just exterminate the misbehaving party. Either way we'd have a solution.

The Law of Reciprocity/Proportionality is what guarantees civilized behavior between peoples and nations.

On this issue, I agree with Shaitaan. As a naturalized American, I find Ksazma's comments here highly repulsive and insensitive, to say the least. I hope he retracts his statements regarding the marines who were killed. If not, I will consider reporting this information to the relevant authorities myself, as I am making a copy of the information. In the mean time, I am making a request that the ADMIN delete this thread and/or issue a stern warning to this person.

I have come to respect the freelance, often times unmonitored discussions and jokes, on this forum. However, we live in a dangerous world and there is no place for this hatred, particularly from someone who lives in this country and enjoys the freedoms that he has, many of which are not granted in some of the Muslim countries.   

Admin, I hope you are taking note. Thank you.

Vish

bored much?

your rhetoric is over-the-top, uncivilized and immature. . . stop your nonsense

that's the "show" i am talking about

Originally Posted by VishMahabir:

bored much?

On this issue, I agree with Shaitaan. As a naturalized American, I find Ksazma's comments here highly repulsive and insensitive, to say the least. I hope he retracts his statements regarding the marines who were killed. If not, I will consider reporting this information to the relevant authorities myself, as I am making a copy of the information. In the mean time, I am making a request that the ADMIN delete this thread and/or issue a stern warning to this person.

I have come to respect the freelance, often times unmonitored discussions and jokes, on this forum. However, we live in a dangerous world and there is no place for this hatred, particularly from someone who lives in this country and enjoys the freedoms that he has, many of which are not granted in some of the Muslim countries.   

Vish

Mullah Kazazma is an excellent example of the kind of vipers being nursed in the bosom of America. Willing to accept all the benefits of the American system like a classic parasite but secretly hateful of the same people and institutions which provide his ass with a Merican lifestyle of success and wealth. A paradox indeed.

Then again Muslims are not known for their gratitude. They will eat your dinner gladly and smash your wares. In Aleem's case, eat your dhall purri and bite your hand.

bored much?

your rhetoric is uncivilized and immature. . . stop your nonsense

that's the "show" i am talking about

You're a social justice warrior and a true belieber. I am not. You're a student of history but not of human nature. History is bloody and messy because it reflects human nature. Civilization is fragile and liberal values are by nature weak and unable to confront the uncivilized.

You cannot argue and reason with people like radical Muslims. They don't share your fine attachments to argumentation and Western civilization. They believe in old school dominance vs. the dominated. They are battling for dominance. You have only two choices. To submit to them or to fight them into submission. It's really that simple. This Muslim terror problem is not as complicated as you think it is. Especially not for the Muslims. The barbarians must be kept in the far off frontiers and kept in check by the credible threat of and occasional use of force.

Muslims will behave themselves when they see the wages of their sins paid in full measure by us infidels. That's what I learned from my readings and from my observations in Afghanistan and my Islamic upbringing. Muslims only respect strength and the force of arms. Not your fine philosophical utterances on the rights of man. To them you're a useful idiot.

Originally Posted by VishMahabir:

bored much?

Vish

So why didn't you reply to the post you considered  "highly repulsive and insensitive."

Allah ho akbar!

If it wasn't for these "mentally disturbed" people, you most likely would still be residing in Guyana...at least be respectful of these people who fight to give you the freedom you enjoy...

Allah ho akbar!

If it wasn't for these "mentally disturbed" people, you most likely would still be residing in Guyana...at least be respectful of these people who fight to give you the freedom you enjoy...

I'm still stunned that people on GNI would make these degrading comments about the military, especially the U.S. Military.

If there aren't Soldiers doing their jobs at great risk to their persons and their mental health then how de F can they be free to be doctors, lawyers, businessmen, and accountants?

The basic pillar of almost all human society is military protection. Someone has to protect the cave and the tribe against the hostile tribes so the accountants and women can sew and keep the cave books.

I'm still stunned that people on GNI would make these degrading comments about the military, especially the U.S. Military.

If there aren't Soldiers doing their jobs at great risk to their persons and their mental health then how de F can they be free to be doctors, lawyers, businessmen, and accountants?

The basic pillar of almost all human society is military protection. Someone has to protect the cave and the tribe against the hostile tribes so the accountants and women can sew and keep the cave books.

I have to agree with you on this.  People should not denigrate the military personnel who served this nation.  Having many relatives who served and continue to serve with whom I have close interaction, I can say, they are hardly "disturbed".  Many went on to become highly successful professional in their own right.

Ok, there are "bad eggs" who get a lot of attention and give bad press however, the military courts act decisively, remember the marine who raped an Iraqi school girl and killed her family, life sentence and then killed himself in jail.  Remember those Blackwater contractors, US law came down very heavy.

Allah ho akbar!

You are confusing your self in an effort to rationalize an evil. First, all of us are here not on any invitation of any American but by invitation of of the opportunities to be better people and in this land we staked our future. The willingness with which we reached out for an opportunity to be our best selves is not free. It came with an obligation to defend and protect and see that others can avail themselves of what goodness we saw when we reached for the chance to be here.

That means standing up and defending what this nation stand for. It is not perfect but we already know that. However we defend the ideals for which it stands as a lure to all of humanity and the prospect that it may be the  best place where humanity can survive the next millennium. Now if you do not agree with me then you are here on false pretenses.

About 2000 years ago a Chinese general said that " The art of war is of vital importance to the State. It is a matter of life and death, a road either to safety or to ruin. Hence it is a subject of inquiry which can on no account be neglected" No truer words were ever said.

The art  of war cannot be practiced without warriors so our soldiers are of vital importance because they stand on the wall and defend that very thing you reached out for when you chose to come here. No one else has the chance to experience their dreams without the soldiers on the wall.

If our soldiers suffer mental and physical trauma of war why should we hold that against them and pretend there can be something we like to do better than sympathize with what they endure? You are deluded in the belief that you know better classes of humans with whom you prefer to break bread.I know you do not want ISIS being our teacher. There is nothing in the insipid, morose view of fundamentalist Islam. It is diseased.

It is more important to know and acknowledge that  now given we are being besieged by degenerates a who think they are know the ultimate choice in who we are. Any who would say that are frauds. They are out to destroy that dream you reached for when you came here.

Here's why Shaits is wrong in his take on the murders of the US war veterans:

1. He fails to show evidence of how Muslims - here and around the globe - are supportive of this dastardly act by a terrorist.
  2. Soldiers follow orders and do not question the the means and end game of their engagement; and moreover they have the backs of their fellow soldiers as any human would in such situations. Shaits however chose to respond to the US soldiers killing innocent civilians in a manner that celebrates such killings.

So Shaits is free to use one set of constructs to justify one set of actions while using an inconsistent set of construct to bash a group of people with no logic or evidence.

I would also argue that dying for one's country (as defined by the masters of the day - remember that Hitler's soldiers died for their country too) is no greater act of patriotism than a non-soldier.

We all do take Shaits comments with a ton of salt grains. The lunatic ravings of a deranged soul must be treated in the proportion of its source. Here's to your lunacy Shaits!

Here's why Shaits is wrong in his take on the murders of the US war veterans:

1. He fails to show evidence of how Muslims - here and around the globe - are supportive of this dastardly act by a terrorist.
  2. Soldiers follow orders and do not question the the means and end game of their engagement; and moreover they have the backs of their fellow soldiers as any human would in such situations. Shaits however chose to respond to the US soldiers killing innocent civilians in a manner that celebrates such killings.

So Shaits is free to use one set of constructs to justify one set of actions while using an inconsistent set of construct to bash a group of people with no logic or evidence.

I would also argue that dying for one's country (as defined by the masters of the day - remember that Hitler's soldiers died for their country too) is no greater act of patriotism than a non-soldier.

We all do take Shaits comments with a ton of salt grains. The lunatic ravings of a deranged soul must be treated in the proportion of its source. Here's to your lunacy Shaits!

What a great analysis and justification by Mullah Kari!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Life is good. While I spent the afternoon and evening entertaining friends and families, some of you spent that same time seeking to deny a clear fact. Feel free to continue confusing facts with emotions. However, now that Shaits has been censured, the craziness will be significantly reduced.

Also, be careful what you say on here...some folks on here do make notes and report...it's one of the things I learned as Admin...be careful what you say on social media

Thanks for the advise Ray. Nonetheless, I am not concerned with any authorities looking into my life/activities. People mostly get into trouble with the law because there are elements of their lives and activities that raise some level of suspicion. I don't have those connections in my life. I am a Muslim but am not a religious one. I don't do anything over the top. However, I have no problem kicking idiots' asses when they make idiotic comments. Hopefully none of those idiots think the last comment is meant literally.