Chris's father Niranjan ran a drug store on Uitvlugt factory road during the 1950s and moved to Ocean View during the racial disturbances in the 1960s. My mother used to send me to Niranjan for castor oil and senna pods.
Hey Gil, a famous Uitvlught resident was Hari Om Sharan's wife. I really enjoy their devotional songs. Are they still living in India?
Gilbakka posted:Chris's father Niranjan ran a drug store on Uitvlugt factory road during the 1950s and moved to Ocean View during the racial disturbances in the 1960s. My mother used to send me to Niranjan for castor oil and senna pods.
Was drugs an issue since back then? So why people blaming the PPP and BJ!
Baseman posted:Gilbakka posted:Chris's father Niranjan ran a drug store on Uitvlugt factory road during the 1950s and moved to Ocean View during the racial disturbances in the 1960s. My mother used to send me to Niranjan for castor oil and senna pods.
Pharmaceutical drug store. Whizz pills, Phensic pills, Thermogene & Vicks rub, Phosphorene tonic, Ferroll compound, Canadian Healing Oil, Buckley's cough mixture, De Witt's kidney pills etc.
Leonora posted:Hey Gil, a famous Uitvlught resident was Hari Om Sharan's wife. I really enjoy their devotional songs. Are they still living in India?
Hari Om Sharan died years ago. Wife probably still there.
Gilbakka posted:Baseman posted:Gilbakka posted:Chris's father Niranjan ran a drug store on Uitvlugt factory road during the 1950s and moved to Ocean View during the racial disturbances in the 1960s. My mother used to send me to Niranjan for castor oil and senna pods.
Pharmaceutical drug store. Whizz pills, Phensic pills, Thermogene & Vicks rub, Phosphorene tonic, Ferroll compound, Canadian Healing Oil, Buckley's cough mixture, De Witt's kidney pills etc.
Talking 'bout that, leh me go take my Geritol!!
Leonora posted:Hey Gil, a famous Uitvlught resident was Hari Om Sharan's wife. I really enjoy their devotional songs. Are they still living in India?
Hard Om Sharan passed on December 17, 2007 in Queens, New York and was cremated there. Nandani returned to India.
Dondadda posted:Leonora posted:Hey Gil, a famous Uitvlught resident was Hari Om Sharan's wife. I really enjoy their devotional songs. Are they still living in India?
Hard Om Sharan passed on December 17, 2007 in Queens, New York and was cremated there. Nandani returned to India.
Here is Nandini singing one of my favs.
Gilbakka posted:Chris's father Niranjan ran a drug store on Uitvlugt factory road during the 1950s and moved to Ocean View during the racial disturbances in the 1960s. My mother used to send me to Niranjan for castor oil and senna pods.
Gil, which street in Ocean View is (was) the Drug Store ?
Django posted:Gilbakka posted:Chris's father Niranjan ran a drug store on Uitvlugt factory road during the 1950s and moved to Ocean View during the racial disturbances in the 1960s. My mother used to send me to Niranjan for castor oil and senna pods.
The street starting from the Hindu temple and ending near the seawall. Lefthand side.
Gilbakka posted:Django posted:Gilbakka posted:Chris's father Niranjan ran a drug store on Uitvlugt factory road during the 1950s and moved to Ocean View during the racial disturbances in the 1960s. My mother used to send me to Niranjan for castor oil and senna pods.
The street starting from the Hindu temple and ending near the seawall. Lefthand side.
Thanks.
I remember Amrit, he committed suicide. We used to call his mom Sira Banu she used to run the rum shop opposite the community center. Mr Niranjan walked with a limp I think he had polio.
Gilbakka posted:Baseman posted:Gilbakka posted:Chris's father Niranjan ran a drug store on Uitvlugt factory road during the 1950s and moved to Ocean View during the racial disturbances in the 1960s. My mother used to send me to Niranjan for castor oil and senna pods.
They didn't have Brooklax?
kp posted:I remember Amrit, he committed suicide. We used to call his mom Sira Banu she used to run the rum shop opposite the community center. Mr Niranjan walked with a limp I think he had polio.
I recalled the rum shop.
The drug store i know in Uitvlugt is the one at the corner of the the public rd and estate rd, the owner was Tiwari.His nephew named Brother was a close friend.
Bibi Haniffa posted:Gilbakka posted:Baseman posted:Gilbakka posted:Chris's father Niranjan ran a drug store on Uitvlugt factory road during the 1950s and moved to Ocean View during the racial disturbances in the 1960s. My mother used to send me to Niranjan for castor oil and senna pods.
Brooklax, PL pills, Dettol, Elastoplast, Bandaid, Epsom salts, etc. Niranjan was an Uitvlugt institution.
Gilbakka posted:Bibi Haniffa posted:Gilbakka posted:Baseman posted:Gilbakka posted:Chris's father Niranjan ran a drug store on Uitvlugt factory road during the 1950s and moved to Ocean View during the racial disturbances in the 1960s. My mother used to send me to Niranjan for castor oil and senna pods.
Brooklax, PL pills, Dettol, Elastoplast, Bandaid, Epsom salts, etc. Niranjan was an Uitvlugt institution.
Senna pod to?
skeldon_man posted:Gilbakka posted:Bibi Haniffa posted:Gilbakka posted:Baseman posted:Gilbakka posted:Chris's father Niranjan ran a drug store on Uitvlugt factory road during the 1950s and moved to Ocean View during the racial disturbances in the 1960s. My mother used to send me to Niranjan for castor oil and senna pods.
Senna pod to?
You don't read? I said my mother used to send me to Niranjan for castor oil and senna pods.
Gilbakka posted:You don't read? I said my mother used to send me to Niranjan for castor oil and senna pods.
One of the reasons I was thrilled to leave Guyana at an early age with my folks was that Mom will never have to force us to drink that horrible stuff every month, then line up for bathroom!
Gilbakka posted:skeldon_man posted:Gilbakka posted:Bibi Haniffa posted:Gilbakka posted:Baseman posted:Gilbakka posted:Chris's father Niranjan ran a drug store on Uitvlugt factory road during the 1950s and moved to Ocean View during the racial disturbances in the 1960s. My mother used to send me to Niranjan for castor oil and senna pods.
Senna pod to?
You don't read? I said my mother used to send me to Niranjan for castor oil and senna pods.
Sorry, Rev Unscale. Just got back from deer hunting and did not pay too much attention to detail. Just trying to catch up.
skeldon_man posted:Just got back from deer hunting and did not pay too much attention to detail.
By the time you quit deer hunting, Uncle Sam will be deerless.
Gilbakka posted:skeldon_man posted:Just got back from deer hunting and did not pay too much attention to detail.
No wonder I hardly see any deer during my interstate trips to the US. Dem Guyanese catch out the Hassa in Florida and now it looks like all dem deer gone into hiding.
What is going Skelly Bhai ?
Gilbakka posted:skeldon_man posted:Just got back from deer hunting and did not pay too much attention to detail.
The man has to provide for his family ,hope he didn't kill Rudolph.
kp posted:Gilbakka posted:skeldon_man posted:Just got back from deer hunting and did not pay too much attention to detail.
The man has to provide for his family ,hope he didn't kill Rudolph.
Or accidentally hit an Iguana.
skeldon_man posted:Sorry, Rev Unscale. Just got back from deer hunting and did not pay too much attention to detail. Just trying to catch up.
My brother-in-law in Colorado (a Chinese related to Arthur Chung) and his brothers are expert deer hunters. The chap is a gun lover and has about 600 registered ones in his collection.
Leonora posted:skeldon_man posted:Sorry, Rev Unscale. Just got back from deer hunting and did not pay too much attention to detail. Just trying to catch up.My brother-in-law in Colorado (a Chinese related to Arthur Chung) and his brothers are expert deer hunters. The chap is a gun lover and has about 600 registered ones in his collection.
Your brother-in-law parents are from Windsor Forest WCD ?
Django posted:Your brother-in-law parents are from Windsor Forest WCD ?
Enterprise, ECD.
How's my cuz in Connecticut doing?
Leonora posted:Django posted:Your brother-in-law parents are from Windsor Forest WCD ?Enterprise, ECD.
Kool,
haven't run in to him for a long time.
Django posted:Kool,haven't run in to him for a long time.
He's an expert horseman. They won all the horse races in the village.
His dad, mine and another brother had cattle ranches in Abary Creek.
Django posted:Leonora posted:Django posted:Your brother-in-law parents are from Windsor Forest WCD ?Enterprise, ECD.
Kool,
haven't run in to him for a long time.
If there is a family relationship hea, me have to watch writing me memoirs. Me already have to drop out some names, befo de ants nest get me.
Bibi Haniffa posted:Gilbakka posted:Baseman posted:Gilbakka posted:Chris's father Niranjan ran a drug store on Uitvlugt factory road during the 1950s and moved to Ocean View during the racial disturbances in the 1960s. My mother used to send me to Niranjan for castor oil and senna pods.
Like yuh constipated or wuh?
Leonora posted:Django posted:Kool,haven't run in to him for a long time.He's an expert horseman. They won all the horse races in the village.
His dad, mine and another brother had cattle ranches in Abary Creek.
So you know the Kadar
Django posted:The drug store i know in Uitvlugt is the one at the corner of the the public rd and estate rd, the owner was Tiwari.His nephew named Brother was a close friend.
Were these the same Tiwaris that owned the drug store in Stabroek market in GT?
Bibi Haniffa posted:They didn't have Brooklax?
...did you zero in on that one because there is a story behind it hmm? Tell we de truth. Were you mean to someone in school and they sent one of their friends to offer you a piece of "chocolate"? LOL.
Baseman posted:Gilbakka posted:Baseman posted:Gilbakka posted:Chris's father Niranjan ran a drug store on Uitvlugt factory road during the 1950s and moved to Ocean View during the racial disturbances in the 1960s. My mother used to send me to Niranjan for castor oil and senna pods.
Talking 'bout that, leh me go take my Geritol!!
You shoulda give me the chance fo remind you about dat.
Just got back from deer hunting and did not pay too much attention to detail.
Wah happen, no grocery store in your area?
cain posted:skeldon_man posted:Just got back from deer hunting and did not pay too much attention to detail.
Wah happen, no grocery store in your area?
I eat a balanced diet. As I said before, no mammals. My brothers do the deer hunting. We got two this year and three last year. I take a few pounds because my wife eats venison.
Leonora posted:skeldon_man posted:Sorry, Rev Unscale. Just got back from deer hunting and did not pay too much attention to detail. Just trying to catch up.My brother-in-law in Colorado (a Chinese related to Arthur Chung) and his brothers are expert deer hunters. The chap is a gun lover and has about 600 registered ones in his collection.
600 Guns ?
What is he trying to do? Build a revolutionary army? That's a lot of firepower. I am sure a lot of those are collectibles. My wife's cousin from Montana has over 150. Some people just love to show these off to their friends.