UN: Guyana to Lead Caribbean in Economic Growth in 2013

By the Caribbean Journal staff, July 30, 2013, 4:00 pm, Source

Guyana is projected to lead the Caribbean in economic growth in 2013, according to the United Nations Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean.

Suriname’s GDP is projected to grow by 4.5 percent, putting it second in the region, followed by Haiti at 3.5 percent.

Jamaica is projected to post the slowest growth in the region, at 0.5 percent, with Barbados not far behind at 0.7 percent.

Belize posted the region’s fastest growth in 2012, according to the report, at 5.3 percent. This year, its growth will fall to 2.7 percent, Chile-based ECLAC projected.

The Caribbean region as a whole is projected to grow by 2 percent this year, up from 1.2 percent in 2012.

The wider Latin American and Caribbean region projects to grow 3 percent for 2013.

SWEET SWEET GUYANA. TO THE MOON, TO THE MOON GUYANA GOING WITH ALL IT'S GLORIES. DEM CANT HOLD WE BACK, DONT HOLD WE BACK, DONT HOLD WE BACK. GUYANA SWEET LIKE A KOWAH, SWEETER THAN A LONG MANGO AND SWEETER THAN A TIMHERI PINEAPPLE.

Stupid and emotional shouting! 

Dunce, that is a brand new Calypso I compose.

SWEET SWEET GUYANA. TO THE MOON, TO THE MOON GUYANA GOING WITH ALL IT'S GLORIES. DEM CANT HOLD WE BACK, DONT HOLD WE BACK, DONT HOLD WE BACK. GUYANA SWEET LIKE A KOWAH, SWEETER THAN A LONG MANGO AND SWEETER THAN A TIMHERI PINEAPPLE.

Even after abusing cheap rum and dope you have no artistic talent. 

At least the man trying.

Unfortunately, Dat young PUNK was dropped on his head by his Alcoholic Father!

At least the man trying.

Why this fella is after you? You know him?

At least the man trying.

Why this fella is after you? You know him or you owe him?

At least the man trying.

I don't associate with DUMB PUNKS!!!

At least the man trying.

I don't associate with DUMB PUNKS!!!

Instead you associate with drunks and drug pushers.

Guyana is projected to lead the Caribbean in economic growth in 2013, according to the United Nations Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean.

Suriname’s GDP is projected to grow by 4.5 percent, putting it second in the region, followed by Haiti at 3.5 percent.

Jamaica is projected to post the slowest growth in the region, at 0.5 percent, with Barbados not far behind at 0.7 percent.

Belize posted the region’s fastest growth in 2012, according to the report, at 5.3 percent. This year, its growth will fall to 2.7 percent, Chile-based ECLAC projected.

The Caribbean region as a whole is projected to grow by 2 percent this year, up from 1.2 percent in 2012.

The wider Latin American and Caribbean region projects to grow 3 percent for 2013.

Subtract the contribution of the gold sector and then get back to me about how strong economicdally Guyana is.  We know that sugar is in deep crises, and bauxite is iffy.

Ok....ok...we know, subtract this, subtract that, add this, add that...leh we see.  Now, let's wonder, if only you mumma was yuh daddy and yuh daddy was yuh mumma, oh what a wonder life!!!

You PPP pyschos want to credit the PPP for the grwoth.  Well given that the PPP;

1.  is not responsibel for Guyana having gold, nature is'

2.  The PPP is not responsible for high gold prices, international capital markets are  AND

3.  The PPP has done NOTHING to develop the gold sector, hard working people in this industry are,

Then why are you all taking credit.   The facts are that gold exports exceed the total of the remaining sectors.  Even if we look at official exports gold is 50% of the total.  When one considers wide spread smuggling then its contribution is higher.  There is a spread to the service sectors as those involved in gold have higher purchasing power, benefiting the retail, and residential/construction sectors.

So I repeat.  How does Guyana look when one subtracts gold, igf it is that you wish to claim that the PPP should be given credit.

Because the flip side is if gold prices drop below a level where marginal mines can be kept operational what happens to the over all economy?

The economy is not growing more than 2.5 percent. Take that to the bank. The UN is a reservoir for political crones not for talent for doing real work. They should know the halving for the price for gold which constitute some 50 percent of real earnings and the plummeting of the sugar ministry and the suffocating of the rice industry by Brazzington playing 3 card minty with paying for oil with rice means we will have growth only from the underground economy and they are not counting that.

You PPP pyschos want to credit the PPP for the grwoth.  Well given that the PPP;

1.  is not responsibel for Guyana having gold, nature is'

2.  The PPP is not responsible for high gold prices, international capital markets are  AND

3.  The PPP has done NOTHING to develop the gold sector, hard working people in this industry are,

Then why are you all taking credit.   The facts are that gold exports exceed the total of the remaining sectors.  Even if we look at official exports gold is 50% of the total.  When one considers wide spread smuggling then its contribution is higher.  There is a spread to the service sectors as those involved in gold have higher purchasing power, benefiting the retail, and residential/construction sectors.

So I repeat.  How does Guyana look when one subtracts gold, igf it is that you wish to claim that the PPP should be given credit.

Because the flip side is if gold prices drop below a level where marginal mines can be kept operational what happens to the over all economy?

The people of many nations are not responsible for their land being lush and fertile, yet the starve and live in abject poverty.

n be kept operational what happens to the over all economy?

The people of many nations are not responsible for their land being lush and fertile, yet the starve and live in abject poverty.

If Guyanese do what they have done for 200 years and that is go into the bush and look for gold that has NOTHING to do with the PPP.  With high prices many more marginal and/or remote sites are now profitable.

At no point has the PPP given any support to this sector because they view it as populated mainly with PNC supporters.

The AFC/PNC dogs are trying their hardest to make sure this prediction of growth is not sustained. However they will fail as the wheels of progress are already in motion, it can not be stopped. Even if the afc/pnc get into power the wheels will continue to roll despite their negativity. 

PPP progress equals and expensive bridge resulting in mnay Berbicians switching to the AFC as they cant afford the tolls.  A white elephant stadium used mainly to host Jcan and Trini entertainers, and by the way no Islanders flying into hear them...more cash outflows as they guys dont perform for free.  A white elephant sugar factory loading up tax payers with massive losses.  The PPP reducing Guysuco to a level where Burnham put it, and nelow where Hoyte left it.  A white elephant hotel where no private secytor investors is interested in investing, so the govt must bu7ild it and hope that private sector companies will then invest.   A hydrodam where millions have been spent yet there is no evidence on what it was spent on.

A terminal bigger than the one in St Maarten.  St M getting 6 jets in one hour while GEO gets six jet in ONE DAY!!!

And this while Brazil threatens to cancel plans to build a deep water harbor in Guyana because the PPP cant find a way to steal from this project.

The AFC/PNC dogs are trying their hardest to make sure this prediction of growth is not sustained. However they will fail as the wheels of progress are already in motion, it can not be stopped. Even if the afc/pnc get into power the wheels will continue to roll despite their negativity. 

PPP progress equals and expensive bridge resulting in mnay Berbicians switching to the AFC as they cant afford the tolls.  A white elephant stadium used mainly to host Jcan and Trini entertainers, and by the way no Islanders flying into hear them...more cash outflows as they guys dont perform for free.  A white elephant sugar factory loading up tax payers with massive losses.  The PPP reducing Guysuco to a level where Burnham put it, and nelow where Hoyte left it.  A white elephant hotel where no private secytor investors is interested in investing, so the govt must bu7ild it and hope that private sector companies will then invest.   A hydrodam where millions have been spent yet there is no evidence on what it was spent on.

A terminal bigger than the one in St Maarten.  St M getting 6 jets in one hour while GEO gets six jet in ONE DAY!!!

And this while Brazil threatens to cancel plans to build a deep water harbor in Guyana because the PPP cant find a way to steal from this project.

PPP neglected their constituency, taking them for granted to focus on the PNC's and their needs in the hope of winning some over.  I hope they learn their lesson.

And what did people in Gtwn get.  Note that as much as 40% of the AfroGuyanese population live in Gtwn.

Note that the PPP sold Guymine to the Chinese, and as a result the vast majority of bauxite workers lost their jobs.  Yet they refuse to sell Gjuysuco, even though that company is near bankruptcy.

Ironically they now have a more positive outlook for bauxite than they do for sugar.  In a few years the EU market will be gone.  Guysuco cannot competre in global markets where prices are more volatile, and often lower.