United States companies interested in Guyana’s oil potential

–outgoing Ambassador Brent Hardt

INVESTMENT relationships between Guyana and the United States of America (USA) are growing, according to outgoing Ambassador Brent Hardt, who noted that several US companies are interested in doing business here.

“We’re each other’s closest trade partners in the sense that I think the trade relations between us is the biggest of any countries,” he said in an interview with the Guyana Chronicle.

“We’ve worked to encourage US investors to come here, and I know as the oil and gas field becomes increasingly of interest here in Guyana, we’ll hopefully see more US companies engaging in that area. There is already interest, and we look forward to seeing more and more companies here.” – US Ambassador Brent Hardt

Noteworthy is the fact that the Ambassador highlighted Guyana’s potential in the oil and gas field, which he said is increasingly becoming a point of interest for US investors.

alt

US Ambassador Brent Hardt

Hardt said: “We’ve worked to encourage US investors to come here, and I know as the oil and gas field becomes increasingly of interest here in Guyana, we’ll hopefully see more US companies engaging in that area. There is already interest, and we look forward to seeing more and more companies here.”

Up to last December, principals from petroleum companies operating in Guyana had a meeting with Minister of Natural Resources and the Environment, Robert Persaud, and Deputy Commissioner of the Guyana Geology and Mines Commission, Newell Dennison, in the United States.

The meeting was held against the backdrop that Guyana has petroleum prospecting licenses issued for exploration activities by petroleum companies in the offshore, coastal, near shore, deep water and ultra-deep waters of Guyana, and within Guyana maritime areas.

At the December meeting, a major investor, CGX, indicated that significant funding was being arranged for its own exploration programme over its prospecting areas, and that it should, in the near term, be advising on its plans.

As recent as June 20 this year, Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of the company, Dewi Jones, said, “We are very pleased with the progress of all our activities thus far in 2014. We continue to work towards drilling our next offshore exploration well in Guyana, and are still optimistic that a joint venture partner will be secured prior to drilling.”

Additionally, Esso, Repsol and Anadarko were companies operating offshore, which concluded geophysical in their respective prospecting areas. Nabi Oil and Gas Inc. concluded a small geochemistry survey over their coastal onshore block in the last quarter of 2013; and together, such investments in exploration have been in the vicinity of US$50M.

All the companies present committed to keep their timelines, and especially with regard to processing and interpreting their new data, which has to inform on an anticipated next campaign of drilling speculated for as early as 2015.

any oil guyana have is the one kwame use on you

“We’ve worked to encourage US investors to come here, and I know as the oil and gas field becomes increasingly of interest here in Guyana, we’ll hopefully see more US companies engaging in that area. There is already interest, and we look forward to seeing more and more companies here.” – US Ambassador Brent Hardt

HEHEHE Yuh Prapa like frig up people Bhai.

Yes, I am not interested in people's personal or irrational behavior on a good subject. If people wants to get me involved in their homosexual conversation, I am not the subject for discussion. 

I thought you wanted the USA to stay away.

They can go and invest, but stay away from our domestic and political affairs. Do you see Uncle Donald interfering with America? let me add that Guyana get more freedom than America. Obama get drone spying on everyone. They have the NSA tapping into your phone conversation, read your private email and and messages. They can see you naked in the privacy of your own home. You want to mix apple and grapes with my opinion on Guyana's affairs, Mitwah. Please don't go there!

Obama have a tape with kwame showing you the oil

If oil or gas is discovered in commercial quantities Guyana's economy would benefit enormously. Any deal between our country and any foreign energy company must be one that is mutually beneficial. We must be not become paranoid of US when they express any sort of concerns about Guyana. We must overcome the cold war syndrome and stop thinking that the US is out to get us. They have helped us brought an end to dictatorial rule. I don't think the US is interested in seeing a dictatorship emerge again. However, we must not become too reliant on the US to help us solve every problem be it political, social, or economic. We have to stand on our feet and help ourselves. 

If they are allowed to go there and invest, they will have a vested interest. The American Government is obliged to intervene and protect. You are playing with fire. You are an American and you are interfering.

Originally Posted by Billy Ram Balgobin:

If oil or gas is discovered in commercial quantities Guyana's economy would benefit enormously. Any deal between our country and any foreign energy company must be one that is mutually beneficial. We must be not become paranoid of US when they express any sort of concerns about Guyana. We must overcome the cold war syndrome and stop thinking that the US is out to get us. They have helped us brought an end to dictatorial rule. I don't think the US is interested in seeing a dictatorship emerge again. However, we must not become too reliant on the US to help us solve every problem be it political, social, or economic. We have to stand on our feet and help ourselves. 

Hey Canadian, who is "we"?