NEW YORK — Urinating and drinking in public would no longer be treated as crimes under a package of bills New York’s City Council will consider to ease enforcement of quality-of-life offences that lawmakers say clog the courts and have been disproportionately enforced against minorities.

The council scheduled a Jan. 25 hearing on the proposed laws, which are supported by Council Speaker Melissa Mark-Viverito, a majority of her 50 colleagues and Police Commissioner Bill Bratton. The proposal would remove the possibility of permanent criminal records for public urination and violating park rules, mostly treating them as civil offences, along with public drinking, littering and excessive noise.

Such low-level offences have left the city with more than 1.2 million active warrants, according to a fact sheet distributed by the council Wednesday.

Bratton agreed to support the proposed laws after extensive negotiations with council members, the mayor and “other concerned partners in the New York City criminal justice system,” said Stephen Davis, a police spokesman. The bills represent “a fair and operationally reasonable way to address many of the issues,” he said in an email.

“Our direct input has been considered instrumental and well-received,” Davis said.

The commissioner has been a proponent of the “broken windows” theory of criminology, which holds that minor breakdowns of law create the sense that a neighbourhood’s social adhesion has come apart, leading to more serious transgressions. He has sparred with the council over the issue, and insisted that police retain power to charge people criminally if their conduct warrants it.

According to a City Council policy memorandum prepared for its members, the laws’ intent is to “bring penalties in line with offences and drastically reduce the number of warrants, all while maintaining a meaningful and proportional enforcement of quality of life offences.” The police department would retain control over when officers should issue a civil or criminal penalty for public urination or park-rules violations, each of which are crimes under state law, according to the bills.

De Blasio and Bratton last year stopped arresting people for possession of 25 grams or less of marijuana. The mayor, who doesn’t usually take an official position on pending or proposed legislation, supported its goals in a statement emailed by Monica Klein, a spokeswoman.

“We will continue to work closely with Speaker Mark-Viverito and the council to provide NYPD with more tools to enforce the law without inhibiting our officers’ ability to keep New York City the safest big city in America,” Klein said.

For Mark-Viverito, the proposed laws fulfill a promise she made last February when she set the council’s agenda. “We cannot continue to lock up those accused of low-level, non-violent offences without recognizing the dire, long-term consequences to them and to our city,” she said then.

Nehru and Cobra will be happy!

Like how you Happy when the World Trade Center was taken down!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Be responsible with your comments uncle Nehru. 

ian posted:

I dont see you warning the ILLITERATE FOOL.

Bro, we make jokes, but we have to smart with the sensible ones. 

I dont know how long you on GNI BUT what is known on GNI is talk to Uncle Nehru with respect and you will receive respect. Disrespect Uncle Nehru and face the WRATH of Uncle Nehru.  It is that simple.

Cobra posted:

Chief, please don't involve me in these discussions. This is not funny or accepted. You need to know your place.  

Meh done put am in he place but he can always come for more.

Cobra posted:

Chief, please don't involve me in these discussions. This is not funny or accepted. You need to know your place.  

Alright Uncle Nehru, you know best, Respect. Now that u can drink outside hope u take the mobile with u...

ian posted:
Cobra posted:

Alright Uncle Nehru, you know best, Respect. Now that u can drink outside hope u take the mobile with u...

I dont drink on the Street, Dat is fuh Lungeeras.  I like holding a thick, nice, sweet Binnie when I sipping my Beverages

ian posted:

NEW YORK — Urinating and drinking in public would no longer be treated as crimes under a package of bills New York’s City Council will consider to ease enforcement of quality-of-life offences that lawmakers say clog the courts and have been disproportionately enforced against minorities.

The council scheduled a Jan. 25 hearing on the proposed laws, which are supported by Council Speaker Melissa Mark-Viverito, a majority of her 50 colleagues and Police Commissioner Bill Bratton. The proposal would remove the possibility of permanent criminal records for public urination and violating park rules, mostly treating them as civil offences, along with public drinking, littering and excessive noise.

Such low-level offences have left the city with more than 1.2 million active warrants, according to a fact sheet distributed by the council Wednesday.

Bratton agreed to support the proposed laws after extensive negotiations with council members, the mayor and “other concerned partners in the New York City criminal justice system,” said Stephen Davis, a police spokesman. The bills represent “a fair and operationally reasonable way to address many of the issues,” he said in an email.

“Our direct input has been considered instrumental and well-received,” Davis said.

The commissioner has been a proponent of the “broken windows” theory of criminology, which holds that minor breakdowns of law create the sense that a neighbourhood’s social adhesion has come apart, leading to more serious transgressions. He has sparred with the council over the issue, and insisted that police retain power to charge people criminally if their conduct warrants it.

According to a City Council policy memorandum prepared for its members, the laws’ intent is to “bring penalties in line with offences and drastically reduce the number of warrants, all while maintaining a meaningful and proportional enforcement of quality of life offences.” The police department would retain control over when officers should issue a civil or criminal penalty for public urination or park-rules violations, each of which are crimes under state law, according to the bills.

De Blasio and Bratton last year stopped arresting people for possession of 25 grams or less of marijuana. The mayor, who doesn’t usually take an official position on pending or proposed legislation, supported its goals in a statement emailed by Monica Klein, a spokeswoman.

“We will continue to work closely with Speaker Mark-Viverito and the council to provide NYPD with more tools to enforce the law without inhibiting our officers’ ability to keep New York City the safest big city in America,” Klein said.

For Mark-Viverito, the proposed laws fulfill a promise she made last February when she set the council’s agenda. “We cannot continue to lock up those accused of low-level, non-violent offences without recognizing the dire, long-term consequences to them and to our city,” she said then.

Not sure if this is a good or bad thing. In Guyana, I used to empty my bladder next to the nearest tree. Here there are cameras looking at you from every angle, much less people with dem drones

Cobra posted:

You stop drinking with Nehru?

Cobra posted:

You stop drinking with Nehru?

That's none of your business, Chief. Islam is facing a crisis from Muslims. Go figure!

Nehru, you gotta admit....the title of this thread was screaming for a response like Nehru jumps for joy.

Even I would have found it irresistible if I was the first to reply. Cobra, well nah, he does not rate for this kind of knee-jerk reaction to drinking and peeing no longer a crime. 

Mr.T posted:

The question is, why should drinking your own piss be a crime? At least one former Indian prime minister drank his own we every morning. can't remember his name off hand.

Another idiotic response from a paid PNC jackass. FYI..Military training in the US requires that soldiers collect their urine to use it in the event of an emergency.

Is what derass you smokin banna? hehehe

Was wondering the same TING!

Al YUh be nice now, is T we talkin Bout.  He not only slow and DUMB but as we Guyanese would say " He PRAPA STUPID"

Don't know what this knucklehead T has about Indian, but in Ugandan and other African countries they drink their own urine for survival and as a therapy which they believes in. Sounds to me he drinks some of Burnham pisse which didn't wok fo him... I PITY THIS FOOL 

Mr.T posted:

His name was Morarji Desai. You lot calling yourself Indians? You don't know nothing about India.

WE not from India but you will not know

So we are Guyanese,or you can define us Guyanese of East Indian descent.

Mr.T posted:

The question is, why should drinking your own piss be a crime? At least one former Indian prime minister drank his own we every morning. can't remember his name off hand.

His name was Moraji Desai

Mr.T posted:

His name was Morarji Desai. You lot calling yourself Indians? You don't know nothing about India.

WE not from India but you will not know

So we are Guyanese,or you can define us Guyanese of East Indian descent.

Same as Afro Guyanese..Indo Guyanese. Write it down somewhere.