• The Association of American Physicians and Surgeons wrote a letter to Arizona Governor Doug Ducey urging wider use of hydroxychloroquine to treat covid
  • They claim that data on 2,333 coronavirus patients reveals the drug helped 91% of patients recover 
  • Their data is mostly taken from observations of various doctors, many of whom - including Dr Oz - report treating only one or two patients 
  • Dr Anthony Fauci has advised caution in using hydroxychloroquine until clinical trials provide more data 
  • FDA issued a warning against using hydroxychloroquine outside hospitals due to its potential to cause heart arrhythmias in some patients 
  • Hydroxychloroquine has shown promise in labs and anecdotal reports, but a VA study found more patients treated with it died than those given standard care
  • AAPS dismisses these results, arguing the veterans involved were very sick and their outcomes were not representative  
  • Here’s how to help people impacted by Covid-19

The malaria drug hydroxychloroquine has improved the survival and recovery odds for about 90 percent of patients treated with the controversial medication, a physicians group claims. 

The Association of American Physicians and Surgeons (AAPS) presented data on 2,333 patients treated with hydroxychloroquine - including two supervised by Dr Oz - across the globe that shows 91.6 percent of those who got the drug fared better after treatment. 

In a letter to Arizona Governor Doug Ducey, the group urged that doctors should not wait for results of gold standard tests of the drug to start using it in coronavirus patients and should instead base their use of it on reasonable interpretations of limited available data. 

AAPS's endorsement of the drug comes after a Veteran Affairs study of hydroxychloroquine found that those who took the drug were more likely to die, casting doubt over the potential treatment that President Trump has hailed a 'game changer.' 

The group of doctors dismissed those preliminary results, claiming that the 52 people who died were very sick, meaning their outcomes are 'not indicative' of hydroxychloroquine's effects and that the drug would work better if used in patients with less critical illness.

The Association of American Physicians and Surgeons claimed in a letter to Arizona's governor that hydroxychloroquine was more than 90% effective at treating more than 2,000 coronavirus patients - but their data is little more than a collection of anecdotal reports, including two patients treated by Dr Oz, and one report on a former NFL player.

Waiting for fixed randomized controlled trials during a pandemic when time is of the essence, a Bayesian approach to the assessment of diagnostic and therapeutic probabilities is wise and efficient and will save time, money and lives if the physicians are given a chance to retain their autonomy and practice medicine to the best of their abilities,' the group writes. 

The Bayesian method, referred to multiple times throughout their letter is a statistical approach in which probabilities are assessed on a rolling basis, and a reasonable expectation is inferred based on the data at-hand. 

In other words, the group says doctors shouldn't wait for a large body of data to draw conclusions about whether or not hydroxychloroquine works and is safe, but assume that it is based on databases like theirs, which it says is regularly updated.

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/he...7cNhmCrgOyLJ9cupBLAY

Remdesivir

Gilead’s experimental antiviral drug was developed to treat Ebola but failed for that purpose. Now, remdesivir has been repositioned as a potential coronavirus therapy. The hype around the drug has grown after the New England Journal of Medicine published promising but anecdotal results from compassionate use and STAT News reported on leaked data from a clinical trial in Chicago. The first official results from clinical trials are expected by the end of the month.

Advertisement

Gilead is running two Phase III trials in the U.S., Asia and Europe. One aims to enroll 6,000 severely ill patients, while the second is seeking 600 moderately ill participants. Both are β€œopen label,” meaning that both doctor and patient know which treatment the patient is receiving. The severe trial is expected to report results in late April, with data from the moderate trial coming in late May.

The National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases β€” the agency run by Anthony Fauci β€” has launched the first randomized, controlled trial of remdesivir, enlisting about 1,060 patients worldwide. Results are expected in late May.

Task force shares data on remdesivir that shows positive results

Two Chinese trials were halted this month because of a lack of enrollment, purportedly due to a lack of patients with Covid-19 as China’s outbreak wanes.

Outside of the trials, Gilead is still allowing patients to access the intravenous drug via a compassionate use program. It’s donating 1.5 million doses β€” enough to treat more than 140,000 patients β€” for use in clinical trials and compassionate use programs.

@Mitwah posted:

I learnt that in Guyana, they are using this Malaria medication. They are also using blood plasma, a method that was used in 1918 to combat the Spanish Flu.

While China was battling the first month of the crisis, they quickly procured the patent for Remdesivir which made them seem suspicious that they created the Virus...This seems to be the wonder drug to treat the Virus...

While China was battling the first month of the crisis, they quickly procured the patent for Remdesivir which made them seem suspicious that they created the Virus...This seems to be wonder drug to treat the Virus...

It’s a drug owned by Gilead developed for Ebola. It had mixed results. The trials in China was halted due to lack of recruits.

The Chinese did create this virus.  They used Pepsid AC to slow the spread.  They know the solution.

It’s a drug owned by Gilead developed for Ebola. It had mixed results. The trials in China was halted due to lack of recruits.

The Chinese did create this virus.  They used Pepsid AC to slow the spread.  They know the solution.

The Chinese quickly figured that thick mucus was in the patients' throats causing the breathing problems, so they cleared the mucus before it reached the lungs which would lead to pneumonia and death...This procedure helped many patients recover...So why aren't doctors all over the world doing this???...

You are correct. That’s why Trump threw out the bleach comment.  I asked my brother why topical approaches are not explored more. He said it’s a valid question.

@Mars posted:

Dr. Fauci is the man. Forget about quacks like Dr. Oz and Dr. Phil who play doctors on TV.

Banna, relax yuh self. How you think they figure Pepcid AC may be a retardant to the Virus!  Some things are discovered by pure accident.

We need a vaccine. This drug will not change anything much. 8% die vs 11% and 11 days recovery vs 15.

Banna, relax yuh self. How you think they figure Pepcid AC may be a retardant to the Virus!  Some things are discovered by pure accident.

We need a vaccine. This drug will not change anything much. 8% die vs 11% and 11 days recovery vs 15.

Did you listen to what he had to say or are you too busy injecting bleach and shoving a UV light up your butt? This is not a vaccine but it is something that they can build on, similar to what they did in developing drugs to treat AIDS. They can tweak it and come up with something more effective since they've discovered a way to suppress the effects of the virus.

@Mars posted:

Did you listen to what he had to say or are you too busy injecting bleach and shoving a UV light up your butt? This is not a vaccine but it is something that they can build on, similar to what they did in developing drugs to treat AIDS. They can tweak it and come up with something more effective since they've discovered a way to suppress the effects of the virus.

Me listen.  Me know.  As I said, it’s good but..

No UV light or Bleach for me. But I buy some Pepsid.

Me listen.  Me know.  As I said, it’s good but 

The Brits said that they have a potential vaccine that is showing a lot of promise in initial testing. They're going to put it through more stringent trials and see how it works out. I agree that at this point a vaccine is what's really needed to make a significant dent in suppressing the spread of the virus.  

@Mars posted:

The Brits said that they have a potential vaccine that is showing a lot of promise in initial testing. They're going to put it through more stringent trials and see how it works out. I agree that at this point a vaccine is what's really needed to make a significant dent in suppressing the spread of the virus.  

Thank you.  I knew you are a clever Putagee unlike the other weed head Putagee!πŸ€ͺ

Me listen.  Me know.  As I said, it’s good but..

No UV light or Bleach for me. But I buy some Pepsid.

Say what? You not following your hero's advice?  You should follow what Howard Stern said, all yall trumpaholics should have a get together and have some Javex cocktails. I'll even add to that, yall should get close..hold hands while swigging it back.

@cain posted:

Say what? You not following your hero's advice?  You should follow what Howard Stern said, all yall trumpaholics should have a get together and have some Javex cocktails. I'll even add to that, yall should get close..hold hands while swigging it back.

I actually using peroxide in my sinus rinse to address.  I’m researching the safe blend/dilution of bleach in event peroxide runs out.

So between that, warm lemon, tumeric, garlic orally, and with other in vitro safeguards, me hope me safe.  If not, well is God’s will.

If I address in the upper respiratory tracts, then lungs should be safe.

I actually using peroxide in my sinus rinse to address.  I’m researching the safe blend/dilution of bleach in event peroxide runs out.

So between that, warm lemon, tumeric, garlic orally, and with other in vitro safeguards, me hope me safe.  If not, well is God’s will.

If I address in the upper respiratory tracts, then lungs should be safe.

So you actually drinking the cool aide.

I plan on sending a letter to trump telling him some buddies of mine who had covid started a regime using Cajun flavoured cowpatties an washing it down with antifreeze, it gotta be the blue or yellow one (makes it more dramatic and believable to the idiot in chief) I'll let him know fifteen people so far had remarkable recoveries.

The fool would be tickled pink (or more orange) he'd stand at the podium and tell the world to try it. I can just picture Bobo saying " Try it, what you got to lose people, it might work or it might not, I'm not a doctor but I got it up here"( pointing to his head) hahahaaaaaaa..what a dikhead that guy is.