Date:  Fri, 15 Sep 2006 14:13 UTC

Wikileak  Viewing cable 06GEORGETOWN925, PARTY POLITICS, PERSONAL LOYALTY KEY IN CABINET

Manzoor Nadir, leader of the minor party The United Force (TUF) took over as Minister of Labour. As Minister of Tourism, Commerce, and Industry, the impoverished Nadir mysteriously became well off. He is Jagdeo's only cross-party appointee.

Shaik Baksh, the former Minister of Housing and Water, is
now Minister of Education.  He has sat for the PPP in the
National Assembly since 1992. Rumors of corruption associated
with the allocation of house lots during his tenure as
Minister of Housing circulate widely, including among PPP
insiders.

--Priya Manickchand, an attorney and legal consultant to
Jagdeo, was named Minister of Human Services and Social
Security, taking over from a discredited Bibi Shadick.  Her
portfolio is expected to include Trafficking in Persons
issues.  Manickchand has worked for the Georgetown Legal Aid
Clinic, a USAID-funded initiative.  There are quiet rumors
that she is romantically involved with Jagdeo.

-Manniram Prashad, a businessman and former presidential
advisor on investment matters, will be Minister of Tourism,
Industry, and Commerce.  Prashad owned a struggling travel
and eco-tourism agency and has served as President of the
Georgetown Chamber of Commerce and Chairman of the Private
Sector Commission (PSC).  He advocates foreign direct
investment, though as Investment Advisor to the President he
was widely suspected of benefiting personally from government
contracts and foreign investment concessions.

Ambassador Robinson’s comments

Guyana's political future will depend on whether
Jagdeo demands honesty and real governance reforms from his
ministers-or just political fidelity. As the U.S. and the
international community push for post-election change, Jagdeo
and the PPP government will have little incentive to overhaul
the system they so effectively control.

Originally Posted by Manishman:

who is this ambassador Robinson? did he ever look at how corrupt the politicians in the usa is?

Why dont you tell us which US president became rich in office or which senator or congress person entered office and in office increased his or her assets a hundred fold as these crooks in the PPP. Do you think a US president can fake he had a wife and is accused of mistreating said fake wide and still survive? Poor Clinton just got a blow job and he had to endure millions of legal fee and being officially impeached!

Everyday I see some of the most powerful people here, republicans and democrats hit the dirt because of infractions or perceived infraction.

In any event, we do not give people a pass on crookedness because the same happen elsewhere. You would not think it acceptable for people to rob your house because the house down the street was robbed.

Originally Posted by Ronald Narain:

Date:  Fri, 15 Sep 2006 14:13 UTC

Wikileak  Viewing cable 06GEORGETOWN925, PARTY POLITICS, PERSONAL LOYALTY KEY IN CABINET

Manzoor Nadir, leader of the minor party The United Force (TUF) took over as Minister of Labour. As Minister of Tourism, Commerce, and Industry, the impoverished Nadir mysteriously became well off. He is Jagdeo's only cross-party appointee.

Shaik Baksh, the former Minister of Housing and Water, is
now Minister of Education.  He has sat for the PPP in the
National Assembly since 1992. Rumors of corruption associated
with the allocation of house lots during his tenure as
Minister of Housing circulate widely, including among PPP
insiders.

--Priya Manickchand, an attorney and legal consultant to
Jagdeo, was named Minister of Human Services and Social
Security, taking over from a discredited Bibi Shadick.  Her
portfolio is expected to include Trafficking in Persons
issues.  Manickchand has worked for the Georgetown Legal Aid
Clinic, a USAID-funded initiative.  There are quiet rumors
that she is romantically involved with Jagdeo.

-Manniram Prashad, a businessman and former presidential
advisor on investment matters, will be Minister of Tourism,
Industry, and Commerce.  Prashad owned a struggling travel
and eco-tourism agency and has served as President of the
Georgetown Chamber of Commerce and Chairman of the Private
Sector Commission (PSC).  He advocates foreign direct
investment, though as Investment Advisor to the President he
was widely suspected of benefiting personally from government
contracts and foreign investment concessions.

Ambassador Robinson’s comments

Guyana's political future will depend on whether
Jagdeo demands honesty and real governance reforms from his
ministers-or just political fidelity. As the U.S. and the
international community push for post-election change, Jagdeo
and the PPP government will have little incentive to overhaul
the system they so effectively control.

Priya Manickchand, an attorney and legal
consultant to Jagdeo, was named Minister
of Human Services and Social Security,
taking over from a discredited Bibi Shadick.

Her portfolio is expected to include
Trafficking in Persons
issues.  Manickchand has worked
for the Georgetown Legal Aid
Clinic, a USAID-funded initiative. 
There are quiet rumors
that she is romantically
involved with Jagdeo.

EH EH Romantically involved, like

she husband is a cuckold!
Originally Posted by alena06:

These guys are running out of ammunition.  They dig up an article from 2006 which states that Priya is having an affair with Jagdeo...and yet they all call him 'gay'...that's what you call a slap in the face. OUch!!

Grl, These people are hell bent on destroying the PPP Govt. They are very angry everytime they hear and see the PROGRESS. Progress means they have no hope of getting into POWER and that is hurting them like hell. I could describe them in Guyanese Terms but I know everyone is smart enough to know who these People are. I tell you one thing, I will NOT trust them with a Penny.

These guys are running out of ammunition.  They dig up an article from 2006 which states that Priya is having an affair with Jagdeo...and yet they all call him 'gay'...that's what you call a slap in the face. OUch!!

Me never seh Jaggy gay since Michelle elphage is meh friend and she tell me he can play but she seh he like play both sided.

If you know what I mean.  He is an AC/DC!

your dream of becoming a minister of finance to thief will never come through you pig, you had all hope that you had a chance by joining up with the PNC, like the Honorable Dr Jagdeo size 11 up your rear was not enough. Good thing you kept your job here,you ungrateful Indian.Posted by redux:
Originally Posted by Manishman:

You air heads living in the most corrupt country in the world and have the nerves to place your labels on other. It’s too funny

yeah bai . . . is that why the honorable minista Robber(t) de tief mekkin sure his future generations are 'native born' hay in Region 11?

Dem get wan dal gutney and ghotay the same ting all the time.

Skelly is wan dhal belly Indian