http://www.stabroeknews.com/20...lacked-transparency/

US human rights report says radio licences lacked transparency

APRIL 22, 2013 · BY  ·

The US government has said that there was a lack of transparency in the granting of 10 radio licences which were issued in 2011 by former President Bharrat Jagdeo shortly before he demitted office.

http://www.state.gov/j/drl/rls/hrrpt/humanrightsreport/index.htm?year=2012&dlid=204456&anchor=section2#section2

Bureau of Democracy, Human Rights and Labor

Country Reports on Human Rights Practices for 2012

Section 2. Respect for Civil Liberties, Including:Share

a. Freedom of Speech and Press

The law provides for freedom of speech including for members of the press, and the government generally respected this right in practice; however, the government’s monopoly on radio broadcasting continued. The government also influenced print and broadcast media and continued to exert heavy control over the content of the National Communications Network (television), giving government spokespersons extended coverage, while limiting participation of opposition figures.

Freedom of Speech: The government controlled most radio stations, which limited the dissemination of diverse views and open public discussions. In 2009 the Court of Appeal ruled that the government had an unlawful monopoly on the airwaves and that the National Frequency Management Unit was not adequately considering radio license applications. In 2011 the government approved applications for 10 new radio stations, although the process was controversial, lacked transparency, and contained further steps needed before the new stations could begin broadcasting. Also in 2011 Parliament passed a broadcasting law that allowed for the establishment of a Guyana National Broadcasting Authority (GNBA) with a governing board appointed by the president. Observers noted that few of the board members had previous media experience. The law states that programs that address controversial public policy or matters of political or industrial contention “must meet standards of fairness, balance, and accuracy, maintaining a proper balance and respect for truth and integrity and always ensuring that opposing views are not misrepresented.” On September 5, the government appointed members of a governing board for the GNBA. By year’s end only one new station began operations, and it was closely aligned with the government. The NGO Reporters without Borders criticized press freedom in the country, due largely to its radio broadcasting monopolies.

Censorship or Content Restrictions: In contrast with 2011, there were no government-imposed restrictions on television stations or suspensions of broadcasts. The government largely directed advertising to media houses aligned with the governing party.

Libel Laws/National Security: Government officials used libel laws to suppress criticism. A hearing into a 10 million Guyanese dollars ($50,000) libel suit filed by former president Jagdeo in July 2010 against the Kaieteur News publishers, its editor in chief, and one of its columnists began in August 2011 and remained pending at year’s end.

This is interference is Guyana's internal affairs.  USG has no right getting involved.  The human rights they need to focus on is the behavior and attitude of White cops towards black/brown male youths here in the US of A.

Obama needs to find a cause fixing America's problems, not "galavanting" and scoring useless points abroad while the US economy goes down, unemployment goes up and terrorists attacks against Americans is on the increase at home and abroad.

This is interference is Guyana's internal affairs.  USG has no right getting involved.  The human rights they need to focus on is the behavior and attitude of White cops towards black/brown male youths here in the US of A.

Obama needs to find a cause fixing America's problems, not "galavanting" and scoring useless points abroad while the US economy goes down, unemployment goes up and terrorists attacks against Americans is on the increase at home and abroad.

Yuh talking piss! How are they interfering in the internal affairs of the country? They have always published these reports and for every country. They are not singling out Guyana for ridicule. 

What you should say is that the Guyana Government should get their house in order and the PPP should stop tiefin state assets. Then we won't have any reason to be ridiculed by anyone else. 

What does it have to do with Obama anyway? This is the job of the US State Dept for donkey years. Even under that Jackass Bush, they were doing the same thing.

What is befuddling is why a small country like Guyana needs umpteen radio stations. Every Tom Dick and Harry will now have a radio station. With Guyana's population, no more than 3 radio stations are necessary. 

why didn't you complain when they intervened with Carter monitoring elections

What is befuddling is why a small country like Guyana needs umpteen radio stations. Every Tom Dick and Harry will now have a radio station. With Guyana's population, no more than 3 radio stations are necessary. 

nothing wrong with multiple radio stations...

herr dankey, (to the extent frequencies are available) i think the market should decide, don't u?

after all, we are not communists . . . rite

herr dankey, (to the extent frequencies are available) i think the market should decide, don't u?

Gov't should give every house a radio licence.

why?

why?

Because of chronic complainers like you.

I agree with you, This is so BGurdeling.

why?

Because of chronic complainers like you.

sooo, i "complain" about PPP crime, and it upsets your tender dankey sensibilities . . .; therefore making it OK for u to be an even bigger idiot than normal on the BB

did I get that rite?

OH Bhia, Dem Chamar this really Paglee. Dem bin ah hall Guiyana need more Radio Stations, now Radio Licenses are raining DAAAG dem still ah complain. Damn if you do and Damn if you dont.

Knuckle head it is an overarching analytical program run by the state department  that offers up metrics  on democracies everywhere. It is no different from any report offered up elsewhere except this one is comprehensive given it comes from us mission input.

And Obama is doing quite well thank you. Given the day he entered office we were in a hapless mess, we have almost dug ourselves out of the Bush's economic hole. Everywhere around me there are massive construction projects going on. There is a 35 acre mixed used development ( actually tearing down some marquee stores!) and on my street I see at least five buildings getting face lifts or add ons. And this is the most demanded real estate market on the east coast so I know the economy is turning around. Housing in our gated community has jumped from a minimum base unit price of 500k to almost 560K. The larger ones have gone up close to 100K and they only stay on the market 4 weeks considering last year they were hanging around an average of 4 months.

OH Bhia, Dem Chamar this really Paglee. Dem bin ah hall Guiyana need more Radio Stations, now Radio Licenses are raining DAAAG dem still ah complain. Damn if you do and Damn if you dont.

nehru . . . is the life u lead so bereft that validation of your miserable existence depends on associating vicariously with PPP criminality?

TK, You are a poor excuse for a Human, if al all you are human.

The licenses ( cable and radio) were not Jagdeo's daddy's to give away to his buddies. That there is a demand for them means they should be up for auction like the US said they should be to preserve the integrity of the news business and to be sure the state benefits by the random choosing.  However, this rapacious crook did what he do best, facilitated access to his close friends. These licenses must be called back and their allocation based on a fair distribution mechanism. Your excuse for PPP cronyism knows no bounds!

TK, You are a poor excuse for a Human, if al all you are human.

poor u . . . if you had a even a little bit of real smarts, u coulda been a contender

Why don't you get your head out of your poop shoot and read the poop you post?