This is the exception rather than the rule, when cost explodes again they will ship the jobs back to China. I am surprised that that second rate PHD shouting for joy over this news. Manufacturing cost will always trump. 

Druggie I will bet you some money on this. My call is natural gas and fracking will bring down the energy cost so much in the US that many global companies will want to move to the South in the next 10 years. Want to bet? 

This is the exception rather than the rule, when cost explodes again they will ship the jobs back to China. I am surprised that that second rate PHD shouting for joy over this news. Manufacturing cost will always trump. 

You a wan drug man? Now meh see wah mek dem a call yuh druggie. drug_B a de appasite a B_Gurd

Originally Posted by TK:

Druggie I will bet you some money on this. My call is natural gas and fracking will bring down the energy cost so much in the US that many global companies will want to move to the South in the next 10 years. Want to bet? 

Highly unlikely,  the bulk of the high expense in most industries is labor, not energy.

China will continue to erode away the manufacturing base of this country. Only very specialized manufacturing will continue to be done in the US.   

Originally Posted by PRK:

You a wan drug man? Now meh see wah mek dem a call yuh druggie. drug_B a de appasite a B_Gurd

Go to da head of da class...you've got the culprit.

Iman hear he got two knack knee an a big tarass goadie he does use as a anchor fo keep him upright when he drinkin.

Originally Posted by TK:

Highly unlikely,  the bulk of the high expense in most industries is labor, not energy.

China will continue to erode away the manufacturing base of this country. Only very specialized manufacturing will continue to be done in the US.   

The likelihood or probability is in my favor. Second factor you missed: Chinese wages are also increasing. This coupled with the coming cheap US energy will turn US into a major high end manufacturing hub in the near future. BMW, Mercedes, etc, already are planning to romp up production in the great USofA. Actually Apple went to fabricate (notice not manufacture but fabricate) its gadgets because of a subsidy the Chinese govt gave it. It had nothing or little to do with labor cost. In any case, the Communist Party is finding out it cannot suppress wages indefinitely. Second factor you missed is the political backlash that is coming as Western companies become wary of the kind of aggressive intellectual poaching of Western technologies and ideas. Third, the yuan is appreciating in the near future.

Druggie I know this is not pleasant for you Jagdeoites who want to do business with the Chinese for obvious "corporate governance" reasons. The great USofA and the British have laws  that forbid their corporations from offering bribes. 

Originally Posted by TK:

The likelihood or probability is in my favor. Second factor you missed: Chinese wages are also increasing. This coupled with the coming cheap US energy will turn US into a major high end manufacturing hub in the near future. BMW, Mercedes, etc, already are planning to romp up production in the great USofA. Actually Apple went to fabricate (notice not manufacture but fabricate) its gadgets because of a subsidy the Chinese govt gave it. It had nothing or little to do with labor cost. In any case, the Communist Party is finding out it cannot suppress wages indefinitely. Second factor you missed is the political backlash that is coming as Western companies become wary of the kind of aggressive intellectual poaching of Western technologies and ideas. Third, the yuan is appreciating in the near future.

Druggie I know this is not pleasant for you Jagdeoites who want to do business with the Chinese for obvious "corporate governance" reasons. The great USofA and the British have laws  that forbid their corporations from offering bribes. 

Nonsense, you have been wrong before and you will be proven wrong again. The difference between labor in China and the US is so vast that mere energy savings in the US will not compensate for the difference in total expense over the next few years.  When the lewis turning point is reached, the Chinese will move their operations to nations with cheap labor, and their is an abundance of these nation in the region. Before most of these jobs return to the US they will have to make the rounds to progressively cheaper producing nations.  America will be the last in line. 

BGURDLE, think TK as a REAL doctorate recipient vs. Fagdeo with his fake honorary. Personally, I would outright refuse to accept an honorary doctorate. REFUSE.

Originally Posted by Bruddaman:

BGURDLE, think TK as a REAL doctorate recipient vs. Fagdeo with his fake honorary. Personally, I would outright refuse to accept an honorary doctorate. REFUSE.

I didn't realize that it was an honorary PHD, I thought the man actually worked for it. 

Originally Posted by TK:

Nonsense, you have been wrong before and you will be proven wrong again. The difference between labor in China and the US is so vast that mere energy savings in the US will not compensate for the difference in total expense over the next few years.  When the lewis turning point is reached, the Chinese will move their operations to nations with cheap labor, and their is an abundance of these nation in the region. Before most of these jobs return to the US they will have to make the rounds to progressively cheaper producing nations.  America will be the last in line. 

Druggie...each even has a probability of outcome. There is a probability that manufacturing don't boom in the US in the next 10 years (I am wrong). There is a probability attached to the event that I am right. I am confidently betting that the latter probability is greater. Now, it is not about me. Let's discuss the issue of whether the US experiences a major energy and economic boom in the next 10 years because it is fundamental for you Jagdeoites since your leader picked sides when he cursed out the Americans while in Iran. This is fundamental because if fracking allows the US to really boom then all those countries depending on oil will not find it easy. 

Druggie you're not making sense since if you are bullish on China you have to accept Chinese wages will rise, and it is increasing as we type here. And your thesis that investors will move to other low income nations is wrong. They can't go to Bangladesh or Vietnam as they did in large numbers to China 20 years ago. These nations don't have today some of the advantages China had then. 

Now Druggie for my 4th factor why China has far to go. Name me ONE great global Chinese brand that people are crazy about like what the South Koreans have: say Samsung, LG, Kia or Hyundai or Brazil's Embrarer and India Wipro. Just ONE...name me ONE Mr Druggo. 

I am holding back my main variable (the 5th one). Suffice to say, I choose to be on the side of liberty, freedom, human rights and democracy. 

Originally Posted by TK:
The great USofA and the British have laws that forbid their corporations from offering bribes. 

Bribes do not exist, especially, with corporations in the US-of-A and Britain???

I know as a old far left-wing former communist East German trained engineer enjoying the freedoms and liberty of good old Canada, you are offended by this thread. I am sorry for the displeasure. I never intended your displeasure and I never said there is no corruption by US businesses abroad. Recently Walmart was found giving bribes in Mexico. American laws will take care of Walmart and the public will decide the reputational price it must pay. Now as uncomfortable this thread may be, could you kindly point me to ONE...only ONE Chinese law or case where a Chinese company offering bribes in Africa/Caribbean/Latin America was brought to public light. Thank you.  

Yours Truly,

TK

Originally Posted by TK:
The great USofA and the British have laws that forbid their corporations from offering bribes. 

Bribes do not exist, especially, with corporations in the US-of-A and Britain???

I know as a old far left-wing former communist East German trained engineer enjoying the freedoms and liberty of good old Canada, you are offended by this thread. I am sorry for the displeasure. I never intended your displeasure and I never said there is no corruption by US businesses abroad. Recently Walmart was found giving bribes in Mexico. American laws will take care of Walmart and the public will decide the reputational price it must pay. Now as uncomfortable this thread may be, could you kindly point me to ONE...only ONE Chinese law or case where a Chinese company offering bribes in Africa/Caribbean/Latin America was brought to public light. Thank you.  

Yours Truly,

TK

Your long-winded nonsense continue to show your inability to deal with simple realities.

Originally Posted by TK:

Yours Truly,

TK

Your long-winded nonsense continue to show your inability to deal with simple realities.

I apologize for the discomfort the thread may cause. I look forward to being enlightened by your timeless wisdom and I am hoping that your great wisdom will lead towards finding ONE Chinese law that forbids their companies from offering bribes in a foreign company. Thank you. 

December 4, 2012 6:51 am

Chinese companies caught in SEC crossfire

The Big Four auditors have been caught in the crossfire of a US-China regulatory dispute, but the biggest casualty could be Chinese companies listed in the US.

The US Securities and Exchange Commission on Monday accused the Chinese affiliates of the Big Four – Deloitte, Ernst & Young, KPMG and PwC – plus one other firm, BDO, of breaking securities laws after they refused to produce paperwork related to investigations into accounting fraud at nine Chinese companies.

But by charging the Chinese affiliates of the leading global accounting firms, the SEC has begun a process that could hasten the wholesale delisting of Chinese companies from the US stock market.

The accounting firms are faced with a Catch-22 situation. The US says they must share audit documents from foreign countries, while China bars that practice.

Paul Gillis, a professor of accounting at Peking University, says the SEC action could mark “the beginning of the end” of US stock market listings for Chinese companies. “All the Chinese companies listed in the US will be without auditors and that will lead to their delisting,” he adds.

Caught in this tussle are dozens of small companies – some of which have been accused of business fraud by short sellers such as Muddy Waters â€“ and a few larger groups such as the giants of the Chinese internet sectorBaidu and Sina.

There has already been a wave of delisting from US markets by Chinese groups with private equity or mainland bank backing. Focus Media, a display advertising company, valued at $3bn is pursuing China’s largest ever buyout deal, while Asiainfo-Linkage, a telecoms billing group, is set to delist with backing from Citic Capital.

Bankers and lawyers in Hong Kong say many more groups are seeking funding to pursue similar deals. “For Chinese companies, a US listing used to be a badge of honour, but the regulatory burden, tax concerns and the poor performance of shares means they are no longer interested,” says one leading Hong Kong lawyer.

Yu Guofu, a lawyer with Beijing Shengfeng law firm, says a China-US auditing framework should have been worked out years ago.

“This is an issue that should have been dealt with before they were listed, so that it didn’t get to this point where auditing firms can’t do anything about it,” he says.

Instead, US-listed Chinese companies have existed in a grey area, with neither US nor Chinese regulators monitoring them closely, and some have exploited that ambiguity.

The issue has come to a head after the SEC began to investigate potential wrongdoing. To date the US regulator has filed fraud allegations against 40 individuals or companies.

Mr Gillis doubts a diplomatic solution can be achieved. He says the Chinese government objects in principle to the idea of allowing foreign regulators to oversee domestic companies. “I don’t think the Chinese are going to back down. This is too fundamental an issue.”

At the same time, US bankers in Hong Kong say the SEC can never allow lower standards for companies from a particular country because others would demand the same. “This is an issue that can only be dealt with at the government to government level,” says one US banker. “It looks like that diplomatic process may have broken down.”

Michael Andrew, KPMG global chairman, says the timing of the SEC move is “curious”, as it follows hard on the heels of the news of the departure of Mary Schapiro, SEC chairman, while coinciding with a change of political leadership in China.

He hopes the US will not trigger mass Chinese delistings: “When you are dealing with the Chinese, constructive engagement will always result in better outcomes.”

Hong Kong, where almost one-quarter of listings are mainland companies, has also faced problems getting audit papers out of China. The Securities and Futures Commission is pursuing Ernst & Young in Hong Kong’s courts over working papers related to Standard Water, a Chinese group that applied to list in the territory but later cancelled its flotation.

However, Tong Daochi, head of International Affairs at the China Securities Regulatory Commission, told a gathering of lawyers in Hong Kong only last week that audit working papers should be shared with other regulators to crack down on fraud and maintain market integrity. But he added there were legal hurdles in dealing with different rules in different countries. “I think we’ll shortly be able to work out a way to deliver those papers,” he said.

Additional reporting by Adam Jones in London

Originally Posted by TK:

Yours Truly,

TK

I apologize for the discomfort the thread may cause. I look forward to being enlightened by your timeless wisdom and I am hoping that your great wisdom will lead towards finding ONE Chinese law that forbids their companies from offering bribes in a foreign company. Thank you. 

Your ability to express incorrect statements are quite evident from your initial statement about me.

In other words .. your statement about me -- highlighted in blue -- which you have constantly used on GNI  is absolutely incorrect.

It is your choice to continue making incorrect statements.

Originally Posted by TK:

Yours Truly,

TK

Your ability to express incorrect statements are quite evident from your initial statement about me.

In other words .. your statement about me -- highlighted in blue -- which you have constantly used on GNI  is absolutely incorrect.

I thought you said you obtained a scholarship to study engineering in East Germany in the 1960s or 70s? And did you not say you are based in Canada? If you are not then I retract the label of a far leftie. 

Originally Posted by TK:

Yours Truly,

TK

I thought you said you obtained a scholarship to study engineering in East Germany in the 1960s or 70s? And did you not say you are based in Canada? If you are not then I retract the label of a far leftie. 

I never made any statements on GNI about where I studied.

Again, another example of your inability to make straight and correct statements.

Originally Posted by TK:

Yours Truly,

TK

Again, another example of your inability to make straight and correct statements.

I am pretty sure you mentioned you were in East Germany along with Gerhard's dad.  Anyhow...that is not the focus of this thread. We look forward to receiving your immense wisdoms and we hope you will deploy them to finding that ONE law I mentioned above. Again I retract the statement where I called you far leftie. 

Originally Posted by TK:

Yours Truly,

TK

I am pretty sure you mentioned you were in East Germany along with Gerhard's dad.  Anyhow...that is not the focus of this thread. We look forward to receiving your immense wisdoms and we hope you will deploy them to finding that ONE law I mentioned above. Again I retract the statement where I called you far leftie. 

Again, the blue highlighted part in your last statement is incorrect.

Originally Posted by TK:

Druggie...each even has a probability of outcome. There is a probability that manufacturing don't boom in the US in the next 10 years (I am wrong). There is a probability attached to the event that I am right. I am confidently betting that the latter probability is greater. Now, it is not about me. Let's discuss the issue of whether the US experiences a major energy and economic boom in the next 10 years because it is fundamental for you Jagdeoites since your leader picked sides when he cursed out the Americans while in Iran. This is fundamental because if fracking allows the US to really boom then all those countries depending on oil will not find it easy. 

Druggie you're not making sense since if you are bullish on China you have to accept Chinese wages will rise, and it is increasing as we type here. And your thesis that investors will move to other low income nations is wrong. They can't go to Bangladesh or Vietnam as they did in large numbers to China 20 years ago. These nations don't have today some of the advantages China had then. 

Now Druggie for my 4th factor why China has far to go. Name me ONE great global Chinese brand that people are crazy about like what the South Koreans have: say Samsung, LG, Kia or Hyundai or Brazil's Embrarer and India Wipro. Just ONE...name me ONE Mr Druggo. 

I am holding back my main variable (the 5th one). Suffice to say, I choose to be on the side of liberty, freedom, human rights and democracy. 

I am  not bullish on China at all, eventually they will fall from grace like all booming economies with bad underlying ethics. Lets just say that I am not bullish on the US in terms of jobs returning here en masse. Investors always go for the profit, US can not compete in this arena, they have to rely on the "made in America" mantra to make a few sales and even that is facetious. Most of the parts are made elsewhere while the final assemble is done here for most of those products touted as "American made". If you watch Shark Tank, the tv show, you will notice that whenever a product is presented to an investor, they immediately ask about how much it would cost to product the same item overseas. Hope is eternal, but in your case it is fairy tales you believe in.  Lower energy in the US will not compensate for high labor cost. 

Sorry Druggie...but I do not derive my information from a silly show like shark tank. And speaking about fairy tales, I don't deal with that either. If you want to see fairy tale check out the LCDS. It has some fantastic fairy tales like Guyana getting US$580 mill indefinitely and the money will go through OP. Unlike you I am bullish on the US and I don't need shark tank to help form my expectations. 

The problem with you is that you are insulated from the realities of the world behind your podium lectern. As I mentioned before, those who fail in the real world resort to teaching. You need to dig up the statistics on jobs leaving these shores compared to the few returning. The only jobs safe here is the real high tech one that requires superior mental capabilites and expertise. Mundane jobs are outsourced immediately, why keep these jobs here and pay an Ameican when it can be done at a fraction of the cost overseas?

We can examine the call center industry, how come those jobs are not returning? The first push was for these centers to be moved down south, then it was to Indian, when the Indian economy impoved and wages rose, the call centers started making rounds in Latin America and even ended up in Guyana. The common factor here was cost. I am not even as educated in this field as you and yet I am able quite easily to put you shame in my analysis. The difference is that I live in the real world and you hide behind your desk worrying about the PPP and negelecting your own field of economics.

The problem with you is that you are insulated from the realities of the world behind your podium lectern. As I mentioned before, those who fail in the real world resort to teaching. You need to dig up the statistics on jobs leaving these shores compared to the few returning. The only jobs safe here is the real high tech one that requires superior mental capabilites and expertise. Mundane jobs are outsourced immediately, why keep these jobs here and pay an Ameican when it can be done at a fraction of the cost overseas?

We can examine the call center industry, how come those jobs are not returning? The first push was for these centers to be moved down south, then it was to Indian, when the Indian economy impoved and wages rose, the call centers started making rounds in Latin America and even ended up in Guyana. The common factor here was cost. I am not even as educated in this field as you and yet I am able quite easily to put you shame in my analysis. The difference is that I live in the real world and you hide behind your desk worrying about the PPP and negelecting your own field of economics.

You don't live in a real world. You depend on trivial talk show hosts for info. That's fantasy land. I know you Jagdeoites don't see teaching as a real job. That's why you evil doers have cursed the nation with drug pushers and hustlers who think streetsmarts is real smarts. You evil doers have cursed the nation with alcoholics, wine down culture and wife beaters. Fortunately central bank governors - people who live in the real world - turn to us for advice. And organisations like the FL democratic party depends on us for opinions and advice. No one requires the opinion of a con man and hustler and minibus tout.  

Look how you are silly. This thread is not about low quality call center jobs service jobs. Those ought to be outsourced and will be outsourced domestically and internationally. Example, ADP is a local outsourcing of payroll activities. China will continue to be the center for low quality manufacturing. That is not in doubt. The evidence shows that US will continue to play a bigger and bigger role in high-value manufacturing - medical goods, heavy machines, airplanes, weapons, precision machines, cars/trucks, etc. Wage is not the only variable for high end manufacturing.  

Originally Posted by TK:

You don't live in a real world. You depend on trivial talk show hosts for info. That's fantasy land. I know you Jagdeoites don't see teaching as a real job. That's why you evil doers have cursed the nation with drug pushers and hustlers who think streetsmarts is real smarts. You evil doers have cursed the nation with alcoholics, wine down culture and wife beaters. Fortunately central bank governors - people who live in the real world - turn to us for advice. And organisations like the FL democratic party depends on us for opinions and advice. No one requires the opinion of a con man and hustler and minibus tout.  

Look how you are silly. This thread is not about low quality call center jobs service jobs. Those ought to be outsourced and will be outsourced domestically and internationally. Example, ADP is a local outsourcing of payroll activities. China will continue to be the center for low quality manufacturing. That is not in doubt. The evidence shows that US will continue to play a bigger and bigger role in high-value manufacturing - medical goods, heavy machines, airplanes, weapons, precision machines, cars/trucks, etc. Wage is not the only variable for high end manufacturing.  

Imagine a relative failure like yourself have the never to call some of the most successful entrepreneurs in america trivial?

Billionaire Mark Cuban, owner and chairman of HDNet and outspoken owner of the 2010-2011 NBA championship Dallas Mavericks, returns as a Shark and appears in all 13 episodes. Also, Lori Greiner, a prolific inventor of retail products and often referred to as the "Queen of QVC," will join the show as a guest Shark investor for three episodes.

Returning "Sharks" joining Cuban and Greiner are real estate mogul Barbara Corcoran, technology innovator Robert Herjavec, fashion and branding expert Daymond John and venture capitalist Kevin O'Leary, who we all know has also been called Mr. Wonderful (by himself, of course).

In case you didn't realize, the call centers is just an example of the same trend that will happen to all other jobs that are already outsourced. The IT industry have been decimated by outsourcing. So has the manufacturing, how high value can you get than the Iphone, it does not sell for $1 or even $100. You need to get out from behind your desk and experience the real world. 

Originally Posted by TK:

Imagine a relative failure like yourself have the never to call some of the most successful entrepreneurs in america trivial?

Billionaire Mark Cuban, owner and chairman of HDNet and outspoken owner of the 2010-2011 NBA championship Dallas Mavericks, returns as a Shark and appears in all 13 episodes. Also, Lori Greiner, a prolific inventor of retail products and often referred to as the "Queen of QVC," will join the show as a guest Shark investor for three episodes.

Returning "Sharks" joining Cuban and Greiner are real estate mogul Barbara Corcoran, technology innovator Robert Herjavec, fashion and branding expert Daymond John and venture capitalist Kevin O'Leary, who we all know has also been called Mr. Wonderful (by himself, of course).

In case you didn't realize, the call centers is just an example of the same trend that will happen to all other jobs that are already outsourced. The IT industry have been decimated by outsourcing. So has the manufacturing, how high value can you get than the Iphone, it does not sell for $1 or even $100. You need to get out from behind your desk and experience the real world. 

You missed completely what TK said. That is not surprising since you are a goat. His point is that high value manufacture is located here, will remain here and will increase in market share. 

And you jonny come lately to the party missed the part where I showed that one of the most high tech product, the Iphone is being manufactured in China. ahahahaha

Dude, Apple's gadgets are not manufactured in China. They are assembled or fabricated. They are conceptualized and designed in the US. Parts come from Taiwan and South Korea. These are shipped to a subsidized factory in China for assembly. Assembled computers, iPhones, iPads, etc, are then shipped to the US for branding and marketing. China only receives about $5 for each phone. Most of the wealth is generated in and stays in the US. You are not making any sense. You have not named one great global Chinese brand yet.

Originally Posted by TK:

IT industry decimated? Is that why Tata's IT arm and WIPRO established units here. You are reasoning like a Jagdeoite. No wonder why Guyana is in such crap today. Manufacturing decimated? I flew on a Boeing 737-800 a few days ago and is thinking of buying a Lincoln MKZ Hybrid. You got to be joking. 

Originally Posted by TK:

Dude, Apple's gadgets are not manufactured in China. They are assembled or fabricated. They are conceptualized and designed in the US. Parts come from Taiwan and South Korea. These are shipped to a subsidized factory in China for assembly. Assembled computers, iPhones, iPads, etc, are then shipped to the US for branding and marketing. China only receives about $5 for each phone. Most of the wealth is generated in and stays in the US. You are not making any sense. You have not named one great global Chinese brand yet.

ahem . . . like ah waiting in vain fuh de drug man 'response' to dis wan

har de har har har har!!

http://news.cnet.com/8301-1357...ine-for-iphone-ipad/

Apple uses U.S.-made 'engine' for iPhone, iPad

The single most important internal component for the iPhone and iPad is already manufactured in the U.S.

Oi Goadiebanna, I heard something about you bein a goat, true dat?

It look so to me you know. You does get beat up over one thing you then respond with the same stupidy lines you tend to use, then you get beat up again.

Yep, you's a goat.

Originally Posted by God:

http://news.cnet.com/8301-1357...ine-for-iphone-ipad/

Apple uses U.S.-made 'engine' for iPhone, iPad

The single most important internal component for the iPhone and iPad is already manufactured in the U.S.

Hahahah. B_Gurd nah know wah foh say. A true he a de Raj pun de Guysuco? Dem dis a run sugah in abie country?

Financial Times December 6, 2012 7:35 pm

Forget the fiscal cliff: buy America

The strengths of the US far outweigh its weaknesses even without cheap gas

Ingram PinnÂĐIngram Pinn

Every time I see a banner headline predicting the US is about to hurl itself over a fiscal cliff, I am more certain in my conviction: China may soon be the world’s largest economy, but now is the time to buy America.

The power struggle about the deficit between Barack Obama and the Republican-controlled House of Representatives could well end badly. A deal requiresRepublicans to admit that their no-tax-rises-ever pledge cannot survive the latest electoral defeat. Mr Obama must accept that it will take more than squeezing the rich to repair the nation’s finances.

That said, the risks and consequences of failure have been overdone. Even if negotiations do collapse, sequestration does not mean that the economy will be crushed by $600bn of instant tax increases and spending cuts. The impact would be felt through 2013. The short-term blow to confidence might be severe but what is threatened resembles more a slope than a cliff. If deadlock were to persist, the Congressional Budget Office estimates the US economy could shrink by 0.5 per cent next year – scarcely good news but, by European standards anyway, well short of catastrophe.

In any event, the odds must favour at least a partial deal. The other day Paul Ryan’s office was asked whether the vice-presidential candidate still felt bound by the lobbyist Grover Norquist’s infamous taxpayer protection pledge. The carefully formulated reply was that the Tea Party favourite owed allegiance to the constitution and to the voters of Wisconsin. This sounds like progress.

Mr Obama holds the advantage. Without a deal, all of George W. Bush’s tax cuts will expire, leaving Republicans with the opprobrium for attacking middle class living standards. On the other hand, the president has his own incentive to strike a bargain. Restoring America is his big second-term ambition. For that he needs a budget deal.

Looking ahead, as long as the US does not follow Europe in the self-defeating game of competitive austerity, the fiscal gap can be closed over time through a less than draconian mix of tax increases and spending cuts alongside sustained growth. The US economy has already shown a vibrancy that European governments would die for.

The big reason for optimism is structural rather than cyclical. Short-term storms have obscured longer-term trends. These are on America’s side. There is no need to take my word for it. Ask the Chinese.

A year or so ago, the Beijing-based Chinese Institute for Contemporary International Relations made an unpublished assessment of the various components of US power. The CICIR serves China’s intelligence agencies and has a reputation for unvarnished analysis. It found many more entries on the positive than on the negative side of the US balance sheet.

Some of these strengths speak for themselves. America’s military reach will be unrivalled for decades. It has a stable political system. The country’s demographic profile is significantly better than that of any potential rival. Washington sits at the centre of the world’s most powerful alliance system. Its intelligence capabilities are unmatched. The US has huge advantages in technological prowess and intellectual resources. Around the world it exerts a strong cultural draw. It has a global outlook.

The Chinese identified some counterpoints: an underperforming economy, rising public debt and deficits, social polarisation and political gridlock in Washington. What’s striking, though, is the qualitative nature of the pluses and minuses. The advantages are mostly permanent. The security afforded by geography is not something the US can lose. The same can be said for abundant natural resources and relative resilience against climate change. Compare this with the identified weaknesses. With a measure of political resolve, they are all more or less tractable.

The implications of the exploitation of unconventional oil and gas reserves has been underestimated. Most obviously, shale oil and gas will reduce dependency on Middle East petrocarbons. Over time that will encourage a scaling back in the US commitment to the region’s security, freeing up economic and military resources for Mr Obama’s pivot to Asia. Countries such as China that are heavily dependent on imported energy will be much more vulnerable to geopolitical shocks.

The big gain, though, comes in the form of the competitive stimulus promised byabundant cheap gas. The age of offshoring is likely to give way to the era of onshoring. The US growth rate will rise and the current account deficit will shrink.

Europeans are already complaining that cheap US gas is encouraging a flight of energy intensive businesses across the Atlantic. How can, say, Europe’s chemicals producers – buying expensive Russian gas – compete with US rivals guaranteed access to cut-price feedstock.

The US has challenges aplenty. Large chunks of its infrastructure lie somewhere between creaking and collapse. Political funding rules and gerrymandering have corrupted Washington politics. Spending on health is on an unsustainable trajectory. There are others. But everyone has problems. China faces the immense task of adapting an authoritarian political structure to the demands of a rising middle class. Europe is mired in the euro mess.

What’s true is that the US can no longer presume to order the world in the manner it imagined after the end of the cold war. The rise of the rest leaves no room for a hegemon. I am not sure that should be of any great concern. A self-sufficient US may well be more comfortable playing the role of a selective superpower. As I said, it’s time to buy America.