Looking at the GEOCOM results, it appears to me, that with such a slim (I call 1 seat, slim) margin, Nagamottoo delivered the defeat of the PPP more than a victory for APNU and the coalition. Notwithstanding that the PPP needed to be taught a lesson, I think a larger margin would have been needed to really say that the coalition won the confidence of the people. As it is, they merely won, but a victory is a victory, and yes, the PPP needed to be taken down a peg. It is hard to deny the corruption and disregard for what the population was thinking of them. I think people just got fed up. Like all dictators, they started off talking about the people, than ended up talking about themselves to the exclusion of the people who were depending on them to deliver betterment in their lives.

Change is a good thing, and this might give the PPP pause to look at themselves and implement some long needed changes. Yes I agree with Joey Jagan, even though he may be erratic at times. If the PPP wants to be a force for change in the future, they must be contrite for the mistakes they made and must revamp the party. It is a very good opportunity for them to do so while the attention is on the new government. The supporters of the coalition will expect them to deliver, they should!! The PPP old timers must go or play less public roles. The country needs to see new faces in the leadership of the party or else they will be viewed with the same old suspicion. And they need to move away from the bottom house style of politics if they want people to follow them again, or risk becoming irrelevant in the future of Guyana. They cannot remain mired in an old way of doing things or they risk their support base moving ahead of them and looking for a better party in whom to trust.

As I said before, a win is a win, but I do believe that they were manipulations with respect to the ballot boxes. And I believe that was why there was such a rush to declare the elections. Once declared, it would be hard to overturn the decision, because of the turmoil and confusion that would accompany such a move. And the ABC countries also know this; that is why they also pressed for the declaration. If they were so confident of the count, then recounting would not be an issue, because the result would be the same. Other countries with much more huge voting populations have done so. This would have solidified Granger's and Nagamootoo's positions.

Mr Granger surely cannot be feeling like a true winner with such a small margin, delivered no doubt by Mr. Nagamootoo's AFC, and not having the comfort that a recount would have given him, assuming the results would be in his favour. Add to that the fact that almost half of the country did not vote for the coalition, much less his APNU segment of the coalition (we will never know this for sure).

We are in for interesting times in Guyana; Nagamootoo will press for reforming, i.e. reducing, the power of the Presidency in favour of the Prime Minister. I cannot believe that he pooled with APNU to simply hand total power to them. I believe his motivations are good as are Mr. Granger's, but I also believe the old ideological instincts are alive and well in both of them.

The question for Mr. Granger is whether he can curtail the old instincts of some of his PNC/APNU partners, and prevent them from viewing the win as "we time now". Any reversion to type within the APNU could unravel the coalition quicker than it took to collate. Remember they collated just to fight the election and dump the PPP, not because they share the same ideology, at least I do not think so.

In any event, this is supposed to be about the people of Guyana, all of them. We have had almost 50 years of the racial politics of the PNC and PPP, which has not taken Guyana too far, and kept alive racial politics and fear. True the PPP got us out of the mess of the PNC, but they forgot along the way, what their mission was supposed to be. Maybe the coalition is the beginning of the end of the politics of the PNC and PPP and a true new beginning whereby the wellbeing of the nation becomes more important than who is delivering it.

As and ending note, I looked at the promises of Mr. Granger and said, "here we go again". Big promises and not enough money to deliver on them. We are in for more interesting times.

* Good post above Franky!

* The PPP made a decent effort to win the election but they came up short.

* Personally I don't want to hear any excuses from the PPP or their supporters---only perennial losers and failures make excuses.

* This is the first free and fair election the PPP has lost in 23 years, so the PPP is not accustomed to failing or losing.  The party needs to be honest with itself and understand why it lost by 4506 votes.

* LOTS OF QUESTIONS NEED TO BE ASKED!

* False egos and false pride among executive members of the PPP may prevent a re-tooling and a re-invigoration of the party.

* If that is the case then the PPP will deservedly remain in the wilderness for way more than 5 years.

* In the meantime there is a new government in Guyana----EXPECTATIONS are high----and you folks all know what happens when expectations are sky high ?

* The Rev will wish the coalition success, but my EXPECTATION for them is currently set at a big, fat ZERO. That means they don't have to do much to impress me.

Originally Posted by Franky:

Looking at the GEOCOM results, it appears to me, that with such a slim (I call 1 seat, slim) margin, Nagamottoo delivered the defeat of the PPP more than a victory for APNU and the coalition. Notwithstanding that the PPP needed to be taught a lesson, I think a larger margin would have been needed to really say that the coalition won the confidence of the people. As it is, they merely won, but a victory is a victory, and yes, the PPP needed to be taken down a peg. It is hard to deny the corruption and disregard for what the population was thinking of them. I think people just got fed up. Like all dictators, they started off talking about the people, than ended up talking about themselves to the exclusion of the people who were depending on them to deliver betterment in their lives.

Change is a good thing, and this might give the PPP pause to look at themselves and implement some long needed changes. Yes I agree with Joey Jagan, even though he may be erratic at times. If the PPP wants to be a force for change in the future, they must be contrite for the mistakes they made and must revamp the party. It is a very good opportunity for them to do so while the attention is on the new government. The supporters of the coalition will expect them to deliver, they should!! The PPP old timers must go or play less public roles. The country needs to see new faces in the leadership of the party or else they will be viewed with the same old suspicion. And they need to move away from the bottom house style of politics if they want people to follow them again, or risk becoming irrelevant in the future of Guyana. They cannot remain mired in an old way of doing things or they risk their support base moving ahead of them and looking for a better party in whom to trust.

As I said before, a win is a win, but I do believe that they were manipulations with respect to the ballot boxes. And I believe that was why there was such a rush to declare the elections. Once declared, it would be hard to overturn the decision, because of the turmoil and confusion that would accompany such a move. And the ABC countries also know this; that is why they also pressed for the declaration. If they were so confident of the count, then recounting would not be an issue, because the result would be the same. Other countries with much more huge voting populations have done so. This would have solidified Granger's and Nagamootoo's positions.

Mr Granger surely cannot be feeling like a true winner with such a small margin, delivered no doubt by Mr. Nagamootoo's AFC, and not having the comfort that a recount would have given him, assuming the results would be in his favour. Add to that the fact that almost half of the country did not vote for the coalition, much less his APNU segment of the coalition (we will never know this for sure).

We are in for interesting times in Guyana; Nagamootoo will press for reforming, i.e. reducing, the power of the Presidency in favour of the Prime Minister. I cannot believe that he pooled with APNU to simply hand total power to them. I believe his motivations are good as are Mr. Granger's, but I also believe the old ideological instincts are alive and well in both of them.

The question for Mr. Granger is whether he can curtail the old instincts of some of his PNC/APNU partners, and prevent them from viewing the win as "we time now". Any reversion to type within the APNU could unravel the coalition quicker than it took to collate. Remember they collated just to fight the election and dump the PPP, not because they share the same ideology, at least I do not think so.

In any event, this is supposed to be about the people of Guyana, all of them. We have had almost 50 years of the racial politics of the PNC and PPP, which has not taken Guyana too far, and kept alive racial politics and fear. True the PPP got us out of the mess of the PNC, but they forgot along the way, what their mission was supposed to be. Maybe the coalition is the beginning of the end of the politics of the PNC and PPP and a true new beginning whereby the wellbeing of the nation becomes more important than who is delivering it.

As and ending note, I looked at the promises of Mr. Granger and said, "here we go again". Big promises and not enough money to deliver on them. We are in for more interesting times.

go suck your mother

"Franky" flashes the mediocrity of a soon to be unemployed flack (or worse) for the late gangster PPP government

exactly what are these disparate AFC and PNC "ideolog[ies]" you write so authoritatively about herr stupid?

"Franky" flashes the mediocrity of a soon to be unemployed flack (or worse) for the late gangster PPP government

wha is this PPP and PNC "ideology" you write so authoritatively about herr stupid?

Another DRUNK ASS show up!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Mr Granger surely cannot be feeling like a true winner with such a small margin, delivered no doubt by Mr. Nagamootoo's AFC, important than who is delivering it.

I am amused by this incessant clamor that 50% voted against the governing coalition.  50% of the population has always voted against the winning party.  Why do some only notice that now?

Nagamootoo votes for him were washed out by votes against Nagamootoo generated by the race panic strategy of the PPP.  It was a wash.

The difference was that in Regions 7 and 10 increased APNU AFC votes were not offset by increased PPP votes, this giving APNU AFC their 5k margin of victory.  Maybe one can argue that this high turn out in PNC strongholds was because they felt that the prospects of victory were higher due to an alliance with a candidate who they thought capable of splitting the Indian vote.

The real lesson of this election is a campaign strategy based only on race cannot win.

1.  No ethnic group is dominant any more.

2.  No ethnic group is monolithic and there exist swing votes within these groups.

The strategy of the PPP over the next 4 years will be to attract and form an alliance with a group with a credible constituency within the African/mixed vote, and then they will have a chance.  The purchased of non Indian, and especially Amerindian votes, to top up their Indian votes, will not work, as they no longer have the largesse to fund this.  They have to be seen as a multi ethnic party.

exactly what are these disparate AFC and PNC "ideolog[ies]" you write so authoritatively about herr stupid?

APNU and the AFC remain distinct parties and therefore have distinct interests to protect.  That might not rise to the existence of an ideological rift between them, but to suggest that each will not carefully watch the other is extremely naÃŊve.  Appointments to various positions will be negotiated with this in mind.

please don't follow this 'Franky' klown and throw around terms like "ideology" that have no real meaning in context just to sound like u saying something important

this banna provides no insight . . . period! just one long, tendentious 're-positioning' by a regime diehard, typical these past few days, starting early on the next campaign

please don't follow this 'Franky' klown and throw around terms like "ideology" that have no real meaning in context just to sound like u saying something important

this banna provides no insight . . . period! just one long, tendentious 're-positioning' by a regime diehard, typical these past few days, starting early on the next campaign

Redux you are a truly naÃŊve man.  Politics is about power.  APNU will want to protect their source of power as the larger party, and AFC will want to ensure that they aren't submerged.

Please don't tell me that you don't understand these basic facts.

Even WITHIN the AFC there will be power dynamics between the original founder of 2006 and those who arrived with Nagamootoo in 2011.  Moses will not only have to be mindful of the power dynamics between APNU and the AFC, when he makes his suggestions concerning appointments, but he will also have to consider this internal AFC dynamic.

Redux you are a truly naÃŊve man.  Politics is about power.  APNU will want to protect their source of power as the larger party, and AFC will want to ensure that they aren't submerged.

Please don't tell me that you don't understand these basic facts.

Even WITHIN the AFC there will be power dynamics between the original founder of 2006 and those who arrived with Nagamootoo in 2011.  Moses will not only have to be mindful of the power dynamics between APNU and the AFC, when he makes his suggestions concerning appointments, but he will also have to consider this internal AFC dynamic.

idiot! do you know what what political "ideology" references? plenty of dictionaries on-line

and btw, who exactly is arguing with u about all the stuff u posted above?

idiot! do you know what what political "ideology" references?

Too much political science theory and not enough political reality in your head.

1.  BOTH APNU and AFC have internal factions.

2.  Clearly there is the potential for conflict between the larger party, APNU, which wishes to remain dominant, and the smaller party, AFC, which will want to remain relevant.

Therefore the next 6 months will be very "interesting".

Originally Posted by Chameli:

@ Franky

i know that YOU know of what you speak

The PPP picked up 1,000 in the disputed 22 boxes.  This must have happened in more places.

As did APNU AFC.  Your point?

The diff reduced to 4,500.  With a bit more double checking, who know.  But, alyuh "win", so to speak.

@ Franky

The PPP picked up 1,000 in the disputed 22 boxes.  This must have happened in more places.

The diff reduced to 4,500.  With a bit more double checking, who know.  But, alyuh "win", so to speak.

Of course it doesn't dawn on you that the 22 boxes which the PPP selected were ones in their favor. 

@ Franky

Of course it doesn't dawn on you that the 22 boxes which the PPP selected were ones in their favor. 

No, it only happen to you!

idiot! do you know what what political "ideology" references?

Too much political science theory and not enough political reality in your head.

1.  BOTH APNU and AFC have internal factions.

2.  Clearly there is the potential for conflict between the larger party, APNU, which wishes to remain dominant, and the smaller party, AFC, which will want to remain relevant.

Therefore the next 6 months will be very "interesting".

listen up Captain Obvious, i simply asked y'all to not throw inapposite terminology around

is that too much to ask?

and where do you get the idea that i am a "political scientist"? [politics is not a science, and i am way more engaged with real science than i am with politics]

keep guessing; it's amusing

listen up Captain Obvious, i simply asked y'all to not throw inapposite terminology around

is that too much to ask?

and where do you get the idea that i am a "political scientist"? [politics is not a science, and i am way more engaged with real science than i am with politics]

Because of your need to engage in irrelevant arguments, rather than dealing with the main point.   This being what the APNU AFC dynamic will be.

pay proper attention to what i actually post and there will be far fewer occasions where u make a complete fool of yourself

is that too much to ask?

Because of your need to engage in irrelevant arguments, rather than dealing with the main point.   This being what the APNU AFC dynamic will be.

pay proper attention to what i actually post and there will be far fewer occasions where u make a complete fool of yourself

You share one characteristic with Jagdeo and that is your tendency to overestimate your importance.

is that too much to ask?

You share one characteristic with Jagdeo and that is your tendency to overestimate your importance.

well . . . nobady ever compare me to de rat before

ah trying desperately to find a way to rejigger dat as a compliment

hmmm?

Jimmy Carter congratulates Granger

Former U.S. President Jimmy Carter issued the following statement today:

Jimmy CarterJimmy Carter

“I would like to congratulate President David Granger and the APNU/AFC coalition on their success in the 2015 election. I have great expectations that the new government will reach out and promote healing and reconciliation in Guyana. It is now time for all Guyanese to unite and work together to realize the great potential of their country.”

The Carter Center deployed more than 50 observers throughout all 10 regions of Guyana for the 2015 general and regional elections. Its observers remained in the country to monitor the process of tabulating and declaring results, a statement from the Carter Center said.

@ Franky

Not true. There were no differences found in the disputed boxes.

http://caribnewsdesk.com/news/...not-conceding-defeat

GECOM Chairman, Dr. Steve Surujbally told Demerara Waves Online News that the Commission checked the PPP’s Statements of Poll were identical to those in possession of the Commission.

“All of the 21 boxes taken into evidence that they said the numbers have changed, they in fact had not changed. The PPP SOPs that they presented us with- when we checked the official SOPs- they were exactly the same, an exact replica,” he said.

Surujbally assured that the Commission went through all of them- 4216, 4223, 4237,4266, 4267, 4279, 4287, 4292, 4323, 4352, 4358, 4359, 4385, 4392, 4643, 4644, 4656, 4701, 4703, 4707 and 4723-“all of these 21 boxes, the PPP’s SOPs are identical with the GECOM SOPs and what they have there as purportedly GECOM SOPs with this great difference I cannot tell you where they got them from.”