Sophia stabbing death… Murder suspect dies after thrashing from irate residents

July 19, 2015 | By | Filed Under News 
Janice Paul in happy times

A 37-year-old father of two is now dead after being attacked and beaten to a pulp by irate Sophia, Greater Georgetown residents who accosted him late Friday evening, believing that he was the one who murdered a 40-year-old mother of three who lived in the area days before.

Dead is Joel Dalrymple, called Jerry, of ‘B’ Field, Sophia – the main suspect in the stabbing-death of Janice Paul, a 40-year-old shopkeeper.

An injured Dalrymple was reportedly taken to the Turkeyen Police Station by members of the public on Friday evening around 23:15 hours and handed over to the police.

By way of public missive, the police said that they observed that Dalrymple had injuries about his body and they took him to the Georgetown Public Hospital Corporation (GPHC) where he was pronounced dead on arrival.

The police added that their investigations have so far revealed that the public-spirited persons had arrested Dalrymple and “he was assaulted”. According to the police, a man has been arrested and is in police custody assisting with the investigations.

Paul, of ‘D’ Field, Sophia, was fatally stabbed by a man outside her home on Wednesday while her husband was badly injured in the attack. The assailant was identified as Dalrymple and the police had launched a manhunt for him, but that came to end when residents handed him over after first handing him a brutal thrashing.

Contacted yesterday by this newspaper, one of Dalrymple’s cousins expressed shock at the situation. “It’s just a sad situation; there is no better word for it.”

Initially surprised by news of him being the main murder suspect for Paul’s murder, the woman said the family had tried countless times, albeit fruitlessly, to contact Dalrymple via telephone.

The calls went unanswered but later she received a phone call informing that her cousin had met his demise.

She stated that the 37-year-old was of sound mind and had been a food vendor for some time. “He was a quiet, conscious-minded person who always believed in working for what you want in life.”

The dead man’s relative was at a loss for what could have been the root of the problem which led to Wednesday night’s murder.

On Wednesday, residents of ‘D’ Field, Sophia were plunged into grief as they learnt that the 40-year-old shopkeeper was brutally stabbed to death and her husband, Eusi Paul badly wounded by a neighbour (identified as Dalrymple) who pounced on them.

The Pauls were making their way to their Lot 34 Turkeyen/Sophia, Greater Georgetown home around 20:05 hours when Dalrymple reportedly cornered them.

Residents too had expressed shock and outrage at the attack, stating that they had no idea what could have prompted the vicious attack. In fact, most of them said that the rain was pouring so heavily, they were initially unaware of what transpired in the otherwise quiet area.

Reports are that Dalrymple cornered them as they were about to enter their yard but while he managed to kill the woman, the man was badly injured and later rushed to the Georgetown Public Hospital Corporation (GPHC) where he was treated and sent away.

Sad that such hard working people are robbed and killed by people seeking an easy way out.  I don't support vigilantism however, one could understand the emotional reaction.

The Police Force is no good, people is right to take action.  Also, Granger letting CRIMINALS go FREE, HE IS CONDONING and PROMOTING CRIMES.

That is the CHANGE Guyana!!!!!

Sad that such hard working people are robbed and killed by people seeking an easy way out.  I don't support vigilantism however, one could understand the emotional reaction.

according to your type, the murdered shopkeeper is an "Indian" victimized by "PNC" blackman

We all know you are STUPID but I never dream you are this STUPID!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Top Cop concerned about vigilante justice

July 19, 2015 6:09 am Category: latest news A+ / A-

By Fareeza Haniff

Commissioner of Police, Seelall Persaud

[www.inewsguyana.com]

Commissioner of Police, Seelall Persaud is urging members of the public not to take the law into their own hands but is pledging the support of the Police Force for those who seek to defend themselves and properties against criminals.

The Top Cop made the plea after residents of Sophia allegedly beat the alleged murderer of Sophia vendor, Janice Paul. At approximately 20:15 hrs on July 15, 40-year old Paul and her husband 39-year-old Eusi Paul had just arrived at their Sophai home when they were attacked by, Joel Dalrymple, who was armed with a dagger.

Police say the woman was stabbed about her body and was pronounced dead on arrival at the Georgetown Public Hospital. Her husband sustained injuries to his face and right hand and was treated and sent away.

Police on Saturday reported that some residents found the suspect and allegedly beat and stabbed him to death. When questioned, the Police Commissioner told reporters that the 35 – year – old Dalrymple of ‘B’ Field, Sophia, was picked up by residents at Stabroek Market and was transported back to the scene of the crime in Sophia, under the pretext that he was going to the police station.

While there, other residents came out and the man sustained two stab wounds and was pronounced dead on arrival at the Georgetown Public Hospital.

“People need to know that they can’t take the law into their own hands, everyone needs to defend themselves and their property and in so doing, we support that but you can’t take the law in your own hands,” the Top Cop said.

He further noted that the now dead suspect did not put up a resistance when he was picked up by the residents.

“There was no resistance as far as we know. He’s thinking he’s going to the police but was taken and killed,” Persaud said.

One man has since been arrested in connection with Dalrymple’s murder.

What you trying to do, back fill your caricature?

not following . . ., antiman

come again better

Well, go figure yourself.

come again better

DIS CHAP IS A MENTAL CASE.

Unless locals take the initiative and make it clear to criminal elements within their mids that there are consequences for robbing and killing innocent people, crime will not go down. The police force on its own and in its current state can't tackle crime effectively. One glaring reason for that is the lack of East Indians in the police force. Not every Indian person dares to go to the police and complain to a black officer about a crime committed on them. Only by having more Indo police officers can this situation be resolved.

Originally Posted by Mr.T:

Unless locals take the initiative and make it clear to criminal elements within their mids that there are consequences for robbing and killing innocent people, crime will not go down. The police force on its own and in its current state can't tackle crime effectively. One glaring reason for that is the lack of East Indians in the police force. Not every Indian person dares to go to the police and complain to a black officer about a crime committed on them. Only by having more Indo police officers can this situation be resolved.

BULLSHIT!!  It is not about black, white or Indian Police Force.  It is about a Professional, competent Force!!!!

Hmm, did you notice the victims here is a hard working Afro-Guyanese couple?

come again better

i suspect your mouth run off before yuh slow brain checked in . . . again

no?

The race and religion of the victim is irrelevant. It is still the same small pool of black police officers that are having to deal with the crime onslaught. If there were more officers of a different race then the police would not be under so much pressure to attend to crime scenes quickly and follow up on investigations and tip off.

Are you really dat STUPID!!!  NYC Police Dept is 95% White and the Population is about 60% Non white!!!!!!!!!

lol . . . drunk idiot on parade

Where in Guyana is NYC? I don't remember that place. I don't remember ever seeing a single white police officer in Guyana either. Are you drunk or something?

YUh ever heard of comparison and Reasoning???  I doubt you ever did!!!!

lol . . . drunk idiot on parade

A DUMB AHOLE trying to be relevant.  A SEWER RAT coming out for sunlight.  A SHAMELESS Robber Baron seeking to rob the poor and innocent!!!

is that what produced the "95% White" NYC police force, eh?

or . . . just maybe, a drunken stupor is to blame

no?

Comparisons and reasoning? Like how you keep typing that the crimes of the PPP happens in other country too, so it is no big deal?

Whilst you lock yourself away in that bubble of yours in Queens, the rest of the US black and minority population has been expressing their anger about the murder of several black and hispanic people by white dominated police forces. These things are not openly reported by the Republican controlled US media, so you could be forgiven for being ignorant about US politics. But to use that as justification for your contempt for the dangerous situation in Guyana in unforgivable.

no?

Why dont you shut your DUMB, IGNORANT, STUPID self!!!!!

Mr. T, the point is regardless of the composition of the police force they should be professional and do a better job.  I do agree that more Indians are needed in the police force, but that would not change the professionalism.  In fact the few Indians I knew in the police force were bribe takers...one of them tried to shake me down at Kitty Police Station; he got larwa.

no?

ow bai, tell abee lil mo bout de "95%" nah

lol

no?

lol

95/100 x #of Officers.  I know, you need a Calculator and months of Tutoring.  DUMB ASS!!!

Originally Posted by VVP:

Mr. T, the point is regardless of the composition of the police force they should be professional and do a better job.  I do agree that more Indians are needed in the police force, but that would not change the professionalism.  In fact the few Indians I knew in the police force were bribe takers...one of them tried to shake me down at Kitty Police Station; he got larwa.

Thank you Sir.  Finally, someone with a brain this morning.

Yuh kno if rust and diryt is occupying Redux head or he head just simply empty??????

no?

lol

95/100 x #of Officers.  I know, you need a Calculator and months of Tutoring.  DUMB ASS!!!

NYPD is as diverse as New York City itself: study

By Shawn Cohen and Bob Fredericks
September 8, 2014

Critics of New York’s Finest argue that city cops can’t relate to the Big Apple’s minority communities — but a new study shows that the NYPD is virtually as diverse as the city it serves.

Criticism intensified after Eric Garner, a black man from Staten Island, was killed July 17 when he was placed in a chokehold by a white police officer trying to arrest him for allegedly peddling cigarettes illegally.

Some local leaders, such as the Rev. Al Sharpton, railed against the department, saying Garner’s death was proof that the NYPD’s relations with black and Hispanic residents were poisoned.

But the study — conducted by The Associated Press and involving police departments nationwide — shows that the NYPD’s racial makeup continues to grow closer to that of the city as a whole. The research was conducted after a white cop killed unarmed black teen Michael Brown in Ferguson, Mo.

The study, based on Census data and 2007 federal figures for police diversity, shows that:

• Whites make up 33 percent of New York City’s population and 54 percent of the NYPD.
  • Blacks represent 23 percent of the city’s population and 16 percent of the NYPD.
  • Hispanics make up 28 percent of the city’s population and 24 percent of the NYPD.
  • Asians represent 13 percent of the population and 4 percent of the NYPD.

The NYPD’s own most-recent numbers show that, as of June 2014, the department has become even more diverse since 2007.

Whites make up 51 percent of the department, Hispanics 26 percent and Asians 6 percent, with the percentage of blacks about the same, according to the newer figures.

“In the uniformed ranks, it’s virtually 50-50 [white vs. non-white],” NYPD spokesman Stephen Davis told The Post. “When you look at our ranks of 35,000 officers, we have a pretty representative force.”

Capt. Dominick Fonti, commanding officer of the NYPD’s recruitment division, said his officers seek out new hires daily at college campuses, job fairs and transit hubs.

“We send out teams every day to different locations to increase diversity and look for the best and most qualified candidates we can find,’’ Fonti said. “It’s a very diverse city, so we want a diverse police force to represent that city.”

But Sharpton was not satisfied — even as he took credit for increasing diversity in the department. “There have been signs of improvement, but we still have ways to go,” he told The Post, adding that he made recruiting pitches himself in schools and churches to attract more minorities to the job.

http://nypost.com/2014/09/08/n...ew-york-city-itself/

ahmmmmm . . . 95 percent, eh?

lol

54/95 it does not matter with you. Logic and reasoning is foreign to you DUMMY!!!!

abee drunken fool redefines "logic and reasoning" for single-digit IQ outliers

lol

54/95 it does not matter with you. Logic and reasoning is foreign to you DUMMY!!!!

Psst hear nuh. Tell him the power of thought is foreign to you (Nehru)

Tell him deh Nehru, that the power of thought is foreign to you (Nehru)

Ow Bhai God be with you. Yuh should ah listen when you were told Dope does frig up yuh head.