35 years ago on this day, one of the most brilliant Guyanese ever was assassinated by the Burnham dictatorship.  This man got his PhD in London at age 24.  This was the first high profile African Guyanese who started the struggle to unite the races against the Burnham dictatorship.  I am happy to say that I was very involved in the struggle even though my brother was Special Political Assistant to the tyrant Burnham at that time.  I witnessed first hand the brutality of the House of Israel and Hamilton Green thugs.  What a sad day today is.  Walter Rodney Lives!! 

I doan know why Rodney is so worshipped. I get it. He fought against a dictatorship and made some good speeches. But he was still never a national figure. He was at heart a Black nationalist and a Marxist. That's not really the makings of the kind of man Guyana needed. What was he gonna do in office? Be truer to marxism/communism than Burnham?

Originally Posted by VVP:

35 years ago on this day, one of the most brilliant Guyanese ever was assassinated by the Burnham dictatorship.  This man got his PhD in London at age 24.  This was the first high profile African Guyanese who started the struggle to unite the races against the Burnham dictatorship.  I am happy to say that I was very involved in the struggle even though my brother was Special Political Assistant to the tyrant Burnham at that time.  I witnessed first hand the brutality of the House of Israel and Hamilton Green thugs.  What a sad day today is.  Walter Rodney Lives!! 

He certainly does!  Wow, did not know he got his Phd at 24.   He had a son in my sister's class at QC, very smart kid. 

But he was still never a national figure. He was at heart a Black nationalist and a Marxist. 

Never a national figure?  How do you draw that conclusion?  The man was an international figure much less a national figure.  Damn I was a communist/socialist/marxist in those days.  Today I consider myself a conservative liberal, what does that mean?

Originally Posted by alena06:

He certainly does!  Wow, did not know he got his Phd at 24.   He had a son in my sister's class at QC, very smart kid. 

Wow! A Black guy Alunatic Gyal doesn't automatically hate. Then again he is safely deceased and his corpse is useful to the PPP to prove how bad of a man Burnham really was.

That was one of the reason I looked up to him.  

I do not know Rodney. Charlie Cassato took me a couple times to freedom house and other venue to listen to him. I was a disinterested 16 year old.
He was indeed charismatic and spoke fluidly ( I hate people who punctuate their speech with ahm....yes...you know....aaah etc) as I hate parenthetical sentences. As you know, I very seldom do it.

Rodney certainly was bright but his skill in organizing protests to the administration was not very good. He had the masses in his arms but failed to meet the bar of a Ghandi or a Dr King. He reached for a weapon without realizing he had the most powerful one in his grasp....ability to move people by the hundreds to particular ends.

So this is a little story I have to share that I though was amusing.

Walter just came back to Guyana and was establishing himself in Guyanese politics.  Anyway, there was a meeting at Kitty Market Square where he was presenting a lot of historical facts and there was this PNC lady heckling him all the time "yuk know wha yuh talking bout" so at one point Walter stopped and said "I speak as a historian."  You could have heard a pin drop...needless to say the lady disappeared.

So this is a little story I have to share that I though was amusing.

Walter just came back to Guyana and was establishing himself in Guyanese politics.  Anyway, there was a meeting at Kitty Market Square where he was presenting a lot of historical facts and there was this PNC lady heckling him all the time "yuk know wha yuh talking bout" so at one point Walter stopped and said "I speak as a historian."  You could have heard a pin drop...needless to say the lady disappeared.

He commanded a lot of respect and had all the young folks energized with Politics.

Last edited by alena06

I doan know why Rodney is so worshipped. I get it. He fought against a dictatorship and made some good speeches. But he was still never a national figure. He was at heart a Black nationalist and a Marxist. That's not really the makings of the kind of man Guyana needed. What was he gonna do in office? Be truer to marxism/communism than Burnham?

Gotta agree that Rodney was a Black Nationalist but a South-South Third-Worldist socialist rather than the classic Soviet style or Maoist style socialist. He was more of a Black Power advocate for Blacks disadvantaged all over the world.

I wonder why Nehru was not concerned that the PPP was all for Rodney to be banished and the Committee of Inquiry never had the massalla in it.

Rodney certainly was bright but his skill in organizing protests to the administration was not very good

Not sure what you are talking about here.  I was there for every protest.  There were significant numbers for all protests.  Burnham did not use to give permission for protests marches and frankly that was one of the reasons why the protests were successful.  Towards the end Burnham did start giving permission and things started to fizzle.

Rodney certainly was bright but his skill in organizing protests to the administration was not very good

Not sure what you are talking about here.  I was there for every protest.  There were significant numbers for all protests.  Burnham did not use to give permission for protests marches and frankly that was one of the reasons why the protests were successful.  Towards the end Burnham did start giving permission and things started to fizzle.

As I said, I was there as a viewer. I saw the adoration, the belief that ends can be achieved in standing up to a brutal regime. However, that was not maximized and he got himself blown up so obviously his gains tho significant in showing the regime could be stared down was otherwise marginal. Burnham went on to lord over us for another 10 years.

Gotta agree that Rodney was a Black Nationalist but a South-South Third-Worldist socialist rather than the classic Soviet style or Maoist style socialist. He was more of a Black Power advocate for Blacks disadvantaged all over the world.

I wonder why Nehru was not concerned that the PPP was all for Rodney to be banished and the Committee of Inquiry never had the massalla in it.

You know politics really never came up during the protests.  It was all about unifying to get rid of Burnham.  It was know that Walter had socialist ideology, however...and frankly that was one of the reasons I liked him