<tt>-- U.S. President Barack Obama told Russian President Vladimir Putin he has violated international law, White House says.</tt>
<tt>-- Russia's President Vladimir Putin submits request to upper house of parliament to use Russian armed forces in Ukraine. </tt>
<tt> </tt>
<tt>-- Russia's upper house unanimously approves potential use of military force in Ukraine, in session broadcast on state TV. </tt>
Obama is trying to copy his teenage years hero Old Ronny "Shoot out at high noon" Reagan.
<tt>kraine urges U.N. Security Council to stand in unity against aggression by Russia in Crimea</tt>-- U
Obama is trying to imitate his hero Old Ronny Reagan.
Reagan caused the breakup of Russia and then made peace with them.
What peace are you talking about Chief?. You should explain that to the families of those African, Asian and Indian students that got killed by Russian Nazis on the streets of Russia after the fall of the Soviet union. All those Nazi Russians and Ukranians are now trying to join European Union compliments of Obama.
20 million Russians lost their lives fighting the Nazis. Compared that to just 6 million jews who lost their lives. So your suggestion about Russian Nazis is nothing short of western propaganda based on zero facts.
Should one take the time to review the issues, they will realize the atrocities of the then USSR and now Russia against many nationalities in and outside of the USSR/Russia.
There are grave injustices against the Jews, Gypsies and various ethnic groups.
DG is right.
Russia harasses Hindus. I back Obama on this.
P-ED
September 21, 2013Krishna yet to win Russian hearts
VLADIMIR RADYUHIN
The long-running feud over Moscowâs ISKCON temple shows the suspicion and hostility that the Hare Krishna movement, legalised in Russia in 1988, still evokes in that country
When Prime Minister Manmohan Singh visits Russia next month for the annual summit with Russiaâs President Vladimir Putin he will be asked to wade into the long-running stand-off between Moscowâs Krishna community and local authorities over the fate of the cityâs only Krishna temple which is faced with a second eviction over the past decade.
âWe are preparing a letter to our Prime Minister asking him for help in the temple controversy,â said Sadhu Priya Das of the International Society for Krishna Consciousness (ISKCON), Moscow.
Moscow ISKCON has also appealed to Mr Putin and hope for his positive response, he told The Hindu.
Bailiffs have warned ISKCON that the cityâs only Krishna temple on Leningradsky Prospect may be forcefully evicted any time now that it missed the July 31 deadline for vacating the land.
Start of troubles
The Krishna communityâs ordeal began in 2004 when its temple on Begovaya Street was demolished to make way for high-rise construction under an urban development plan. The city government offered ISKCON a patch of land for temple construction on Leningradsky Prospect, but two years later tore up the agreement following strong protests from the Russian Orthodox Church.
Orthodox hierarchs objected to the large size of the proposed Krishna temple and its location on the site where thousands of Muscovites had been trampled to death during the coronation of Tsar Nicholas II in 1896.
ISKCON was offered another plot of land on the sparsely populated outskirts of Moscow, but that was again taken away earlier this year just as the Krishna community was about to launch the construction.
âWe spent about 70 million roubles ($2.5 million) donated by our followers on preparing the project, but the Moscow government withdrew its permission just as we completed the long-winding project clearance procedure,â said Sergei Andreyev, who is in charge of the temple construction at Moscow ISKCON.
In their terse written response to questions from The Hindu, the Moscow Mayorâs Office cited âmass protests by residentsâ as a reason for cancelling the allocation of land for the Krishna temple.
This argument raised eyebrows at ISKCON.
âThe nearest apartment houses are about one kilometre away from where our temple was to be built,â said Mr. Andreyev.
Yet, protests did take place a year ago when hundreds of Orthodox Christians and Muslims picketed the site of the would-be Krishna temple to protest the foundation stone laying ceremony.
The Moscow government is now promising to find another site for an ISKCON temple, but is yet to come up with a concrete offer. Meanwhile, the threat of eviction is still hanging over the temporary Krishna temple on Leningradsky Prospect.
âBailiffs have given us a respite, but they may be back any time, so weâre moving out our stuff,â Mr. Andreyev said. âHowever, we have no place where to move the temple.â
ISKCON devotees argue that the Krishna temple in Moscow has not only religious, but also cultural value for Hindus living in the Russian capital.
âOur temple is the only place to fulfil not only the religious, but also the cultural and social needs of Indians, Sri Lankans, Bangladeshis, Mauritians and Nepalese,â Priya Das said. âThis also helps their children to keep in touch with their culture and religion.â
Translation ban
The ISKCON temple woes come two years after state prosecutors tried to ban a Russian translation ofthe Bhagavad-Gita As It Is, accusing the Krishnaitesâ sacred book of inspiring âreligious hatredâ and being âextremist in nature.â After months of hearings, a court in the Siberian city of Tomsk threw out the case, but the trial left a bad aftertaste in the Krishna community.
âIt is difficult to say whether there is some persecution or somebody is against Hinduism in Russia, but if you think logically, you come to the conclusion that there may be some ideological reason behind it,â Priya Das said.
Although the Hare Krishna movement was legalised in Russia in 1988 it is still looked upon with suspicion and hostility by many Russians.
Ruffling feathers
Many priests and theologians of the Russian Orthodox Church, such as leading anti-sect activist Alexander Dvorkin, who heads the Expert Council for Religious Studies at the Russian Ministry of Justice, have branded the Hare Krishna movement as a âtotalitarian sectâ that has nothing to do with mainstream Hinduism.
Critics accuse Russian Krishnaites of pursing an aggressive campaign to recruit new worshippers among followers of Russiaâs âtraditionalâ religions â the Russian Orthodox Church, Islam, Buddhism and Judaism.
They say the scale of ISKCON activity in Russia is incomparable with the size of the Indian diaspora estimated at about 15,000 people, including several thousand students. ISKCON operates 120 centres across Russia, runs schools for children, publishes dozens of book titles in Russian and distributes free food to the poor and victims of natural disasters.
Christian and Muslim activists have repeatedly protested against ratha yatra rituals, held by ISKCON across Russia every year âunder the guiseâ of a festival of Indian culture.
âThey obtain permission to have a cultural event, but instead engage in shameless propaganda of their religious teachings,â fumed Father Rafail of the Iveron Monastery in Vorkuta, a city of coalminers in Russiaâs Arctic region. âThey hand out religious books, sing the glory of Krishna and offer peopleprasada, which is consecrated food.â
The priest compared Hare Krishna to Aum Shinrikyo, a Japanese doomsday cult.
Religion expert Mikhail Sitnikov denounced the campaign unleashed by the Russian Orthodox Church against ISKCON as a case of âChristian fundamentalism.â
âThe Russian Orthodox Church sees the Society for Krishna Consciousness as a strong competitor and is trying to oust it from Russia in the same way as it is trying to suppress the non-Orthodox Christian denominations,â the expert said.
20 million Russians lost their lives fighting the Nazis. Compared that to just 6 million jews who lost their lives. So your suggestion about Russian Nazis is nothing short of western propaganda based on zero facts.
DG right. Russians racist no hell. West is best.
Mr.T I do not know which rock you have been living under. Russia and Ukraine now have a large Neo-Nazi population that have been indoctrinated by German and other Western European Neo-Nazis. They are a clear and present danger to every student of color studying in Russia and the Ukraine. About 13 Russian Neo-Nazi youth attacked one of my African students on the streets of St. Petersburg. He was rescued from certain death by two Russian Navy sailors who happen to pass by.
Russians are ***in6 racist. Only Chilian and Argentinian more racist. I don't undertand why these PPP idiots love Rissians.
Racist incidents such as these were unheard of during the Soviet days. Since the fall of the Soviet Union, Western Neo-Nazis and other racists have seen former Eastern European Slavic countries as major recruitment areas for Neo-Nazi youth. Their recruitment pitch is: World War 11 was a long time ago so lets join together now to defend the white race before it is too late.
nanananaan...NA...Na wally bai. Dem always some a de most racist people pun de planet. Me know nuff Lumumba graduate who seh so. Na let yo desire fo communism cloud you memery.
<tt>-- Russia's upper house unanimously approves potential use of military force in Ukraine, in session broadcast on state TV. </tt>
Chief, these are all pro-forma actions. Don't read much into them. The Russians have a large military base in the Crimea, so they already have soldiers in the Ukraine. And they are governed by inter-governmental Agreements. The Russians know that there is too much relational partnership with the US to jeopardize these with naked military intervention in a country with ethnic divides, not unlike Iraq (Ethnic Russians, native Ukranians and Turkic Muslims). They have their own private security forces doing the dirty work as we speak. As historically important as the Ukraine is to Russia, we have to remember that the Soviet Union is history and the peoples of Russia remember Afghanistan and the 2008 foray in Osettia.
Obama speaks softly but carries a big stick - militarily and otherwise. This country's military capabilities are frightening.
Should one take the time to review the issues, they will realize the atrocities of the then USSR and now Russia against many nationalities in and outside of the USSR/Russia.
There are grave injustices against the Jews, Gypsies and various ethnic groups.
DG is absolutely right. Leading Bolsheviks such as Lenin, Trotsky, Kaganovich, Secret police chief Felix Dzerzhinsky, Secret police chief Genrikh Yagoda, Russian Communist Party Chairman Yakov Sverdlov was all of Jewish origin. Nevertheless, the Russian jews were persecuted.
Chief, these are all pro-forma actions. Don't read much into them. The Russians have a large military base in the Crimea, so they already have soldiers in the Ukraine. And they are governed by inter-governmental Agreements. The Russians know that there is too much relational partnership with the US to jeopardize these with naked military intervention in a country with ethnic divides, not unlike Iraq (Ethnic Russians, native Ukranians and Turkic Muslims). They have their own private security forces doing the dirty work as we speak. As historically important as the Ukraine is to Russia, we have to remember that the Soviet Union is history and the peoples of Russia remember Afghanistan and the 2008 foray in Osettia.
Obama speaks softly but carries a big stick - militarily and otherwise. This country's military capabilities are frightening.
All Obama is doing is increasing the Neo-Nazi population in Europe that can use European union status to travel all over Europe to attack people of color. That man is a sweet innocent that lives in a world of his own.
26 million Russians lost their lives to the Naziz
There is little the US can offer Russia... besides, Russia is not the Taliban...but something 1000 of times more powerful.
Pa and Ma Jagan who Indians worshiped were Russian robots.
Racism is exacerbated by the west to create revolutions and civil wars around the world...
<tt>Interim Ukrainian Prime Minister says actions by Russian forces in Crimea "a declaration of war." *Get more from CNN International*</tt>
Russia will win the war only by cutting the gas supply...and then telling Ukraine ..."pay me first, I have given you the gas on 33% discount".
All Obama is doing is increasing the Neo-Nazi population in Europe that can use European union status to travel all over Europe to attack people of color. That man is a sweet innocent that lives in a world of his own.
Wally, that's a leap in logic. The Ukraine was a Nazi ally in the second world war, yes. And it does have these bozos around. But Germany was THE Nazi and look how it has changed and kept its own far-right nationalist nuts in check. Heck, even India has its own. I won't elevate the neo-Nazi clan to a level that artificially increases their importance.
Russia will win the war only by cutting the gas supply...and then telling Ukraine ..."pay me first, I have given you the gas on 33% discount".
Russia has a huge naval base in the Crimea region of Ukraine. This is an inter-governmental Agreement with provisions for behavior of the guest military.
Russia sent its surrogate private security (the unmarked soldiers) to take up strategic positions.
Russia sent some military units within the bounds of its Agreement.
Russia conducted some military maneuvers.
In as much as Russia is claiming these are measures to protect its military within the terms of the Agreement, the US has made it clear in no uncertain terms that it cannot intervene militarily.
The US and its NATO allies can do adverse things to Russia in a non-military way, and once it escalates (which I know the Russians wonât engage in) the US has options of surrogacy (and the Russians have the Afghanistan experience of the former Soviet Union) and in Georgia in 2008.
Then too those Mujahedeens would keep the party going.
Everyone likes to bluff, let's see how this will play out.
Russia has a huge naval base in the Crimea region of Ukraine. This is an inter-governmental Agreement with provisions for behavior of the guest military.
Russia sent its surrogate private security (the unmarked soldiers) to take up strategic positions.
Russia sent some military units within the bounds of its Agreement.
Russia conducted some military maneuvers.
In as much as Russia is claiming these are measures to protect its military within the terms of the Agreement, the US has made it clear in no uncertain terms that it cannot intervene militarily.
The US and its NATO allies can do adverse things to Russia in a non-military way, and once it escalates (which I know the Russians wonât engage in) the US has options of surrogacy (and the Russians have the Afghanistan experience of the former Soviet Union) and in Georgia in 2008.
Then too those Mujahedeens would keep the party going.
What do you mean?
America lost in Iraq, is losing in Afghanistan where the Taliban is at its best, America played chicken on Syria and Iran. What make you think that they will do better against Russia?
Wally, that's a leap in logic. The Ukraine was a Nazi ally in the second world war, yes. And it does have these bozos around. But Germany was THE Nazi and look how it has changed and kept its own far-right nationalist nuts in check. Heck, even India has its own. I won't elevate the neo-Nazi clan to a level that artificially increases their importance.
The Neo-Nazi population has been increasing every year in European countries. In Germany now they control cities such as Wismar. They have major political support in Greece.
Several people of color living in Britain have experienced racial hate from these Polish Neo-Nazis who have come to Britain because of their EU status.
Just go to youtube and watch.
Hey Wally,
I didn't know India had its own NAZI gangs. What are they fighting for? The brown supremacy?
America lost in Iraq, is losing in Afghanistan where the Taliban is at its best, America played chicken on Syria and Iran. What make you think that they will do better against Russia?
Lucas with the Obama Hope handle, here's the difference between the way you write and I engage in discourse.
I spoke of a bilateral military base Agreement; the Russians belief that they need to defend this base as a result of the instability of the Ukraine; etc.
All you state is some obscure notion of a win and loss in Iraq. How do you define a win or a loss there. State that and you will be in the realm of discourse and not noise. Note that America was not there to occupy a country or to plant one set of people in power over another. Obama's effort was to get America out. He succeeded.
What did America lose in Afghanistan? Set the markers for win or lose. IF the Taliban takes over and take Afghanistan to rthe Middle Ages, so be it. You Lucas will celebrate, but America will see that as none of its business unless it reverts back to Afghanistan of Al Qaeda. And it has plenty of listening and viewing channels to know when that is at hand and then preemptively stop any attack on US soil or interests. So what is the loss here for Obama? He's getting us out.
Explain this "chicken" game that Obama played in Syria. It said Assad must go and will make efforts to see this happen. But Obama cannot unilaterally bomb Syria. It cannot get the Russians to agree on sanctions or military action. It needs Russia on Iran, whose nuclear weapon designs were of greater danger. At least he got Syria to admit to chemical weapons and their destruction. It is difficult to influence action on the ground in Syria as Al Qaeda forces are in the ascendancy. What would Obama have to do to not play "chicken"? - Do another Iraq? State clearly what is the anti-chicken action you expect from the US.
Do you really believe that Russia poses a military threat to the US? The Us can pressure Russia in more ways than Russia can hurt America non-militarily. What is this "do better against Russia"? Write sensibly, with direct factual points and not use demagoguery and useless rhetoric that borders on religious propaganda.
Hey Wally,
I didn't know India had its own NAZI gangs. What are they fighting for? The brown supremacy?
India has ideological National Socialists who believe in State capitalism. State directing the capitalism of large family own companies. Nevertheless, these present day RSS units in India will never be accepted as full Nazis because of their brown skins. Only as ideological National Socialists by only some Neo-Nazis . During the second world war the Indische Legion who is a model for many in the RSS was only allowed to guard SS compounds at night on the coast of france. This is because according to Nazi ideology only a full blood Aryan should be allowed to fight another full blood Aryan. During the second world war the German Nazis had trouble understanding why France was using colonial soldiers to fight them.
What do you mean?
Obama lost those wars. He unclenched his fist as was bitch-slapped by Al Qaeda and the Taliban. Karzai chose the Taliban over Obama's proposals. He thinks this is organizing inner city gangs.
On Ukraine, he cannot do squat, Putin out do him on almost every front. That banna has negative accomplishments to show, failures and lies will be on his book cover. 2016 cannot come fast enough.
His failures are only invisible to big-mouth air heads like Kari-mullahs and the rest of the mongrel crew.
What do you mean?
Obama lost those wars. He unclenched his fist as was bitch-slapped by Al Qaeda and the Taliban. Karzai chose the Taliban over Obama's proposals. He thinks this is organizing inner city gangs.
On Ukraine, he cannot do squat, Putin out do him on almost every front. That banna has negative accomplishments to show, failures and lies will be on his book cover. 2016 cannot come fast enough.
His failures are only invisible to big-mouth air heads like Kari-mullahs and the rest of the mongrel crew.
hmmmmm, this is what u call prancing antiman 'analysis' GT refugee style
and banna, pedigreed sh!t-harvesting dalits like u can hardly afford to call anyone "mongrel" . . . arite?