Way cleared for Local Government Elections, hydro development

August 11, 2013 | By | Filed Under AFC Column, Features / Columnists 

The Sitting of the National Assembly on August 7, 2013, saw the Alliance For Change giving its support for the four Local Government Bills and the Bill and Motion pertaining to the Amaila Falls Hydroelectric Project. The AFC expects that, with the passage of the Bills, the way is now cleared for the holding of Local Government Elections under a reformed system. The AFC looks forward to the early assent of the President to the Bills and subsequent Gazetting.
The Alliance For Change has always maintained its support for the development of hydroelectric power in Guyana, and in this context, supported the re-tabling of the Bill to amend the Hydroelectric Power Act. This Bill clears the way for additional protection of the environment surrounding the Amaila Falls Hydropower Project that is necessary to secure the support of the Inter-American Development Bank and its contributors.
Mindful of the many concerns raised by various groups and individuals in relation to the Motion on the Guarantee of Debt by Public Corporations, but cognisant of the importance attached to this measure by the developers of the project, the AFC sought a compromise position. This necessitated the Party support the re-tabling of the original Motion, which allowed the AFC to make amendments that are more discretionary. In this regard, the Party amended the original motion to raise the level of debt that can be incurred by a public corporation from $150 billion, as was originally suggested by the Government, to $50 billion. In addition, the Party also tied the increase specifically to the Guyana Power and Light and the Amaila Falls Hydropower Project.
The Alliance For Change, positioned as it is as a β€˜third force’, sought to take a nationalistic approach that would keep the project alive, at least in so long as the IDB needs to complete its due diligence and report on the feasibility of the project. The AFC’s support for the legislative arrangements related to the Amaila Falls Hydropower Project in no way diminishes its position – that the Party awaits the report on the feasibility study being done by the Inter-American Development Bank.
Apart from the environmental impact of the project, the IDB study will, more critically, determine the economic viability of the project and the capacity of the Guyana Power and Light to efficiently and effectively manage electricity generated by Amaila. This of critical importance when the AFC looks to make a final pronouncement on whether it will (or not) support the Project.
Though the AFC has given its support for the legislative arrangements relating to the project, many concerns still remain. These  range from the final dollar figure for a completed project , inclusive of all interests payable on loans and other fees chargeable until the project is wholly owned by Guyana; what will be the cost of electricity charged to consumers, capacity of the project to satisfy total demand on a year-round basis; what will become of communities, including Amerindian communities which do not presently form part of the national grid; will GPL still buy electricity from GuySuCo and at what rate, as this revenue stream is critical to the failing sugar industry.
What is important for public consumption is that the original Motion brought by the PPPC Government on July 18th sought to raise the debt ceiling for public corporations to $150 billion. By August 7th, the same PPPC had reduced that ceiling to $130 billion when the Motion was re-tabled. By the end of the day, they were going along with $50 billion, a mere one-third of the amount they had originally demanded.
As we go forward, it is clear that much more scrutiny has to be done and many more questions asked. However, given that the development of hydropower was being touted since the 1970s and the hope of all Guyanese to one day be able to access affordable and reliable electricity, the AFC believes that it would be premature to kill the project without giving it a fair chance.

August 11, 2013 | By | Filed Under AFC Column, Features / Columnists 

The Sitting of the National Assembly on August 7, 2013, saw the Alliance For Change giving its support for the four Local Government Bills and the Bill and Motion pertaining to the Amaila Falls Hydroelectric Project. The AFC expects that, with the passage of the Bills, the way is now cleared for the holding of Local Government Elections under a reformed system. The AFC looks forward to the early assent of the President to the Bills and subsequent Gazetting.
The Alliance For Change has always maintained its support for the development of hydroelectric power in Guyana, and in this context, supported the re-tabling of the Bill to amend the Hydroelectric Power Act. This Bill clears the way for additional protection of the environment surrounding the Amaila Falls Hydropower Project that is necessary to secure the support of the Inter-American Development Bank and its contributors.
Mindful of the many concerns raised by various groups and individuals in relation to the Motion on the Guarantee of Debt by Public Corporations, but cognisant of the importance attached to this measure by the developers of the project, the AFC sought a compromise position. This necessitated the Party support the re-tabling of the original Motion, which allowed the AFC to make amendments that are more discretionary. In this regard, the Party amended the original motion to raise the level of debt that can be incurred by a public corporation from $150 billion, as was originally suggested by the Government, to $50 billion. In addition, the Party also tied the increase specifically to the Guyana Power and Light and the Amaila Falls Hydropower Project.
The Alliance For Change, positioned as it is as a β€˜third force’, sought to take a nationalistic approach that would keep the project alive, at least in so long as the IDB needs to complete its due diligence and report on the feasibility of the project. The AFC’s support for the legislative arrangements related to the Amaila Falls Hydropower Project in no way diminishes its position – that the Party awaits the report on the feasibility study being done by the Inter-American Development Bank.
Apart from the environmental impact of the project, the IDB study will, more critically, determine the economic viability of the project and the capacity of the Guyana Power and Light to efficiently and effectively manage electricity generated by Amaila. This of critical importance when the AFC looks to make a final pronouncement on whether it will (or not) support the Project.
Though the AFC has given its support for the legislative arrangements relating to the project, many concerns still remain. These  range from the final dollar figure for a completed project , inclusive of all interests payable on loans and other fees chargeable until the project is wholly owned by Guyana; what will be the cost of electricity charged to consumers, capacity of the project to satisfy total demand on a year-round basis; what will become of communities, including Amerindian communities which do not presently form part of the national grid; will GPL still buy electricity from GuySuCo and at what rate, as this revenue stream is critical to the failing sugar industry.
What is important for public consumption is that the original Motion brought by the PPPC Government on July 18th sought to raise the debt ceiling for public corporations to $150 billion. By August 7th, the same PPPC had reduced that ceiling to $130 billion when the Motion was re-tabled. By the end of the day, they were going along with $50 billion, a mere one-third of the amount they had originally demanded.
As we go forward, it is clear that much more scrutiny has to be done and many more questions asked. However, given that the development of hydropower was being touted since the 1970s and the hope of all Guyanese to one day be able to access affordable and reliable electricity, the AFC believes that it would be premature to kill the project without giving it a fair chance.

Shut yuh illiterate low-life yalla-belly stink-mouth katahar rass.

The PPP needs to work and accommodate the PNC not the AFC.  The PNC/PPP are the real power-brokers in Guyana.  You katahars have allowed the AFC to become a foot stool for extremists and opportunists with the PNC forcing the hand of moderates which then strengthened the Jagdeo camp with in the PPP against Ramotar.  This has done nothing but add more poison into the political climate in Guyana.  The PNC are a true and legitimate representative of a major constituency of Guyana society and needs to be better engaged.

The PPP and PNC need to work towards a Govt of national unity.

Quote Baseman....

The PPP needs to work and accommodate the PNC not the AFC. {Baseman Dream} 

The PNC/PPP are the real power-brokers in Guyana. {Baseman Dream}

You katahars have allowed the AFC to become a foot stool for extremists and opportunists with the PNC forcing the hand of moderates which then strengthened the Jagdeo camp with in the PPP against Ramotar. 

This has done nothing but add more poison into the political climate in Guyana. 

The PNC are a true and legitimate representative of a major constituency of Guyana society and needs to be better engaged. {Baseman Dream}

The PPP and PNC need to work towards a Govt of national unity. {Baseman Dream}

Baseman and the PNC is entitled to ...... {Baseman Dream}

All the Guyanese who supported the PPP & PNC....

and..... experienced  Corruption, Thiefing and squandermania....

and...Suffered Under PPP & PNC....

and..... want to see Guyana move forward...

and .....Support Change and Development.....

have every right to tell both PPP & PNC....

"Enough is Enough.....It is Time to Change" 

The PPP needs to work and accommodate the PNC not the AFC.  The PNC/PPP are the real power-brokers in Guyana.  You katahars have allowed the AFC to become a foot stool for extremists and opportunists with the PNC forcing the hand of moderates which then strengthened the Jagdeo camp with in the PPP against Ramotar.  This has done nothing but add more poison into the political climate in Guyana.  The PNC are a true and legitimate representative of a major constituency of Guyana society and needs to be better engaged.

Stupid man, the PPP need not "facilitate" the PNC but do good works with the peoples interest in mind and that reify the idea they are good custodians of the state. That is their duty not the "illiterate" harmonizing and scheming in crass political ways without the people in mind as you suggests.

The idea that a government of national unity means anything except elite accommodation without fundamental reforms is another "illiterate" construct. The PPP has not offered one idea of reform in their entire two decade tenure. Instead their tact is to consolidate dictatorial power and whine and protest in grotesque ways that they can only do so with authoritarian power.

The PPP has to reform itself first. Democratic Centralism has to go to t he garbage can. Real membership vetting of presidential candidates by open debates and campaigning and ultimately a vote must replace that. Note not one new member from the ranks came on board in this congress. It is the same incestuous lot with their family clan based rule that remains. They are absolutely corrupt at this point.

Originally Posted by Danyael:

Stupid man, the PPP need not "facilitate" the PNC but do good works with the peoples interest in mind and that reify the idea they are good custodians of the state. That is their duty not the "illiterate" harmonizing and scheming in crass political ways without the people in mind as you suggests.

The idea that a government of national unity means anything except elite accommodation without fundamental reforms is another "illiterate" construct. The PPP has not offered one idea of reform in their entire two decade tenure. Instead their tact is to consolidate dictatorial power and whine and protest in grotesque ways that they can only do so with authoritarian power.

The PPP has to reform itself first. Democratic Centralism has to go to t he garbage can. Real membership vetting of presidential candidates by open debates and campaigning and ultimately a vote must replace that. Note not one new member from the ranks came on board in this congress. It is the same incestuous lot with their family clan based rule that remains. They are absolutely corrupt at this point.

Clown, if the PNC does not support the project, it will not get done.  Regardless what the PPP does, the PNC wants some direct political say in the nation's affairs and it will not happen without having the PNC on board.  The PPP has to do both, be better custodians and also politically engage the PNC.  It is not an issue of one or the other, both need to be accomplished for anything to happen.

Baseman wants to promote Thiefing, Corruption, Squander Mania, and Mis-management.

Well, you see AFC voted for the project but it failed to pass due to "lack of national consensus", now what does that tell you.  If the PNC had voted for and AFC against, no one, not even the private investors, would have given a rat's ass.

Clown, if the PNC does not support the project, it will not get done.  Regardless what the PPP does, the PNC wants some direct political say in the nation's affairs and it will not happen without having the PNC on board.  The PPP has to do both, be better custodians and also politically engage the PNC.  It is not an issue of one or the other, both need to be accomplished for anything to happen.

The PPP went its merry way for the past 20 years and continues to do so against all objections from the Marriott to the airport to the Fiber optic cable and wireless ( all party crony enrichment schemes) and never give a damn about the PNC. The only clowns here are the ones supporting this corrupt intransparent autocratic government while sending out the message that  it is because the black people in the PNC will steal more and do worse.

The PNC are a true and legitimate representative of a major constituency of Guyana society and needs to be better engaged.

Well we do know that your mother is low-life yalla-belly stink-mouth katahar rass and your father is alow life dalit to be determined on the Maury Show. So what does that make you?   Another low-life yalla-belly stink-mouth katahar rass-dalit. hahahahahahah!

The PNC are a true and legitimate representative of a major constituency of Guyana society and needs to be better engaged.

Well we do know that your mother is low-life yalla-belly stink-mouth katahar rass and your father is alow life dalit to be determined on the Maury Show. So what does that make you?   Another low-life yalla-belly stink-mouth katahar rass-dalit. hahahahahahah!

Well, as usual for low-life stinkers, you have to throw in "mother"...i wish i meet you like chicken shit, i would stick that assical smile right up your ass.  Where did I ever referenced your extended family?

The PPP went its merry way for the past 20 years and continues to do so against all objections from the Marriott to the airport to the Fiber optic cable and wireless ( all party crony enrichment schemes) and never give a damn about the PNC. The only clowns here are the ones supporting this corrupt intransparent autocratic government while sending out the message that  it is because the black people in the PNC will steal more and do worse.

You fool, thus far, no other project needed national consensus.  This one did.

Well, as usual for low-life stinkers, you have to throw in "mother"...i wish i meet you like chicken shit, i would stick that assical smile right up your ass.  Where did I ever referenced your extended family?

You started the insults. When you label one a "low-life.......katahar", you insult one's parents and family. Do you know who is your father? I see you can't stand your own breath. hahahahahaha!

Baseman, I know you ran to Admin crying. Just note, you started the personal attack. You want to dish it out but can't take it eh? Well, I got news for you. I have lots of dry ammunition waiting just for you and your assinine posts.  

So, AFC is the clown for supporting the ruling government?

The AFC was loud in rejecting this project.  Moreso than the PNC.

Now we have discovered the Mr and Mrs Hughes are involved in the project the AFC "suddenly" changes its mind.

The AFC has lost all credibility.

I will be interested in what new info did the PPP provide that led to their sudden "enlightenment".

Baseman, I know you ran to Admin crying. Just note, you started the personal attack. You want to dish it out but can't take it eh? Well, I got news for you. I have lots of dry ammunition waiting just for you and your assinine posts.  

Katahar jacka55, show me when/where I referenced you mother, father or any other family member.  Furthermore, the fact that you are a dirty katahar is not a reflection on them, they are likely ashamed of you.

Baseman wants to promote Thiefing, Corruption, Squander Mania, and Mis-management.

So he now supports the AFC, because the AFC changed its mind about Amaila once a major leader within that party thought that his ability to earn his commission became jeopardized.

The thing is that the AFC does not even have the decency to PRETEND as if they have new information which caused them not to have to wait until third party verification of the projects's viability was received.

So he now supports the AFC, because the AFC changed its mind about Amaila once a major leader within that party thought that his ability to earn his commission became jeopardized.

The thing is that the AFC does not even have the decency to PRETEND as if they have new information which caused them not to have to wait until third party verification of the projects's viability was received.

I did not support the AFC, my position is the PPP shoiuld have worked with the PNC to gain national consensus.  However, this cannot be done overnight, they should have started a long time ago.

Katahar jacka55, show me when/where I referenced you mother, father or any other family member.  Furthermore, the fact that you are a dirty katahar is not a reflection on them, they are likely ashamed of you.

You are a jackass and the lowest of the lowest caste. You are a such a fool (murkh) that you don't comprehend your own inferences. I would not waste time with a numb skull dalit like you. Who is your father?

So, tell me directly, or are you a chicken shit, show me where I referenced your mother, father, or anyone else, tell me yellow belly katahar.

Do you know the difference between reference and inference? See the second post (August 11, 2013 8:25AM which is about 10 mins after I posted) on this thread. Why your assinine personal attack, when I am only the messenger? You are an idiot and the coward. You are a congenital racist with a low IQ. You are the lowest of the lowest cast and was even treated as an outcast during your stay in India.

Were you singing Kumbaya when dem little black boys took advantage of you? Why your hate for the Amerinds?

Last edited by Mitwah

Do you know the difference between reference and inference? See the second post (August 11, 2013 8:25AM which is about 10 mins after I posted) on this thread. Why your assinine personal attack, when I am only the messenger? You are an idiot and the coward. You are a congenital racist with a low IQ. You are the lowest of the lowest cast and was even treated as an outcast during your stay in India.

Were you singing Kumbaya when dem little black boys took advantage of you? Why your hate for the Amerinds?

No, I don't so now point to me where I refer or infer your mother, father or any other family.

You cannot, cuz you are a liar, yellow belly lil snake.  This is you..

Many Black folks are decent hardworking, so are Amerindians.

No, I don't so now point to me where I refer or infer your mother, father or any other family.

You have a low IQ. You are worthless piece of pathogenic bacterium. Now that I have intermingled with you I have to take a bath.

You started the personal attack ass hole.

You have a low IQ. You are worthless piece of pathogenic bacterium. Now that I have intermingled with you I have to take a bath.

You seem very unbalanced.  I repeat, rather than ranting dozens of times, just point out where I refer or infer your mother, father, other relatives.  Own up, be a man and not a

You are a dunce. I know you lack comprehension. Read my posts very slowly and try comprehend. But then again, comprehension is not your forte since you demonstrate as one with a very low IQ. Your brain is as dry as the remainder biscuit after voyage. Scat!

Yea me lack all datt smarts, soa now yuh know mi dunce, jess show mi weh me refer to yuh mumma, daaady, buddy or sissy.  Mi dunce yea, bu' you wan yalla-belly snake liar...no?

Yea me lack all datt smarts, soa now yuh know mi dunce, jess show mi weh me refer to yuh mumma, daaady, buddy or sissy.  Mi dunce yea, bu' you wan yalla-belly snake liar...no? You remind me so much of that.

Seems like you grewup with a stepmother. You're so dumb your IQ and shoe size are probably the same. hahahahahah!

Yea me lack all datt smarts, soa now yuh know mi dunce, jess show mi weh me refer to yuh mumma, daaady, buddy or sissy.  Mi dunce yea, bu' you wan yalla-belly snake liar...no? You remind me so much of that.

Seems like you grewup with a stepmother. You're so dumb your IQ and shoe size are probably the same. hahahahahah!

Now, is that the best you could do...switch from mother to step mother.  You have a deep-seated problem Mitwagg.

Again you ignorant twit; if it needed a national consensus then it should have been architecturew from its inception with input of all parties involved not the selected graft driven crooks in the PPP alone and then offered up for approval. These are the very crooks who ignored every exhortation not to involve fip motilal in this project since it was public knowledge he never built a fowl pen. Yet he was given a license and a 15 million contract ( making his "get" 30 million dollars and for what!) This was a crooked deal. It is why the AFC ever rubber stamping it under the guise of it is necessary is a travesty.

Again you ignorant twit; if it needed a national consensus then it should have been architecturew from its inception with input of all parties 

What you think I meant, that why I say the PPP share blame.  They should have built a national consensus by having all stakeholders involved much earlier.  I have a feeling though, it was BJ's approach, which backfired badly.

Now, is that the best you could do...switch from mother to step mother.  You have a deep-seated problem Mitwagg.

Your IQ is so low,  your shoe size must be bigger. That snake reminds me so much of you. Did you grow up with a step-mother?