That shady bond deal… We are humans, not a Cabinet of Angels; we will make mistakes -Ramjattan

August 25,2016 Source

“Think of it like a game of cricket. One man drops de ball at a crucial point in the game. Wuh de Captain must do? Box the man behind he head, tell he walk off the field and call a truck to drive over him? No. We are humans and we will blunder. We are not a Cabinet of Angels.”
This was the perspective of Public Security Minister, Khemraj Ramjattan as he considered the controversial Sussex Street bond deal which has, as of late, earned the coalition administration nothing but harsh criticisms.

The bond is owned by Lawrence Singh of Linden Holdings Inc.
Ramjattan, the Leader of the Alliance For Change (AFC), said that while some critics expect the party to be “unashamedly outspoken on the issue” and to give Public Health Minister, Dr. George Norton a “feral blast”, he stressed that the protocols of Cabinet dictate a different mode of approach.In fact, Ramjattan said that when he considers the issue of the bond deal, the entire Cabinet, he believes, should take some amount of responsibility for the mistake.

“It is not only Norton who erred. It’s the entire Cabinet. I will take my share of the responsibility, but people must understand that there is a certain way to doing things,” the Public Security Minister expressed.
Ramjattan said that he can accept the criticism that Government erred badly in this regard, however it must be appreciated that the administration took steps to correct the mistake.

The AFC Leader asserted, “When this matter came before us we were told that we have to pay $19M to New GPC for them to store drugs for us. So we voted for the $12M rental of the Sussex Street bond because it is far less than what New GPC was asking for.”He added, “We were also under the impression that the Sussex Street facility was ready. But of course we found out this was not the case. But what did we do after finding certain anomalies? We immediately established a subcommittee to investigate the matter.”

The Cabinet subcommittee comprised Prime Minister, Moses Nagamootoo, Natural Resources Minster, Raphael Trotman and Minister of State, Joseph Harmon.Ramjattan stressed that coming out of that sub-committee were certain recommendations, one of which includes an apology to the public. Norton is expected to hand over his apology to House Speaker, Dr. Barton Scotland tomorrow.

The AFC leader also emphasised that it is important for the public to note that had the same situation occurred under the former regime, there would have been an entirely different reaction from the PPP.
“We in the AFC, cannot in view of the partnership arrangement, go and box him (Norton) on his ears and ask him to walk out of Cabinet because of this mistake. How could we do that? We understand that we made a huge mistake but come on, we are rectifying it,” Ramjattan appealed.He added, “We are going to make lots more mistakes. Don’t ever feel we are not going to make mistakes. But in view of all of this, it means that we will have to be more interrogative of our brother and sister cabinet Ministers on matters of single sourcing and those other issues.”

The Public Security Minister made it clear that he is in agreement with the recommendation to have a bond for the storage of pharmaceuticals that is closer to Georgetown. He noted, too, that Government has agreed for the rental fee to be renegotiated with a view to having it reduced. Ramjattan said that if this cannot be done, then he would imagine that the contract would have to be revoked.Kaieteur News then asked the Minister why Government wouldn’t simply revoke the contract now and start anew. The Attorney-at-Law said that it is not advisable to revoke at this stage, especially when certain provisions at the bond are already in place.

Some members of the Opposition have commentated that Norton’s behaviour has placed the Government on the precipice of a credibility crisis.The Public Security Minister said he can understand this position, while adding that the Government understands that it will obviously pay some penalty for the blunder. He agreed too, that it has done some damage to the image of the Government but again stressed, “We are not perfect…”Noting that some members of the Opposition have said that an apology is not enough, Ramjattan said, “What they want? They want blood? They want him sacked? Let them bring their Privileges Motion in Parliament and we will handle it in the Committee…Norton deserves a second chance.

HAHAHA He got that RIGHT, no bloody Angels BUT a DUMB BUNCH OF THIEVES!!! The PNC knows they have STUPID, DUMB and @#$% Heads as supporters in Guyana, NA and GNI. For 28 years they treat them like DOG SHIT and will continue to do so since they are quite aware of their supporters lack of intelligence, slavish mentality and plain STUPIDITY!!!!

Last edited by Nehru

Isn't this the same Ramjattan who just over a year ago was screaming and wailing that he will, "fire, fry and jail corrupt PPP officials!” 

Did he not say it was the AFC's passion to expose the truth?  Remember these words people???

"The AFC is not only about speaking out against wrongdoings but also finding solutions to the problems at hand, Ramjattan told the conference.

Admitting that it is a herculean task, he said that it is a job that requires collective effort.
“Too often we remain silent on the wrongs around us.” He said that silence is equivalent to condoning the atrocity itself and at the individual level, this must be brought to a halt.
At the political level, the AFC leader said that it will continue to expose corruption. Not doing so comes with a cost to the life of the nation.
“And what do we do with corrupt officials?” Ramjattan asked. The crowd yelled, “Jail them.”

The politician said that the party has maintained a watchful eye on officials but the time has come to include a cracking whip. He said too that even when the AFC gets into office and it is by any chance corrupt, the electorate has a responsibility to “crack the whip.”
“You must be fearless and fry the big fish,” he added. This was greeted with much approval and had members shouting, “We will jail the PPP and we will fry them.”

That shameless, hypocritic son of a gun has changed his tune very quickly.  Shame on Ramjattan!!

They did not solve the problem. They just tried to hide it under the carpet. A cabinet committee to examine an issue they had already decided on But, this did not work. Nothing has changed. At worse, Larry Singh gets a building and  US$60,000 per month for a year.

The cabinet and president collectively made the decision and they must take responsibility for that decision. Blaming a lack of enough or incorrect information is just an excuse because they were caught. 

Z

Prak is digging a hole for himself and the Cabinet. Norton did the same thing. And do you need the Prime Minister and the highest ranking officials outside of the President for an investigative Committee? Something smells.

Granger, Trump-like, is not a politician. He's a decent, educated man with unfounded charges of blood on his hands in the 1973 election hijacking. He is however part of the military that was deep in the logistics. I do know though that being in the same boat does not taint you with the brush of others who are culpable.

You would think that the experienced AFC guys - Moses and Prak - would bring their governing experiences to bear, but who knows the inside political and where one's powers extend. Remember that in Guyana the line between party and government is extremely blurred.

However much one may want the previous Administration ousted because of corruption, violence and a lack of structural changes to move Guyana to a next level of an economic entity, you have to say that this Coalition government has not done much to provide comfort. 

Only a people's movement can change the culture, as in 40 years from now Guyana will be exporting rice and timber and gold (and maybe oil) and importing everything else, including water, sugar and chicken. My goodness - what a future!!!

Some members of the Opposition have commentated that Norton’s behaviour has placed the Government on the precipice of a credibility crisis. The Public Security Minister said he can understand this position, while adding that the Government understands that it will obviously pay some penalty for the blunder. He agreed too, that it has done some damage to the image of the Government but again stressed, “We are not perfect…”Noting that some members of the Opposition have said that an apology is not enough, Ramjattan said, “What they want? They want blood? They want him sacked? Let them bring their Privileges Motion in Parliament and we will handle it in the Committee…Norton deserves a second chance.

That shady bond deal… We are humans, not a Cabinet of Angels; we will make mistakes - Ramjattan, August 25,2016, Source

Imperfect from the day PNC/AFC took office and professing to be more superior than Angels.

Except for granting to themselves huge salary increases, the PNC/AFC have shown their incompetence to manage the affairs of the country.

Ramjattan's response is unprofessional and arrogant.  This is a serious issue and he should've handled it better rather than to give reasons why it's excusable. The public would not buy this. People have come to dislike corruption and they are not going to tolerate it from this gov't.  The thousands who voted AFC did so because of the PPP selection process for its presidential candidate and the issue about the level of corruption.  These people are not going to stay with the AFC.  

Kari posted:

Prak is digging a hole for himself and the Cabinet. Norton did the same thing. And do you need the Prime Minister and the highest ranking officials outside of the President for an investigative Committee? Something smells.

Granger, Trump-like, is not a politician. He's a decent, educated man with unfounded charges of blood on his hands in the 1973 election hijacking. He is however part of the military that was deep in the logistics. I do know though that being in the same boat does not taint you with the brush of others who are culpable.

You would think that the experienced AFC guys - Moses and Prak - would bring their governing experiences to bear, but who knows the inside political and where one's powers extend. Remember that in Guyana the line between party and government is extremely blurred.

However much one may want the previous Administration ousted because of corruption, violence and a lack of structural changes to move Guyana to a next level of an economic entity, you have to say that this Coalition government has not done much to provide comfort. 

Only a people's movement can change the culture, as in 40 years from now Guyana will be exporting rice and timber and gold (and maybe oil) and importing everything else, including water, sugar and chicken. My goodness - what a future!!!

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA Like I said from day one:  WHEN YUH STUPID, NAIVE AND A @#$% HEAD YOU WILL FOREVER BE TAKEN FOR RIDES.  HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA  Now leh meh enjoy meh beverage

Ramjattan's response is unprofessional and arrogant.  This is a serious issue and he should've handled it better rather than to give reasons why it's excusable. The public would not buy this. People have come to dislike corruption and they are not going to tolerate it from this gov't.  The thousands who voted AFC did so because of the PPP selection process for its presidential candidate and the issue about the level of corruption.  These people are not going to stay with the AFC.  

Don't get too excited, they wouldn't be going with PPP either.

Kari posted:

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA Like I said from day one:  WHEN YUH STUPID, NAIVE AND A @#$% HEAD YOU WILL FOREVER BE TAKEN FOR RIDES.  HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA  Now leh meh enjoy meh beverage

Easy to mek yuh laff, eh Pavi? 

A divine duty was to get rid of the PPP, and not because the alternative was flawless. And you will note here that critiques of the coalition has been ongoing since they took office.

Now don't go spilling yuh free beverage (wheh? Oasis?)

Kari posted:

Easy to mek yuh laff, eh Pavi? 

A divine duty was to get rid of the PPP, and not because the alternative was flawless. And you will note here that critiques of the coalition has been ongoing since they took office.

Now don't go spilling yuh free beverage (wheh? Oasis?)

People like you not only shameless but dangerous. QC probably crying " No tell me he did not walk through our doors".  You and your Group lacks intelligence, morals, integrity and basic decency. Now that things are so BAD, that the PNC Govt has been exposed ( Uncle Nehru called it a long time ago) Al YUh trying to wipe shit off Al Yuh face.  Gwan yuh yuh no good ass kisser and soup drinker!!!!!!!!

So now Ramjattan is saying that not only Norton made a mistake but the whole Cabinet. No one in that entire Cabinet had the requisite intelligence to say "slow down lil bit Norton, yuh talking like yuh doan kno how bidding is done. Leh abee or awee teach yuh lil bit how bidding duz wuk".

He said that they recognized their mistake and took steps to correct it. That correction being that they created a Committee to agree with Norton that he did not know how bidding work and in effect have made it possible for Singh to laugh all the way to the bank and when he wants somewhere else to go to, he can go to the house that Norton paid for. Then like the coward he is, proceeded to blame the PPP even though this government has been in office since last year's May. But I will cut them some slack since they spent the entire first year planning for the Jubilee celebrations and are still having hangovers since the celebrations. This new government is like comedy central.

So now Ramjattan is saying that not only Norton made a mistake but the whole Cabinet. No one in that entire Cabinet had the requisite intelligence to say "slow down lil bit Norton, yuh talking like yuh doan kno how bidding is done. Leh abee or awee teach yuh lil bit how bidding duz wuk".

He said that they recognized their mistake and took steps to correct it. That correction being that they created a Committee to agree with Norton that he did not know how bidding work and in effect have made it possible for Singh to laugh all the way to the bank and when he wants somewhere else to go to, he can go to the house that Norton paid for. Then like the coward he is, proceeded to blame the PPP even though this government has been in office since last year's May. But I will cut them some slack since they spent the entire first year planning for the Jubilee celebrations and are still having hangovers since the celebrations. This new government is like comedy central.

Well said.

Ramjattan just proved that his a crook and liar. He lied to Guyanese before and after the election campaign. He is like that olympic runner who messed up himself.

Calling these chaps dumb and dumber is like paying them a compliment.

Moses living the Cadillac Lifestyle:

Unknown

Prak and Moses:

Unknown-1

Images (2)
  • Unknown
  • Unknown-1

Quote from the election campaign:

"Admitting that it is a herculean task, he said that it is a job that requires collective effort.
“Too often we remain silent on the wrongs around us.” He said that silence is equivalent to condoning the atrocity itself and at the individual level, this must be brought to a halt.
At the political level, the AFC leader said that it will continue to expose corruption. Not doing so comes with a cost to the life of the nation.
“And what do we do with corrupt officials?” Ramjattan asked. The crowd yelled, “Jail them.”"

Question for Moses and Ramjattan:

Why not jail them now ?  Liars and crooks !!!!!!!

Rumjhaat Crook:

"They want him sacked? Let them bring their Privileges Motion in Parliament and we will handle it in the Committee…Norton deserves a second chance."

These shameless idiots !!!!!! Defending crooks !!!!!

SHAME ON THEM !!!!! SHAME ON THE AFC !!!!!!

That shady bond deal… We are humans, not a Cabinet of Angels; we will make mistakes -Ramjattan

August 25,2016 Source

“Think of it like a game of cricket. One man drops de ball at a crucial point in the game. Wuh de Captain must do? Box the man behind he head, tell he walk off the field and call a truck to drive over him? No. We are humans and we will blunder. We are not a Cabinet of Angels.”
This was the perspective of Public Security Minister, Khemraj Ramjattan as he considered the controversial Sussex Street bond deal which has, as of late, earned the coalition administration nothing but harsh criticisms.

The bond is owned by Lawrence Singh of Linden Holdings Inc.
Ramjattan, the Leader of the Alliance For Change (AFC), said that while some critics expect the party to be “unashamedly outspoken on the issue” and to give Public Health Minister, Dr. George Norton a “feral blast”, he stressed that the protocols of Cabinet dictate a different mode of approach.In fact, Ramjattan said that when he considers the issue of the bond deal, the entire Cabinet, he believes, should take some amount of responsibility for the mistake.

“It is not only Norton who erred. It’s the entire Cabinet. I will take my share of the responsibility, but people must understand that there is a certain way to doing things,” the Public Security Minister expressed.
Ramjattan said that he can accept the criticism that Government erred badly in this regard, however it must be appreciated that the administration took steps to correct the mistake.

The AFC Leader asserted, “When this matter came before us we were told that we have to pay $19M to New GPC for them to store drugs for us. So we voted for the $12M rental of the Sussex Street bond because it is far less than what New GPC was asking for.”He added, “We were also under the impression that the Sussex Street facility was ready. But of course we found out this was not the case. But what did we do after finding certain anomalies? We immediately established a subcommittee to investigate the matter.”

The Cabinet subcommittee comprised Prime Minister, Moses Nagamootoo, Natural Resources Minster, Raphael Trotman and Minister of State, Joseph Harmon.Ramjattan stressed that coming out of that sub-committee were certain recommendations, one of which includes an apology to the public. Norton is expected to hand over his apology to House Speaker, Dr. Barton Scotland tomorrow.

The AFC leader also emphasised that it is important for the public to note that had the same situation occurred under the former regime, there would have been an entirely different reaction from the PPP.
“We in the AFC, cannot in view of the partnership arrangement, go and box him (Norton) on his ears and ask him to walk out of Cabinet because of this mistake. How could we do that? We understand that we made a huge mistake but come on, we are rectifying it,” Ramjattan appealed.He added, “We are going to make lots more mistakes. Don’t ever feel we are not going to make mistakes. But in view of all of this, it means that we will have to be more interrogative of our brother and sister cabinet Ministers on matters of single sourcing and those other issues.”

The Public Security Minister made it clear that he is in agreement with the recommendation to have a bond for the storage of pharmaceuticals that is closer to Georgetown. He noted, too, that Government has agreed for the rental fee to be renegotiated with a view to having it reduced. Ramjattan said that if this cannot be done, then he would imagine that the contract would have to be revoked.Kaieteur News then asked the Minister why Government wouldn’t simply revoke the contract now and start anew. The Attorney-at-Law said that it is not advisable to revoke at this stage, especially when certain provisions at the bond are already in place.

Some members of the Opposition have commentated that Norton’s behaviour has placed the Government on the precipice of a credibility crisis.The Public Security Minister said he can understand this position, while adding that the Government understands that it will obviously pay some penalty for the blunder. He agreed too, that it has done some damage to the image of the Government but again stressed, “We are not perfect…”Noting that some members of the Opposition have said that an apology is not enough, Ramjattan said, “What they want? They want blood? They want him sacked? Let them bring their Privileges Motion in Parliament and we will handle it in the Committee…Norton deserves a second chance.

INTERESTING OR BS?

I think this is malarky and BS.  Wasn't this the man who was frying the corrupt people?

KishanB posted:

INTERESTING OR BS?

I think this is malarky and BS.  Wasn't this the man who was frying the corrupt people?

Because money talks, BS walks....now just walk on by!!

ba$eman posted:
KishanB posted:

INTERESTING OR BS?

When frogs revert to being tadpole, only then you can tell be when and where to walk.  Now haul you derriere, you and Deokie the BIBS.

Hilarious but a lot of truth there. 

Oh r@ss, Yuji sounding like Bill Maher, trying to out-comedy the Comedy Central's Jon Stewart, er, Kzaaaz. 

I like it - the humor level has gone up a notch. Nehru - look and learn. The CAPS and the same 20-word vocabulary is passé now. 

Kari posted:

This thread was ripe for satire.

It is the usual response  of SHAMELESS, bottom of the Barrel Parasites when confronted with facts!!!!  as I said before, people like you are not just illiterate and stupid but very dangerous!!!!!!!!!!

KishanB posted:
ba$eman posted:
KishanB posted:

INTERESTING OR BS?

When frogs revert to being tadpole, only then you can tell be when and where to walk.  Now haul you derriere, you and Deokie the BIBS.

BTW, how's Bahamian catamaran thing going.  Lots ah tadpoles and frogs wandering there!!