We are now a divided society where our motto no longer exists

APRIL 15, 2014 | BY  | FILED UNDER LETTERS 

DEAR EDITOR,
The Joint Parliamentary Opposition leader Brigadier David Granger had met with the Alliance For Change (AFC) Leader Mr. Khemraj Ramjattan prior to the sitting of parliament on  the morning of Thursday, 10, April, 2014  to discuss the $6B allocation for the sugar industry in the 2014  budget  presented by the Finance Ministry Mr. Ashni Singh recently.
In that meeting, the Joint Parliamentary Opposition agreed not to vote down the $6B allocation for the sugar workers in the National Assembly because sugar, for decades, has been a significant contributor to the Guyanese economy in its good years, and provides jobs. This was expected by all of us, since Mr. Granger has always fought to ensure the sugar industry doesn’t close down in this country under this incompetent regime.
It is very clear that the PPP/C Government was behind the related protest to create some sort of disturbance and division in the country. This Government is bent on trying to regain control of power in parliament through dirty politics – on racial and ethnic grounds – after they lost power at the 2011 general elections. This nonsense must stop if our nation is to move forward.
However, I was very surprised to notice that the sugar cane workers were not arrested, shot or tear-gassed by law enforcement officers, when they turned up in front of parliament building last Thursday, to register their concern about the allocation that the Government had made for the sugar industry.
As a matter of fact, the police acted in a professional and civilized manner in dealing with the hundreds of sugar workers, predominantly Indo-Guyanese, who were outside Parliament Buildings on that day. Remarkably no lives were lost and I must take this opportunity to commend the Force for a well job done in dealing with the protestors.
Conversely, I would like those in authority to tell me and the nation why is it when protesters of Afro-descent take to the streets to protest for better wages, working conditions and equal rights, among issues of genuine concern to them in this country, they are either being arrested, terrorized, murdered, jailed, tear-gassed, beaten, tortured and shot at with live rounds.
Under the Constitution, “Everyone has the right to life, liberty and security of person” and Article 20 (1) states that “Everyone has the right to freedom of peaceful assembly and association.”
So why have predominantly Afro-Guyanese protestors been the victims of police brutality under this administration for the past twenty years?
In July 2012, Shemroy Bouyea, Ron Somerset, and Allan Lewis were shot dead during a protest regarding government’s plan to increase electricity tariffs in the bauxite mining town of Linden. The protestors were calling for a reversal of the decision. These protestors were peaceful and unarmed, just like those outside Parliament Buildings on the morning of Thursday, April 10, 2014, yet three persons were killed senselessly.
We are now a divided society where our motto ‘One People, One Nation, One Destiny’ no longer exists.
Rayvonne P. Bourne

Difference Between Linden and Sugar worker protest:

Linden Protest: Violence and Millions in Public and Private Property destroyed.

Sugar Workers Protest: Zero Violence, yes, Zero. And Zero Destruction to Public and Private Property.

Those "so called sugar workers" were paid to be there and the only purpose they served was to debase the reality of an industry that is a trap for poverty, destitution, low wages, and institutionalized part time work in an industry being plundered.

Your chronic racism and brutal display of ignorance denies the reality of a people protesting peacefully until fired upon by hired lackeys in the police force. The PPP tried a strategy of intimidation with violence against these protestors. I am sure if the Police began to shoot your "cane cutters" and they see their fallen comrades in the dirt bleeding to death or maimed they would be goaded into an angry response in some way.

But your intent is not to compare cane cutters with Lindeners. It is to solicit the same racial prejudices that the PPP massages at every chance it gets. That is to compare and contrast  black people and indians and to imply they are inherently different. Indians are of the Apollonian template; wise and contemplative and blacks are completely Dionysian ie  driven by bizarre compulsions from debauchery to murderous rage. You cannot vote PNC. Those are black people! Vote PPP vote for the wise Indian!

http://www.caribnewsdesk.com/n...police-over-banditry Crime-weary Corentyne residents block road, confront police over banditry [01-26-2014]

"Eyewitnesses said hundreds of residents blocked the road and prevented the police car from leaving the area. At one stage, they attempted to set the police car alight."

http://www.guyanatimesgy.com/?p=48205

Rohee orders shakeup at Number 51 police station [01-28-14]

"Sunday’s demonstration escalated to the point where an explosive device was thrown at the police even as they attempted to maintain order."

-------------------------------------

vive la différence!!!

[with apologies to the French and to romance]

hmmmmmmm . . . ?

http://www.caribnewsdesk.com/n...police-over-banditry Crime-weary Corentyne residents block road, confront police over banditry [01-26-2014]

"Eyewitnesses said hundreds of residents blocked the road and prevented the police car from leaving the area. At one stage, they attempted to set the police car alight."

"Sunday’s demonstration escalated to the point where an explosive device was thrown at the police even as they attempted to maintain order."

vive la différence!!!

hmmmmmmm . . . ?

Facts speak for themselves.

Facts are indeed self evident. When the are the reality of self proclaimed racist then to you alone they speak not to the rest of us.

Do we go and get the video of the ignaramus shouting through his bull horn that he is counting down to an assault on the protestors? Do we get pictures of their dead and bullet mangled compatriots and post them here as evidence of what happened? Of course that is not the point. It would be falling into you racist  trap that distracts us from the reality we are fighting a corrupt regime and highlighting their corruption is the theme and the massaging of racist messages the means and people like you he disease carrier.

March 16, 2014 8:39 AM

Royal runaround from NIS

Posted By Staff Writer On March 15, 2014 @ 5:11 am In Letters | No Comments

Dear Editor,

My husband Arjune Ramperaud NIS No. A-3057551 died at the age of 79 in November 2013. I applied to NIS for the funeral expenses. I got the forms, filled them out and took them in to NIS Brickdam. I had all the requirements as stated on the forms, but I was asked to produce my birth certificate which is not listed on the forms. Nevertheless, I was still told I would have to get it.

Editor, I am not living around the corner from NIS; I live on the East Coast. Why is it that they do not list all the requirements on the forms before giving them out?

However, I came home and returned the next day with the document. In the end I was told that everything is in order and I must return in a month’s time to collect the cheque and I would also get the survivor’s benefit.

I waited over a month and went back to NIS, where I was told that they have the cheque, but wanted to know who paid the funeral parlour and the cremation cost. The named stated on the receipt was that of my son, Khemraj Rampersaud, and the official told me that he would have to authorize me to collect the cheque. So I came home and got my son to give me an authorization.

I returned to NIS a few days later with my son’s authorization and was then told to return the Wednesday for the cheque or it could be posted. I told them to post it.

I came home to wait for the cheque. Instead I received a letter from NIS asking me several questions, so together with my son I went to NIS again with the letter. The lady in the cage explained that the letter should not have been sent, and it appeared as if she was going to pay me the cheque when another lady came up and requested to see the death certificate. She looked at it and said that she cannot see the date of death, and so she would not approve the payment.

The lady in the cage told me to go to the Georgetown Public Hospital and ask the clerk to brighten up the date of death. At the GPH the clerk told me that there was no record of the date of death and I would have to go to the office in my district because my husband died at home. I went to the Plaisance office but was told that all the documents had gone to the registry and I would have to wait for the official death certificate. At this point I am waiting at home for the official death certificate before going back to NIS.

Editor, to my mind these ladies at NIS should be removed from their positions. They are making NIS look very bad. Also NIS should issue an identification card to each employee.

I don’t have to produce a death certificate at this stage because it was produced in the first instance and was accepted. Then I was told to return after a month for my cheque. I was told by the people upstairs that the cheque would be posted so why was it not posted.

Could NIS say when I would be paid.

Yours faithfully, Germina Rampersaud

Editor’s note

We are sending a copy of this letter to Ms Dianne Lewis-Baxter, the PRO of NIS for any comment she might wish to make.

This is a school and private and public property being burnt down by the "Peaceful" Linden Protesters:

yesssss . . . i confront your shyte and u not-so-surprisingly get dumb(er) and shrill

digging deep into yuh slack batty for imagery to scandalize blackman - actually kwamesque propaganda to overwhelm the thread and shift attention from your bigotry, emptiness and stupidity

still waiting for your rebuttal, u lil punk antiman

vive la différence!!!

hmmmmmmm . . . ?

Independent COI ruled that the Police did not shoot any protesters. 

It was all planned by the AFC/PNC to create violence and disturbances.

Now shut your PNC trap.

The COI ruled police definitely were at fault but no direct evidence of who shot the weapons. The high probability plus local consensus points to the very people who said they were about to do just that. You and your mama were in the sit in that did the planning!

Every time racist scum like you tell lies you will be lashed until you start speaking the truth.

There was no violence in Linden until police murdered three protesters and attempted to injure others.

When the sugar workers protested, did the police order them to disperse and then fire LIVE ROUNDS when they didn't?  NO!

You see racist scum like you will be a torment to blacks, but blacks will not tolerate this treatment!

Facts have nothing to do with race. Face the facts or hide under your race umbrella.

Next time that Indians protest the police should fire rounds at them, let some die and then we will see how quickly some police station is burnt down.

Of course you will be hysterically screaming ethnic genocide, much as you bellow in glee every time blacks are slaughtered by the agents of the PPP.

Keep on doing the good job reminding us all how RACIST the PPP is.

Originally Posted by Mars:

The Goat Man's Daughter expresses how she feels about "Black People"

Clearly we see this as the typical PPP attitude towards the 40% of the population which is Afro identified.   Indeed when one sees the PPP goons on this site it is clear that they hate blacks. Having long attempted to scare Indians, now they are attempting to do the same with Amerindians.