A moving funeral service and viewing took place at the Square of the Revolution today for Shemroy Bouyea, Allan Lewis and Ron Somerset – the three shooting victims of the Linden electricity uprising as about 2,000 persons paid their respects and called for justice. Amid African drumming and music befitting Freedom Day, and overlooked by the Cuffy monument, three hearses bearing the bodies of the slain men who were shot and killed by Police departed the Square of the Revolution after lunch for Linden where a service will be held at the Wismar-Mackenzie bridge – the location where they died on July 18 when they were part of a protest demanding that Government withdraw a proposal for higher electricity tariffs. The cortege arrived at the Square at about 11:15 am and initially there was a lot of pushing to get a view of the bodies. This later quieted down and persons filed past in an orderly manner to view the men. “We hold the PPP and the Minister responsible. We don’t need a commission of inquiry [to tell us that],” said Leader of the Opposition David Granger at the funeral service. “Let it be a day of determination to ensure that there is no more killing. Let us have a government that protects the lives of its citizens,” Granger, also the Leader of the PNCR, said, “Let it be a day of solidarity for the people of Linden,” he said in his brief presentation. Representing the Alliance For Change (AFC), attorney at law Nigel Hughes said, “It is up to us to ensure their lives do not go in vain.” Noting that there was no arrest, no court appearance, no trial and conviction for the men for whatever their crime was, “they were executed by the state for no just cause whatsoever.” He asked the administration, “To those in power I ask if a criminal [were to] break into your home and slaughter your family, would you want a commission of inquiry before those persons are brought to justice?” He then cried out, “No peace, no justice. No justice no peace.” One man who was shot and wounded in the face on July 18 – Michael Roberts – said “just hold the struggle.” He reminded the gathering of mourners of a song by the late reggae superstar Dennis Brown, which has in it the words “who gave the order to shoot in South Africa, it must be a damn dictator.” He noted that while the song was written during the period of oppression in South Africa during which time Mandela was imprisoned, he noted that its lyrics were apt today. He further noted the irony that the events of July 18 were on the same day as Mandela’s birth anniversary. The many persons on the Square of the Revolution dressed in a mix of African clothing and black, red, white for a funereal look.

Alliance For Change (AFC) executive member Moses Nagamootoo said that on the day of national revolution, Guyanese will remember the three martyrs by raising three shirts, as the protestors in Linden had done on the day the men were killed.
“On the day of the shooting, the protesters raised a shirt; and whenever the names of Lewis, Somerset or Bouyea are remembered and are called, we will remember and raise three shirts; and we shall raise three shirts on the day of revolution in Guyana in their names,” Nagamootoo said.

Part of the gathering at the Square of the Revolution yesterday.

He urged the gathering to mourn with dignity.

We should also hold the AFC responsible for stirring up trouble and creating a racial tension in Linden for political gain. The instigators should be arrested for trying to create a repeat of the 60's when the Lindeners ran amok and started killing innocent people. I remember they entered a mosque and killed someone praying inside, then burned down the building. Anyone who tries to repeat this blight on our history should be condemned harshly.
Originally Posted by TI:
We should also hold the AFC responsible for stirring up trouble and creating a racial tension in Linden for political gain. The instigators should be arrested for trying to create a repeat of the 60's when the Lindeners ran amok and started killing innocent people. I remember they entered a mosque and killed someone praying inside, then burned down the building. Anyone who tries to repeat this blight on our history should be condemned harshly.

What were you doing in Linden? You are form GT.

The AFC did not stir up any trouble all they did was side with the people from Linden.

Originally Posted by TI:
If the AFC siding with burning down buildings and vehicles, then we have to realize they are not a peaceful political group but trying to create mayhem and strife.

They did not side with such things. The burning came after the PPP police murdered innocent protestors.

Originally Posted by TI:
If the AFC siding with burning down buildings and vehicles, then we have to realize they are not a peaceful political group but trying to create mayhem and strife.

They did not side with such things.

They incited and instigated events knowing fully well what this could lead to.  They don't have to say Slo fiah mo fiah to encourage it.  Several AFC supporters lost property and has placed the blame fully on the AFC and their activists.

Originally Posted by TI:

They incited and instigated events knowing fully well what this could lead to.  They don't have to say Slo fiah mo fiah to encourage it.  Several AFC supporters lost property and has placed the blame fully on the AFC and their activists.

Originally Posted by TI:

Name the AFC supporters who are placing the blame on the AFC. You should stay under your rock.

Blood is on the hands of the PNC/AFC who riled up the people into believing that free electricity was an entitlement. Now they shamelessly looking for more political mileage by proclaiming these misguided thugs as martyrs. 

Nehru Bhai, the AFC is finished. Bye Bye, Tata. It is only a matter of time before the infighting starts and the swords are drawn.

Moses is already wandering around like a lost soul and making a fool of himself with his silly statements. Parties like the AFC quickly fades away. Remember ROAR ? 

Name the AFC supporters who are placing the blame on the AFC. You should stay under your rock.

To make them targets?  Banna, I leave it up to you and you will get your response.

Originally Posted by TI:

They did not side with such things. The burning came after the PPP police murdered innocent protestors.

Stop talking from both sides of your mouth. Once you said the AFC sided with the people, and now you're saying they did not side with such a thing? You're a lying, corrupted bastard.

Originally Posted by TI:

What were you doing in Linden? You are form GT.

The AFC did not stir up any trouble all they did was side with the people from Linden.

They did not? Wasn't it the AFC who told the Lindeners that they were being punished by the PPP after the APNU(THE PARTY WHICH THEY VOTED OVERWHELMINGLY FOR)agreed to the electricity tariff increase and got more concessions form the government?

Wasn't it Moses Nagamootoo who injected race into the discussion?

Must i remind you of the role of Benschop, Gerhard and Freddie during the protests before those 3 persons were killed and after?

I will fight against racial discrimination in my countryPDFPrintE-mail
Written by T. KING   
Wednesday, 01 August 2012 22:18

FREDDIE, from your very own mouth came the admission: "I am ashamed to be East Indian".
Freddie, isn't that racism against the very East Indian mother and father that brought you into this wonderful world?
Are there any laws in Guyana's constitution which state that Government must hire one set of people to fill one set of jobs because of their race?
Freddie, since you are speaker and champions of a specific community in Guyana why are you "ashamed to be East Indian".
The three persons you mentioned that were killed in the Linden protest should have never been on that bridge and should not be protesting had people like you, Freddie, told them the truth.
Freddie, you want to be champion and the mouth piece for Guyanese of African descent then go to Linden, ask Lindeners to come out and listen to what you have to say.
Go to Linden and tell them it was both Indo and Afro Guyanese politicians who misled their supporters who caused death and destruction in Linden.
Go to Linden and tell them it is East Indian politicians such as Ramjattan and Nagamootoo of AFC who are the ones with blood on their hands.
Go to Linden and tell them it is East Indians such as you, Freddie, and your boss Glen Lall who were peddling through your so called news media your misrepresentations to Lindeners that caused death and destruction in Linden.
Go tell them a good faith deal was struck between the PPP/C Government and PNC opposition leader, David Granger on the electricity issue in Linden.
Go Freddie, go now and tell the people of Linden the truth on what happened after that deal was struck between the opposition APNU and the PPP/C Government.
It was people like you - East Indian Ramjattan and East Indian Nagamootoo who told the people of Linden that their opposition leader, David Granger sold them out.
It was East Indian Glen Lall and East Indian Anand Persaud whose newspapers were used to carry this inflammatory position to the people of Linden.
Freddie, you want to be voice and champion of the black cause, then you must muster the guts and balls and now go to Linden and tell them the truth.
Stop hiding behind your fellow East Indian Glen Lall’s dirty shorts and go there and tell the people the truth, and while you are at it remind the people of Linden you are "ashamed to be East Indian".
Freddie, you now have plenty to be ashamed of to be East Indian.

Last Updated on Wednesday, 01 August 2012 22:20
Originally Posted by albert:

Must i remind you of the role of Benschop, Gerhard and Freddie during the protests before those 3 persons were killed and after?

Gandhi said, a true soldier is he who is unarmed.Violence has never solved any problem, it only sows the seed of hate.

Shemroy Bouyea, Allan Lewis and Ron Somerset should be embracred the same way as the Enmore martyrs.

Originally Posted by albert:

Gandhi said, a true soldier is he who is unarmed.Violence has never solved any problem, it only sows the seed of hate.

Shemroy Bouyea, Allan Lewis and Ron Somerset should be embracred the same way as the Enmore martyrs.

Really?? Thugs are compared to the Enmore Martyrs??. I have confidence in the GPF. They would not have done what they did if they did not feel threatened. The Police may have acted too quickly because of thier limited training in Crowd Control. We will get to the bottom as the Investigation is ongoing.

Originally Posted by ABIDHA:

Gandhi was never in sync with realism; he was a theorist in his time. Many of his quotations became obsolete in today's world.

Shut yuh Baxside. Ghandi Ji's words of WISDOM is alive and well TODAY. His teachings and philosophyis being practised daily all over the World.

Lewis, 46, was a father and a husband. His two sons said at during the eaulogy that he was a hard worker who took a special interest in their upbringing.  They could not hold back their tears as they recalled fond memories of their father. The PPP should take note that they vowed to carry on his legacy.

Bouyea and Somerset were teenagers. The Wismar massacre was way before they were born.

I think that Sam Hinds and  PPP did the right thing by not showing up at the funeral.

Lewis, 46, was a father and a husband. His two sons said at during the eaulogy that he was a hard worker who took a special interest in their upbringing.  They could not hold back their tears as they recalled fond memories of their father. The PPP should take note that they vowed to carry on his legacy.

Bouyea and Somerset were teenagers. The Wismar massacre was way before they were born.

I think that Sam Hinds and  PPP did the right thing by not showing up at the funeral.

As I noted, blood on the hands of the AFC/PNC who riled up the people into believing that free electricity is an entitlement. The rumor is that many of these "protesters" were paid agents of the AFC/PNC to cause disruption, forcing their own brothers in the PNC(police) to kill them.

After the investigation, the GoG should hold those responsible and if it was unjust, compensation for the victim and their families are in order.  Also a fund should be established by the Govt for widows and orphans of those killed.  People who aided, abetted, incited and instigated should also be held responsible and financially liable.