Nereid Yachting Rally arrives in Guyana

The Nereid Yachting Rally has graced Guyana’s waters for the second time, with participants from the United Kingdom, Argentina, Israel, Italy, France, United States, Switzerland and Australia.   

Director of the GTA Mr. Indranauth Haralsingh [Adrian Narine photos)

Director of the GTA Mr. Indranauth Haralsingh (Adrian Narine photos)

The Ministry of Tourism in collaboration with the Guyana Tourism Authority (GTA), and the Tourism and Hospitality Association of Guyana (THAG) hosted a reception at the Hurukabra River Resort at Bartica in Region 7(Cuyuni/Mazaruni) on Thursday to officially welcome the participants.
The welcoming party comprised members of the GTA including GTA’s Director Mr. Indranauth Haralsingh, Former THAG President Mr. Kit Nascimento, Regional Chairman Mr. Gordon Bradford, among others.
Mr. Haralsingh pointed out that the Tourism Industry in Guyana is very ardent about the development of the yachting industry.

He said that the yachtees are in a country that the National Geographic has named as one of the top 20 must-see destinations in the world.
He posited that while other Caribbean countries offer more of a sun, sand and sea tourism, Guyana offers nature, eco and adventure tourism.

Organiser of the Nereid’s Yachting Rally Mr. David Matelicani

He underscored that the Government of Guyana is committed to responsible tourism and sustainable development with its Low Carbon Development Strategy (LCDS). Haralsingh also commented that as it is the hurricane season, Yachtees are safe here in Guyana.
Organiser of the Yacht Rally, Mr. David Matelicani said it is through the hard work of the Government and the private sector that Guyana is now being seen as an alternative destination.

He noted that sailors do not need to stay in the Caribbean waiting for hurricane season to end.
Matelicani reiterated that one of the main purposes of the Nereid Rally has always been to encourage sailors to sail southwards because this time of the year is hurricane season in many other Caribbean islands and this makes Guyana an ideal destination since the country is not plagued by such disasters.

Chairman of Region 7 Mr. Gordon Bradford addressing persons at the welcoming reception held in honour of the visiting Yachters

He added that convincing people to sail to Guyana, was easy as it is a country with many natural wonders and a rich diverse culture.
He commended the hospitality of Guyanese as they have been very generous to the yachtees visiting the country.

Matelicani said that he is convinced that Guyana can compete with yachting destinations such as Trinidad and Tobago, and in time, will be able to attract its share of what is quickly becoming a multi-million dollar industry.

Meanwhile, Regional Chairman Mr. Gordon Bradford boasted of the wonderful tourism experiences the region has to offer.
He said that the hospitality offered by Region 7 residents were unmatched and will continue to be that way.

Mr Skeldon we have a big yacht

Kishan bai, You full of stale crap. Tek wan break fram dis alcohol and boasting about your wealth. You see Skeldon_man does not care about material wealth. He just wants to be king of his castle regardless whether he lives in a 'banaff' or a mansion. So far god has blessed him with a good simple life and good family. That's all I can ask for.

???? Skeldon Man like you wake up in the cow pen this morning?

Is me name Kishan.

Look catch you self first before you mek another post.  Stop embarrassing yourself.

JB is Tyrone Khemraj, the man who claim he retire from Guyana Politics.  But he is a fraud, he playing dead fuh see who will come to his funeral.  Even Grainja did not send a sympathy card.

???? Skeldon Man like you wake up in the cow pen this morning?

Is me name Kishan.

Look catch you self first before you mek another post.  Stop embarrassing yourself.

JB is Tyrone Khemraj, the man who claim he retire from Guyana Politics.  But he is a fraud, he playing dead fuh see who will come to his funeral.  Even Grainja did not send a sympathy card.

Nah bai. Me tink TK is a lot smarter to use an alias. Anyway, continue fooling yourself. Me guh leff you alone.

Dem people wid dem yacht gonna enjoy dem selves for now. De fuss one dat get robbed by roving gun man will see the rest flee faster than you can say boo.

The PPP thugs done eyeing dem up.....

Civility, civility...that's the spirit!

Tourists have always been welcome in Guyana way back from the colonial days.

They started the chorus "Guyanese are a friendly people."

Governments come and governments go and the PPP government is soon to go and we must always be friendly to our tourists with a show or more.