http://www.kaieteurnewsonline....r-five-day-shutdown/

We must stand in solidarity with the people of Linden. 

Do not fall for the PPP's argument that because those of us outside of Linden pay more for electricity to GPL, that Linden must follow suit. GPL does not supply Linden, BOSAI does that. GPL suffers losses of 31.6% costing taxpayers in excess of $5B annually. Neither BOSAI nor the distribution services suffer those kinds of losses. Linden is not connected to the national grid either.

Moreover, Linden's situation is unique in a number of ways. It is a depressed community that suffers from widespread pollution from BOSAI's operations. The community has also been a victim of corruption (shoddy public works) and deliberate short-sighted policies by the PPP more than anywhere in Guyana (as highlighted in my article: http://www.kaieteurnewsonline....rate-increase-issue/). 

Now, BOSAI needs power for itself so it should pay for that. Anything above that, that relates to BOSAI supplying electricity to the community should be paid for by the community. Though, due consideration must also be given for the unique pollution Linden suffers at the hands of BOSAI. The reason, however, that the rate charged by BOSAI is so high, is because the PPP has allowed them to do as they want. This must stop now.

This is an issue of human survival. There is no place for racism or politics. It is a people's struggle that we must all support.

HEY KATAHAR YOU SO STUPID TO THINK THAT LINDEN IS THE ONLY DEPRESSED COMMUNITY. EASY LESSON GOOD FUH DUNCE LIKE YOU, THERE ARE MANY MORE COMMUNITIES THAT ARE MORE DEPRESSED THAN LINDEN. I DONT EXPECT A POLITICAL PROSTITUE TO ACKNOWLEDGE FACTS!!!

Then please, go ahead and display the "facts".

Originally Posted by TI:
Linden never stood in solidarity with me so why should I? This is political pandering. They will still vote PNC.

TI, the Bauxite workers stood with the sugar workers against Forbes Burnham.  Burnham in the 80s feared for his life in Linden.  Please don't forget it was Linden and Kwakwani that voted heavily for the AFC in 2006 - but the AFC did not represent the region adequately after 2006 and was punished for it - in addition to the APNU running a much more effective campaign there too.  It is the PPP, with its policies toward Linden that is the cause of the tension today.

Originally Posted by Gerhard Ramsaroop:

HEY KATAHAR YOU SO STUPID TO THINK THAT LINDEN IS THE ONLY DEPRESSED COMMUNITY. EASY LESSON GOOD FUH DUNCE LIKE YOU, THERE ARE MANY MORE COMMUNITIES THAT ARE MORE DEPRESSED THAN LINDEN. I DONT EXPECT A POLITICAL PROSTITUE TO ACKNOWLEDGE FACTS!!!

I had expected you to know the FACTS but I will give you an easy and quick Lesson. Villages in Canegrove, Mahaica, Mahaicony, Abary, Hubu, Black Bush dont even have electricity, they are willing to pay for it but cant get it and here you are SHAMELESSLY calling on the GOVT to give Linden Electricity below the national price. And I know you dont have a problem with that since you are a political prostitute.

Originally Posted by TI:
Linden never stood in solidarity with me so why should I? This is political pandering. They will still vote PNC.

TI, the Bauxite workers stood with the sugar workers against Forbes Burnham.  Burnham in the 80s feared for his life in Linden.  Please don't forget it was Linden and Kwakwani that voted heavily for the AFC in 2006 - but the AFC did not represent the region adequately after 2006 and was punished for it - in addition to the APNU running a much more effective campaign there too.  It is the PPP, with its policies toward Linden that is the cause of the tension today.

What bloody world are you living in. BULLSHIT!!!! You are such a lying, shameless person that one should be very concerned with you. People like you are capable of selling your souls for Gains.

Originally Posted by TI:

Hence, my conclusion above!!!

LOL!  And this conclusion, "HEY KATAHAR YOU SO STUPID TO THINK THAT LINDEN IS THE ONLY DEPRESSED COMMUNITY. EASY LESSON GOOD FUH DUNCE LIKE YOU, THERE ARE MANY MORE COMMUNITIES THAT ARE MORE DEPRESSED THAN LINDEN. I DONT EXPECT A POLITICAL PROSTITUE TO ACKNOWLEDGE FACTS!!!" is based on the above???

You are making the claim that there are many more communities that are more depressed than Linden.  Now substantiate that please - bearing in mind too, the reign of "the Greatest" (your description of Jagdeo) who you said brought unprecedented development to Guyana.

Originally Posted by TI:

What bloody world are you living in. BULLSHIT!!!! You are such a lying, shameless person that one should be very concerned with you. People like you are capable of selling your souls for Gains.

The disprove what I have said with facts please.  Thanks.

Originally Posted by TI:

LOL!  And this conclusion, "HEY KATAHAR YOU SO STUPID TO THINK THAT LINDEN IS THE ONLY DEPRESSED COMMUNITY. EASY LESSON GOOD FUH DUNCE LIKE YOU, THERE ARE MANY MORE COMMUNITIES THAT ARE MORE DEPRESSED THAN LINDEN. I DONT EXPECT A POLITICAL PROSTITUE TO ACKNOWLEDGE FACTS!!!" is based on the above???

You are making the claim that there are many more communities that are more depressed than Linden.  Now substantiate that please - bearing in mind too, the reign of "the Greatest" (your description of Jagdeo) who you said brought unprecedented development to Guyana.

What Topic are we discussing?? bringing Jagdeo in Linden Electrical is a ploy used by ALl POLITICAL PROSTITUTES but it will not work with me. When desperate people like you are cornered with FACTS, you feel diverting will save you and not expose your SHAMELESS attitude.

Originally Posted by TI:

It's not a matter of who they stood on not stood with.  It's a matter of principle. Lindeners should pay no more or no less than the rest of Guyana.  They can vote for whom so ever they like, that's their inalienable right and should not be tethered to anything else.

Originally Posted by TI:

What Topic are we discussing?? bringing Jagdeo in Linden Electrical is a ploy used by ALl POLITICAL PROSTITUTES but it will not work with me. When desperate people like you are cornered with FACTS, you feel diverting will save you and not expose your SHAMELESS attitude.

Cornered by what facts??  Have you presented any?  And you should be old enough to know about the sugar strike that saw the bauxite workers march from Linden to Georgetown to lend their solidarity.  Or do you dispute that too?

Originally Posted by TI:

It's not a matter of who they stood on not stood with.  It's a matter of principle. Lindeners should pay no more or no less than the rest of Guyana.  They can vote for whom so ever they like, that's their inalienable right and should not be tethered to anything else.

Though you cannot articulate the argument of why not the principle of marginal pricing given the unique circumstances in Linden over the principle of national average.  smh.

Originally Posted by TI:

Though you cannot address the argument of why not the principle of marginal pricing given the unique circumstances in Linden over the principle of national average.  smh.

Originally Posted by TI:

Though you cannot articulate the argument of why not the principle of marginal pricing given the unique circumstances in Linden over the principle of national average.  smh.

"Unique circumstances", as in???  GR, you have no position of principle, just demagoguery and cheap political gimmickry.

Baseman, It has nothing to do with Voting. Guyana IS a DEMOCRACY. The crux of the matter is GR or anyone else cannot/ must not tell anyone to to show solidarith with.

That's what I said!

That is not what you said.  You said there were more depressed communities other than Linden.  But you have not substantiated that.

Originally Posted by TI:

"Unique circumstances", as in???  GR, you have no position of principle, just demagoguery and cheap political gimmickry.

Please, then refute the unique circumstances I referred to.  Linden, a community of some 30,000 people, experiences dust pollution on a scale like nowhere else in Guyana, and unemployment is estimated to be in excess of 70%.  Linden is the only major community in which an industry operates that needs to generate electricity on a large scale for itself.  Please go ahead and tell me where else in Guyana that obtains.

Baseman, It has nothing to do with Voting. Guyana IS a DEMOCRACY. The crux of the matter is GR or anyone else cannot/ must not tell anyone to to show solidarith with.

That's what I said!

That is not what you said.  You said there were more depressed communities other than Linden.  But you have not substantiated that.

BS, you are off the deep end, I was commenting on "nothing to do with voting choice".  Your cheap and manipulative political pandering will get you nowhere.

The "other depressed community" was Nehru's comment and he gave you a slue.  Don't divert into nonsensical gimmickry.

That's what I said!

BS, you are off the deep end, I was commenting on "nothing to do with voting choice".  Your cheap and manipulative political pandering will get you nowhere.

The "other depressed community" was Nehru's comment and he gave you a slue.  Don't divert into nonsensical gimmickry.

I am sorry about that.  I thought it was Nehru's comment I was responding to.

Please, then refute the unique circumstances I referred to.  Linden, a community of some 30,000 people, experiences dust pollution on a scale like nowhere else in Guyana, and unemployment is estimated to be in excess of 70%.  Linden is the only major community in which an industry operates that needs to generate electricity on a large scale for itself.  Please go ahead and tell me where else in Guyana that obtains.

Your starting point is in the wrong place.  Dust, other issues are separate and should be addressed as such.  70% unemployment, who counting, you?  When last have you tabulated unemployment in the sugar industry?  I'm sure I could go and get that 70% up to 90%.

What does the fact that Linden is not on the national grid have to do with anything.  This only matters if, due to this, their cost was above the national average, then you have a point.

I had expected you to know the FACTS but I will give you an easy and quick Lesson. Villages in Canegrove, Mahaica, Mahaicony, Abary, Hubu, Black Bush dont even have electricity, they are willing to pay for it but cant get it and here you are SHAMELESSLY calling on the GOVT to give Linden Electricity below the national price. And I know you dont have a problem with that since you are a political prostitute.

Now seeing this.  Nehru, you are saying this happened under the reign of "the Greatest"/Jagdeo??  And in any event, though not to invalidate your point, as indeed there are many underdeveloped communities in Guyana, Linden is a town with a population of some 30,000.  Nowhere else is there depression on the scale of Linden in Guyana.  You said there were many communities that were more depressed, that is what I am taking you to task on.

You really live in Guyana??  And if you do, do you venture out of your yard.??? Bannas, you really think the Guyanese people are FOOLS. Elitist like you love to insult the intelligence of POOR Guyanese but I have news for people like you, they are watching and listening.

HERE ARE SOME FACTS GERHARD:

Linden is not a depressed community

– Dr Luncheon asserts

By Michael Younge

Government said it will not back down to any sort of pressure to halt or postpone its plans to implement a new tariff structure that would see marginal increases occurring in the still highly subsidised electricity rates paid by Lindeners.
The process is to come on stream from July 1. Cabinet Secretary Dr Roger Luncheon said on Wednesday that the administration is not at all surprised by the outcry and resistance mounted by Lindeners.
“Not unexpectedly, Lindeners have indeed reacted negativelyâ€Ķ we should not expect Lindeners to accept the tariff increases like the rest of us on the national gridâ€Ķ they have essentially been getting power cheaper for decades,” he noted, while stating that “as of late, politicians have inserted themselves into the equation as though to make belief that cheap power is ordained for Lindenâ€Ķ and they had the responsibility to frustrate the exercise of GPL, the national carrier.”
Dr Luncheon therefore strongly condemned the A Partnership for National Unity (APNU) and the Alliance For Change (AFC) “politicisation” of the administration’s move to bring Lindeners on the grid, while still subsidising them.
“As I said, the action of Lindeners can be explained and to some extent, thereby excusedâ€Ķ but we cannot say the same for the opposition political parties APNU and AFC,” he confessed.
He revealed that Lindeners are currently benefiting from cheap power despite being portrayed as a depressed community.
“Their average electricity consumption is two to three times more than a comparable numberâ€Ķ consumer elsewhere on the national gridâ€Ķ if that is not inefficient and uneconomic then heaven knows what is,” he argued, stating that for 2011 alone, Linden benefitted from some $3 billion in subsidy, while other Guyanese footed their electricity bills.
“This is a figure that GPL in their own economic and financial analysis revealed could have allowed a 10 per cent reduction in the electricity bill for each and every Guyanese except for those in Linden,” the Cabinet secretary told media operatives.
He chided Lindeners for wasting electricity, arguing that in most parts of the world, development is retarded simply because communities and government have little, no or a costly access to energy and electricity.
He dismissed banter that Linden was a “depressed community” and therefore, the high levels of underemployment, economic woes and such things should see government withholding the increase.
“I am saying that the town of Linden is not a depressed community,” he affirmed. “I believe that if you were indeed to forget the LEAP report and look at 2011 and 2012 and look at communities in Guyanaâ€Ķ because the term a depressed community obviously cannot be spoken in the absence of relatively, because if you say that that one is depressed, I am frightful about those that are worst off.”
Dr Luncheon opined that “things indeed are indeed looking up and we have pointed to discrete interventionsâ€Ķ occurrences and advancements” within the community.
Any resort to the arguments about depression and economic woes, Dr Luncheon opined would be venturing into “historical features” as the opposition and its supporters fail to take into account the development that has taken place within the community.
“We are even concerned that if the criteria exists, and is supported by some evidence about depressionâ€Ķ how on earth can you still justify this poor and depressed community in its consumption of power,” Dr Luncheon noted, pointing to its high consumption patterns of power. “We are saying our proposals put forward by GPL, Linden community, relies on a process that more mirrors what should be in the ideal,” he submitted.

Your starting point is in the wrong place.  Dust, other issues are separate and should be addressed as such.  70% unemployment, who counting, you?  When last have you tabulated unemployment in the sugar industry?  I'm sure I could go and get that 70% up to 90%.

What does the fact that Linden is not on the national grid have to do with anything.  This only matters if, due to this, their cost was above the national average, then you have a point.

Ok, I will hold you to that, notwithstanding your holding on to the "national average" makes no sense when it is two different service providers at two different costs.

Now, baseman, hear this:  GPL produces electricity at a cost of approximately $30 per kWH and resells at $53.78 per kWH, while BOSAI resells at $58.92!  Please bear in mind that GPL's losses are 31.6%!  So what do you say now, baseman?

Ok, I will hold you to that, notwithstanding your holding on to the "national average" makes no sense when it is two different service providers at two different costs.

Now, baseman, hear this:  GPL produces electricity at a cost of approximately $30 per kWH and resells at $53.78 per kWH, while BOSAI resells at $58.92!  Please bear in mind that GPL's losses are 31.6%!  So what do you say now, baseman?

I said, and always did, Lindeners should pay what the rest of the nation pays for electricity.  Are you now saying BOSAI has been charging Lindeners a higher rate than the national average?

Yes, baseman!  And I referred to it in an earlier exchange with you when I said GPL produces at a cost of $30 and BOSAI charges almost double that.  But you weren't paying attention.  That price of $58.92 is the price without the subsidy.  The Government has been paying an average of almost $50 per kWH as a subsidy! And that is my argument bro!  If GPL at a loss of 31.6% can make a profit at $53.78, why is BOSAI reselling at a price above that??  GPL, by the way, despite its losses, is making a profit.

So LKindeners paying 9 cents  per KW and you want the Govt to continue to subsidise that. And Al Yuh Communist want to RULE Guyana. Go figure!!!!

Are the Lindeners currently paying $58.92 kWH?

So LKindeners paying 9 cents  per KW and you want the Govt to continue to subsidise that. And Al Yuh Communist want to RULE Guyana. Go figure!!!!

As usual, you misrepresent what I am saying.  I am arguing that if BOSAI charges according to the applicable pricing model, no one will lose, and it is possible there may be no need for a subsidy.

This is what you are advocating they should pay, phasing out of the subsidy notwithstanding, according to your principle of "national average".  My question to you is, given that GPL can resell at a lower cost than BOSAI, despite their massive losses of 31.6%, does it not indicate the BOSAI ought to be reselling for significantly less?  Or are you saying, a private company should be allowed to profiteer in this manner?  Please answer these questions yes or no.  Thanks.

As usual, you misrepresent what I am saying.  I am arguing that if BOSAI charges according to the applicable pricing model, no one will lose, and it is possible there may be no need for a subsidy.

Bannas, Yuh not making any sense. Yuh jumpinng around and over like FIRE pun yuh Baxside.

This is what you are advocating they should pay, phasing out of the subsidy notwithstanding, according to your principle of "national average".  My question to you is, given that GPL can resell at a lower cost than BOSAI, despite their massive losses of 31.6%, does it not indicate the BOSAI ought to be reselling for significantly less?  Or are you saying, a private company should be allowed to profiteer in this manner?  Please answer these questions yes or no.  Thanks.

NO, you cheap manipulator, I said, Lindeners should pay NO MORE or NO LESS than the rest of Guyana.  I said, consideration IS warranted if BOSAI's pricing to the consumer is ABOVE the national average.

I also said a PHASE-OUT is in order to the point of the national average.

Stop with your lies, manipulations and misrepresentations.  It will get you nowhere and sinks your credibility further in the toilet.

NO, you cheap manipulator, I said, Lindeners should pay NO MORE or NO LESS than the rest of Guyana.  I said, consideration IS warranted if BOSAI's pricing to the consumer is ABOVE the national average.

Stop with your lies, manipulations and misrepresentations.  It will get you nowhere and sinks your credibility further in the toilet.

I need not resort to calling anyone names.  Your lack of answers to my direct questions speaks for itself.

I resort cuz you ARE manipulating and telling open lies as to what I said, true or not true.  That speaks for itself.